Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

YbFocus wrote: »
    Got a set of nightbreakers on Bpmulls recommendation on here. Saw them cheap on micksgarage when getting a part for the father's car.
    All I can say is wow.

The difference is unbelievable.

It gives a much crisper focus to your beam and the intensity is much clearer, a much whiter colour is shone and it's easier to look at and see stuff.
    The distance of the beam I would reckon has near doubled, when cresting a hill etc the beam travels easy into the night!

Should be a definite purchase for anyone, I got the 2 pack of h7's off micks for €20!

As much as I hear these are amazing, surely they must come at a price for oncoming traffic?!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

As much as I hear these are amazing, surely they must come at a price for oncoming traffic?!:confused:

If your headlights are aligned they're grand, just a bit brighter. They're not comparable to when thick people put aftermarket HIDs into reflectors headlamps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

As much as I hear these are amazin surely they must come at a price for oncoming traffic?!:confused:

First thing I done last night was align them. They are actually far more focused than lesser bulbs so they are less glaring if anything.
    Once they are aligned you won't notice any difference from me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I've never been flashed by anyone there fully road legal it's not like there 100w or anything there still 55w bulbs just more light aimed into the ditches and it's brighter. There the kind of thing that you have to have them As there hard to describe. But you'll buy them once and never buy another type of bulb well for dips anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Random question lads, but do you need a passport to get to england on the ferry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Random question lads, but do you need a passport to get to england on the ferry?

No, but you need I.d

Excellent :D

A plan hatches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Excellent :D

A plan hatches

Roadtrip, I'm going!

YbFocus wrote: »
    Roadtrip, I'm going!

You can pay your own ferry fare so! :pac:

Had a bit of a slow moment driving how from new Ross behind a mk1 focus saloon. I kept thinking there was something off/ odd about the car. After a while I finally realised it was the 05 plate. I can't ever remember seeing a 05 mk1 focus almost all mk2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Went for a quick spin today up cruagh road and ended up coming across another e46 driver out for a Saturday drive. A 320i, and jaysis the amount of smoke coming out of the exhaust was ridiculous. You could smell it from a mile away. CCV failure or something. The car was pretty immaculate asides from that though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,433 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Bpmull wrote: »
    Had a bit of a slow moment driving how from new Ross behind a mk1 focus saloon. I kept thinking there was something off/ odd about the car. After a while I finally realised it was the 05 plate. I can't ever remember seeing a 05 mk1 focus almost all mk2.

From memory - it was VERY VERY late in 04 when the Mk 2 Focus was launched.

I have memories of looking over the Mk 2 on a bad wet day around Dec 2004 at a Ford dealers.

Very likely there was left over stock going into 05 - in fact I think ive seen an 05 Mk 1 focus hatch - and I used to know a guy who bought one of the last of the Mk 1s brand new - at a decent price - but I can't for the life of me remember with 100 percent certainty if it was an 05 or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote: »

I think I've seen one ever, there's the odd one on DD

26792535.jpeg

It was a white one with a kind of weird spoiler on it I didn't like the spoiler now although I don't like the saloon versions of the focus in general. Must of been a 1.4 as it crawled up all the hills at 60kph so I wasn't behind it too long :pac:

What's the aul Lean Burn Carina 1.6 like on juice? spiritmoniter is giving me 43mpg but I'm finding that hard to believe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,316 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Believe it. Those Liam Byrne Carina's are seriously light on juice.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Believe it. Those Liam Byrne Carina's are seriously light on juice.

Liam Byrne lol :D

I may consider one. As if not further improve my culchie credentials...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Had an MGB GT follow me on some backroads around Ballyboughal in the Wolseley. It was red, very nice. We parted ways shortly afterwards at a T-Junction with a beep and a wave to eachother. It was rather weird.

Kaiser D wrote: »
    Had an MGB GT follow me on some backroads around Ballyboughal in the Wolseley. It was red, very nice. We parted ways shortly afterwards at a T-Junction with a beep and a wave to eachother. It was rather weird.

A few other saab people have done that to me along the N7 pull up along side of me and give a thumbs up, its a strange feeling indeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Kaiser D wrote: »

I've had that before a few times.
    Temporary driving buddies. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

A few other saab people have done that to me along the N7 pull up along side of me and give a thumbs up, its a strange feeling indeed

Levin drivers always wave at each other, one of the nice things about owning a less common car :)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Levin drivers always wave at each other, one of the nice things about owning a less common car :)

That's what i love about my one, you rarely see them, although there's an aero in the carpark in college, guy seen mine one day and asked a million questions, seemed fairly impressed too!

Hello fellow Land Rover/Defender driver!

*flashes headlamps *

I take it your heater is crap too cos your wearing a jacket too? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Any suggestions on how to loosen up hardened window rubber seals (that the side windows sit in to). Every time the pajero window goes up automatically it hits the seal and comes half way down again. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Massage Vaseline into the rubber

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

We even have a name for it........the Alfa wave;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

dar83/mik_da_man are you in Navan at the mo? Can't be many blue Focus ST's about on this side of the country!

I doubt SG is iver this neck of the woods just to go to mass :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Nope. I'm in my bed...

Actually, I hope my car is outside. Now that you say that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,922 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

pred racer wrote: »
    We even have a name for it........the Alfa wave;)

BMW drivers just give each other the middle finger or the "w@anker! gesture! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭SleeperService

BMW drivers just give each other the middle finger or the "w@anker! gesture! :D

Daddy, Why is that man shaking an imaginary ketchup bottle out his windscreen?