Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Sheepy99 wrote: »
    Shows what he's capable of though if ye get off his back and give him time.
    I feel he will make ye into a good team in time, mightn't play great stuff but beggars can't be choosers at the minute

Lol at the idea of United being beggers and lol at the idea that the fans are putting pressure on Moyes. If he needs the pressure to be off him before he can put together a good string of results then he isn't the man for the job.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Pro. F wrote: »
    A few things make me say that Moyes has spent his 65m poorly:

- He still hasn't bought a replacement for Evra. Nor has he bought cover for Rafael.

- Fellaini wasn't a good fit to go with the midfielders we had when he was bought.

- Mata isn't just a player that we don't need, he's a player that doesn't really fit in. He's a fantastic player, but he needs to playing centrally imo. I think he will always be a compromise when playing from wide and spending 37m on a compromise is extremely wasteful. Imo the only justification for spending that money on Mata is if Moyes knows that RvP is going to leave in the summer.

Grand, I thought that was your thinking and I understand why you think that.

I disagree on the basis I dont think he chose to ignore those issues but chose to wait a little while to get the right players and the players he did buy fit the ideas Moyes has spoke about so they are not a waste.

I do think he should have bought another midfield player even for the short term but would prefer to see the opportunity to buy Mata taken when it would be a very difficult transfer to get in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭collie0708

Hey just noticed that the city game has not even sold out for tomorrow, strange that a game against one of our biggest rivals and we seem not to be able to sell 25000 to 30000 tickets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

collie0708 wrote: »
    Hey just noticed that the city game has not even sold out for tomorrow, strange that a game against one of our biggest rivals and we seem not to be able to sell 25000 to 30000 tickets.

Where are you getting those figures? I highly doubt they're correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Tickets still available alright.

Not many though

EVENFLOW

Where are you getting those figures? I highly doubt they're correct.

The different papers talk about united having roughly 52000 season ticket holders,this only leaves 24000 tickets left for non season ticket holders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

The different papers talk about united having roughly 52000 season ticket holders,this only leaves 24000 tickets left for non season ticket holders.

Do you think they didn't sell any to non season ticket holders?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Not very many tickets remaining...

8a301026d0a85d8f9784c190cbeb2575.png

Al Capwned wrote: »
    Not very many tickets remaining...

8a301026d0a85d8f9784c190cbeb2575.png

I know there are only a handful of tickets but considering that in previous years you had to apply and if you look on forums like uws,a hell of a lot of people seemed to get chubbed.

Do you think they didn't sell any to non season ticket holders?

Of course not the tickets become available to members but usually you have to apply to have a chance to get one and the game sells out early, not often tickets available the night before for one of our biggest rivals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

I know there are only a handful of tickets but considering that in previous years you had to apply and if you look on forums like uws,a hell of a lot of people seemed to get chubbed.

its a tuesday in the last week of the financial year im not going as a season ticket hold cause i cant get the time off work atm and even the guy that usually takes the games i cant attend is touch and go

Id imagine its the same for a lot of people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

NTMK wrote: »
    its a tuesday in the last week of the financial year im not going as a season ticket hold cause i cant get the time off work atm and even the guy that usually takes the games i cant attend is touch and go

Exactly. It's a terrible time for a game. If it was on on the original date, you can guarantee it would be sold out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

I remember a Liverpool game years ago still selling tickets before the game and thats when we had less capacity.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭davehey79

NTMK wrote: »

Ditto ! Luckily no such problem next week for time off to go the Bayern game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭Dacelonid

Augmerson wrote: »
    Jesus christ. It was a United fan who sent me the pic across Facebook. I thought ye might get a laugh out of it, nothing to do with Fergie. Have you seen the movie? It makes a lot of sense and is actually quite funny if you have. It made me lol and he did too.

Seriously not a negative pop at United or Ferguson.

It was funny, and I liked it

Pro. F wrote: »
    A few things make me say that Moyes has spent his 65m poorly:

- He still hasn't bought a replacement for Evra. Nor has he bought cover for Rafael.

- Fellaini wasn't a good fit to go with the midfielders we had when he was bought.

- Mata isn't just a player that we don't need, he's a player that doesn't really fit in. He's a fantastic player, but he needs to playing centrally imo. I think he will always be a compromise when playing from wide and spending 37m on a compromise is extremely wasteful. Imo the only justification for spending that money on Mata is if Moyes knows that RvP is going to leave in the summer.

I don't think Mata needs to be playing centrally at all. He broke through on the left for Valencia, played on the right for Chelsea most of the time and all over the place for Spain. Does Silva have to be playing centrally for City? What about Cazorla for Arsenal? There's a way that both Kagawa and Mata could play out wide and still be effective, Moyes just doesn't want to play that way or doesn't want to spend the time adapting to the system.

The reason that you'd play with 2 DMs like Carrick/Fletcher/Fellaini/Jones etc. is so that they can cover the wings and relieve responsibility on the wide players. As of now all they do is hold the middle, which means any ball out wide is sending the shape into chaos and everyone's chasing players and the ball around and constantly in a state of panic. Carrick and Fellaini have been on top of each other so much it's ridiculous and creates space for the opposition and stagnates anything United do when they win the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Liam O wrote: »
    I don't think Mata needs to be playing centrally at all. He broke through on the left for Valencia, played on the right for Chelsea most of the time and all over the place for Spain. Does Silva have to be playing centrally for City? What about Cazorla for Arsenal? There's a way that both Kagawa and Mata could play out wide and still be effective, Moyes just doesn't want to play that way or doesn't want to spend the time adapting to the system.

Just because he has played in the position doesn't mean that he is a good fit there. That Valencia team were nothing special. And even though Chelsea won the CL while he was playing there, often on the wing, they were not an amazing team. Especially when you consider the money they spent.

Silva and Cazorla should both be playing centrally yes. Both City and Arsenal have problems with those players when they play from wide. They'll catch they eye a lot and they'll score and assist plenty from the wing because they are fantastic players. But when you watch those teams in games against strong opposition they very often have problems because of those two players not having the athleticism required for their wide role.

Spain and Barca (and now Bayern) are a different kettle of fish to every other team. They monopolise possession and so they can afford to have wide players who lack the natural athleticism required for the job. I would also strongly suspect those teams of using PEDs and so the that masks the problems even more.

I guarantee you that if Mata is going to be on the wing long term that we will see issues with him whenever we play strong opposition. The only way it could work would be to go down the Barca route of possession domination. Moyes isn't going to be doing that any time ever.
    Liam O wrote: »
    The reason that you'd play with 2 DMs like Carrick/Fletcher/Fellaini/Jones etc. is so that they can cover the wings and relieve responsibility on the wide players. As of now all they do is hold the middle, which means any ball out wide is sending the shape into chaos and everyone's chasing players and the ball around and constantly in a state of panic. Carrick and Fellaini have been on top of each other so much it's ridiculous and creates space for the opposition and stagnates anything United do when they win the ball.

Two central players can't cover the wings. If you want a formation that requires shuffling across like that then you need three players in the middle. If you only have two players central, they shuffle across and the opposite wide player tucks in. Now you have a bank of only three, instead of four, your opposite flank is wide open and you can be easily outnumbered.

I've never seen the defence you are describing proposed by any coach and I've never seen it implemented anywhere. It doesn't cover the pitch well enough and I don't think it would work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

zerks wrote: »

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE THIS.

Loved our umbro kits back then, love Umbro's kits now. Please God let this happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,825 ✭✭✭Mikeyt086

http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/mar/24/manchester-united-manchester-city-david-moyes

So Daniel Taylor has written an interesting article ahead of the City match, in which he said:

"United are at least addressing the issue. This newspaper's information is that deals have already been provisionally agreed for two players in what promises to be an extensive recruitment programme over the summer."

And having done a little digging the most common thought there is that they are Calvalho and Coentrao.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Mata can't play wide because he is weak and slow. Being one or the other is fair enough but both is a disaster for a wide player. Mata is not athletic in the slightest.

He is perfect in the centre because technically and mentally he is very quick and handles the congestion smartly.

Kagawa is similar although not on the same level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

Anything more than a loss is a surprise. Agreed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭Ernest Oreo

how is Ando getting on btw since his big move?
    injured i suppose..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

bangkok wrote: »

Even Mata is only in on reputation.

The inclusion of Evra doesn't even need to be discussed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Mikeyt086 wrote: »
    http://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2014/mar/24/manchester-united-manchester-city-david-moyes

So Daniel Taylor has written an interesting article ahead of the City match, in which he said:

"United are at least addressing the issue. This newspaper's information is that deals have already been provisionally agreed for two players in what promises to be an extensive recruitment programme over the summer."

And having done a little digging the most common thought there is that they are Calvalho and Coentrao.

Moyes had covered ALOT of games in his first season, and his scouts have been working overtime all year.

One of the positives I remember reading about when he joined was how expansive and intensive he worked his scouts at Everton, to get a clear and accurate detail on targets and potential targets. He'd then go see them himself to make a judgement.

I wouldn't be overly suprised, coupled with the mess of last summer, if alot of business happens fast and early this summer.

Longer this Kroos thing goes on it gives me more hope aswell. Indications from his camp are that he wants everything boxed off before the World cup, and won't be going to Brazil with an uncertain future.

If he isnt tied down to a new deal by then and we put in a big offer and wage packet, might make them have to take a tough decision.

The Cavani thing is something that keeps cropping up, not sure where its coming from to be fair. I watch the Ligue 1 weekly review, and last week Cavani was on it being very happy and determined in his role with PSG, and I've heard nothing other then that this season.

Second top goalscorer in the league playing out left and right of Ibrahimovic, serious going.

Against my better judgement, I'm looking forward to tonight's game more than any other I can remember in a long time.
    The chances of being hammered are quite high but there's still that glimmer of hope that won't go away :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

So general question, if we are beaten tonight in the same manner as the Liverpool, does that put Moyes under presssure again? Or has the Olympaikos result bought him trust again until the summer at least?

Nobody here can answer that. I'd be fairly certain but still guessing that the decision on whether he stays or goes in the Summer has been made already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭markcahill1985

Nobody here can answer that. I'd be fairly certain but still guessing that the decision on whether he stays or goes in the Summer has been made already.

Meant more in terms of the fans trust rather than the boards. I totally agree that the decision has been made already & think he will be given next season as well, especially when reading that there are two signing already provisionally agreed for the summer. Although I guess the provisionally may depend on whether they keep him or not. Oh well hope for a good performance and result so that this doesnt become an issue again.