Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Science! Ask you question here. Biscuits NOT included and answers not guaranteed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,908 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Could God really stop a Timelord?
    If God Harry Potter isn't real then how did Noah Voldemort exist?
    If Noah Voldemort didn't exist than why are we talking about him?

FYPs. Proof of existence of something cannot be gained on the basis of something else that does not exist. We sometimes talk about things that they're making movies about, the fact that they're making a movie about something doesn't make it real.

[-0-] wrote: »
    We have tumbled, as though through error, into a world which by all evidence was not intended for us. We cling to a fragment of a grain of sand until such time as the chill of death shall return us to primal matter. We strut for a tiny moment upon a tiny stage, well knowing that all our aspirations are doomed to ultimate failure and that everything we have achieved will perish with our race leaving the universe as though we had never existed.

I can't recall the author's name right now, but I will never forget this quote.

Google says Sir James Jeans, though all the references to that quote that I could find seem to be via religious types venting about nihilism, much like JC previously.

I for one like being finite. Apart from keeping the ego in check, it helps dispel apathy. A bit like playing a game of space invaders when your on your last life. Having infinite lives just wouldn't add to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,296 ✭✭✭Geomy

smacl wrote: »
    Google says Sir James Jeans, though all the references to that quote that I could find seem to be via religious types venting about nihilism, much like JC previously.

I for one like being finite. Apart from keeping the ego in check, it helps dispel apathy. A bit like playing a game of space invaders when your on your last life. Having infinite lives just wouldn't add to the game.

Well if you play well enough, you might get a few extra lives. ..

Geomy wrote: »
    Well if you play well enough, you might get a few extra lives. ..

That rather blows my analogy to pieces. Never thought of those lads spending all day on the asteroids machine for 10p as born again video gamers, but now it all makes sense. Onward and upwards to Arcadia!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

FYI: This is Option Number Twenty-Five. Isn't this being a bit, uh, mean on the hamsters?
    How do you know when someone is a moderator? They tell you.
    Well, it's easiest to look just beneath the username in the panel to the left of the post.

Or could wait until a moderator cards you which is where you're heading at the moment with that kind of content-free post.

rgds :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭gaynorvader

FYI: This is Option Number Twenty-Five. Isn't this being a bit, uh, mean on the hamsters?
    If God isn't real then how did Noah exist?

Christians 1 Atheists 0

He didn't? Or he existed the same way you and I do?
    If Noah didn't exist than why are we talking about him?

Christians 2 Atheists 0

I suppose in your mind dragons, faeries, Scooby Doo, unicorns, bugbears and Top Cat also all exist as people talk about them?
    How do you know when someone is a moderator? They tell you.

3 - 0

It's also written right there under their name. You get -30 points for setting the klaxon off 3 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭Terrlock

bumper234 wrote: »
    So me not believing on god is NOT me using my free will? What is it then? And please don't say it's the devil/satan because I don't believe in them either.

You choosing to go against god is your free will to do so.

However by going against god you are entering into bondage to your sin and in effect actually giving up your free will.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

OMG! Spoiler!
    Excercising your free will is slavery. That's what you're saying. You're not making any sense at all with this line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

Terrlock wrote: »

However by going against god you are entering into bondage to your sin and in effect actually giving up your free will.

He's not choosing to go against your god. Your god hasn't presented himself/herself in the first place. There's nothing to go against.

So you only have free will as long as you don't exercise it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

So Noah, his wife Joan, and their family all got tickets to incestville!

god, in killing off the majority of the world's population (were they ALL evil?) rewards the just by getting them to indulge in a little incest for the common good.

You couldn't make it up.
    Oh you did!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

But i still have free will....i just used it to get myself a can of coke from the vending machine.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,571 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

OMG! Spoiler!
    So you only have free will as long as you don't exercise it?

Makes sense doesn't it?

Remember when the slaves were set free in America,
    Of course they had to continue working the way they were before and not being paid etc, but they were free.

If they actually left and acted free they'd be killed,

Such a situation would make as much sense

Make sure to have the safe word agreed beforehand!

Sarky wrote: »
    Excercising your free will is slavery. That's what you're saying. You're not making any sense at all with this line.

No that's not what I am saying.

God gave you free will, you wilfully choose to live in sin. What more you justify your sins by convincing yourself it doesn't exist and therefore God doesn't exist. This leads to your sin holding your whole life in bondage until you eventually die. Thus you loose your free will.

It's like in this life, you are free to live life, unless of course you commit a crime and if there is justice done you will go to prison for that crime and loose your free will.

Anyone can freely choose to commit a crime, but once your locked up you loose your free will.

Make sure to have the safe word agreed beforehand!

My safe word is the Blood of Christ Jesus

God gave you free will, you wilfully choose to live in sin. What more you justify your sins by convincing yourself it doesn't exist and therefore God doesn't exist. This leads to your sin holding your whole life in bondage until you eventually die. Thus you loose your free will.

It's like in this life, you are free to live life, unless of course you commit a crime and if there is justice done you will go to prison for that crime and loose your free will.

Anyone can freely choose to commit a crime, but once your locked up you loose your free will.

So what can you do with the free will God gives you?

• Moderators Posts: 52,034 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

Makes no odds as you as you also lose your free will if you end up in Heaven.

If you can read this, you're too close!

Things that we cannot even fathom in this subset of reality that we are in.

OMG! Spoiler!

It really is. You should read through it again.

By choosing free will you're denying free will exists. That's what you're saying here. You still aren't making any sense.

It's nothing like that at all. Justice systems have routes of appeal, for a start. It's one of the reasons it's called a justice system and not a punishment system. Your god has none of that. Crimes are generally things which actually cause harm to people or society. Your god gets uppity at things that cannot be called a crime by anyone with a shred of sense, like how he gets wrathful at someone for having the poor judgement to be born gay. Justice systems have finite sentences and at least some effort to rehabilitate offenders, reduced sentences for good behaviour, community service and the like. Your god goes straight to eternal punishment, no appeal.

Your god isn't just. He's a sociopathic tyrant.

Say 'Blood of Christ Jesus' and hence pretend its not a sin... ;)

Things that we cannot even fathom in this subset of reality that we are in.

So none. If you cannot make informed decisions, you can't exercise free will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Ah - there you are.

Biblical passage that states we have Free Will Please?

You know, the one John Calvin couldn't find even though he was not only able to recite the whole book from memory he also based an entire religion/ society on it...

koth wrote: »
    Makes no odds as you as you also lose your free will if you end up in Heaven.

So you think that you loose your free will in heaven because you have this idea that in order to be saved, God demands you to worship him.

Which in your mind is not free will.

The thing is us worshipping God is for our benefit not his.

The concepts in this reality do not govern the concepts in heaven.

Sarky wrote: »
    {...} Your god gets uppity at things that cannot be called a crime by anyone with a shred of sense, like how he gets wrathful at someone for having the poor judgement to be born gay. {...}

To be fair, Christians shouldn't believe God would be angry at homosexuals. It only appears in Moses' laws, which Jesus overwrote and in some letters a saint wrote (and we all know priests/saints can't write scripture!).

Of course, some do, but I think they just use religion as an excuse for their bigotry.

• Moderators Posts: 52,034 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

So you think that you loose your free will in heaven because you have this idea that in order to be saved, God demands you to worship him.

Which in your mind is not free will.

The thing is us worshipping God is for our benefit not his.

The concepts in this reality do not govern the concepts in heaven.

Rejecting God is sin. Can you reject in Heaven? And if yes, are you allowed stay after doing so?

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

No....you lose your freedom of movement but you don't lose your free will, the can lock you up but they cannot stop you making decisions every minute every day.

He escapes at the end of the movie doesn't he?
    Free Will-y!!!

He escapes in the movie Noah too!!!

koth wrote: »
    Rejecting God is sin. Can you reject in Heaven? And if yes, are you allowed stay after doing so?

I don't think it's as simple as that.

If God is life itself...then rejecting God is to reject life.

It's akin to someone trying to commit suicide and also trying to bring everyone else with them.

OMG! Spoiler!
    I don't think it's as simple as that.

If God is life itself...then rejecting God is to reject life.

It's akin to someone trying to commit suicide and also trying to bring everyone else with them.

I'm a suicide bomber now?