Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Athlone ¾ Marathon, Sunday 5th Oct 2013 at 11am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Fraggle00

Any chance you could sort better weather this year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭T runner

Fraggle00 wrote: »
    Any chance you could sort better weather this year?

All going well, hoping to run this in prep for Frankfurt which is same weekend as Dublin. Heard great reports from those havingused it as Dublin prep in the past. If I make it in one piece, just need to decide whether to run it as a pace or progression run. A huge help to do such a difficult session in a race environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,067 ✭✭✭opus

Old news, I've been registered for this since Jan 15th ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Being promising myself this race for a few years now, and since I'm not going to do Dublin, (but do love the longer stuff), I think ill give it a go this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Race more or less passes my family home front door, shall be volunteering at the race this year so expect some vocal support if i know you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 581 ✭✭✭bazman

Apologies for the typo on thread title - race is on 5th October. Corrected by ecoli - thanking you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭audreyp

I am thinking of doing this race. I'm training for my first marathon this year. Is this race very late? I am hoping to get to 36/37KM before the marathon. This race is 3 weeks before the marathon so I am assuming it should be used as a taper run as I should be hitting my longest run a month before the marathon. Is that right? Any problem with running a race during tapering?

Thanks all for any advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

audreyp wrote: »
    I am thinking of doing this race. I'm training for my first marathon this year. Is this race very late? I am hoping to get to 36/37KM before the marathon. This race is 3 weeks before the marathon so I am assuming it should be used as a taper run as I should be hitting my longest run a month before the marathon. Is that right? Any problem with running a race during tapering?

Thanks all for any advice.
    Run in athlone is placed perfectly for last long run for DCM,..

We have several Free Entries to this year's Dublin City Marathon to give away.

To be in the draw for a free entry all you need to do is be entered for the Athlone 3/4 Marathon before the higher entry price kicks in at midnight tonight :-)

Hopefully by now you are set to repeat your participation in this year's event but if not then entering today gives you a chance to win a free DCM entry for yourself or a friend if you are already entered.

Please do let any marathon training buddies you have know about this free draw thanks

Just entered. When doing these very long runs, the controlled environment of a race is a lot safer than running 20 miles out on the road by yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭28064212

The eventmaster.ie site is down, so can't enter with the reduced price. Will it be extended to tomorrow? Dublin Marathon is having the same issue

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

28064212 wrote: »
    The eventmaster.ie site is down, so can't enter with the reduced price. Will it be extended to tomorrow? Dublin Marathon is having the same issue

Apologies for not replying to this before now. We did extend the entries as a result of the Event Master outage.

We do have a facebook page with all the very latest updates:
    https://www.facebook.com/athlone3quartermarathon

We gave away one free Dublin Marathon entry already, but we've a few more to give away to those who enter Athlone 3/4 Marathon over the next few weeks. Get you're entry in before 22nd Aug to be in the next draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭pudgeydev

For those of you running this in prep for DCM will you run it as at lsr or planned marathon pace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

pudgeydev wrote: »
    For those of you running this in prep for DCM will you run it as at lsr or planned marathon pace?

I personally would not run it at marathon pace. I ran it at MP last year and trust me, almost 20 miles at that pace takes a lot from the body. After all, it's not long before DCM.

It's an enjoyable testing route. You have to run it sensibly in order to maximise your marathon day performance.

I would use it as a long run. For example, you could run it @MP+(30-60) seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭pudgeydev

Thanks, might chance it at PMP +30 secs for the first two thirds and see if I have the legs to bring it home...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭dublin runner

pudgeydev wrote: »
    Thanks, might chance it at PMP +30 secs for the first two thirds and see if I have the legs to bring it home...

Cool, sounds like a plan. I just think there is more to lose than to gain by going out at MP, particularly as most people find the last few miles of the race the toughest.

Enjoy the race, it's a good one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

I personally would not run it at marathon pace. I ran it at MP last year and trust me, almost 20 miles at that pace takes a lot from the body. After all, it's not long before DCM.

It's an enjoyable testing route. You have to run it sensibly in order to maximise your marathon day performance.

I would use it as a long run. For example, you could run it @MP+(30-60) seconds.

+1 on that. Best to just use it as a long run, trying to hold marathon pace on that course(especally the last 3 or so miles)is suicide if you're thinking of running DCM. Great race though, lovely course, just needs to be run with a bit of caution.

The way I would recommend running this race is to take the first quarter easy. Don't get caught up racing at the start and ease into the race as if you're doing warm up for session.

Take in fluids at first stop and get used to consuming on the go.

Once you hit the quarter marathon point you can start to increase the pace. Running the last 1/2 marathon at your marathon pace is about right I would say. Make sure to save energy to ensure you are strong for the last 5km.

If you have been training for marathon, running 20 miles at a fast pace 3 weeks out allows more than sufficient time for recovery. The caveat here is that if you're not doing many long runs and are planning on just surviving marathon, then it will be very important to take it easy in 3/4 as your body may not be accustomed to this punishment and therefore will take longer to recover.

Most important thing with marathon training and marathon preparation racing is to listen to your body. Your body will give you loads of signs when you're going beyond your limits. Save pushing your limits and breaking new ground to the main event ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭KillianByrne

Question on the pacing here if someone might assist I'd appreciate it.

Its great to see the pacers for this race will be running at LSR pace for PMP times if that makes sense.

I'm working towards a 4hr DCM and will follow these pacers in Athlone. I understand they will be running somewhere around a 9:40min/mile pace. I run my LSR's on the slower end of the 4hr marathon pace at about 10:10min/mile.

So, should I work towards keeping up with a 9:40 pace for Athlone, or stick to my 10:10?

Many thanks
    KB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Question on the pacing here if someone might assist I'd appreciate it.

Its great to see the pacers for this race will be running at LSR pace for PMP times if that makes sense.

I'm working towards a 4hr DCM and will follow these pacers in Athlone. I understand they will be running somewhere around a 9:40min/mile pace. I run my LSR's on the slower end of the 4hr marathon pace at about 10:10min/mile.

So, should I work towards keeping up with a 9:40 pace for Athlone, or stick to my 10:10?

Many thanks
    KB

Killian,
    I think you should go with the pacers at 9:40/mile. It is after all designed for people just like you hoping for 4 hours DCM. It will still seem easier than your normal LSR because of the race environment and will give an appropriate workout pre Dublin. If you were going to run your usual LSR pace you'd miss out on the benefit of going to Athlone.
    I've done this before and found it an excellent prep for Dublin. Might even be back this year.
    Good luck.

We are short a couple of pacers in the 3:00 and 4:00 marathon pace groups. Anyone out there interested in a pacing role?
    Thanks a mill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 MissCatherine_

I just signed up for this. Last long run before my first marathon in NYC 4 weeks later on 2 November. Am using this as a training run really and will take it slow. My goal for the marathon is just to finish and provided this goes well it will be my last real confidence boost for the day.

Can't wait now :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 roseypo

Hi
    I entered this ages ago thinking I would be doing DCM this year but that is no longer the plan due to injury! They are not doing deferrals but will do a free name change until the end of September. If anyone wants it send me a pm and will see if we can get it sorted.
    R

Hey is anyone driving down from Dublin to this (and back) on the morning?

The o/h will have the car this weekend but I'm very keen to enter this. Very positive, laid back individual. I'll contribute towards the fuel meter :)

Oh and I will be looking at a finish time of 2:50ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 roseypo

Hey - my ticket for Athlone is gone now, thanks a mill and good luck to you all doing Athlone, hope its a nice day for it!

Jay D wrote: »
    Hey is anyone driving down from Dublin to this (and back) on the morning?

The o/h will have the car this weekend but I'm very keen to enter this. Very positive, laid back individual. I'll contribute towards the fuel meter :)

Oh and I will be looking at a finish time of 2:50ish.

We will have a free bus operating from/to the central Athlone bus/train station if you don't find a volunteer to give you a lift.

I'm volunteering at this next Sunday and will be at a crossroads just short of ten miles in, if anybody wants me to hold a drinks bottle or anything else for them till them drop me a PM. I can collect it morning of the race from you at race HQ in Glasson Golf & Country Club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

tang1 wrote: »
    I'm volunteering at this next Sunday and will be at a crossroads just short of ten miles in, if anybody wants me to hold a drinks bottle or anything else for them till them drop me a PM. I can collect it morning of the race from you at race HQ in Glasson Golf & Country Club.

Myself and AMK will be wearing some balloons so make sure to give us a shout!!

menoscemo wrote: »
    Myself and AMK will be wearing some balloons so make sure to give us a shout!!

I'll make sure to give ye a big holler.

Still struggling to get 3 & 4 hr equivalent marathon pacers.
    Pacing is:
    - 3:00 Marathon Pace Group: Planned 2:22 for 3/4 Marathon = approx. 4:30/km = approx. 7:15/mile
    - 3:30 Marathon Pace Group: Planned 2:45 for 3/4 Marathon = approx. 5:15/km = approx. 8:25/mile
    - 4:00 Marathon Pace Group: Planned 3:10 for 3/4 Marathon = approx. 6:00/km = approx. 9:40/mile

Anyone up for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭Mos Eisley

For anyone who hasn't entered yet, this promo code is valid 'aking'. I used it yesterday. Hopefully it will save you a few bob!

I never knew there was a discount code when I entered. balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,087 ✭✭✭Trampas

It's saying €29 to enter now.

Numbers must be low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Slow_Runner

entry closes tonight - debating on whether to do this as the last long run - is it worth doing as a marathon prep?

Would you rather run 30+km by yourself or with a couple of hundred others with water stations and paramedics on hand? Running that sort of distance is serious business and if you can get this kind of support, it's well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭Running Fool

Yep - highly recommend it having done it the last 2yrs.

Yup I'd agree, this is my 3rd or maybe 4th time doing it I think. Very well organised, well timed for DCM (or Frankfurt in my case) & the plushest changing rooms I've ever been in as well :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭SnailsPace

It would be really stupid to travel all the way from Firhouse at 8am this morning for this race to arrive in Glasson to an empty hotel with no marshals or cars parked up on grass etc. That would be really silly...😖

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good luck to all those running on Athlone in the morning.....enjoy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 SliM Dedalus

Had a bit of a disaster at this!

Final long run for New York marathon and was going grand with the 4hr marathon pace group.

Hit a pothole at 18k and came down very hard on my ankle. I'm now sitting on a trolley in Tullamore A&E feeling very sorry for myself!

My ankle is like a golf ball. :-(

Volunteered at this today, first time had pleasure of observing Gary O Hanlon racing, he came through at my junction with a big smile on his face and was able to have a few words with me & man was he moving at the time.

The 3.40 DCM group are in safe hands judging by what i seen, AMK and meno had a fine group towing the line with them. Claralara was 4th placed lady when i seen her and running strong. Seemed to have went well from what i seen and there was a decent crowd running it.

Really enjoyed that, cheery marshals, good well stocked water/aid stations and great race swag. Set out to run slow, not walk and run all the hills. Hit 2 out of 3 but came in a bit faster than planned.

Marathon or not, Athlone 3/4 will certainly be on my plans for next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

4rd time doing it for me. Always a fav event for me. Did it today as a pacer for the 3 hrs. Struggled a bit towards the end but had some time banked for the hill towards the end. Had a big pacer train early and they seemed to push on in the 2nd half. Everyone I spoke to seemed happy. Sorry to hear about your injury Slim Dedalus, that sucks :(

Enjoyed the race but cramped up with 5k to go. Struggled through it but couldn't walk properly for an hour or so after finishing. Salt and physio got me driving back home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭jonseyblub

First time doing the race and what an event it is. Excellent facilities, excellent refreshments both on the course (jelly beans @ mile 16 brought me home :) ) and at the end. Ended up getting a bit carried away with myself and followed the 3.30 pacers instead of the 4.00 pacers. Lasted well until the last couple of km's where i ended up getting cramp. I know i'll never last at that pace but lesson learned and onwards and upwards to DCM.

Had a bit of a disaster at this!

Final long run for New York marathon and was going grand with the 4hr marathon pace group.

Hit a pothole at 18k and came down very hard on my ankle. I'm now sitting on a trolley in Tullamore A&E feeling very sorry for myself!

My ankle is like a golf ball. :-(

Really sorry to hear that, fingers crossed there's time for it to repair itself before NY.

Perfectly run event again today I thought, very impressed how they warded off the cr*p weather 'til everyone was safely finished as well :)

I did my own thing rather than run with a pacing group like the last two times and it went ok. Passed a very frustrated runner on the final hill who alternated between giving fantastic encouragement to everyone else & beating himself up! Knew exactly how he felt as I had to walk up parts of that hill myself last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 SliM Dedalus

opus wrote: »
    Really sorry to hear that, fingers crossed there's time for it to repair itself before NY.

Perfectly run event again today I thought, very impressed how they warded off the cr*p weather 'til everyone was safely finished as well :)

I did my own thing rather than run with a pacing group like the last two times and it went ok. Passed a very frustrated runner on the final hill who alternated between giving fantastic encouragement to everyone else & beating himself up! Knew exactly how he felt as I had to walk up parts of that hill myself last year.

Thanks! No running for two weeks (at least) and plenty of ice & elevation for the next few days. Very relieved that there was no bone or ligament damage.

Paramedics on course were very helpful and had me braced for bad news due to how badly I'd swollen up. Marshall who drove me from 18k mark to finish deserves thanks too.

I'm going to be running the marathon without a 20 miler done and the 4hr target is gone but I still have a shot at it. I'm feeling very relieved tonight!

Pity it happened on what was otherwise a very enjoyable, well organised event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,682 ✭✭✭Muppet Man

Third year running it, and it's a course that keeps on giving. Great organisation, great venue and a really great course. Seems to suit Gary o hanlon down to the ground. He set a course record there today with 1:45 and change.

Only downside was 12.50 euro for the food in the bar afterwards seemed a bit steep. Not sure if there was discounts for runners, but I didn't get it anyway :)

Well done anyway to all involved. Glad to hear your not out of the race Slim.

Muppet man

One thing that annoyed me today, a lot, was the amount of gel wrappers strewn around in the hedges. If you were able to carry full ones around, then you have the ability to carry the wrappers home or to the next available wheely bin.

I'm not going on about those thrown away at or close to water stations or the water station bins, but those discarded outside of those areas. Its not difficult to carry them back home and both creates hassle for the clean up team and I assume possible black marks with local residents and county councils for future events.

I called one runner up on it, from a well known running club with a number of competitors today and she was shocked that I seemed to care. Her attitude really annoyed me.

Anyway, rant over, maybe I'm just tired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

One thing that annoyed me today, a lot, was the amount of gel wrappers strewn around in the hedges. If you were able to carry full ones around, then you have the ability to carry the wrappers home or to the next available wheely bin.

I'm not going on about those thrown away at or close to water stations or the water station bins, but those discarded outside of those areas. Its not difficult to carry them back home and both creates hassle for the clean up team and I assume possible black marks with local residents and county councils for future events.

I called one runner up on it, from a well known running club with a number of competitors today and she was shocked that I seemed to care. Her attitude really annoyed me.

Anyway, rant over, maybe I'm just tired.

You are absolutely right Killian. I was pacing 3:30 group with auldmanking and I was saying the same thing; nobody should be throwing bottles or gel wrappers on the side of the road outside of water stations/bins. Thankfully most people took notice but there were still a few numpties who thought it was ok to throw their bottle into the grass at the side of the road. Luckily no-one decided to hurl the bottles into the nearest field or I might have had an eppo...