Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,930 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

So general question, if we are beaten tonight in the same manner as the Liverpool, does that put Moyes under presssure again? Or has the Olympaikos result bought him trust again until the summer at least?

Personally I think the Olympaikos result has saved him, unfortunately.

That said, a horrid defeat tonight followed by horror shows vs Bayern could turn the tide again.

At the least, I do think United need to put in competent respectable performances in the big games, and win the 'winnable' ones through to the end of the season - but I fear Moyes has more backing than he should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Even Mata is only in on reputation.

The inclusion of Evra doesn't even need to be discussed.

like I said before, I would have evra anyday over clichy and kolorov... even city themselves are looking at a new left back this summer and shaw is high on their list.... Mata is on the team as he is quality....much better than navas and milner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

So general question, if we are beaten tonight in the same manner as the Liverpool, does that put Moyes under presssure again? Or has the Olympaikos result bought him trust again until the summer at least?

should be sacked tonight if they leak 3+ goals imo
    (and show no passion / fight like in Liverpool game)

- but I fear Moyes has more backing than he should.

I wonder if SAF is the key here? suspect so

shaw and kroos are long shots imo - perfect signings if achievable tho
    would prob cost approx 70m

we also need a serious centre half and a top striker as a matter of priority

i'd be 'selling' rio, evra, da silva, buttner, cleverly, young, nani, valencia, RVP ASAP

So your shopping list in the summer would be

two left backs, two right backs, a centre back, at least one central midfielder, at least one winger and a striker.

Big shopping list there! 8 to 10 signings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,762 ✭✭✭bmcc10

Is ASAP a youth player?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

So your shopping list in the summer would be

two left backs, two right backs, a centre back, at least one central midfielder, at least one winger and a striker.

Big shopping list there! 8 to 10 signings.

Think it was The People that mentioned 5 signings is the target this summer.

zerks wrote: »
    Think it was The People that mentioned 5 signings is the target this summer.

If it was 5 signings, I would go left back, centre back, centre mid, centre mid, winger.

(Shaw, Benatia, Kroos, Carvalho, 'No Idea') - really not sure on the winger. Reus in a perfect world, but more likely a less stellar name.

Would still leave us short quality at left back and right back.

what are the chances on getting Klopp this summer
    He'd surely be interested?
    And if his signature was secured, that would open the door to some interesting Dortmund signings I'd imagine
    Plus Kagawa would be delighted i'm sure (thats good)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

Can anybody talk me out of backing against United for the first time in my life.

Nuts102 wrote: »
    Can anybody talk me out of backing against United for the first time in my life.

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

what are the chances on getting Klopp this summer

Zero. Moyes will still be manager come August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Interesting one, O Jogo - the Portuguese newspaper are praising Bebe recent form and are even tipping him for a spot in the World Cup squad if he keeps it up. Personally Im delighted for him, wasnt his fault that Utd spent crazy money on him and he got a lot of flack for it. Glad to see him doing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

UgbbE.gif

Zero. Moyes will still be manager come August.

are you saying we wont get Klopp cause he doesnt want the gig or because we wont be approaching him cause (a) we're not looking for a manager, or (b) we dont feel Klopp is an appropriate candidate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

are you saying we wont get Klopp cause he doesnt want the gig or because we wont be approaching him cause (a) we're not looking for a manager, or (b) we dont feel Klopp is an appropriate candidate?

(a)

(a)

jaysus thats depressing..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

hope this helps

IMG_20140325_114553151[1].jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Interesting one, O Jogo - the Portuguese newspaper are praising Bebe recent form and are even tipping him for a spot in the World Cup squad if he keeps it up. Personally Im delighted for him, wasnt his fault that Utd spent crazy money on him and he got a lot of flack for it. Glad to see him doing well.

Fair play to him, a really horrendous witch hunt at the start from the press and a horrendous injury to make matters worse.

I'm still concerned that he is on loan at pretty low level leagues and clubs, but look if it builds a little confidence then all well and good.

We can sometimes focus so much on buying in recruits, we forget who we have out on loan. I don't think his "form" is anything to write home about, I'd expect someone who was signed for United to be destroying lower league football.

Powell has been having an excellent season with Wigan, I wonder if he will be introduced to the squad next year or if another spell on loan is on the cards. He's been mighty impressive from what I've seen. Although playing in a pretty advanced role, nearly a striker for Wigan.

I'm on the fence with Bebe. But at some point we need to **** or get of the pot. He's had a few seasons on loan now, either we take him into the squad with a view to utilise, or sell him off to someone. He needs to be stable to have any chance with his career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

TheDoc wrote: »
    Fair play to him, a really horrendous witch hunt at the start from the press and a horrendous injury to make matters worse.

I'm still concerned that he is on loan at pretty low level leagues and clubs, but look if it builds a little confidence then all well and good.

We can sometimes focus so much on buying in recruits, we forget who we have out on loan. I don't think his "form" is anything to write home about, I'd expect someone who was signed for United to be destroying lower league football.

Powell has been having an excellent season with Wigan, I wonder if he will be introduced to the squad next year or if another spell on loan is on the cards. He's been mighty impressive from what I've seen. Although playing in a pretty advanced role, nearly a striker for Wigan.

I'm on the fence with Bebe. But at some point we need to **** or get of the pot. He's had a few seasons on loan now, either we take him into the squad with a view to utilise, or sell him off to someone. He needs to be stable to have any chance with his career.

Whats his actual position :confused: we played him RM which I highly doubt is his best position.

Exactly. It's a terrible time for a game. If it was on on the original date, you can guarantee it would be sold out.

That's why my flights / tickets and all were cancelled. Raging. Heap of lads pulled out because of the re-adjustment due to the Carling Cup Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,206 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

I doubt Bebe will ever play another meaningful game for United.
    Both he and United will let his contract run down and he'll be on his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

I'm on the fence with Bebe.

are you trying to get a gig on mutv or something?

even paddy crerand wouldn't be this deluded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I certainly hope he is given a chance next season. Not only is he showing plenty of quality, but considering our attacking options I would far rather he be given a shot than money spent on any other attacker.

And Bebe isn't worth talking about, he isn't good enough to be a United player and probably never will be.

i cant see either POwell or Zaha having an impact at united
    too signings arriving with loads of potential but delivering nothing really
    we'll see i guess

any winger that cant break into a side with young and valencia has to start doubting themselves.
    Is nani working on his guns / karate these days?
    Great athlete that fella - shame he has little interest in MUFC / football in general

And Bebe isn't worth talking about, he isn't good enough to be a United player and probably never will be.

hes not even a premiership player
    i'd love to see someone like shamrock rovers taking a gamble with him
    would perk up interest in the irl football league too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Is nani working on his guns / karate these days?
    Great athlete that fella - shame he has little interest in MUFC / football in general

Congratulations, quite possibly the dumbest thing I have heard all week. And trust me, I have heard some dumb stuff this week.

how so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

The number of signings required will depend on whether or not we're in the Europa League...if we have no European soccer we can get away with less quantity and therefore invest more in quality.