Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

martyboy48 wrote: »
    That little black book of sluts running buddies
    must be getting fairly full by now TbL :D:D

Ha ha Martyboy, as the telly ads ask after midnight "you looking for fun"?

I hear you're Galway based and I only date outoftowners :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

That's where things get complicated. Rule #1 Don't sh1t on
    your own doorstep :D:D

It's OK though, you're not my type :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Cheers TbL - have to say I really enjoyed the run too.

@ Martyboy - I was explaining to TbL that I'll be in Salthill on holidays in a few weeks if you fancy meeting up & getting in on the (running) action :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Here lads. Seriously. Get a room :eek:

Program today called for 2 mile wu/cd 14 x 400's (200m strides with 200m jog)

Had to shorten the wu/cd down to 1.7m & 1.5m respectively, as I did this at lunch time. Did the wu/cd on grass pitches which made a nice change.

Headed to the track for the 400's, usually the track fills me with dread as I know it's gonna hurt, but I enjoyed this session. Concentrated on running form rather than speed, especially towards the end.

Two days in a row almost completely niggle free was a significant bonus, so yesterday wasn't just the Bulmers effect!

Splits for the faster 200's; 41,42,42,43,42,43,42,42,40,43,41,44,42,40.

Things seem to be going in the right direction, so happy out.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Nice session TbL.
    Very consistent splits.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Nice session TbL.
    Very consistent splits.

Cheers P,

Been a long time since I enjoyed a session.

Looking at your log with envy lately with the savage sessions you've been churning out. Expecting big things from you in Berlin, maybe not as much from the two auld lads, Statler and Waldorf :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Monday: scheduled rest day

Today: program called for 7 miles easy.

Was in London again yesterday evening and today. Landed in Shannon after 9pm and was pretty tired but was looking forward to getting out as I had arranged a run with Bulmers74. The last time I had seen him he was wearing a black plastic bag and was chasing me down the street around mile 20 at the Limerick marathon so I wasn't sure I'd recognise him but we hooked up no problems. We drove to the Shannon Oaks hotel car park. Quick change into the gear and we were off. Bulmers had a nice quiet route planned out (much nicer that my previous run down there where I ended up doing laps of housing estates!) and the miles ticked by nicely as we chatted. Maybe it was the company but it was the first run in weeks were I seemed to run niggle free.

Delighted to get that done as I probably would have struggled to motivate myself to run if I was running solo.

Tnx Bulmers, really enjoyed that and hopefully I can return the favour when you're in Galway.

7.64 mile @ 8.05

TbL

Were you never warned about getting into cars with strange men?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Great session TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Cheers P,

Been a long time since I enjoyed a session.

Looking at your log with envy lately with the savage sessions you've been churning out. Expecting big things from you in Berlin, maybe not as much from the two auld lads, Statler and Waldorf :)

TbL

Did you ever here the one about the young bull and the auld bull ;)

PS I am expecting a lot more from the youngfella too.....he should be leaving us Auldfellas in his dust on the big day. We will be happy just to finish. 26.2 miles is a long way at our age you know :D

Program called for 7 miles easy with strides.

First time out in the rain in a while.

7 miles @ 7.51, felt a bit of bounce in the legs and didn't know myself afterwards as it was the third straight run without any major niggle flaring up.

Also managed 6 strides after the 7, but didn't bother with the watch for these. I think it was PConn in another log that advised to run between two telephone poles and this worked well and I did 6 of them at I'd say around 1 mile pace.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

Cheers P,

Expecting big things from you in Berlin, maybe not as much from the two auld lads, Statler and Waldorf :)

TbL

Us Muppets would probably need to form a tag team to take on that young buck and even then, we'd probably struggle.

Statler

Ferris B wrote: »
    Us Muppets would probably need to form a tag team to take on that young buck and even then, we'd probably struggle.

Statler

Ha ha Statler,

Maybe we could find a Miss Piggy to chop him down to size :)

Sweetums

Program called for a 4 mile recovery run.

Nice enjoyable trot, but my legs didn't get the instant relief that some others seem to get after a recovery run.

Maybe it's because I'm an auld lad but I didn't come in after the run and think the legs are as relaxed as Gerard Depardieu's sphincter...

4 miles in 35.04

TbL

Program called for a 7 mile progression run (8.30-7.20)

Was playing World Cup matches all afternoon in the garden with the young lads and had to shift a pile of paving slabs before the missus got home from town so didn't get out till this evening.

Ran down by Rossaveal as my usual route has been taken over by caravan dwellers!

Never did much in the way of progression runs before and getting the pace right was very difficult. Comfortable run except for the last mile where I started puffin a bit.

Splits;

TbL

Today was to be a rest day but we had visitors yesterday and I didn't get a chance to get out for the planned 16 miler.

Didn't feel great all day at work but headed out in the early evening to get the 16 in. It was still very warm and I was glad of the breeze. Forgot the Garmin and running socks and I was gonna can the session but a talking to from the coach last week "motivated" me to get out and get at least some of it done. Hit the stop watch on the phone and headed off on a fairly hilly 8 mile out and back.

Felt reasonably strong throughout and was pretty pleased as this was the longest run since Limerick. Went for a swim in the sea straight after and after the initial cold shock it was pleasant enough in an S&M kinda way.

16 miles in 2.06:25

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

Fair play ,not easy to face into that having missed it over the weekend. I must get me a coach. :)

Beef wrote: »
    Fair play ,not easy to face into that having missed it over the weekend. I must get me a coach. :)

Tnx Beef,

Hate having to do the LR on a Monday but sucked it up. If I didn't have someone helping me I would gave canned it for sure. Good to see you back

TbL

3 miles recovery with a dip in the sea. The hurtin is later in the week.

TbL

Program called for 7 miles easy with strides. Has a long day at work and had to then drive to Dublin. Hit the PP around 9pm, it was nice and fresh but at least it was dry compared to the rainy West.

That park is a fantastic running facility and ye Dubs don't realise how lucky ye are! Alternated between the grass and paths but my pace on the grass drops drastically.

Managed, for the first time, to do 5 decent strides without feeling like a complete tool.

Also saw something in the Park that you are guaranteed never ever to see in Connemara......a cricket match!

7 miles @8.50 pace with 5 half decent strides.

TbL

Met up with the coach in Tymon today for the session.

As I'm doing the Achil half as a session on Saturday, today's session was not too taxing, and I ended up thoroughly enjoying it.

2m wu, 1m, 2 x 400, & 4 x 200 with 1 mile cd

Splits were 6.03, 1.26, 1.21, 38,38,38 & 36.

I think the mile rep was the fastest I've ever run a full mile either in training or racing! (I know for sure I've never broken 6). My confidence is starting to trickle back.

Was hanging on a bit for the last 200 and I was slobbering like a bulldog in a sauna.

Felt strong throughout and niggle free. The massage I got from Ecoli a couple of weeks ago really was brilliant and seems to have shifted those nagging persistent niggles. Couldn't recommend him highly enough.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

So, you are meeting up with Ecoli in a South Dublin park for 'sessions' and massages. Hmmmmm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭paddybarry

Met up with the coach in Tymon today for the session.

As I'm doing the Achil half as a session on Saturday, today's session was not too taxing, and I ended up thoroughly enjoying it.

2m wu, 1m, 2 x 400, & 4 x 200 with 1 mile cd

Splits were 6.03, 1.26, 1.21, 38,38,38 & 36.

I think the mile rep was the fastest I've ever run a full mile either in training or racing! (I know for sure I've never broken 6). My confidence is starting to trickle back.

Was hanging on a bit for the last 200 and I was slobbering like a bulldog in a sauna.

Felt strong throughout and niggle free. The massage I got from Ecoli a couple of weeks ago really was brilliant and seems to have shifted those nagging persistent niggles. Couldn't recommend him highly enough.

TbL

I think ye might have passed me at one stage. Ye were going a nice clip

menoscemo wrote: »
    So, you are meeting up with Ecoli in a South Dublin park for 'sessions' and massages. Hmmmmm...

Ah Meno, sure I was hoping to bang into you in the PP in your Dirty Sanchez gear :)

TbL

paddybarry wrote: »
    I think ye might have passed me at one stage. Ye were going a nice clip

Hey Paddy,

The other lad seemed to know everyone in the park with a pair if runners, I was just hanging on, were you wearing a white tee shirt, if not, unless you're a female posting as "paddybarnes" I don't remember passing too many lads!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 472 ✭✭paddybarry

Hey Paddy,

The other lad seemed to know everyone in the park with a pair if runners, I was just hanging on, were you wearing a white tee shirt, if not, unless you're a female posting as "paddybarnes" I don't remember passing too many lads!

TbL

I was doing some stretches up by limekiln road section, was wearing a green rock and roll half marathon T. Ye walked past, and then tore on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Did you do that session on a track or on the road/park? Good session btw and I'm sure you'd break 6 mins if you set out to do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

That sounds like a super session. Great times on all the reps.

pa4 wrote: »
    Did you do that session on a track or on the road/park? Good session btw and I'm sure you'd break 6 mins if you set out to do it!

On the tarred path sections of the park Pa. some small inclines and a bit of wind to deal with but it's a very good surface and it wasn't busy.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

On the tarred path sections of the park Pa. some small inclines and a bit of wind to deal with but it's a very good surface and it wasn't busy.

TbL

There's a park around 20 mins away from me, it's impossible to do a session there unless it's dark/raining since it's also so busy with walkers (who refuse to move out of my way :mad:). I find it easier doing longer intervals such as 1km/1mile there