Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

******Motors Chat - Round 6******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Dia1988 wrote: »
    Looks like it did jump the wall!

Great detective work lads :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

Great detective work lads :D

Shhhhhhhhhhh

We don't want MM's head getting any bigger. He'll need to upgrade to a 330D to drag it around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

MugMugs wrote: »
    Shhhhhhhhhhh

We don't want MM's head getting any bigger. He'll need to upgrade to a 330D to drag it around.

You diesel-lovin' troll!!!

Shhhhhhhhhhh

I remember at one of the midway meets I asked him was the 335 a diesel :pac: If looks could kill I'd be dead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

I remember at one of the midway meets I asked him was the 335 a diesel :pac: if not for the woolly hat I'd be dead

Fyp:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,429 ✭✭✭Dartz

Filled up tank today.

A decent Squirt of 2-stroke oil, 25L of petrol, and a lot of money. Worked out my fuel 'economy' to be somewhere in the vicinity of 13L/100km. Which encompasses 150km cruising motorway/country roads and maybe 40km city work.

... not actually as hideous as I was expecting. But I'm getting to know my Topaz well.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

Shhhhhhhhhhh

I much preferred my dropped from the sky theory :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Will be getting all the belts and Waterpump done on Monday which will be a weight off my shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

So what'd be a fair price for a used rear bumper, without any major scratches off a 02 corolla (new shape)?

OSI wrote: »
    Was that because of the dirt of his wonky pipes?

I dunno to be honest, can't remember, but it was the first time i talked to him and i don't think it was a good first impression :P
    pred racer wrote: »
    Fyp:D

Ahh the hat, that hat has gotten me out of a few situations :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

So tonight I'll be flying to Porto to begin the Camino trip I've been gabbing on about.

553kms in a week, should be a breeze!

See ye all in a week, and I'll have a lovely MG to show off at Glendalough hopefully :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

So tonight I'll be flying to Porto to begin the Camino trip I've been gabbing on about.

553kms in a week, should be a breeze!

See ye all in a week, and I'll have a lovely MG to show off at Glendalough hopefully :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I'm supposed to be going to Thailand on the 4th of June for 4 weeks. Getting a bit worried it'll never happen now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Brothers Alfa gone :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Can anyone recommend a good Back to Black product?
    My bumper trim has gone faded and I want to get them black again.
    I've read reviews on the Simoniz stuff and it doesnt look great.
    Can't afford to buy cheap stuff. Anyone got any suggestions or relay their experiences?

MJ23 wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good Back to Black product?
    My bumper trim has gone faded and U want to get them black again.
    I've read reviews on the Simoniz stuff and it doesnt look great.
    Can't afford to buy cheap stuff. Anyone got any suggestions or relay their experiences?

#inb4MM

Gtecniq trim restorer I do believe it it is, never used it but everyone raves about it here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Such a busy day. In desperate need of my holidays!!
    In related news, the pajero's body work is getting major attention this summer. Gone scruffy, needs some tlc.

Currently rocking back and forth in a corner, one more day one more day :P

My cars are getting a proper going over too, my old astra has cobwebs on it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I thought that your brother was driving it

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    I thought that your brother was driving it

That was the plan, but eh....yeah :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Pffffft common holidays, vacations are where its at :P

Work, then house exams had to be finalised then the graduation was tonight, 6 more days baby. :D
    You'd be so surprised how quickly the green crap gathers, and paintwork to fade and stain when a car is parked up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

My passenger door wing mirror has cobwebs on it and that's the car I drive around in.:eek: I thought I cleaned them when I was cleaning the car at the weekend but they seem to have come back. I'm thinking the spider lives behind the mirror.

I had a spider in the mirror of my astra too, we had a mutual agreement that he kept the web inside the mirror

I found a lovely little fella the other that was as small as a saucer, captured him in an oil filter box and placed him in the petunia at the front of the house. Much better opportunities there!

A garage is no place for a small spider like that :cool:

dgt wrote: »
    I found a lovely little fella the other that was as small as a saucer, captured him in an oil filter box and placed him in the petunia at the front of the house. Much better opportunities there!

A garage is no place for a small spider like that :cool:

Ye're too nice. If I spot a web/spider, out comes Henry and he sorts things out. Can't be dealing with cobwebs all over the shop!

I f*ckin love spiders but the buggers do be in the house and garage, not in places where they can feed so well!

Remember one spider in the car had made a massive web between the seat and steering wheel, was in the middle and all waiting for prey.... Goodness knows how it got there but was a pleasant surprise to say the least :)

I do my civic duty and place them outside where they get a better chance :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Got the golf valeted today it's spotless now. They done a really good job. Inside and out. It was so dirty inside after the house move with all the construction work and all that. It shouldn't really get that dirty again. Ill be back cleaning it myself from now on. It was great to get the seats properly steam cleaned and all that though. Lovely experience to drop of your car and get it back spotless. Off for the summer so I'll have plenty of time to keep it up to the standard now :)

Monies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Monies?

50 quid. I don't have a clue whether that's good or bad or what as I never got it done before. For that they clean the car, dry it, polish it, dress the tyres, clean the alloys, put back to black (or whatever) on all the plastics exterior wise mudflats etc, inside Hoover everywhere, shine up the dash and all the plastics and then properly steam clean the seats.

My mother got here's done the Wednesday and they charged 65 euro. But she admired herself that the car was a joke. Every seat was filty, outside completly mank, and the boot grass cement remains don't even ask :)

Still I am happy out with them. Really very clean. As I said it was just to get them back to some kind of cleanness and I can maintain them from there. As I enjoy cleaning them but had no interest in going steam cleaning seats or any of that.