PARlance wrote: » Well done tonight. A hammering. I'm not overly concerned, Dublin are streets ahead when it comes to a panel and this makes ye a monster in the League. No County can compete and I can't see much changing. I've said it in the Mayo thread but there's just so much competition for Championship spots and so much strength in depth that others can't compete.
TCDStudent1 wrote: » was impressed with that McHugh lad at 15. Showed for ball, got a couple of scores. Looks a good prospect. Will he be around come championship?
Bambi wrote: » Mayo more interested in trying to bust lads than winning tonight. McGoldrick was trying harder to get scores for them than they were That tackle from behind on fenton towards the end was shocking
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Kerry, Tyrone and Monaghan are all better teams then Mayo for a start. So I think Mayo will need Mad Cow Disease in Ulster and a plague in kerry, to stand any chance of making September.
corny wrote: » Sorry Bambi my OCD is kicking in.;)The refs name is David Coldrick. Some random thoughts.-How did McMahon get MOTM?-Fitzsimons has to mark Moran if we play Mayo later in the year. His pace and tenacity are a nightmare for him. Some of them didn't winter well either. Keegan looked to be carrying a bit of timber. -Pleased with the hurlers. Waterford are just fitter and stronger than us but we matched them for long periods.
ProudDUB wrote: » Watcing the replay back now.... Where do you start? MDMA. Welcome back, my son. You were missed. Fenton. Beast of a man. Beast of a player. Beast of Dub. It is downright scary to think how good he could be, when he has 5 or 6 more years expereience under his belt. Why on earth did Paddy Andrews take the penalty? It was the most anaemic peno I have ever seen in my life. Even my granny could have saved that. O'Gara...I swear to God, I love him to bits, but he takes years off my life.Nice to see St Cillian back to his usual ways of throwing the sneaky elbows and of course, he gets away with it. Billy Joe Padden looking a prize twit in the commentary trying to sugar coat it, when the replays clearly showed it up for what it was. Philly responded in the best way possible....on the scoreboard ! Billy Joe was awful on commentary. Worse than Bernard Flynn and McHugh tied together. Not just this incident but quite a few during the game. Where to now for Mayo. Parsons had a decent game and got a few nice scores. If I were Rochford I would not be starting Andy Moran or Vaughan. Mayo need to be freshened up and they need to stick with the young lads and build the team around Boyle, Higgins, Keegan, Parsons, Durcan etc. I think it would be good for them. If Dublin do meet them later in the summer they will be much better than tonight. The new Dublin lads were again very good. Scully, Lowndes and McHugh are serious contenders come championship and add in the few U/21s.... Most pleasing is the workrate of the older lads. The hunger is still there and they are in good shape.
ProudDUB wrote: » I'm sorry, but comparing the size of the two panels is a bit of a cop out imo. Last year in Castlebar, there was barely a kick of a ball between the two teams. That night, Dublin had a lot more regulars playing, than they did tonight, yet all they could manage was a 2 pt win. No one was talking about panel depth that night. Tonight, too many Mayo players looked like they just didn't give a $hit. Plain and simple.
PARlance wrote: » Well done tonight. A hammering.I'm not overly concerned, Dublin are streets ahead when it comes to a panel and this makes ye a monster in the League. No County can compete and I can't see much changing. I've said it in the Mayo thread but there's just so much competition for Championship spots and so much strength in depth that others can't compete. It's not that we don't care about the League but you have to be realistic. We started the league without 5 or 6 key players. That's a big loss to us and it doesn't help when bringing in new blood. You want new blood being blended with the best. Spot on re Keegan. He got roasted by Reilly in the ICF and his arse has doubled in size, he looked like he had a nice belly on his too at the Rossie game. He'll be back in action soon though... but to prove above, no Dublin player would allow that over the winter, they can't afford to, someone would snap up their place or move above them in the pecking order. That's the difference for me and unless 15 players emerge to challenge our best 15, it won't change. Other county's will always struggle with that. That's not a complaint though. The Championship evens things up.
corny wrote: » -Mayo always miss a trick in the league IMO. They allow Dublin psychologically batter them every year. Saying it doesn't matter its just the league is wide of the mark. Some of them didn't winter well either. Keegan looked to be carrying a bit of timber.
corny wrote: » Sorry Bambi my OCD is kicking in.;)The refs name is David Coldrick.
Slattsy wrote: » Fwiw, Fenton was my motm. Best player in the country right now by a long way. Everything he does is glorious.
gormdubhgorm wrote: I would be more afraid of the Monaghan team then Mayo. They are organised, passionate and have McManus. I heard they had two sent off today and still stayed in the game
Bambi wrote: » Sure didnt the ball just happened to be in around the goal Mayo more interested in trying to bust lads than winning tonight. McGoldrick was trying harder to get scores for them than they were That tackle from behind on fenton towards the end was shocking
Stoner wrote: » Not sure about Kerry, definitely Monaghan aren't, Tyrone would have it in them alright to beat anyone.
MayoAreMuck wrote: » Where's Magic when you need him???? One word "Trimming"!!!!
gormdubhgorm wrote: Kerry, Tyrone and Monaghan are all better teams then Mayo for a start. So I think Mayo will need Mad Cow Disease in Ulster and a plague in kerry, to stand any chance of making September.
martyos121 wrote: » Fair play, as awful as we were, ye played very well I thought and created goal opportunities at will. Against a poorer keeper, the deficit would be closer to 20. The next meeting should be a lot closer, hopefully it's in September.
Nidgeweasel wrote: » An inability to deal with a high ball inside isn't bad luck.
MayoAreMuck wrote: Where's Magic when you need him????
Slattsy wrote: » I also support Liverpool.
Deleted User wrote: » Stoner, Two own goals in an All Ireland final that ends in a draw is massive luck no matter what way its broken down. Horan was not the best for taking advice from anybody, we were even shouting at him from the stand a few yards away and he still couldn't see it.
Deleted User wrote: Stoner, Two own goals in an All Ireland final that ends in a draw is massive luck no matter what way its broken down.