Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car Plans for 2014

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭ffocused

I will reward myself this summer for not buying one single car in 2013. (first time since 2009!)

I will change from my econobarge (05 Sonata) to a Luxobarge!
    Will get a 05-07 era Lexus GS300. Shuld pick one up a decent one for about 5-6k by then.

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭johnplayer

Must be cos he got 2 of them..:pac:
    We'll wear john player

Thanks guys , love the car but might keep an eye out for a different set of alloys . I'm living in Kerry but have a meeting in Dublin tomorrow , looking forward to taking it for a rip :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 73,395 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is it blue?

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

A6 - New soundsystem just installed. Pioneer x7500bt head, DLS Up6 components all round, JL Audio 900/5 amp and JL 12W3v3 sub. All installed in the last week, now about a month of messing to tune it properly.

Car needs alternator pulley, drivers side outer cv joint and air con needs attention. Hopefully nothing else goes wrong in 2014

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭johnplayer

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is it blue?
    lol No , silver .

• Registered Users Posts: 5,917 ✭✭✭kirving

Hopefully buying my own first car in a couple of weeks. 08 Volvo S40 1.8 is the prime candidate. R-Design is a nice but possibly a little dear, I'd settle for a sport bodykit as it really changes the look of the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,866 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Side Skirts should be on mine in the next few weeks. Just need to find the time to get it to my preferred paint shop.

Kerbed a wheel (not happy) so rather than having it painted and not matching properly/lasting as well there's a new one going on at the same time as the paints being done. Another option is to change them for a different wheel altogether but the only type I am interested in is extremely hard to come by.

OPC steering wheel. Have found a couple on eBay, if I confirm that the airbag is a straight swap that'll save me €200 on one.

LED number plate lights - ordered already but they are specially made to order from Germany so will be another month or so.

Retro-fit tyre pressure monitors. Missed a trick not ordering them as they were a cheap option and with big expensive tyres I'd like to know if one was losing air instead of unwittingly destroying it.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/161194406092?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_992wt_1065

Gotcha!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Arise you! Hahahahaha before 2015 and all :D
    dgt wrote: »
    Balls.... Where to start :p

520i to be sold (what an epic diffmobile :cool:)

406 is grand :) might experiment with a pair of turbos though but I'm happy with it as is

535i to get its much needed rad and tyres for some serious work/fun :D

525i to get roadworthy fir next year :)

166 needs sold but will be restored before that

156 is a simple plan with a nutty execution :D

Van has a similar fate :pac:

Ka to get it running and make into a stock car

Might start poking at the Landy and 106 if I have the time

Oh and get a new daily hack.... Hope that gets the go ahead ;)

Oh dear, how things didn't turn out!

520i: sold

406: sold

535i: still needs a rad

525i: filled it with crap and haven't done a tap with it :(

166: sold

156: still in the process of making it into what I wanted!

Van: pushed into the garden and forgotten about :(

Ka: scrapped

106: scrapped

Landy: still in the bamboo

New daily hack did work out well though!

Roll on the new thread and a list of tasks I won't complete :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Sobanek wrote: »
    February/March 2014:

- Buy prefferably an E46 325ci.
    - M-Sport Bodykit if it's not there
    - Black, electric leather seats
    - Yellow rings (don't like LED ones)
    - Xenons
    - Black kidneys
    - Rear Facelift Lights (LED)
    - Some nice exhaust

Well, that worked out almost!

And I got a 750i so happy enough :D

Side Skirts should be on mine in the next few weeks. Just need to find the time to get it to my preferred paint shop.

Kerbed a wheel (not happy) so rather than having it painted and not matching properly/lasting as well there's a new one going on at the same time as the paints being done. Another option is to change them for a different wheel altogether but the only type I am interested in is extremely hard to come by.

OPC steering wheel. Have found a couple on eBay, if I confirm that the airbag is a straight swap that'll save me €200 on one.

LED number plate lights - ordered already but they are specially made to order from Germany so will be another month or so.

Retro-fit tyre pressure monitors. Missed a trick not ordering them as they were a cheap option and with big expensive tyres I'd like to know if one was losing air instead of unwittingly destroying it.

What a load of bollocks that post was anyway. It was gone two months later.

I've priced up a few options along the same theme and I'm pondering them. Basically all are a diesel warm hatch. Nothing exciting at all there really. Potential new house is shadowing my decision making.

The other option is hold off a couple of years and get an A7. Have a horn for one the last couple of years. Either that or a 4 series GC - drove one lately and was mightily impressed overall.

*The above will most likely be bollocks so I'm covering my ass.

This I did...two weeks before I sold it to someone at work:confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 13,536 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

joujoujou wrote: »
    Main plan - keep my car alive (more than likely it will also be a plan for 2015 and 2016).
    Check.
    joujoujou wrote: »
    Additional plan - more silly mods! :D
    Check.

Mission accomplished. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

For the astra
    Repair one of the doors and various bits and bangs on the astra - nope!
    Replace that god damn wiper motor :pac: nope!
    New brake discs, convert the rear drums to discs....maybe - nope!
    Get two new front tires - done :)

For the saab

Replace throttle body - two of the feckers!
    Replace exhaust cat - didn't need to be! :D
    Replace indicator lens - nope!
    Get new alloys+tires+locking nuts - Done :D
    Get said alloys tracked - Done! :D
    Get insured and all the rest! - Done! :D
    Possibly get an aero body kit from somewhere - getting done soon
    Upgrade suspension - Getting done soon
    Drop the sump, clean it and replace - done!
    Replace any missing/broken/damaged bits - done!
    And I'm sure there's more but i can't think of them now

Arise indeed!

Jaysis i done well! :D

This year!

9-5

Aero suspension
    Remap
    New badges
    Front mounted intercooler perhaps?
    4 pot brake upgrade
    Aero spoiler
    1.9tid badge :pac:
    Possibly tint the rear windows
    General maintenance
    Another sump drop
    Replace the rear crank oil seal :o
    Alloy refurb
    Polybushes
    Td04 turbo :o

For the 900

Repair the driveshaft tunnels
    Repair the leaks
    Remove the dash and replace all bulbs
    Get a bloody headunit!
    9000 brake upgrade
    New wipermotor
    New sunroof

And much much more! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Truckermal wrote: »
    Luxobarge that's all..

And no it didn't happen either and won't be in 2015 either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Dord wrote: »
    More bodywork
    Replace during the summer with something better.

Ok, so the replacement was delayed until Autumn but the Panda is better than the A-Class for sure! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Get a new one :pac:

It worked :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Bpmull wrote: »
    I don't plan to spend much on the focus for the first half of the year as it running very well at the moment and there is no faults with it.
    -full service oil + air filter + oil filter this will probably be done February depending when it falls due.
    -if I still have it summer time I'll spend a couple of bob on it. I'll bring it too the mechanic and get a full look over it will probably need some suspension parts track rods etc but most were replaced when I first got it.
    -again if it's still here during I will do a few cosmetic mods/ upgrades as upto now it's really only been getting mechanical work done although that has to be done first anyway.

Thank god that piece of sh!t is gone :) it's a car I had no regrets with selling although I was completly straight with the new owner about its issues and he had a ford mechanic check it out. I lost so much on it but am still happy out with its replacement.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I have enough car changing done for awhile. Have 2 NCT's and a DOE this year (please be nice to my wallet ) I understand that discs are now issued for the DOE.. Great, now i can't "prolong" it 

Yeah.... that didn't pan out how I thought it would. 206 gone, focus bought. Dunno why I was raving about the jeep, that's not even mine :confused:

Don't know what will happen this year if I'm honest. The fact that so many of us were wrong goes to show how unpredictable things are, and how they can change so much in a year!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭ianobrien

ianobrien wrote: »
    My plans.....

'05 Almera. Service next week and again in August. I service it every 15k km or 6 months, which ever is first. The yoke is boringly reliable and the only non service item replaced in '13 was a brake caliper. Other plans include to take it to 270k to 280k km without major jobs. I'll probably hit this by years end.

'77 Escort. Rebolster front seats as its sagging slightly. Replace centre console as there is a tiny hole (1 to 2 mm) with a NOS item. Service in March and September, with a full fluid change, new coil, rotor arm, dizzy cap and exhaust gas analysis. Ideally replace the windscreen with a NOS green tint one (ultra hens teeth item!) and NOS exhaust or exact copy in stainless steel.

'97 Endurance Rally and Multi venue autotest Starlet. KILL IT IN COMPETITION!!!! Yes I plan to use it until it dies in a blaze of glory, or more likely a broken gearbox or blown engine.

Oh what a year. Almera and starlet are gone and the Escort I just drove (and serviced). Roll on 2015