If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I wounder what would happen if you accidently went down the port tunnel ?

Can you turn around and go back without paying a toll ?

Not for myself or anything but just something I always wondered about ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Ahm... turn around, on a motorway, in a one way tunnel..

No you can not, but, you should go through it at least once, its only 3e off peak, and its interesting the first time you do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Cheensbo wrote: »
    Ahm... turn around, on a motorway, in a one way tunnel..

No you can not, but, you should go through it at least once, its only 3e off peak, and its interesting the first time you do it.

I didnt mean like that !

I thought maybe at the end at the bridge there might be a turn around point or something for people who miss the turn !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

Well the city exit is basically at the mouth of the tunnel on the North Side, so there's no excuses that end, and at the port side, well, if you managed to go up to the booth by accident, you would kinda deserve the 3e/10e toll..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

Ybfocus, are you doing a bit of plane spotting at the moment? Nearly sure it was your car I just drove by

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Scortho wrote: »
    Ybfocus, are you doing a bit of plane spotting at the moment? Nearly sure it was your car I just drove by

Ha ha yep I am, East side is runway 10/28. Parked to one side of the parking area :)

Good spot in these conditions :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Scortho

YbFocus wrote: »
    Ha ha yep I am, East side is runway 10/28. Parked to one side of the parking area :)

Good spot in these conditions :)

Myself and he who must not be named will be along in 15-20 mins if you'll be around then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Gary ITR wrote: »
    You culchies are something else

Says yer man living out in the arsehole of no where :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Says yer man living out in the arsehole of no where :pac:

Sallins is hardly the arse hole of nowhere! And as I type this I'm in my folks house which is borderline inner city Dubberlin

Myself and he who must not be named will be along in 15-20 mins if you'll be around then!

I've left sorry scortho there were complaints about hunger :rolleyes:

Crap anyway :(

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Sallins is hardly the arse hole of nowhere! And as I type this I'm in my folks house which is borderline inner city Dubberlin

Ah sure i'm only messin, it kind of is though once you turn off the main street :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Bit of dogging with YBfocus!?! :eek:

Aerosexuals. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Bit of dogging with YBfocus!?! :eek:

Aerosexuals. ;)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSTGJZo1tTzJaQEKoW65YmEOtiid92l1CClV5b7jCXkLDvl6MnLOA

Aviation forum ^ that way :pac:

There was nearly three of us there at once without us noticing.
    Mini Meet territory :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Looks like it split it right behind the rear seats!
    Lucky escape!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

In dire need of a set of tyres..... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

dgt wrote: »
    In dire need of a set of tyres..... :eek:

or some fun to be had in an empty car park :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Mycroft H wrote: »
    or some fun to be had in an empty car park :pac:

I didn't say carpark..... ;)

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

600HP Dacia

Have watched HOURS of Wheeler Dealer today nursing a serious hangover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Kaiser D wrote: »

Horrific doesn't even begin to describe that :(

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Grr my car battery is acting the maggot, it's constantly needing jump starting if it's not started more than 2-3 days in a row.

I.e. if I don't drive it every couple of days it's dead.

It's just over two years old, worth getting a new battery and see what difference that makes?
    Going on for about three weeks now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Got 16 litres of fully synthetic 5w30, should be enough for that service I keep talkin about:pac:

Stheno wrote: »
    I was out of work for three months with severe concussion! Basically lived in the dark, lights made me puke! THen I'd a few concussions when I played rugby, Doc in St Vincent was severely sick of seeing us in with concussion!

You see my post about my battery? Going to get a new one in the morning anyway

Yep sounds about right! At one stage the receptionist in naas hospital knew me by my first name haha

Yeah it might be the alternator? I had a car that was like that

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Yep sounds about right! At one stage the receptionist in naas hospital knew me by my first name haha

Yeah it might be the alternator? I had a car that was like that

Don't think it is the alternator tbh, car has always had battery trouble, something is drawing current, it's fine driven daily but more than three days and it has a ****fit, this battery has had about 10 ****fits so I reckon its a gonner.

Need to take it to an auto electrician I reckon

Don't think it is the alternator tbh, car has always had battery trouble, something is drawing current, it's fine driven daily but more than three days and it has a ****fit, this battery has had about 10 ****fits so I reckon its a gonner.

Need to take it to an auto electrician I reckon

Maybe, sure say it to them when they're fitting it and see what they say?

I'm going to replace the battery myself, as the evil bastard is not starting, but then take it to an auto that my mechanic recommends.

The Axa rescue guy yesterday said their was something dodgy about the battery connections and tbh at this stage I'd agree, work has been done to shut down everything that might be draining the battery so something is wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭cabb8ge

Grr my car battery is acting the maggot, it's constantly needing jump starting if it's not started more than 2-3 days in a row.

I.e. if I don't drive it every couple of days it's dead.

It's just over two years old, worth getting a new battery and see what difference that makes?
    Going on for about three weeks now.

Might be parasitic drain.
    Get battery load tested, that tell you if battery need replacing.

I not get new battery unless I know old battery not good. Just over 24 month not good life from battery.

I'm going to replace the battery myself, as the evil bastard is not starting, but then take it to an auto that my mechanic recommends.

The Axa rescue guy yesterday said their was something dodgy about the battery connections and tbh at this stage I'd agree, work has been done to shut down everything that might be draining the battery so something is wrong.

Well i guess we shall wait and see, hopefully it'l be all good :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Would you not just charge the battery? They normally put up with going flat a fair few times before they go bad.