Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hcap

• 18-05-2014 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

Hcap on next week wonder wat questions they ask ...here's 1
    Wats fraying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Male deer will use trees to mark territories and to remove velvet off their antlers. Roebucks will cause fraying damage in Spring when marking down territories as well as Summer during rut. Red, fallow, sika and muntjac will do it in late Summer and Autumn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭blackwater doc

Nice 1 anyone got other questions
    Wat about this 1
    When is it ok to lamp deer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 930 ✭✭✭robertpatterson

Its not afaik unless its under a section 42 maybe
    I don't know enough about the section so cant be sure
    Where are you seeing these questions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Wat about this 1

42 with lamping specified or humane dispatch of an injured animal??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

http://deeralliance.ie/blog/2007/11/

The above link will direct you to some sample questions, the answers are in the HCAP handbook and on the info pages on the website.

If you know someone who has a copy of an English interactive program such as Deer Quest, give it a go, ignoring the law and non residential species of course.

More advice here:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057187463

Just asking cause I'm doing the hcap Saturday and handy to know some of the questions&answers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Do the workshop and you will pass the test ,anybody that would fail that exam is a mongo pure and simple .

I am doing the workshop
    Oh mongo mongo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Wat about this 1

Q. Can I go out looking for deer at night with a lamp?
    No. A lamp may be used only with a special Ministerial licence, for purposes of scientific research.

Some sample questions here.

Pain having to pay the extra €50 for the workshop, but have to say it made the MCQ a piece of pi$$.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭luvhuntin

I have done the HCAP and its a piece of piss. At the test I did lads openly had their books out getting the answer and apparently on one of the latest tests it was discovered during the test that there were two pages missing and the examiner had to leave and find a photocopier while everyone took the books out and rang friends?? Im all for there being a minimum standard required so it should be made difficult for people to get it not easy.

luvhuntin wrote: »
    I have done the HCAP and its a piece of piss. At the test I did lads openly had their books out getting the answer and apparently on one of the latest tests it was discovered during the test that there were two pages missing and the examiner had to leave and find a photocopier while everyone took the books out and rang friends?? Im all for there being a minimum standard required so it should be made difficult for people to get it not easy.

I'm all for open discussion but discretion is the better part valour here....Regardless what individuals may think of HCAP, it is the present system in place for compliance in relation to Coilte let's not discredit it to the point where the qualification isn't worth the paper its written on.
    There's always an evolution with qualifications and no doubt things will change in the future, but in my 20 odd years of teaching I have yet to see a previous qualification unrecognized. The only chance of this happening is if your qualification is discredited, so unless you wanted to piss your money away, what happens on the bus stays on the bus.

Here here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Kat1170

And yet some barley scraped through :confused::confused::rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭minktrapper

Kat1170 wrote: »

What has barley got to do with the exam.

I'm all for open discussion but discretion is the better part valour here....Regardless what individuals may think of HCAP, it is the present system in place for compliance in relation to Coilte let's not discredit it to the point where the qualification isn't worth the paper its written on.
    There's always an evolution with qualifications and no doubt things will change in the future, but in my 20 odd years of teaching I have yet to see a previous qualification unrecognized. The only chance of this happening is if your qualification is discredited, so unless you wanted to piss your money away, what happens on the bus stays on the bus.

This is not cooking-We are talking about Deer Hunting which in case you didnt realise is in a crisis at the moment between poaching, to many licences being given out, commercial harvesting etc etc etc. Ive know doubt qualifications evolve over time but do we have the time??? or will we just keep putting huge numbers of people through every year of which a percentage are not fit to hold a licence. Again Im all for the Hcap and a minimum standard but it needs to be made harder to weed out this percentage who are damaging the sport further.

Kat1170 wrote: »

Just for your info 100% of the candidates passed that test
    If some only barely got through what does that say about them????

This is not cooking-We are talking about Deer Hunting which in case you didnt realise is in a crisis at the moment between poaching, to many licences being given out, commercial harvesting etc etc etc. Ive know doubt qualifications evolve over time but do we have the time??? or will we just keep putting huge numbers of people through every year of which a percentage are not fit to hold a licence. Again Im all for the Hcap and a minimum standard but it needs to be made harder to weed out this percentage who are damaging the sport further.

Think about what you are saying, firstly as you know HCAP is not mandatory for deer hunting here, secondly NO qualification in the world regardless at what level or degree of difficultly its pitched at is going to stop illegal or immoral hunting.
    Be careful what you wish for, because in this Nanny State if deer stalking training becomes mandatory for all stalkers thats when your going to see it spiral out of control in fees and red tape and you know what?, it will make bugger all difference to poaching or any of your other concerns. It is a given fact in this country that we have multitudes of strict regulations and laws but feck all enforcement and all that happens is the honest are tied up in red tape while the dishonest work away.

My point from my previous post is that it is not wise to publicly trash the current system in place when there are so many actively trying to tear our sport down. If you feel strongly about it, then contact the powers to be in Deer Alliance and hand back your cert.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Thread closed pending Mod review.

Making accusations against named individuals or groups is not permitted.

Anyone who wants to discuss this with me can do so via PM.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

As the first of this years range test will take place tomorrow i thought i'd throw up a notice to help those not familiar with range protocol.

The HCAP is done on the MNSCI range. Here are directions and a local map:

MNSCI-Location-large.gif

There will be RO's (Range Officers) there to inform, and instruct you on what to do. The range has rules, and safety guidelines as outlined below so please take time to read them.

For anyone attending this here are a few simple tips to help you on range etiquette/protocol;
    • First and foremost listen to the RO (Range Officer) at all times. Instructions for every step will be given so DO NOT assume anything. If unsure or if you did not hear the instruction stick the paw up and ask. There are numerous RO's on the the day.
    • When not being used the rifle should always be cased, and stored in a locked vehicle.
    • No firearms, uncased, behind the firing point will be permitted.
    • Anyone caught handling or moving an uncased/uncleared firearm behind the firing point will be approached by an RO.
    • DO NOT travel with the bolt and mag in the rifle to the range. When you arrive, and are called to the firing point you will be given the instruction from the RO to prepare yourself. It is at this point you may put in the bolt, and the mag.
    • DO NOT load the rifle until instructed by the RO.
    • Do not close the bolt on an emptry or loaded rifle until told to do so.
    • DO NOT load more than the instructed amount of rounds. This prevent someone having a "spare" round in the rifle.
    • As said above a breach flag is needed. However for those that do not have one you must remove the bolt, and mag when bringing the rifle to the firing point, and between movements to the next firing point. If you have a floor plate or blind mag take the bolt out/insert the breach flag, and you'll get the OK from an RO before moving.
    • NEVER, EVER approach/touch/adjust/handle any firearm on the firing point if there is someone down range. This sounds blatantly obvious, but when they are marking the scores you don't want a lad setting up of his own accord on the firing point. There is always a couple of RO's on the firing when scores are being marked, and they will be watching.
    • When finished your HCAP an RO will clear your rifle. The bolt, and mag stays in your pocket until you return to the firing point. You case your rifle, and then return it to your car. DO NOT load up your mag or insert the bolt. You can do this later at home.
    • DO NOT travel from the range to the range office without prior permission from an RO. There are multiple live ranges, and the RO will clear the other ranges before anyone can travel.

I have seen experienced lads get flustered because they are not used to range protocols. It's not rocket science lads, and no one is out to get you. Just listen for instructions, and when in doubt ask. RO's will be clearly marked with Red jumpers, and/or blue jackets with Range Officer written across the back. They will be happy to help out where they can.

In terms of gear. A lot of lads forget something on the morning. Most times they can be accommodated, but here is a quick checklist;
    1. Ammo - Bring more than enough. I've seen lads that only brought 20, and failed the exam, and then ran short of ammo on the re-try.
    2. Hearing protection - Ear plugs are not great, but accepted. Ear protectors are much preferred. Bring a set.
    3. Shooting sticks - They are needed for the standing shot.
    4. Bipod/Sandbag - Needed for the prone. Whichever you use when out in the field bring it.
    5. Cleaing gear - The range can get dusty so make sure you have some sort of bore snake or cleaning rod in case the rifle needs a quick pull through. Also some oil, and a few basic tols for adjusting the rifle, stock, scope, etc.

Lastly your zero. Everyone believes their gun is "spot on" and then they are puzzled why they cannot hit the disc at 100 yards. The range will offer the opportunity to check your zero before going out to the HCAP range. Make use of it if you are at all in doubt.

The only bit of personal advice i can give is to relax, and just shoot as you normally would. I realise for some/most it's a big thing, but if you've gotten this far it'd be silly to blow it due to nerves or anything else.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Excellent, thanks for the pointers.

Just stating the obvious, but don't forget gun licence and insurance, according to the blog these are mandatory no paperwork no test.

Best of luck to everyone tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

The fee for the range is included in the money we have paid for the HACP is that correct. Just want to make sure.

Just stating the obvious, but don't forget gun licence and insurance, according to the blog these are mandatory no paperwork no test.
    Spot on.

Upon arrival you will see the new club house. It's not open yet but drive around the left of it into the car park. To the right you'll see the entrance to the current club house. Go in and present your firearms license and insurance details. Sign the registrar and you're good to go.
    juice1304 wrote: »
    The fee for the range is included in the money we have paid for the HACP is that correct. Just want to make sure.
    Correct.

There is no extra fees for use of the range.

While my mouth is warm.

I've just checked the weather for tomorrow. It is giving cloudy conditions with the chance of showers or rain later in the afternoon. Also the wind is meant to be between 10 - 14mph.

So whether it's raining or not come prepared. Bring appropriate clothing and a cover/case for your gun. If a heavy shower does hit you may cover your rifle while we wait for it to pass.

Believe me when i say if there is a chance of something you'll get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Chiparus

Just a tip

1. bring a mat for shooting prone.
    2. Make sure you are aiming at your target, unfortunately for the guy next to me he hit my target and failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mackcon

Congrats to everyone today , great day great fun and good to see lads helping other lads out ( with hitting their targets ahem ahem )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭vincentf

Good turn out for the range test. Handy stuff. A chap 2 spaces up from me hit my target lol.
    For anyone shooting in the future range tests, check your targets number before you fire !

Yep great day, blessed with the weather.

Learned today that not all 100m are the same, my rifle was spot on for windage but was 3 inchs high at 100m. I got a lovely group at 11 o'clock, unfortunately it was just out side of the scoring ring. Ahh well, it only cost me 3 rnds to put it right.

At least I did'nt get caught for the 'Butts Party' like I usualy do - ' Targets up.....target down'.

The next time I see a set up like that, it will be typicaly howeling a gale, p#sing rain or something, only good thing is the minister will be covering the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭skippey

Mackcon wrote: »
    Congrats to everyone today , great day great fun and good to see lads helping other lads out ( with hitting their targets ahem ahem )

Was just helping my neighbour with his grouping ;-)
    Got through in the end though
    Found the range officers to be a great help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,805 ✭✭✭juice1304

Well done to all, I was glad to pass with the 9 rounds i had left after zeroing. :D Sorry to the lads beside me who had to put up with the blast from the muzzle break.

Though it was a great day at the range and very enjoyable and everyone Was eager to help out especially when me sticks broke :)
    Got some good tips in long range shooting at the targets as well

Was a good day all round with everyone passing in the end. There was a good atmosphere with a good amount of slagging and abuse flying. Got to meet a few Boardsie's and had a good laugh.

The biggest problem seemed to be nerves or lads just panicking who were not used to a range situation. Lads seemed to try and "keep up" with the speed or shooting of the rest of the line which can unsettle people. Remember that you have as long as you need to take your shots. With so much riding on the test it's always best to take your time and put everything into each shot.

I think it also showed a few that what they thought was their zero was actually not. The wind was blowing at between 5 to a max of 11 mph so no caliber was effected. Considering the max range was 100 yards there would be little to no drift. The timing was perfect. Not 2 minutes after the last lads arrived in the clubhouse, when it finished, the heavens opened up.

Still everyone got it, and that's the main thing.

Well done to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭rugermk3

Though it was a great day at the range and very enjoyable and everyone Was eager to help out especially when me sticks broke :)
    Got some good tips in long range shooting at the targets as well

doc I never seen you there yesterday , did you shoot in the first heat?

Chiparus wrote: »
    Just a tip

1. bring a mat for shooting prone.
    2. Make sure you are aiming at your target, unfortunately for the guy next to me he hit my target and failed.

lol I was chatting to the guy next to me yesterday before we shot, after looking thru my scope I said to the guy jayus its very easy to jump the target and hit the one beside you to watch out for it, I fired two shots and they were also most touching in the back and put the 3rd into his target, the stick I got over it was gas, didn't happen the next time 3 in the black 2 almost touching again but all with in an inch , good day out great crack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭DEMOLISHER

I no who you and juice and ruger are now was chatting wit ye all day, I had the 6.5 tikka with boyds stock:p

Ya man went off first sent 3 into the target lovely grouping then the sticks I had one of the legs broke so I had to wait until the chap longside me fired then he lent them to me but everything was was ok I fired off some 300 yrds targets then at the range and was impressed with the tika 243

DEMOLISHER wrote: »
    I no who you and juice and ruger are now was chatting wit ye all day, I had the 6.5 tikka with boyds stock:p

ah are u the chap from tip ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ruger1894c

Great day out and all passed which is the most important thing. Thank god it was yesterday because today was a horrible day with a horrible wind. Some great craic and great shooting great to see so many people helping one another out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 sealice

ruger1894c wrote: »
    Great day out and all passed which is the most important thing. Thank god it was yesterday because today was a horrible day with a horrible wind. Some great craic and great shooting great to see so many people helping one another out.

Some laugh sat friend of mine beside me put a shot in my target I had one outside and 2 in his one gave me 3 so he had to do his group again some slagging going home

rugermk3 wrote: »
    ah are u the chap from tip ?

that's me .....
    :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Well done to everyone that passed,could I ask a question as I see the "Wild Deer Association of Ireland" have it on their site, the course is to run again on the 26th of July, as I am only getting the HCAP book tomorrow is it worth missing this date, and hopefully leaving it till next year as it might be to much to take in in so little time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭tikkahunter

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Well done to everyone that passed,could I ask a question as I see the "Wild Deer Association of Ireland" have it on their site, the course is to run again on the 26th of July, as I am only getting the HCAP book tomorrow is it worth missing this date, and hopefully leaving it till next year as it might be to much to take in in so little time.
    fire ahead and do it you have plenty of time , do the workshop the week of the exam and you will piss through it , it is not hard.

I just checked the site and there is a second HCAP in August. Was under the impression there was only one this year.

TAUGHT THAT TOO CASS but seem like there is another one

Someone told me that morning it was the only one that year and with only 80 lads at it i thought they were right. Normally there are over 120 - 140 lads at the first one and then 80 or so on the second one. So the numbers added up, if you will.