Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Social Welfare Christmas payments?

Options
  • 02-12-2013 6:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭

Hi all,

The last few years at Christmas I've gotten my double social welfare payment on the Thursday before Christmas (and then don't get a payment on Christmas week) but someone told me that's not happening this year, is that the case?

Also, this is my first year on Rent Allowance which isn't Social Welfare it's a HSE payment, do they do the double week thing?

Just wondering because I need to go Christmas present shopping but my rent is due on the 19th. I could actually afford to buy my daughter something decent this year if I knew there was money coming in for my rent

Thanks,
    MamaBee

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Whether you get a double payment at Xmas depends on what type of social welfare you are claiming. The double payment for the dole was abolished five years ago.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/christmas_bonus.html

• Registered Users Posts: 72 ✭✭MamaBee92

seamus wrote: »
    Whether you get a double payment at Xmas depends on what type of social welfare you are claiming. The double payment for the dole was abolished five years ago.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/social_welfare/social_welfare_payments/christmas_bonus.html

Hi Seamus,