Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Funny sayings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,072 ✭✭✭mass_debater

My uncle describing my lazy cousin, "if there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

My father;

He'd stale the winkers off a nightmare

He's a cute hoore.

Over and back like a sh1t on a swing-swong.

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭TheSelf

Did your mother find out who your father is yet?

What would ye expect from a pig but a grunt?

I left her with a face like a painters radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 333 ✭✭deseil

"He wouldn't get his hole in a polo mint"

"Me mouths as dry as ghandis sandal"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

He'd give a panadol a headache, that lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

El Weirdo wrote: »
    From a thread in here recently, I think:

"I wouldn't get off of her 'til I felt the baby crowning."

I rather have her down than a field of hay and she'd be saved a lot quicker.
    I'd rather feel her than feel the cold.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 piersquared

he's so mean , if he had two diseases , he would'nt give ya one of 'em

he's so mean, if he found a plaster he'd cut himself

He's so mean he wouldn't give his sh1t to the crows

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭missierex

My uncle when describing a very thin man:

'He's so thin one eye would do him'.

My uncle again, this time describing the town bike:

'She's had more pricks than a porcupine'.

Can't beat Kerry people for their way with words!

• Registered Users Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

He is so mean ,that you would not get the steam of his piss.

My first time hearing "You're not as green as you're cabbage looking" left my eyebrows taking their time returning to the front of my forehead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Years ago a friend slept with a very big girl and during a slagging sessions someone said "How did you even get it in" to which someone else chirped in "Sure she's so big, she's full of fannies!"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,845 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

A leper never changes his spots
    Running round like a two ar$ed fly

I believe the term for this is malapropism, although my examples also would stand as sayings on their own I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 383 ✭✭BUBBLES1978

I wouldn't ride her into battle!!

Cilit wouldn't even bang her!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

Busier than a dog with two cocks.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

The wind is that strong it would blow a knacker off his sister!

Better late than pregnant!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Watching someone clumsy tackle something small and finicky.
    Like a cat trying to ride a matchbox.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

That one lives in such a bubble, I'm surprised she doesn't float the fuck away.

Its so cold, even the skobes have their hands in their own pockets for once.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

A south African I work with always leaves work saying the same thing every time - Im off like a jews foreskin lads, see you all soon:D

My friends UK aunt used to say to him when they were at home and he was going out for the night "be good and if you can't be good buy a pram"

• Registered Users Posts: 232 ✭✭TheOtherBloke

She has a head like a half eaten apple

• Registered Users Posts: 89 ✭✭ballinasloex

These are fair popular one were I'm from ;) - shut ur mouth and eat ur dinner
    Ah isit yereself?
    Gammy feen
    Margine face
    I'll kick ya with a box!
    And the list goes on:|

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

2 things that will get a man into trouble-- his tongue and his tool.
    A bit of advice given to me by a solicitor. I was seeing him on an unrelated issue and he came out with this when somehow we started discussing marriage.and relationships.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭triona1

Don't look at the mantelpiece when you are poking the fire.and it's a ship to any port in a storm.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,944 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Don't do anything I wouldn't do.

It takes a big hammer to drive a big nail. (Reply when asking a male friend you hadn't seen for some time if he had put on some weight)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,944 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

She's all picture and no sound. (goodlooking woman with not much to say)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

Body like Baywatch, face like Crime-watch.

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Stan27

He/she is "as wild as a badgers arse"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

"How's things with you?"

"Tearin' away like a tinkers shirt".

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭BelleOfTheBall

We'll go where the wind takes us

Off galavanting