Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

tang1 wrote: »
    Could you not have bought something more appropriate to wear now C:

I'm afraid to ask what you put into google to find that :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firedance wrote: »
    I'm afraid to ask what you put into google to find that :eek:

TbL skiing and just hit images!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Back up on the slopes again today, even though we were at 2300 metres it was very warm and sunny. The resorts must have excellent snow machines coz most of the slopes were open and were in excellent nick.

Decided to bite the bullet and get a private lesson. God love the poor young lad that drew the short straw and got the Bogger bomber!

He started off by bring me up a slope on some pulley contraption with a plastic disk that you were supposed to tuck up under your hole and allow yourself to be pulled up the slope. 'Twas a bit of a disaster, I tried to sit on the disc and it shot forward at speed and nearly decapitated the instructor. The whole pulley system stopped while they picked me face first outta the snow, morto!!! The first half hour was like an episode of Mr Bean goes skiing, and it got only marginally better.

Hotel is really excellent and the food is superb. They had a fish buffet for starters the likes of which I've never seen before, the whole room was surrounded by whole fish on ice as a presentation (see photo attached) and the variety and quality was fantastic. I ate about 9 llbs of lobster!!

The calves were in bits after the skiing and when I got down to the gym, the one and only treadmill was occupied by a lady of a certain girth so I didn't expect to be waiting long :) Never judge a book by the cover coz it was 30 mins before I got on. The gym room is small and warm with a low roof, I've often hit the emergency button with my belly but I've never yet hit the ceiling with my head but I'm coming damn close here.

Got 56 mins easy done before I was thrown out.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Jaysis, that looks like a scary place to have dinner! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

TBL have you ever thought of writing a book of short stories about your running life? You have a way of writing stories that bring tears of laughter to my eyes. I love your log for your dedication to running and the adventures :)

Fair play for getting on the treadmill while on an adventure holiday :) Keep em coming :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Those button lifts need a lesson on their own. They are dangerous and you are not supposed to sit on them! Lesson one.

Happy skiing. Swoosh.

Neady83 wrote: »
    TBL have you ever thought of writing a book of short stories about your running life? You have a way of writing stories that bring tears of laughter to my eyes. I love your log for your dedication to running and the adventures :)

Fair play for getting on the treadmill while on an adventure holiday :) Keep em coming :)

Thanks Neady,

Log keeps me motivated and I enjoy reading others too. Also handy when the wife and kids are driving me mad, I can pretend I'm writing up a work e mail and get a bit of peace :)

TbL

Yesterday: got a few more hours skiing done and am getting better, hardly any dramatic falling. Got to the gym a bit late and by the time I arrived there was a queue for the hotels one and only treadmill. Hung around for about 10 mins but there were still 2 people ahead of me so I tried to run outside. Gave up after a few mins as it was pointless.

Today: plan was to do 15 mins wu/cd followed by 4 mins at 11kph, (off 90 seconds recovery) increasing by 1kph ever 4 mins, until completely fatigued.

Another long day on the slopes, the kids are skiing rings around me but at least I can come down the baby slopes unaided.

There was a yank slipping and falling all over the place and I heard him say it was his first time skiing. I gave the sympathetic smile that conveyed "amateur", relativity is a wonderful thing :)

Got down to the gym a bit earlier today and typical there wasn't a sinner there. Got the 15 mins warm up done, put a slight incline on and started on the 4 mins at 11kph, felt like sh1te, legs heavy and breathing a bit laboured. Worked my way up through 12,13,14. 15kph was starting to really hurt, 16kph had me wrecked. I tried 17kph but had to stop after 2 minutes as I was in danger of leaving my front teeth in the treadmill TV screen.

Bit disappointed that I couldn't manage 4 mins at 17kph, at this stage of my training, but I'll snow plough on!

TbL

"snow plough on". FFS.......

at least I can come down the baby slopes unaided.
    TbL

:D:D:D:D oh god, I have visions of this that would win an Best Comedy BAFTA!!

at least get going down a blue slope before you leave (red if you're feeling very adventurous) you won't regret it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Bit disappointed that I couldn't manage 4 mins at 17kph, at this stage of my training, but I'll snow plough on!

Try not to be disappointed and remember that you are on a ski holiday. Skiing is awful hard on the body so for you to attempt this and even enter a gym whilst on a holiday can't be forgotten. Falling whilst skiing isn't the hard part, it's getting back up. It's hard work! Nuts for even attempting a run outside. That's just ridiculous.

Plan today called for an hour easy on the treadmill.

We had a full days skiing planned today with instructors for the kids, it was very well organised and they collected the kids from the hotel just after 9. Gave Mrs TbL and I a chance to try the death defying slope beside the baby slope. Went up on one of those chair lifts (it even had heated seats!) and stood in the snow plough position for ages looking down Everest! There was people milling about everywhere and it took me a while to get going, the heartbeat was thonking harder than on yesterday's treadmill tempo! Managed to get to the bottom without snow touching my bottom and it was exhilarating! Did it dozens of times, fell a rake of times but thoroughly enjoyed it. It started to snow at lunchtime and the place looks fantastic.

We arrived down for dinner this evening and the dining room was very formally laid out. The men were in suits and some were in formal wear and the women looked like well fed fashion dummies. Downtown Abbey, Ischgl style. No one told the Boggers and it's been fairly informal this week so far, we had rocked down casual as usual, I was in a Laura/Lynn tee shirt and jeans. The missus went baloobas and insisted we all go back up stairs and change! We still looked like the hired help though :) Food was excellent but not typical Bogger fare.

Heading down to the village for a fireworks display and to ring in the new year.

Managed to get 63 mins done on the hotel treadmill before I was thrown out.

Happy New Year to everyone

TbL

Friday & Sat: had planned on getting some easy miles done. Got down from the slopes late on Friday, came down a blue slope without falling and I'm now formally addicted! Too late to hit the gym and I was wrecked anyway so I thought I'd get a bit of R&R in the steam room. Hadn't planned of "Close Encounters of Turd Kind"!!!

Steam room was roasting with plenty of steam and seemed to be full of auld fat lads, one lad in particular had a particularly impressive set of moobs!! Got the shock of my life when the lad on the rack above me said "entschuldigen sie" and squeezed by me, his saggy, baggy, extremely hairy naked ass sailed within an inch of my nose!! Mother of sweet Jazus. When he opened the door a bit of the steam cleared and I nearly had a heart attack, the lad with the moobs was a burd/woman/female (definitely not a lady :)) and was totally starkers too!! I looked around and people were staring at me, I was the only tool with my tool covered :) I high tailed it outta there and showered in my room. No run but my heart rate was in the tempo zone!

Is it any wonder TF Bubendorfer left the place if that's the sort of craic the natives/heathens are getting up to :)

Saturday we got home late and I didn't get out again.

Sunday: plan called for a long run. Slept in and wasn't in the mood to do this but forced myself out the door. Was mild and a bit windy for the first hour and then it lashed rain. Did a 10 mile out and back route from the house. A big concern was another big fade for the last two miles. 7 weeks to go to Seville and I've done nothing to suggest that I'm in pb shape, I should be able to get a few decent weeks training in but I'll have a word with coach to see what he thinks.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I believe it's highly irregular to not be in the buff in the sauna TbL ! They're going to be talking about the Bashful Bogger for weeks :D.

Well done for mastering the slopes. All that cross training will stand to you in Seville.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I believe it's highly irregular to not be in the buff in the sauna TbL ! They're going to be talking about the Bashful Bogger for weeks :D.

Well done for mastering the slopes. All that cross training will stand to you in Seville.

Haha, I am usually the BUFF (big ugly fat fecker) in the sauna, but I'd have to confess to the pope himself if I didn't have me togs on :)

One other thing, how come it seemed to be geriatric hour in the sauna when I was there, where were the supermodels!!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Haha, I am usually the BUFF (big ugly fat fecker) in the sauna, but I'd have to confess to the pope himself if I didn't have me togs on :)

One other thing, how come it seemed to be geriatric hour in the sauna when I was there, where were the supermodels!!!

TbL

What did you expect when they asked for your bus pass when you signed in at the gym?

TbL

Supermodels obviously looking in, seen your flabby gut & fecked off!!!

This

And well done on the blue slope, told ya ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Another one for that Tales from the Bog Side book you're writing. I think HelenAnne is in the publishing game, she might be able to help you out. And will you stop worrying about a few slow miles at the end of a 20-mile long run after all those adventures. I've only skied once in my long and apparently sheltered life but it's certainly a strenuous workout.

Plan today called for easy miles.

Had an Epsom salts bath last night but was still very stiff this morning.

Got a very slow Nursing Home Special in nice and early, lovely morning for it but my heart wasn't in it. I've set myself a target of at least 70 miles this week so I trundled slowly over the hills of Seanadh Pheistin for 5 miles @ 9.36.

Got another few slow miles done around Salthill prom after work. Don't know how people run on that feckin prom, the concrete knocks the crap out of your legs. The evening miles were even slower than this mornings, 6 miles @ 9.58.

Finished up with a sauna in Ocean fitness, where all the inhabitants were civilised, respectable and togged out!

11 miles for the day.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Had an Epsom salts bath last night but was still very stiff this morning.

Got a very slow Nursing Home Special in nice and early

TbL

If only Digger was still around. :p

Haha AMK,

Good to have you back!

Funnily enough I was never that stiff after running with you, we'll have to start our running dates again :)

TbL

Funnily enough I was never that stiff after running with you, we'll have to start our running dates again :)

TbL

Said it before, such a slapper!!!!!

Today the plan called for more easy miles.

Couldn't sleep last night so I got up really early and headed over to Seanadh Pheistin to get the miles done in the dark. I can't run for much more than an hour with a head torch, so I tried out a peaked cap that had a small inbuilt light, that I got as an Xmas gift. Nice a mild and I ended up trundling up and down the hills for 15 easy miles.

Longest mid week run in an age and all me bits held together so that's good. Depending on what Ecoli thinks I might do a single longer mid week run for the next few weeks rather than a double.

I booked flights, hotels and trains for Seville and hopefully I can now get in some decent training to do myself justice.

15 miles @ 8.25

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

How early is really early?

Before the milkman was even out of bed!

TbL

Before the milkman was even out of bed!

TbL

Oh the milkman still calls to your house.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Oh the milkman still calls to your house.......

That's Mrs TbL's retaliation to his dates with you.........

yaboya1 wrote: »
    That's Mrs TbL's retaliation to his dates with you.........

This quote comes to mind:

And she replied ah go on go on go on go on go go on...

TbL