Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Great honest report B. Super run. Rest up and savour the monent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Superb racing and report Barry, delighted for you. Well done. Tough going but your motivation and beautiful thought of writing down your kids names, ah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

aquinn wrote: »
    Superb racing and report Barry, delighted for you. Well done. Tough going but your motivation and beautiful thought of writing down your kids names, ah.

Cheers A, have done the kids thing since the eldest lad arrived. Hope yesterday went well for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Ed Mc Groarty

Congratulations on a gem of a first marathon, well done!

Thanks Ed, super human stuff from yourself Sunday in Connemara. Missus always says there bred tougher in the Hills, well done.

tang1 wrote:
    Missus always says there bred tougher in the Hills, well done.

My missus says I'm pure tick( but I'm sure she means tough)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

tang1 wrote: »
    Thanks Ed, super human stuff from yourself Sunday in Connemara. Missus always says there bred tougher in the Hills, well done.

He's a Dub!

Murph_D wrote: »
    He's a Dub!

Well he did say he was thick!!

Am not ya fecker!

Bray all the way
    (except the first year on ballymun ave., and then another bunch in sandymount as a teen and then a few more in my twenties)

Hmmm...not sure where I'm from now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Am not ya fecker!

Bray all the way
    (except the first year on ballymun ave., and then another bunch in sandymount as a teen and then a few more in my twenties)

Hmmm...not sure we're I'm from now.

That's good enough for me, even better, a northsider too. (And calling it Ballymun Ave makes you even more of a Dub.) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Just catching up a bit. Super run again B, some man. You looked like the bar owner on sunday night the smile on ye :D Well deserved with the work put in.

Now, back to the present..... Watch out for TbL lowballing you a 20:xx time for the 5k, it's a trap I tell you :DD:D:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

What an experience. Well done tang, very well deserved. Some grit there alright :cool: Recover well :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Brilliant report and such a well deserved result. I've been 'following' you (in an un-creepy way);) since the heady days of the Novice 2012 thread and to see things come together for you like this over the marathon distance is truly wonderful. Hope the body heals up quickly. Big congrats Barry :)

Ososlo wrote: »
    Brilliant report and such a well deserved result. I've been 'following' you (in an un-creepy way);) since the heady days of the Novice 2012 thread and to see things come together for you like this over the marathon distance is truly wonderful. Hope the body heals up quickly. Big congrats Barry :)

Thanks A, jeez Novices 2012, myself and YoungAnne only spoke of that in Murphy's after the race, seems like such a long time ago now. I have re-ran the race every night in my head since and I honestly cannot remember one thing to complain about. It was everything I had hoped and more, I can't wait to hopefully run DCM in October to compare both. Hope your recovering well yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Enjoyed the report Tang. Well done again. Now if they play YNWA at the start that's nearly enough for me ( A real real RED :)) to want to do Rotterdam.

ATB

RedRunner wrote: »
    Enjoyed the report Tang. Well done again. Now if they play YNWA at the start that's nearly enough for me ( A real real RED :)) to want to do Rotterdam.

ATB

Cheers R, jaysis between 'Come on you boys in Blue' and YNWA your taste is music is shocking!! Very well done in the GIR Sunday & the 1st place finish with the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Steroo

Well done Tang = great report & well deserved ;) it was a while coming & some serious injuries to overcome - great determination & perseverance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Congratulations tang, great report and nice to see the progress coming off a background of injuries. Must be lots more good stuff to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I've said it many times in the last week but officially read the report now so I'll say it again, well done Barry, that has to be the most well deserved marathon result in the history of marathons. I'd never have told anyone about the tears but I see you confessed to your friends :p I knew you could do it, my only regret is not being there to see it first hand. Next time, ok? You're a super runner, and an even better person and you've so much more to come this year.

Whoop Whoop Whooop!!!!! :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Firedance wrote: »
    I've said it many times in the last week but officially read the report now so I'll say it again, well done Barry, that has to be the most well deserved marathon result in the history of marathons. I'd never have told anyone about the tears but I see you confessed to your friends :p I knew you could do it, my only regret is not being there to see it first hand. Next time, ok? You're a super runner, and an even better person and you've so much more to come this year.

Whoop Whoop Whooop!!!!! :D:D

He's an auld grumpy sponsored walking gimp!

Just to give a bit of balance on the "new" Boards :)

TbL

He's an auld grumpy sponsored walking gimp!

Just to give a bit of balance on the "new" Boards :)

TbL

we all know how much you love him C, you can pretend all you like :pac:

Massive thanks for all the kind comments and PM's folks, well since Rotterdam and I'm still on a high!!

Thursday 14.4.16

20 mins Recovery, legs were bit stiff and hips still a bit on the tender side but loosened out as the run progressed.

Friday 15.4.16

7 miles Easy@9.01min/miles

Date time, the Lemon was pining for me since Rotterdam and wanted to make sure I was alright. Met by the canal for a good old natter and gossip, he was sandbagging about the forthcoming Smackdown next month but I ain't falling for that one. Wily as a lighthouse rat he is, and regardless of what he says, looks in great shape for a man that spent best part of a month living as a fat Yank!!

As always C, great company and great run, cheers.

Saturday 16.4.16

28 mins Recovery, ran this with the missus, she's caught the running bug and wanted to get back into it after her cracked rib. Not liking this, could be arguments from now on on who's going running when!! Great to see her doing it and she's taken to it like a duck to water.

Will get back to 5-6 days running next week, but will be all at easy pace. Body still tired if I'm honest so don't want to do anything stupid that will impact my recovery from Rotterdam.

How's the recovery going tang?

All good FD!!! Enjoying some new craft beers the past few weeks & have no doubt gained a few pounds but nothing major. Have behaved with the food diet, no crap in that thanks to Mrs tang1, surprisingly I've given up all sweet stuff that I was more or less addicted to prior to Rotterdam. I'll have done four runs by tomorrow for the week with the emphasis on time rather than distance which I'm loving. Will be back into structured training come start of next week.

Made up for bit of lost time with the kiddies to, the eldest took his first steps today to pulling on a Meath jersey which brought a tear to my eye(in a good way) and trying my damndest to teach our youngest to say Mamma, only word she knows at the minute is Dad, not that I'm complaining about that!!!

Here's a photo of me in Murphy's not long after finishing Rotterdam, think I was texting TbL how much I missed him!!!!:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

All good FD!!! Enjoying some new craft beers the past few weeks & have no doubt gained a few pounds but nothing major. Have behaved with the food diet, no crap in that thanks to Mrs tang1, surprisingly I've given up all sweet stuff that I was more or less addicted to prior to Rotterdam. I'll have done four runs by tomorrow for the week with the emphasis on time rather than distance which I'm loving. Will be back into structured training come start of next week.

Made up for bit of lost time with the kiddies to, the eldest took his first steps today to pulling on a Meath jersey which brought a tear to my eye(in a good way) and trying my damndest to teach our youngest to say Mamma, only word she knows at the minute is Dad, not that I'm complaining about that!!!

Here's a photo of me in Murphy's not long after finishing Rotterdam, think I was texting TbL how much I missed him!!!!:

Jazus is that a half pint of beer you wuss, probably a shandy too!!!!

TbL

:eek: :eek: :eek:

fine, that's fine.... see if I care!!!!!!

:D:D:D:D

glad to hear its all going well :)

Wednesday 20.4.16

40 mins Easy@9.17min/miles

Emphasis on time ran since Rotterdam rather than miles. First 20 mins was around the local GAA pitch and second half on the road. Ran this in racing flats as alas my Rotterdam runners had to be retired to the bin, over 600 miles in them so they served me well.

Thursday 21.4.16

30 mins Easy@9.18min/miles

Done on my usual recovery loop, weather was fantastic and was more than happy to take it easy and soak up the sun. Body feeling good and no post marathon niggles of any kind to concern me.

Friday 22.4.16

Cross training, walked over 5 miles carrying set of golf clubs around the New Course in Headfort. Less said about the golf the better!!!

Saturday 23.4.16

45 mins Easy@9.16min/miles

Long run for the week!! Again the weather was great, my new runners arrived in post the day before so took them out for a spin. Went New Balance again seeing my last pair served me so well, first impressions, me likes them!!

Back into proper structured training next week, main focus for the rest of the year will be Mullingar 10 mile followed by the Athlone Half. Have decided not to do DCM and work on the short stuff and build again for a Spring marathon next year, more than likely to be Barcelona.

GOLF!??!!?? Tsk

You go ride your bike!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

....build again for a Spring marathon next year, more than likely to be Barcelona.
    good choice, it's great marathon and city!