Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Off Topic Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭sdoc13

Anyone done any dirty ew doubles for the masters and the national.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

sdoc13 wrote: »

Plan on doing a few tomorrow, havent had a proper look at the national as of yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Tiger woods/ Tiger Roll
    Kevin Chapel / bless the wings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Agree with above, Tiger Roll @15 (BestPrice), and only via one vendor offering (BestPlaces) (6pl) + NRNB.
    Same for Blacklion@13.

But instead of of Master O/R (use Sky's 10pl for this), it's Paddy's '1st Round Leader' market instead, 8places!
    Arrays built from (triple digit wildcards) for this, Fred, Wesley, Kodaira, Walker, Zach etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭munster87

Tiger Roll / Russell Henley

Tiger Roll won't be decared for the GN, unless plans have changed in the last two weeks. Even if he did he is a stone worse anywhere away from Cheltenham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,564 ✭✭✭kiers47

danganabu wrote: »
    Tiger Roll won't be decared for the GN, unless plans have changed in the last two weeks. Even if he did he is a stone worse anywhere away from Cheltenham.

I think you are confusing him with another horse. Gordon has said a number of times that he will be going.

kiers47 wrote: »
    I think you are confusing him with another horse. Gordon has said a number of times that he will be going.

I wasn't if Im perfectly honest, just horribly out of the loop, just reading his quotes in todays Racing Post confirming Tiger Roll will run ; this was his quote when asked after the Cross Country about Aintree ''Today was his day, it would be the Irish National if any as that is more prize money'' - jaysus if WPM did such a thing there would be a march organised on O'Connell Street!!

Still hold the belief that Aintree or the fences won't suit. His last winning mark outside Cheltenham was 138 and he runs off 150 in the National, thats the opposite of what you want really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,980 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

LOL at all the kiddies giving out to the Leopardstown Twitter that they've had to call off the Student Day today.

Plan on doing a few tomorrow, havent had a proper look at the national as of yet

Had a look at this and have thrown a few specualtive darts using the following Matsuyama, Poulter and Ryan Moore in the Masters and Pleasent Company, Vieux Lion Rouge and Wounded Warrior in the National.

Obviously Moore/Warrior double comes in I can happily retire :D

Actually fancy a few at shorter prices in both markets but for the purpose of this happy to go with a few at bigger prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

LOL at all the kiddies giving out to the Leopardstown Twitter that they've had to call off the Student Day today.

Following kiddies on Twitter eh...

City a bet tonight? As a Liverpool fan I can't see us winning the game whatsoever. I'll take a draw now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭slimshady007

Slattsy wrote: »
    City a bet tonight? As a Liverpool fan I can't see us winning the game whatsoever. I'll take a draw now!

I'd go so far as to say Liverpool have a great chance tonight. Only team that have gone toe to toe with City this season and exposed their vulnerabilities. Don't think City defence will hold Salah and co. The big concern would be Sane against TAA but suspect Ox will be doubling up on him.

On the money so far.

City a bet tonight? As a Liverpool fan I can't see us winning the game whatsoever. I'll take a draw now![/QUOTE

Always knew there was something not right, just couldn't put my finger on it :D

Nailed it!

Casey
    Stenson
    Zach Johnson
    Leishman
    Cabrerra
    Olazabal

Raz de Maree
    Baie De Iles
    Wounded Warrior
    Hobloun Des Obleaux

Cross EW doubles for the miracle :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭maximo31

EW cross doubles for me too :
    J.Thomas / Speith / Bubba / Casey / Fitzpatrick
    Seeyouatmidnight / Anibale Fly / Vicente / A Genie in Abottle / Baie Des Iles.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Seems a lad over in Merseyside got over excited about the upcoming golf last weekend.
    Calm down, calm down.

zxCVUeh.png

Had a look at this and have thrown a few specualtive darts using the following Matsuyama, Poulter and Ryan Moore in the Masters and Pleasent Company, Vieux Lion Rouge and Wounded Warrior in the National.

Obviously Moore/Warrior double comes in I can happily retire :D

Actually fancy a few at shorter prices in both markets but for the purpose of this happy to go with a few at bigger prices.

Have added a McIlroy/Anable Flyer and Kevin Chappel/Milansbar double to my ever growing portfolio, really need to stop now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

New racing paper out tomorrow. No idea if it's available in Ireland. Good to give the post some competition - it's really gone down hill. Though the last one I remember (think it was called the Sportsman) didn't last long

https://twitter.com/hendopolis/status/984874238510235654?s=19

sdoc13 wrote:
    Casey Stenson Zach Johnson Leishman Cabrerra Olazabal

sdoc13 wrote:
    Raz de Maree Baie De Iles Wounded Warrior Hobloun Des Obleaux

sdoc13 wrote:
    Cross EW doubles for the miracle

Stenson placed so a few of these alive today for the place double.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭maximo31

maximo31 wrote: »
    EW cross doubles for me too :
    J.Thomas / Speith / Bubba / Casey / Fitzpatrick
    Seeyouatmidnight / Anibale Fly / Vicente / A Genie in Abottle / Baie Des Iles.:D
    Lost two of them but with Speith and Bubba placing there is still a chance of a small return....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

Fanny **** wrote: »
    New racing paper out tomorrow. No idea if it's available in Ireland. Good to give the post some competition - it's really gone down hill. Though the last one I remember (think it was called the Sportsman) didn't last long

Agree re: Post

Price up, quality down

Not purchased since price increase

Racing Plus - Don't think it made it to Ireland was quite good value - Weekend cards for £1.90

Hope this paper sticks around

Fanny **** wrote: »

If their choice for a soccer pundit/tipster is anything to go by, they wont last a month.

While I agree with you I think it's a shame

I listen to podcasts from the likes of Statsbomb and really enjoy the analytic approach but unfortunately most people prefer the type of rubbish "pundits" peddled by television stations

Unless a football tip is based on some form of ratings system/xG etc. rather than bluff I don't listen

e.g. re Mo Salah

https://statsbomb.com/2017/06/mohamed-salah-signing-of-the-summer/

Whereas "mainstream" pundits would never take this approach. I think it was Paul Merson who rubbished a few clubs signings as he'd never heard of them while the likes of Statsbomb/Michael Caley etc were singing their praises

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Their front page splash for the grand national nearly got them off to a flyer Pleasant Company

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭abarkie

BumperD wrote: »
    Their front page splash for the grand national nearly got them off to a flyer Pleasant Company

You only have to look at how the Post is when they have any sort of winner

Hopefully a bit more reserved about it

Needs some fine tuning but Post needs some competition desperately to up their game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Post is just a glorified bookies promoter with unbearable pop ups online, I like the owl and a couple of other writers but quality of rest has gone down the toilet last few years