Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Monday 19.10.15

Rest, spent most of the day being mentally assessed to see that i'm still fit for purpose for work. I'm suffering with depression not a basket case. GRRRRR!!!

Tuesday 20.10.15

10miles@9.05min/mile in 1hr 30min 55secs(including 8E and last 2MP)

Another morning of making sure i'm not a candidate for the remake of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest had me itching for a run. Headed down to the canal for this starting out at Longwood Harbour, Blackshade Bridge(remember the railway bridge Sunday FD:p:p), Hill of Down, Ballasport Bridge to just shy of the Meath/Westmeath Border and back.

The canal was eerily still and covered in leaves falling from the trees, would love to run the length of the whole canal someday, not the full 90 miles in one day but i'm sure you could manage it over two. Got bit emotional as i finished up as it was along here that i ran my first date with TbL that wonderful sunny summers day we help hands as we skipped along doing our run. He bought me roses then asked me to go skinny dipping, i said no and broke his heart!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

:D now which of the many hills was that!! I'm still traumatized:p sounds like the perfect run after a tough day :)

Awww so sweet to remember your first TBL date - but I hope no one from work reads your log :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

tang1 wrote: »
    Monday 19.10.15

Rest, spent most of the day being mentally assessed to see that i'm still fit for purpose for work. I'm suffering with depression not a basket case. GRRRRR!!!

Tuesday 20.10.15

10miles@9.05min/mile in 1hr 30min 55secs(including 8E and last 2MP)

Another morning of making sure i'm not a candidate for the remake of One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest had me itching for a run. Headed down to the canal for this starting out at Longwood Harbour, Blackshade Bridge(remember the railway bridge Sunday FD:p:p), Hill of Down, Ballasport Bridge to just shy of the Meath/Westmeath Border and back.

The canal was eerily still and covered in leaves falling from the trees, would love to run the length of the whole canal someday, not the full 90 miles in one day but i'm sure you could manage it over two. Got bit emotional as i finished up as it was along here that i ran my first date with TbL that wonderful sunny summers day we help hands as we skipped along doing our run. He bought me roses then asked me to go skinny dipping, i said no and broke his heart!!!

Just thinking, if your assessors were to read the end of your post there the questioning might take a different turn ;) Best of luck with that - can't be easy

Wednesday 21.10.15

5miles@9.16min/miles in 46min 21secs

5 miles in the dark, i hate the dark, i didnt sleep on my own till i was 14, i'm afraid of the dark. Will be going to nearest town to run in the dark from now on, fully sure something was running after me doing this. TbL were you really in London all week?? Only reason i ask is cause your used to running behind me:p:p:p. Nice run apart from the dark bit.

Thursday 22.10.15

Rest, was suppose to run but Mrs tang got caught to work on so no chance by time she got home.

Friday 23.10.15

6miles Steady@8.42min/miles in 52min 16secs

Usual 3 miles out 3 miles back route at home, nothing to report from this really, feeling good this weather and the 'bounce' is still there.

Saturday 24.10.15

5miles Easy@9.11min/miles in 45min 56secs

I have a few regular routes i run and pass the same people everytime i'm out on them. I past an elderly man i see from time to time and he said to me 'Why do you run so much young fella, your not fat?'. I reply cause i enjoy it, to which he said 'How could you enjoy doing that, your mad' to which he scuttles off down his farmyard. Maybe mad but feck it i enjoy it to much to care, lovely run in the winter evening sun.

Sunday 25.10.15

6miles Easy@9.14min/miles in 55min 28secs(inc 6 x 15sec strides)

3 miles out and back again, enjoyed the strides, concentrated on form and staying tall doing them say was at 75% effort doing them. Another enjoyable weeks training, loving the variety. 32 miles for the week.

5 miles in the dark, i hate the dark, i didnt sleep on my own till i was 14, i'm afraid of the dark.

I'm having trouble imagining you're afraid of anything :)
    TbL were you really in London all week?? Only reason i ask is cause your used to running behind me:p:p:p. .

:D:D:D

how's the foot? nice week's work there.

Firedance wrote: »
    I'm having trouble imagining you're afraid of anything :)

:D:D:D

how's the foot? nice week's work there.

Cheers, foot is grand no issues with it at all thankfully. Hopefully just one of those phantom niggles.

Be no running here this week, picked up a dose from our wee one that's manifested itself into a chest infection. Spent all day yesterday and most of today underneath a duvet. On antibiotics till Monday, could be worse, gives the body a weeks rest which can only be good. Gave me time to book Rotterdam accommodation to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Be no running here this week, picked up a dose from our wee one that's manifested itself into a chest infection. Spent all day yesterday and most of today underneath a duvet. On antibiotics till Monday, could be worse, gives the body a weeks rest which can only be good. Gave me time to book Rotterdam accommodation to.

Oh typical when you were going so well. Better to get it out of the way early. Hope you feel better soon.

annapr wrote: »
    Oh typical when you were going so well. Better to get it out of the way early. Hope you feel better soon.

Cheers Anna, exactly my thinking, get it over and done with hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Just catching up here. Best of luck with the Rotterdam training and get well soon!

RedRunner wrote: »
    Just catching up here. Best of luck with the Rotterdam training and get well soon!

Cheers R, how's the rehab coming along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Cheers R, how's the rehab coming along?

Not good. I feel like I'm on a game of snakes of ladders. As soon as it looks like I'm making some progress, I land on a feckin snake! Calf problem keeping me off the roads at moment.

RedRunner wrote: »
    Not good. I feel like I'm on a game of snakes of ladders. As soon as it looks like I'm making some progress, I land on a feckin snake! Calf problem keeping me off the roads at moment.

Ah jaysis your getting zero luck, it will come good if you keep persevering. God knows I know that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Feeling better B?

Ososlo wrote: »
    Feeling better B?

Sadly not A, the chest infection manifested itself into some sort of super virus that took hold Sunday evening. Cue alot of visits to the toilet (Firedance will fill you in on the gorey details if you want them!!!) over 36 hrs and me losing 5-6 lbs in the process and nearly being admitted to hospital as a result. The misus and eldest lad suffered to unfortunately. Weak as a kitten but holding down small bits of food, think it's another week of no running again for me. Cheers for asking.

ha ha I was just about to post and say I hope you give the censored answer!!!!

Sadly not A, the chest infection manifested itself into some sort of super virus that took hold Sunday evening. Cue alot of visits to the toilet (Firedance will fill you in on the gorey details if you want them!!!) over 36 hrs and me losing 5-6 lbs in the process and nearly being admitted to hospital as a result. The misus and eldest lad suffered to unfortunately. Weak as a kitten but holding down small bits of food, think it's another week of no running again for me. Cheers for asking.
    Jaysus that's some dose you got.
    I'll pass on the gory details though thanks:( Lucky Firedance!!!
    Rest up and get better soon.

Monday 9.11.15

5miles@9.14min/miles in 46min 14secs

And i'm back on the horse, 2 weeks of no running gave the body some rest and i was giddy as a schoolkid to get out and do this. Nothing really to report from it only it was great to be back running again.

Tuesday 10.11.15

7miles@8.50min/miles in 61mins 54secs(3E, 2ST, 2MP)

Enjoyed this no end the mix up of paces made it a nice little workout, right quad experiencing some DOMS but coach said to expect that after the two week lay up. Blowing an absolute gale out, hoping this is not whats ahead for training over the winter for Rotterdam.

Weight 12st 9Ilbs
    Just highlighting this to keep an eye on it and to annoy a Fat Lemon a small bit to(put down the bag of Skittles C:P:P:P:P:P).

Great to see you back at it and fightin' fit!

Cheers A, fingers crossed for no more hic-cups between now & April 10th next year.

What's happening on April 10th :pac:

Delighted to see you back at it, we will only need half a plane seat each at this rate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

....and less full of sh1t :)

TbL

....and less full of sh1t :)

TbL

Great way of losing weight, might help you a small bit!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

What kinda pace did you hit for the last 2 miles? Or is it top secret?

Bulmers74 wrote: »

8.30 I'd guess ;)

TbL

Bulmers74 wrote: »

No secrets on my log J you know that, I see scaldy balls answered for me already but it was more 8.25 though.

Jaysus, is it a sponsored walk you're doing in Rotterdam!!! :)

TheScaldyBallLemon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Good to have you back, B. Best of luck with the Rotterdam bid. :)

Jaysus, is it a sponsored walk you're doing in Rotterdam!!! :)

TheScaldyBallLemon

I'm a work in progress!!!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Good to have you back, B. Best of luck with the Rotterdam bid. :)

Cheers D, hopefully get it right this round and make it to the startline.