Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Listen you idiots, below I have listed all possible knock on effects of early goals in the match in a bid to end this madness, hell I'll list the effects of goals at anytime

Pre 20th minute mark

Event: Utd score before the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Bayern score before the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Neither team score before the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Post 20th minute mark

Event: Utd score after the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Bayern score after the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Neither team score after the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue play a high possession game of ball and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

I hope that has cleared that up for you all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

I dont think the game plan will change much between the 1st minute and the 90th.

our plan certainly wont
    moyes doesnt have the know-how to change a plan mid-stream, not in a positive sense anyways
    when things are going pear shaped he just panics and just goes back to some variation of 4-4-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Realistically, we know that Bayern will control midfield due to both their possession style and also having better players in the middle. Don't think anyone would disagree with this.

So I would expect United to get 1-2 good chances in the game form quick breaks that might lead to corners, frees etc..

Bayern will surely get 5+ decent scoring chances. And this assumes our back 4 plays reasonably well. Obviously they'll get more chances in that case.

Midfield really is that important.

So the only way united can win is if they take their chances, and either Bayern are off-target or DDG plays a blinder.

For all that to happen seems very unlikely.

Totally agree and therefore we should be delighted to get a goal at any stage, we really cant be picky about when it would be best to score. Obv it would be great to score twice in injury time and go through but it aint going to happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

Listen you idiots, below I have listed all possible knock on effects of early goals in the match in a bid to end this madness, hell I'll list the effects of goals at anytime

Pre 20th minute mark

Event: Utd score before the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Bayern score before the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Neither team score before the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Post 20th minute mark

Event: Utd score after the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Bayern score after the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue to play a high possession game of ball in search of goals and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

Event: Neither team score after the 20th minute mark Effect: Bayern continue play a high possession game of ball and have us pinned in our own half for the majority with us sporadically counter attacking when we get the ball.

I hope that has cleared that up for you all.

such a simplistic view of the world, must be admired.
    2+2 is always 4
    that is why sport is so predictable i guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

such a simplistic view of the world, must be admired.
    2+2 is always 4
    that is why sport is so predictable i guess

The post was an obvious piss take

YwgbT16.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Gif of the year

Everything about this gif is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Reus incredible again last night, in sensational form the last few weeks after coming back into the side, think he was out with a niggly injury. Had checked on Dortmund games a few times over Jan - Feb and he wasn't present, might be mistaken.

Man, that game with Moyes sitting beside Reus agent ( coincidently also Kroos agent), and it being " just a chauffeur".

I hope there was some serious tapping up going on there, I want them both, IMMEDIATELY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭redbaron_99

TheDoc wrote: »
    Reus incredible again last night, in sensational form the last few weeks after coming back into the side, think he was out with a niggly injury. Had checked on Dortmund games a few times over Jan - Feb and he wasn't present, might be mistaken.

Man, that game with Moyes sitting beside Reus agent ( coincidently also Kroos agent), and it being " just a chauffeur".

I hope there was some serious tapping up going on there, I want them both, IMMEDIATELY.

Kreus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

get to HT at 0-0 and we're in with a good chance of progressing

The dream is to get to full time with the score at 0-0, that would be perfect! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The dream is to get to full time with the score at 0-0, that would be perfect! :pac:

That would certainly leave Bayern with no time to score.

For some reason I quite fancy United to score tonight and I'd definitely prefer that goal to come when the scores are level, rather than when chasing the game.

United players get a confidence boost, know Bayern can be got at. Bayern now know they need two goals to win the tie without a lottery. I don't see a down side.

Schweinsteiger and Martinez are a serious backbone lost to Bayern for tonight. Both provide serious defensive duties, Schweinsteiger more with his control of the game.

Interesting to see how things line up tonight. Kroos will be pivotal for Bayern taking the ball off the backline and springboarding attacks, could be a job here for Rooney/Wellbeck to suffocate him like they did against Alonso against Madrid.

Is Fletcher good to play tonight after Saturday, wonder if his stamina is back at that level. I'd probably go with the same lineup as the home leg except

Kagawa in for Giggs
    Fletcher in for Fellaini.

Buttner looked to be alright in his appearance against Newcstle with some sprinting, so hopefully he gets the nod ahead of Evra tonight. Robben was was mostly chained for the home leg, bar when he came inside like twice, and swopped wings. At once stage there was Ribery and Robben on Buttner trying to break through him.

I think with Buttner you have the stamina and pace to maintain defensive shape, put Evra in the mix and your going to get lapses and inability to get back after springing an attack, and holes for Robben to exploit.

I think we have a GREAT chance tonight. A Bayern team without Schweinsteiger and Martinez looses alot of it's strength and physical presence. While they retain some excellent possesion players, you can bully and harass.

I'll imagine it will be Gotze inbehind Mandzukic, Kroos operating from deep and Lahm in beside him. I saw that graphic there from Bild, I don't know why they think Muller will play CM over Lahm, when Rafinha will be available at RB.

The thought process will probably be based on Mandzukics assist he created, but ask any defender and they will tell you they would prefer challenging for balls in the air, then tracking a runner in behind. Mandzukic isn't just a long ball merchant, he has intricate movement he rarely get's credited for, but I think he would suit Ferdinand and Vidic better then Muller, who can do nothing for 88 minutes, make one run, and score. I wonder will FErdinand and Vidic be persisted with, after another clean sheet for Jones and Smalling .

I imagine we will see

Neuar
    Rafinha---Boatang---Dante---Alaba
    Kroos
    Lahm----
    Robben---Gotze
    Ribery
    Mandzukic

would like us to go

DDG----
    Jones--Vidic---Ferdinand/Smalling---Buttner
    Valencia---Carrick----Fletcher---Wellbeck---
    Kagawa

Rooney

Ball retention and using it effectively is going to be massive tonight, Kagawa needs to play.

Kreus!

----Kroos
    Fellaini---
    Reus
    Mata----Kagawa
    Rooney

Note the absence of RVP there :(

Football Manager type stuff, I usually don't subscribe to "teams on paper" but my lordy, that's some serious <insert Kagawa smiley face>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

----Kroos
    Fellaini---
    Reus
    Mata----Kagawa
    Rooney

Football Manager type stuff, I usually don't subscribe to "teams on paper" but my lordy, that's some serious 13zvjs.png

Fixed it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,930 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

----Kroos
    Fellaini---
    Reus
    Mata----Kagawa
    Rooney

Football Manager type stuff, I usually don't subscribe to "teams on paper" but my lordy, that's some serious <insert Kagawa smiley face>

Carvalho in for Fellaini and that team looks ok I suppose.

Schweinsteiger and Martinez are a serious backbone lost to Bayern for tonight. Both provide serious defensive duties, Schweinsteiger more with his control of the game.

Interesting to see how things line up tonight. Kroos will be pivotal for Bayern taking the ball off the backline and springboarding attacks, could be a job here for Rooney/Wellbeck to suffocate him like they did against Alonso against Madrid.

Is Fletcher good to play tonight after Saturday, wonder if his stamina is back at that level. I'd probably go with the same lineup as the home leg except

Kagawa in for Giggs
    Fletcher in for Fellaini.

Buttner looked to be alright in his appearance against Newcstle with some sprinting, so hopefully he gets the nod ahead of Evra tonight. Robben was was mostly chained for the home leg, bar when he came inside like twice, and swopped wings. At once stage there was Ribery and Robben on Buttner trying to break through him.

I think with Buttner you have the stamina and pace to maintain defensive shape, put Evra in the mix and your going to get lapses and inability to get back after springing an attack, and holes for Robben to exploit.

I think we have a GREAT chance tonight. A Bayern team without Schweinsteiger and Martinez looses alot of it's strength and physical presence. While they retain some excellent possesion players, you can bully and harass.

I'll imagine it will be Gotze inbehind Mandzukic, Kroos operating from deep and Lahm in beside him. I saw that graphic there from Bild, I don't know why they think Muller will play CM over Lahm, when Rafinha will be available at RB.

I imagine we will see

Neuar
    Rafinha---Boatang---Dante---Alaba
    Kroos
    Lahm----
    Robben---Gotze
    Ribery
    Mandzukic

would like us to go

DDG----
    Jones--Vidic---Ferdinand/Smalling---Buttner
    Valencia---Carrick----Fletcher---Wellbeck---
    Kagawa

Rooney

Ball retention and using it effectively is going to be massive tonight, Kagawa needs to play.

The Buttner / Evra dicision is critical tonight, we cannot afford to get caught in possession in Munich's half so for defensive purposes Moyes needs to pick Buttner so that he stick tight to Robben. My only fear is (I said this already) Evra was at the press conference with Moyes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Mata has travelled with the squad,no stupid jokes lads.Good to see him lending his support for the team when he could have easily stayed at home.

On a seperate note, and something I forgot to tout at the weekend, fair play to Moyes for sticking with Smalling and Jones, Regardless of it being maybe a forced move, its a pairing SAf touted as one for the future, but we rarely get to see.

I've been mightly impressed with Smalling and Jones as a CB pair. Pace, strength, decent positioning which will only grow with experience.

Rafael, Smalling, Jones and Buttner is a back four with the pace to combat anything along with the strength aswell. the introduction of a new CB is obviously going to remove one of them , I can see Smalling perhaps stepping out, but it's been relatively rock solid from what I've seen between the pair.

Tonight is a stretch to fair for the new pair, but domestically anyway its boding well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,208 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Is Fletcher good to play tonight after Saturday, wonder if his stamina is back at that level.

IANAD, but I suspect that Saturdays game will not be the issue, its more that his illness fluctuates from day to day. So he could wake up today drained and tired and so not be an option, but its not because of Saturdays game, its just because.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Carvalho in for Fellaini and that team looks ok I suppose.

975399a0bf18e01ac645add63772b2744a192f1adf0c24efc70e5d7c0c89c989.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Anybody backing United at 11/1 tonight. Might wait and hope we score in the first 20 mins might get 25/1 then.

WP
    Clapping-gif-tumblr-i19.gif

zerks wrote: »
    Mata has travelled with the squad,no stupid jokes lads.Good to see him lending his support for the team when he could have easily stayed at home.

I love is all round attitude and the passion he shows, reading some of his articles in the last few weeks have been very refreshing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,452 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

zerks wrote: »

He said on his blog he would be watching it on T.V so I'd imagine it was something to do with the Munich memorial and getting a chance to take it in was a factor in changing his mind.

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    The Buttner / Evra dicision is critical tonight, we cannot afford to get caught in possession in Munich's half so for defensive purposes Moyes needs to pick Buttner so that he stick tight to Robben. My only fear is (I said this already) Evra was at the press conference with Moyes.....

He is "supposidly" a big character at the club, typical the manager aligns himself with a big character for a big game. Personally never got the Evra being a leader ****, that's great how he gives it loads in the dressing room, he shrugs and could barely shake a branch on the pitch. Hardly someone wthat would inspire me anyway.

I think critical to tonight is going to be defensive shape. Evra be it through sheer lack of effort, or genuinelly loosing his legs, has exposed viciously this year that he cant run the line for 90 minutes. So he will need to stick at left back, somewhat nullfying the ability to break quickly.

If Evra gets sucked into those counter attacks, and if he starts he will, he doesn't have the legs to get back to shrink the space, and Gotze, Robben or Ribery will gobble it up.

975399a0bf18e01ac645add63772b2744a192f1adf0c24efc70e5d7c0c89c989.jpg

€36m investment from Sporting Lisbon is it? , or proven Premier League player who's just having a rough first season.

I know who I would stick with to have an impact next year, and it doesn't originate from Portugal.

On a seperate note, and something I forgot to tout at the weekend, fair play to Moyes for sticking with Smalling and Jones, Regardless of it being maybe a forced move, its a pairing SAf touted as one for the future, but we rarely get to see.

I've been mightly impressed with Smalling and Jones as a CB pair. Pace, strength, decent positioning which will only grow with experience.

Rafael, Smalling, Jones and Buttner is a back four with the pace to combat anything along with the strength aswell. the introduction of a new CB is obviously going to remove one of them , I can see Smalling perhaps stepping out, but it's been relatively rock solid from what I've seen between the pair.

Tonight is a stretch to fair for the new pair, but domestically anyway its boding well.
    I do think Moyes would have liked to use the pair a lot more but injuries to both of them, and Rafael, has made it nigh on impossible to play the two as a CB pairing.

Playing Jones and Smalling together puts pace into the backline which Rio and Vidic lack; allowing us to play a higher defensive line, so a higher midfield. It is part of the reason we defend so deep and our midfield sits so deep - they all have to account for the lack of pace in Rio/Vidic.

Or at least I hope that is the reason, and from what Moyes has said on the subject I believe it to be the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

He is "supposidly" a big character at the club, typical the manager aligns himself with a big character for a big game. Personally never got the Evra being a leader ****, that's great how he gives it loads in the dressing room, he shrugs and could barely shake a branch on the pitch. Hardly someone wthat would inspire me anyway.

I think critical to tonight is going to be defensive shape. Evra be it through sheer lack of effort, or genuinelly loosing his legs, has exposed viciously this year that he cant run the line for 90 minutes. So he will need to stick at left back, somewhat nullfying the ability to break quickly.

If Evra gets sucked into those counter attacks, and if he starts he will, he doesn't have the legs to get back to shrink the space, and Gotze, Robben or Ribery will gobble it up.

Anybody notice how Robben moved infield to try to target Vidic's lack of pace in the first leg,he got so little from running at Buttner,he pretty much gave up trying it.Evra would have been a different story as Robben would have had the freedom of OT.I'm dreading to think what could happen down that side tonight as Evra strolls around on the halfway line as Robben waves him goodbye while running in behind him.

€36m investment from Sporting Lisbon is it? , or proven Premier League player who's just having a rough first season.

I know who I would stick with to have an impact next year, and it doesn't originate from Portugal.

Carvalho is going to be a beast of a destructive midfielder - I don't think Fellaini will be more than a squad player in that role. Also reckon Carvalho can and will (by someone) be got for less than his buy out fee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,868 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Can't see what the argument for ever playing Evra is. Terrible at attacking and defending over a very large sample.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Can't see what the argument for ever playing Evra is. Terrible at attacking and defending over a very large sample.

I'd still rate him higher than Buttner who has himself looked a liability in the vast majority of his appearances - dives in and a free kick/peno waiting to happen.

Evra's roaming obviously concerns me, but I just don't buy Buttner as a better left back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I'd still rate him higher than Buttner who has himself looked a liability in the vast majority of his appearances - dives in and a free kick/peno waiting to happen.

Evra's roaming obviously concerns me, but I just don't buy Buttner as a better left back.

Whether he is better or not is a different matter but Buttner is the man to start tonight.