Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pubs on xmas day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Some people don't have the ability to plan more than 3 hours ahead. Get some extra shopping, and extra fiver of petterl in the car, and buy a few cans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,876 ✭✭✭Scortho

MJ23 wrote: »
    What about the people working in the pubs? Surely they'd like a day off. It's two days in the year.

1. Staff in pubs get more than two days off in a year.
    2. Just because a business is allowed open every day of the week doesn't mean that they all open on Christmas Day now does it? They'll only open if they want to and think they'll make a profit. Most won't.

Why don't we give everyone a day off for Christmas. Sure it's just a day in the year. We don't need tv today. But there's some technician in rte I'd say making sure nothing goes belly up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Mocha Joe

Scortho wrote: »
    We don't need tv today. But there's some technician in rte I'd say making sure nothing goes belly up.

He obviously doesn't work friday nights though. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

Scortho wrote: »
    1. Staff in pubs get more than two days off in a year.
    2. Just because a business is allowed open every day of the week doesn't mean that they all open on Christmas Day now does it? They'll only open if they want to and think they'll make a profit. Most won't.

Why don't we give everyone a day off for Christmas. Sure it's just a day in the year. We don't need tv today. But there's some technician in rte I'd say making sure nothing goes belly up.

Ah scalder, go to bed will ye.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭Mr Viking

I think the choice should be there for anyone to go to a pub if they so choose. There are a lot of sad individuals who have nowhere else to go. Closing a pub on Christmas Day can leave them in a very sad lonely destitute place. As the son of a publican in the North I have lost count of the number of people my ole fella brought home for Christmas Day dinner on closing up at lunch time. My ma was always livid but would never see them on their own so we were always stuck with the bar flys!
    As for the workers, they are paid to work in a service industry be it Xmas day or not. What about all our nurses, doctors, gardai who have to work also. You only have to take a look at the British soaps to see how many story lines focus on the pub on Christmas Day! It's not that big a deal to open up at Xmas in my book!

MJ23 wrote: »
    Ah scalder, go to bed will ye.

Is that the best argument you can come up with?
    Pubs should be closed so staff can have two days off?
    If that's the case why don't we bring in a law that states that alcohol can't be sold for the month of Christmas to give people working in the industry a month off. Sure it's only a month.
    I'll tell you why, because it'd be ridiculous, just like this law is as it currently stands.

If the best argument for forcing a business to close on Christmas Day is so staff can have a day off, then that law has long past it's sell by date!

Just because someone is allowed do something doesn't mean that they will do it, or else we'd all be in work today, except those who work in pubs and off licences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭Shout Dust

Mr Viking wrote: »
    I think the choice should be there for anyone to go to a pub if they so choose. There are a lot of sad individuals who have nowhere else to go. Closing a pub on Christmas Day can leave them in a very sad lonely destitute place. As the son of a publican in the North I have lost count of the number of people my ole fella brought home for Christmas Day dinner on closing up at lunch time. My ma was always livid but would never see them on their own so we were always stuck with the bar flys!
    As for the workers, they are paid to work in a service industry be it Xmas day or not. What about all our nurses, doctors, gardai who have to work also. You only have to take a look at the British soaps to see how many story lines focus on the pub on Christmas Day! It's not that big a deal to open up at Xmas in my book!

I don't think looking at the drama on British soaps is a good advocate to open them :D

But still, we'd probably need more doctors, nursers and gardai on duty on Christmas day if the pubs were open. I think Christmas is a time for family and everything should be closed except for essential services. It transcends religion, unlike Good Friday, which I disagree with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 615 ✭✭✭omega666

So basically your saying we should keep the pubs open to cater for a few alcoholics.
    Nurses doctor and gardai are essential services that have to run. I don't think a bartender counts in the same category.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 64 ✭✭Mr Viking

Shout Dust wrote: »
    I don't think looking at the drama on British soaps is a good advocate to open them :D

But still, we'd probably need more doctors, nursers and gardai on duty on Christmas day if the pubs were open. I think Christmas is a time for family and everything should be closed except for essential services. It transcends religion, unlike Good Friday, which I disagree with

A time for family......if you have one! If you don't and the lads at the local boozer are the nearest thing......**** you!

Or drink in someones house for the day, the pubs open for the rest of the year. Let people with families enjoy the day and do what we can to allow as much people have the holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,367 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Or drink in someones house for the day, the pubs open for the rest of the year. Let people with families enjoy the day and do what we can to allow as much people have the holiday.

You assume everybody celebrates Xmas. They don't.

I don't believe in forcing tradition upon people. If the pubs open, people can choose not to go to them, like most do nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭raher1

They're nothing to do in pubs anymore but drink and talk ****. Where did all the games go! Might aswell stay at home,watch tv and get pissed,it's just like a pub,can't you call someone for free on Skype. There day sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Still haven't seen a coherent argument put forward by the keep them closed posters on this thread. The central tenet of your argument is based on an assumption that people would get hopelessly drunk and put a strain on resources.

The point about the staff needing a day off is also nonsense, completely ignoring the fact that they will have already received their statutory entitlement.

You assume everybody celebrates Xmas. They don't.

So? Most do and its a public holiday for everyone regardless of whether you choose to celebrate it or not, one that I'd imagine has the broad support of society. Many have friends and family coming home they haven't seen in a long time, its a good tradition regardless of whether it has religious origins or not, if the day happened to be New Years day instead of Christmas I'd still support the closure of pubs and all other non-essential services

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Iggy154

Aidric wrote: »
    Still haven't seen a coherent argument put forward by the keep them closed posters on this thread. The central tenet of your argument is based on an assumption that people would get hopelessly drunk and put a strain on resources.

The point about the staff needing a day off is also nonsense, completely ignoring the fact that they will have already received their statutory entitlement.

What it comes down to is that people who want pubs open on Christmas Day are selfish. They are the very type of people who should stay home at Christmas. They cause enough trouble during the remainder of the year,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Do you know what would be cool? If they put old telephone boxes into pubs :)

Iggy154 wrote: »
    What it comes down to is that people who want pubs open on Christmas Day are selfish. They are the very type of people who should stay home at Christmas. They cause enough trouble during the remainder of the year,

Nice stereotype there.
    I haven't been in a pub in about 3 weeks. In fact the bottle of kindred spirit I'm about to have is the first drink I'm having since. I'm certainly causing trouble looking for them to have the right to be open, like every other business in this country.

Just because of Ireland's backwards enforcement of some peoples religious beliefs on everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I don't cause any trouble.

I go to the pub maybe twice a month on average, but sometimes I wouldn't go at all for 4-6 weeks, but I'd like to have the option to go any day I please provided some publican in my area is willing to open their premises.

I'm not selfish. I don't have kids,I go to my parents house for dinner, play with my nephew for a few hours, that's my xmas duties done.

I never ever drink in the house.

Why shouldn't I have the option of going out for a pint tonight?

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I don't cause any trouble.

I go to the pub maybe twice a month on average, but sometimes I wouldn't go at all for 4-6 weeks, but I'd like to have the option to go any day I please provided some publican in my area is willing to open their premises.

I'm not selfish. I don't have kids,I go to my parents house for dinner, play with my nephew for a few hours, that's my xmas duties done.

I never ever drink in the house.

Why shouldn't I have the option of going out for a pint tonight?

Because some religious chap said you can't!

I think people are narrowminded if they can't see past their bias against religion. I'm not religious at all and would support it whether it was Christmas Day or New Years Day. I don't see the harm in having one day a year where as much people as possible are able to get off work and spend time with their families/friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

Why cant we have one day of the year that everyone is able to get off work at same time. As others have said maybe dont force businesses to close but give everyone the right to have the day off....even if they need to use holiday days to get it or if they have none take it as an unpaid day off. I know essential services dont have that luxury but if this thread is anything to go by there are plenty who would like to work. Anyone in essential services who is forced to work should be paid double time at a min to make up for forgoing tte national day off. I dont care about the religious aspect, it is a social consideration to give families and groups to get together at the same time when they all can get the day off no problem. There has to be more to life than work and profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I wouldnt really have a strong opinion either way on this, but I think the pubs should be kept closed just to prolong the suffering and agony it seems to cause some people who reckon it's the greatest travesty of a human rights violation in the history of mankind.

I'm sure women in Afghanistan, LGBT campaigners in Russia and political prisoners in China are all going to see this 'oppression' in Ireland and realise that their problems pale in comparison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭systemicrisk

Could the nearest thing to a family you have not organise to get together at a house or elsewhere for xmas and have a major ppisup if they were so inclined

Not that I would ever go to a pub on Christmas Day (how Coronation Street!), but I think it should be allowed in this country. As some people have said, many families don't celebrate Christmas. It's about time Ireland realised that!

The whole argument about bar staff needing a day off is stupid. And I worked in a bar for 7 years! Many people work on Christmas Day. My Mother does it every year. Many medical staff, call-centre staff, hotel staff etc work Christmas Day. I've done it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 894 ✭✭✭cian68

What it comes down to is that people who want pubs open on Christmas Day are selfish.

I don't want them open I want them to have the option to be open.

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Not that I would ever go to a pub on Christmas Day (how Coronation Street!), but I think it should be allowed in this country. As some people have said, many families don't celebrate Christmas. It's about time Ireland realised that!

The whole argument about bar staff needing a day off is stupid. And I worked in a bar for 7 years! Many people work on Christmas Day. My Mother does it every year. Many medical staff, call-centre staff, hotel staff etc work Christmas Day. I've done it.

But most do celebrate it, whether for religious reasons or not. It's a tradition and part of our culture, and a good one imo.
    If I was in Japan and they had or have some equivalent of Christmas over there, where everything non-essential was shut down and all families and friends come together once a year I'd respect that as a tradition and part of their culture. I certainly wouldn't see it as some personal affront to my freedom or attack by the religious to impose their religion on others, as some seem to on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,228 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Aidric wrote: »

The open them up arguments make absolutely no sense to me to be honest. I mean seriously - talk of opression is a ludicrous argument and a lot of the other arguments seem like they are from children having tantrums.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

But most do celebrate it, whether for religious reasons or not. It's a tradition and part of our culture, and a good one imo.
    If I was in Japan and they had or have some equivalent of Christmas over there, where everything non-essential was shut down and all families and friends come together once a year I'd respect that as a tradition and part of their culture. I certainly wouldn't see it as some personal affront to my freedom or attack by the religious to impose their religion on others, as some seem to on here.

Having pubs open on Xmas Day won't ruin your day. If you feel it will, then it's pretty sad.

Again I don't think you get the point of forcing the tradition upon people, no matter what you think.

Until recently Sunday shopping was seen as a bad thing, things change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,867 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Do you not think its important to have one day a year that everyone can have a day off and spend time together. Im from a big family and this is only time we are all off at same time. We are all living away from home and it is something I really look forward to every year. I am no in any way religious.

What about people with no family and may see going to a pub on Christmas Day as a way to beat the lonelyness

The open them up arguments make absolutely no sense to me to be honest. I mean seriously - talk of opression is a ludicrous argument and a lot of the other arguments seem like they are from children having tantrums.

No it's quite simple, it's about choice.