Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Season 4 Episode 3 "Breaker of Chains": *HAVE NOT NOT NOT* read the books

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

I didn't notice any difference with Littlefinger's accent. His usual raspy sefl

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Watching the episode again now with Mrs. Clareman (can't tell her I watched it earlier), Littlefinger's accent is a lot more Love/Hate than GoT alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 176 ✭✭designbydan

Clareman wrote: »
    Watching the episode again now with Mrs. Clareman (can't tell her I watched it earlier), Littlefinger's accent is a lot more Love/Hate than GoT alright.

Just done the same there (with my Mrs not yours lol) and yeah t'was very Irish.

Also it'll be fun to see the Bank in Bravos come into it. I'm guessing they fund the war against the crown and that's what the fake Stannis letter was about, it was mentioned that the bank does that when they don't get paid, in series 2?(I think, might've been 3) by Tyrion.

Since the master of coin is currently locked up I doubt they'll be paying the bank back anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The accent threw me off completely when I heard it. Thought he was about to break into Tommy Carcetti at any moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭The Niece

Glad I'm not the only one confused on Littlefingers accent, just saw Calvary so was thinking Aiden Gillen was getting mixed up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,420 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Was it just me or was Littlefingers accent different? Sounded way more Irish or something.

Aiden Gillen is truly awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭degrassinoel

i think it's because he was whispering tbh, now that Joffers is gone, he's the next one i'm loving hating..

cant believe i just made a love hate reference to littlefinger :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

There's definitely something weird with his voice. He speaks very dramatically, and his Irish brogue seems to be quite pronounced.

Not a big fan of the Littlefinger character, if I'm honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,087 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

There's definitely something weird with his voice. He speaks very dramatically, and his Irish brogue seems to be quite pronounced.

Not a big fan of the Littlefinger character, if I'm honest.
    His accent annoys me immensely, to the point where I just can't take him seriously.
    Tywin looked happy enough with Joffrey's death, but still not sure why he's even letting Tyrion go on trial for it. He could deal with it a million other ways. Why not just say it was Sansa, end of problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

What's happened to Aidan's accent? It's gone awful quare. Always liked him as Littlefinger, though.

Same old, same old in this episode. Quality stuff but you wish things could move just a tad faster on the global scale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Terrible episode really. A lot of rubbish fillers. That whole story line with the fat lad was tedious to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

I'm just pissed off the killed Craster off screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,291 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Degag wrote: »
    I'm just pissed off the killed Craster off screen.

Craster?

We saw the mutineers kill him in an episode last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭twinex

Yrgette was a ruthless....eh "female dog", killing that youngfellas dad like that. It's a three-way toss up(?) between Littlefinger, Jaime and Yrgette for Scumbag of the week

Edit: Ygritte*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,001 ✭✭✭✭Degag

Blay wrote: »
    Craster?

We saw the mutineers kill him in an episode last season.

Forgot about that.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    His accent annoys me immensely, to the point where I just can't take him seriously.
    Tywin looked happy enough with Joffrey's death, but still not sure why he's even letting Tyrion go on trial for it. He could deal with it a million other ways. Why not just say it was Sansa, end of problem?

Maybe he's hoping they might be able to get their hands on Sansa again? She is the key to the north, as he was saying before. Maybe he wants her back alive.

twinex wrote: »
    Yrgette was a ruthless....eh "female dog", killing that youngfellas dad like that. It's a three-way toss up(?) between Littlefinger, Jaime and Yrgette for Scumbag of the week

Edit: Ygritte*
    I get the feeling as with the weekly reminder "look how evil Joffrey is" these cannibal lads have been parachuted in to convince us the wildlings are the bad guys. It's not working with me though, nobody south of the wall is any better in my book!

Maybe he's hoping they might be able to get their hands on Sansa again? She is the key to the north, as he was saying before. Maybe he wants her back alive.
    I would have thought the Tyrells are more important to him than the Starks at this stage of the game. The North to me looks like an utter mess. Anybody with a half decent army would flatten the place, especially after the wildlings have had their fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,602 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Gillens accent has been doing that since last season, its half fake Irish mixed with part pirate, myself and herself used to laugh at it but now its just beyond annoyingly bad.

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    I would have thought the Tyrells are more important to him than the Starks at this stage of the game. The North to me looks like an utter mess. Anybody with a half decent army would flatten the place, especially after the wildlings have had their fun.

I'm sure the Tyrells are more important, which is probably why he's not completely thrown by the fact that Sansa is missing. I would assume he'd rather have her than not though. Didn't Roose Bolton mention in the last episode that if people in the north get wind that the Stark children are back, that they'll rally around them?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,372 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Gillens accent has been doing that since last season, its half fake Irish mixed with part pirate, myself and herself used to laugh at it but now its just beyond annoyingly bad.

He was probably the worst actor in Love/Hate, and he's managed to do the same in GoT. I like the character, but Gillen's acting is so wooden I just can't take him seriously any more.

This episode was just all over the shop, with little or nothing of substance happening in any of the story lines. They really could do with losing a couple of them, Sam and Gilly being the obvious one and just forgetting about Daenerys until she's finished freeing every slave in Essos and has something more interesting to offer. Actually Stannis and co. aren't bringing much to the party at the moment, so I wouldn't miss them either. I hope next week's episode has a bit more substance to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

Gillen's accent is ludicrous in most he's in. His accent in Calvary is even worse. I like his Littlefinger portrayal though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Did anyone catch the monty python reference when the letter lesson was being written.

The little girl says Kinigit instead of Knight like the Knights of nii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Some ramblings

That rape scene was very out of place, totally out of place with the character (totally!!! he risked his life to save one woman from rape but will do it himself? No ****ing way) and just plain weird. Didnt get it.

The story of the fat lad and the inbred is boring as ****

I really wish she could just hurry up and free all the slaves in the entire world then get them to go die for her in battle

Tywin is a legend, Tyrion is going to be exiled I hope instead of killed, I think the old Tyrell certainly had a hand in the murder going by the conversation with Maegery (however you spell it) Littlefnger is clearly involved and since he brought the Tyrells into it that ties together nicely

Bit harsh killing the oul drunk but necessary, the wildlings are an odd bunch, where are the white walkers?

A slow episode, but some good bits in it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

kryogen wrote: »
    Some ramblings

That rape scene was very out of place, totally out of place with the character (totally!!! he risked his life to save one woman from rape but will do it himself? No ****ing way) and just plain weird. Didnt get it.

Yeah, I thought it a bit odd too. Jaime never really came across as being that sort of character, particularly within his relationship with Cersai.

It did highlight that Cersai really did care about Joffrey and Jaime really didn't, and could perhaps have had a role in his death. I'm struggling to work out Jaime at the moment, he's one of the least consistent characters. His motives seem very skewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,477 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

spoilers apparently but i didn't notice > George R.R. Martin Responds To That Controversial Game of Thrones Scene http://io9.com/george-r-r-martin-responds-to-that-controversial-game-1565762209?utm_campaign=socialflow_io9_twitter&utm_source=io9_twitter&utm_medium=socialflow

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,554 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

That contains some spoilers from outside the current episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Anybody remember the third name that Stannis said when he threw the slugs into the fire. I know Joffery and Robb were the first two but I can't remember the third at all.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,772 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

jamo2oo9 wrote: »
    Anybody remember the third name that Stannis said when he threw the slugs into the fire. I know Joffery and Robb were the first two but I can't remember the third at all.

Balon Greyjoy, Theon/Reek's dad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Balon Greyjoy, Theon/Reek's dad.

Just found it on wiki. Cheers!