Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Where was that 10k B?

TbL

The Aware 10k in Phoenix Park this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Today the plan called for 18 miles easy.

Had planned on getting this done early this morning so as to have minimal impact on family life.

Didn't get up till 12, I can't remember the last time that's happened.

Put a bit of a spanner in the works as I wouldn't have enough daylight to get this done. Didn't fancy a 90 mins return drive to run under the towns electric, and to be gone for four and a half hours woulda been pulling the piss.

I can't run with a head torch for much more than an hour so I came up with an inbetweener plan, I drove to Tully cross around 2.45, parked up and started running. I hid the torch after 4 miles and continued on my merry way. Was tipping along grand until I was passed at speed by an artic truck, there was fluid sloshing out of the back but I didn't see it till it was too late, and I got a good drenching down one side. Nearly puked, the stench was rancid, rotten fish!! It must have been travelling from Rossaveal port. I was continuously gagging the stink was that bad, ended up ditching the tee shirt and just running with the base layer. Helped a bit but it was still rotten, got a strange look from an elderly Connemara Bogger, so I must have been bad as they wouldn't be noted for their personal hygiene :)

It got dark quicker than I had expected and I'd dropped the head torch too early so ended up doing a mile or two in the twilight, pace dropped off as I was caught off balance by a couple of hidden dips and debris on the path. By the time I picked up the torch I was getting tired and couldn't get the pace back up.

I had decided before I started, to do 20 to bring the weeks miles up to 60, but was regretting this as I tired badly.

Got home and the missus didn't want to let me in coz of the stink :)

20 miles today and 60 miles for the week.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I didn't see it till it was too late, and I got a good drenching down one side. Nearly puked, the stench was rancid, rotten fish!!
    Got home and the missus didn't want to let me in coz of the stink :)

20 miles today and 60 miles for the week.

TbL

I'm sorry, I shouldn't laugh, but... :D:D:D

glad to see you got your long run in and 60 miles for the week though :)

Hope the missus took.a power hose to ya!!

tang1 wrote: »

She did last week when she heard I was out with Toyboy Tang ;)

TbL

probably a weekly occurrence :p

She did last week when she heard I was out with Toyboy Tang ;)

TbL

My missus took a bottle of Milton to me Wednesday evening after I got home, afraid of the tropical diseases she might get off me after running with you!!

My missus took a bottle of Milton to me Wednesday evening

TMI :D:D:D

Firedance wrote: »
    TMI :D:D:D

Jeez get your mind out of the gutter.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Ah here Lemon, you really should follow the plan as you have me even now hopeful of a running date with those last two miles. That'll teach you to stick with the plan.
    A stinky run doesn't sound pleasant at all but you got it done so well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Nice work going on here. 60 miles is super. I did 6 ;)

aquinn wrote: »
    Ah here Lemon, you really should follow the plan as you have me even now hopeful of a running date with those last two miles. That'll teach you to stick with the plan.
    A stinky run doesn't sound pleasant at all but you got it done so well done.

Any time anywhere AQuinn, since I've joined Boards it's been all boys, I think I've frightened off the ladies!

Just don't ask me to go sailing with ya afterwards :)

Nice work going on here. 60 miles is super. I did 6 ;)

Ah here, but didn't you also do 5 sessions of karate, 116 minutes of plank, cycle over and around Ballyhoura mountain on a butchers bike, an hour of stair running, 189,002 lengths of the pool and rescue a cat off a tree :)

TbL

Today called for a Nursing Home Special.

Was quite stiff after my run yesterday so got a massage after work.

Stopped off on the prom and managed to get 6 very slow miles in @ 10 min pace.

Bit longer than my usual NHS but I'm gonna struggle to run at all on Friday and Saturday as I'm in the UK so I'm trying to get slightly more done at the start of the week.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Ah here, but didn't you also do 5 sessions of karate, 116 minutes of plank, cycle over and around Ballyhoura mountain on a butchers bike, an hour of stair running, 189,002 lengths of the pool and rescue a cat off a tree :)

TbL

Haha I wish :D

Today: plan called for easy miles. I was coming up to the Pale today so I got 7 miles easy done early this morning over the hills in Seanadh Pheistin. First few miles were very slow but once I got going the pace dropped and I averaged 8.28, happy enough with that.

Got up to Dublin earlier this evening and decided to head out for some more easy miles. Staying near Stephens Green and I headed up past Portebello and along the canal. Water levels in the canal were fairly high and I wouldn't fancy living in one of those ground floor apartments!

I know it's mild out there but what are the Dublin young wans wearing out (even worse than last year!), passed a young wan that was dressed in what looked like a skimpy nightee. I gave her such a disapproving, long look that I almost ran into a pole :)

6 miles easy @ 8.36, including stops at every single traffic light!!

13 miles for the day.

Tomorrow sees the resumption of the magical mystery tours, not sure exactly what I'm doing but it'll probably involve some pain!!

TbL

I gave her such a disapproving, long look

Such lies!!!!

Aquinn did you get a call for a run date? No me neither #devastated

Such lies!!!!

Well the long part is true ;)

TbL

Aquinn did you get a call for a run date? No me neither #devastated

My carrier pidgins must have gotten lost :)

We wouldn't want Tang getting jealous now would we!!!

TbL

passed a young wan

In fairness FD he did state the age category, don't think u and aquinn qualify!!!!

Am deeply wounded :(:p

Also Aquinn wont be happy you've lumped her into my age category:D you'll pay for that....

Ah sure her bark is worse than her bite anyway!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Sitting here reeling at my desk, devastated that the Lemon came to town and no contact made. As per FD #devastated.

Tang - sh*tlisted for age category comment.

Sitting here reeling at my desk, devastated that the Lemon came to town and no contact made. As per FD #devastated.

Tang - sh*tlisted for age category comment.

I tried to warn you B :D it was a pleasure knowing you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

wrote:
    I gave her such a disapproving, long look that I almost ran into a pole :)

TbL

Is it just me that that conjours up unwelcome images for ?? Did the pole appear suddenly after the long lingering leer ?

resists the urge to comment ...... :rolleyes:

Haha Kit,

I'm a runner not a pole vaulter!!

The King is dead, long live King Leer :)

TbL

The devastation continues it seems #sonearandyetsofar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

The devastation continues it seems #sonearandyetsofar

Had to make this a private session for fear of word spreading of the verbal and psychological abuse I give to my athletes during sessions :p

Had to make this a private session for fear of word spreading of the verbal and pschological abuse I give to my athletes during sessions :p

:D were ye there the same time as me?? mind you, I wouldn't have interrupted my progression run to meet Methuselah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

:D were ye there the same time as me??

Not a fear, Can't remember the last time I saw 7 am on the clock. I'm a training night owl ;)