Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Multiple partners are all the rage;)
    Well as my Grandmother used to say "There will be great fun and games until someone gets their eye knocked out."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Was a bit stiff when I got up this morning after my session with Bulmers yesterday :)

Plan had called for me to do a 5 x 1k session this weekend and I wanted to do it tomorrow. We are heading off on holidays tomorrow for a couple of weeks and the missus said that she wanted to leave earlier than I had planned so that ruled out tomorrow.

Headed into the track in Galway this afternoon to try and get it done. Session was 5 x 1k at 3.40-3.45 pace off 3 mins recovery.

After a mile warm up and a few auld man stretches to try and get the stiffness out of the legs I got going. The last bit of each rep was tough but I recovered quickly between the first couple of reps. On the fourth rep the legs started to go, on the fifth the lungs started to go as well and if I had to do a sixth the head would have gone too!!

Tough enough session but happy enough especially after doing 19.5 miles yesterday.

Splits;

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Happy holidays! I trust you're packing your runners.

Ferris B wrote: »
    Happy holidays! I trust you're packing your runners.

Cheers Waldorf,

Last minute packing checklist in the morning

- passport
    - credit card
    - runners
    - kids

Enjoy the golf!

TbL

Cheers Waldorf,

Last minute packing checklist in the morning

- passport
    - credit card
    - runners
    - kids

Enjoy the golf!

TbL

Wife

SamforMayo wrote: »
    Wife

She'll be attached to the credit card :)

TbL

She'll be attached to the credit card :)

TbL
    A woman after my own heart. Have a lovely break. Hope the chin bar is in the case too.

Today: there was a run organised by the resort I'm staying in for 9am today. Decided I'd tag along to get a few miles in as I haven't run since the track session on Saturday.

It was very sunny and warm even at that time of the morning and a group of about 7 turned up. Headed down to Salou prom for a couple of miles hitting a batch of steps before turning back. Decided to try a sub 7 mile to see how the legs were, legs were fine but the heat really affected me and I was like a moving leaky bucket with sweat flying everywhere. Did a 6.5x mile but had to rein it in before the head exploded.

All in a hot and sweaty 7.1 miles at @ 8.22.

If I'm going to get any sort of speed work in I'll have to get up a good but earlier.

I'm a lazy fecker on holidays, so we'll see!

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭statss

are you even resident in Ireland for tax purposes ?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Today: there was a run organised by the resort I'm staying in for 9am today. Decided I'd tag along to get a few miles in as I haven't run since the track session on Saturday.

It was very sunny and warm even at that time of the morning and a group of about 7 turned up. Headed down to Salou prom for a coi

Have you been abducted and bundled into the back of a van?

statss wrote: »
    are you even resident in Ireland for tax purposes ?!!!

Must look into that Statss, I'd probably qualify, but what's tax :)

TbL

Beef wrote: »
    Have you been abducted and bundled into the back of a van?

Ha ha Beef, my dehydrated fat fingers hit the wrong button!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Cant believe your pesky coach gave you running homework for your holidays!!

Didn't see him running on his holliers.

Cant believe your pesky coach gave you running homework for your holidays!!

Didn't see him running on his holliers.

Ha ha AMK, the missus asked "when was I taking a running holiday" and I said "now that sounds like a great idea!".

Q all picture and no sound for the next hour :)

TbL

Was chatting to a Northy lad yesterday (he's training for DCM) and we decided we'd head out and do a run this morning as the organised run is only done 3 days a week.

Did the same route this morning, it was very hot again and the steps seemed a lot tougher today.

Again it was very hot and sunny and I think I'll have to do the sessions on the treadmill as I'm not cut out for running in this heat.

All in another 7.10 miles @ 8.52 but that included an 11 min mile on the steps section.

Off to climb into the ice cream cabinet for the afternoon.

TbL

Out with the organised run this morning, I was pretty wrecked and definitely wouldn't have hauled my ass out of the bed if I was heading out on my own.

This time they headed off in the other direction, towards Cambrils and there was a bit more shade on the route and no steps to contend with. Hot again today and it's heading for 30* this weekend!

A different guy was leading the run today and he brought us back to the gym for some apprentice contortionist classes, I just sat on the mat dripping wet, doing some auld man figure of 3 and a half periformus stretches!

All in just under 7 miles @ 8.01, threw in a few feeble surges along the way to keep the legs honest.

Gotta go, I hear the man with the 99 ice cream van coming, he seems to be around ours on the hour every hour :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great stuff. All this holiday running will stand to you in the end, no doubt about it.

Today: instead of the organised run the resort had organised a family fitness day starting with a couple of races. They had three categories, adults, teenagers and kiddies, unfortunately no auld man classification.

They had put a lot of effort into it and had arrows on the route with taped off sections to ensure you stayed on the route. They even gave us numbers! It was billed as a 4k, two laps around the resort. Around 20 started the adults race.

There was a bit of cloud cover but it was very hot and my mouth was very dry.

Settled in with the lead group for the first half k and then upped the pace a bit, my momentary lead was short lived as a tall skinny Spanish lad in a running club vest sped by me and a Scottish guy arrived on my shoulder. Tried to up it a bit again to see if the Vest was a one shot wonder but he was disappearing fast, so I concentrated on trying to shake off the Scottish lad. Eventually shook him off with about a k to go. Finished a holiday resort fun run in second and I'm writing about it, how feckin sad is that!

Anyway it was a bit of craic but it was a bit short of 4k (Garmin measured 2.4 miles) and I won't be back next year as if they can't get the basics right...:)

Happy enough to get a small bit of speed work in and I'll hit the gym tomorrow to try a tempo session.

Splits 6.30, 6.07, & last bit 5.54.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Congrats on another podium finish but you know in fairness, if you insist on going in the kiddies race you really should be winning it :D

Hah Ha, CM,

Maybe next week if they hold another one.

The winner got a coke and crisps, I got questioned by the Guardia Civil :)

TbL

Got another 4.5 miles in as we needed stuff from the pharmacy and it was quicker for me to jog down. About 8.20 pace as I was under time pressure to get back.

My first Double of this training cycle :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

You should go on holidays more often. It's doing wonders for your training. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Silver medal in an International event, not to be sniffed at TbL!!

The plan today was to do 5 x 1 mile reps at HM pace off 2 min recovery.

I've optimistically targeted 6.30 pace as my HMP.

Knew I won't be able to get this done in the heat so hit the resort gym.

Had to pay to use it but it was a quality facility in fairness. Threadmill was a "Salter" it was the best and most sturdy Threadmill I've ever run on, the thread was superb, almost like running on tartan.

The downside was the data was all in km and it didn't have a pace per k (or at least I couldn't find it).

Did 5 x 1610m, did the reps at the following paces, 14.5k, 15k, 15.3k, 15.5k & 16k.

The last one had me a little ragged but happy enough with the session, not sure what 14.5k pace for 1610m translates to in imperial but I think 16k is just over 6 min mile pace. I know you can't compare a Threadmill session to the road but can't complain.

Needed a blanket size piece of paper wipe to clean the sweat slick at the back of the threadmill after and got some funny looks as I was leaving!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

They look like speeds rather than paces. A speed of 16k per hour would be the same as 10 mph, which would be 6:00 pace in miles. HTH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,774 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Very inconvenient the way those damn Europeans insist on using their poxy oul metric system, eh? :pac:

PaulieC wrote: »
    They look like speeds rather than paces. A speed of 16k per hour would be the same as 10 mph, which would be 6:00 pace in miles. HTH.

Cheers PC,

Yep I had to run them at speeds but I'd no idea was 6.30 pace was in km speed.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Cheers PC,

Yep I had to run them at speeds but I'd no idea was 6.30 pace was in km speed.

TbL

5k in in 20 minutes is 15k per hour.
    We all know 20 min 5k or 40 minute 10k pace is 6:25/mile.

That's how I would convert it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

whatever it was, major credit to you for doing the session while on holidays.

I'm off to Greece on Wednesday, possibly too warm for that sort of stuff - Must try Spain/Portugal next year!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Finished a holiday resort fun run in second and I'm writing about it, how feckin sad is that!

At our age it's the little things in life that make it all worthwhile.:)

Will be doing some warm weather training myself in Croatia over the next while. Hope their ice cream vans are as regular as yours.