Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

dgt wrote: »
    Both!

Strange. Both times I tested the Levin the tester held it at about 5k for 30 seconds or so. Both times it was just on the CO limit so I reckon they were trying to pass it and succeeded in my case :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Stheno wrote: »
    Anyone want a gtv? Sick of mine

I might have room for one more....

Bad influence!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Both!

They did that with my Clio. I think it was more to do with the leaky exhaust more than anything else (and it didn't sound too leaky)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Strange. Both times I tested the Levin the tester held it at about 5k for 30 seconds or so. Both times it was just on the CO limit so I reckon they were trying to pass it and succeeded in my case :)

They always give people the benefit of the doubt. It would be a lot easier for them not to bother wasting there time and just fail it but they don't. And if it's boarder line they will try there best to get it to pass.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I might have room for one more....

Bad influence!!!!

Hmmm
    What ya gonna replace it with ?

Also i hear motors meets are a great way to showcase them !
    ba_barabus wrote: »
    Has it broken?
    it's not broken but the battery issue is driving me nuts and i can drive the c5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

it's not broken but the battery issue is driving me nuts and i can drive the c5
    I'd love to offer you a fair price for it but as I've already got an Alfa on the way next week I think my spare change would insult you.

On another note I'm entertaining dirty thoughts of a Rover R8 or a 90's Mustang.

I think the Grover is more possible.

Hmmm

Too many GTV's here already :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I'd love to offer you a fair price for it but as I've already got an Alfa on the way next week I think my spare change would insult you.

On another note I'm entertaining dirty thoughts of a Rover R8 or a 90's Mustang.

I think the Grover is more possible.

R8 Rover* - nice

I have nothing to say only - go for it :D

*R8 is the the 89 to mid 90s Rover 200 and the first gen 400 (saloon version of 200) from 1990 - yes???

Old diesel wrote: »
    R8 Rover* - nice

I have nothing to say only - go for it :D

*R8 is the the 89 to mid 90s Rover 200 and the first gen 400 (saloon version of 200) from 1990 - yes???

Correct. I missed out on an early R8 GTI 3dr before and a few late model night fire red ones have come along and I've dismissed them. But I'm starting to get an itch for one now. About the only thing I'd like in budget. A early Maestro has also come along but I just can't get myself interested in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,431 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Correct. I missed out on an early R8 GTI 3dr before and a few late model night fire red ones have come along and I've dismissed them. But I'm starting to get an itch for one now. About the only thing I'd like in budget. A early Maestro has also come along but I just can't get myself interested in them.

R8 was a big leap forward for Rover at the time imo - think youd only regret the Maestro in comparison tbh.

I don't know why - but theres something that draws you in about the R8.

Seen a green 95 older shape (so R8) 400 in Mallow about a year and a half ago - and thought - that's actually nice :)

I've been watching for them on donedeal and literally none have been advertised.

They were better than the rubbish that replaced them. There was a lovely estate 220 in Nenagh last year but it has disappeared. It looked very well.

For insurance last year I paid €1,609 for the year with the Rav4 (1.8 petrol engine, I was 24, this is my first year driving). This year, the best quote I got was off FBD (Third Party, Fire & Theft) and it was €930 (an excellent quote, as the next best I was getting was €1,134 off NoNonsense).

I think I did quite well there, but I only checked FBD out of boredom. Everyone else (and Im pretty sure I rang them all!) either wouldn't quote or were averaging €1,200.

Think that's likely to be the best I'll do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,307 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

"No nonsense" is FBD

Really? That's mad.

Their quotes are dramatically different!

EDIT: FBD also offered an €860 policy of just Third party (no fire or theft). Very much a budget-conscious crowd compared to NoNonsense (their millionaire guise!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Got a set of nightbreakers on Bpmulls recommendation on here. Saw them cheap on micksgarage when getting a part for the father's car.
    All I can say is wow.

The difference is unbelievable.

It gives a much crisper focus to your beam and the intensity is much clearer, a much whiter colour is shone and it's easier to look at and see stuff.
    The distance of the beam I would reckon has near doubled, when cresting a hill etc the beam travels easy into the night!

Should be a definite purchase for anyone, I got the 2 pack of h7's off micks for €20!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Really? That's mad.

Their quotes are dramatically different!

EDIT: FBD also offered an €860 policy of just Third party (no fire or theft). Very much a budget-conscious crowd compared to NoNonsense (their millionaire guise!).

I got a serious deal with fbd there in January. The guy basically said there going mad to sell as many policies as they can. They offer great cover with breakdown Assist and all that. The next cheapest quote I could get this year was 35 percent dearer for less cover. I've never bothered with no nonsense I just ring the main fbd company. Like you I just rang them for the out of curiosity want expecting the quote to be competitive I couldn't believe the price.

Finally got the master servo out of the docs 156. Holy sh*t was that an awful c*nt of a job!!!

Dash out, engine out. Column out. Pedals out. May aswell take the carpet out :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Right lads, can ye shed a bit of light on this,

Was on the road today, caught up to a transit going about 75km in a 100 zone. Went to overtake him, and I don't know if he sped up or what, but it took me about 115km to overtake him. Then he has the cheek to flash me. Ehh if you weren't such a slow driver, we wouldn't be in this predicament! Anyway do ye/are ye allowed to go over the speed limit when overtaking a car. I find that I always have to..

I think if needs be to complete the move safely and in good time then yes break the limit and get in.
    I always pass as quickly as I can which means I usually stray a bit, but it gets it done and dusted quickly.

But you couldn't use that when your doing 235kmh after passing 14 cars in a row :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Right lads, can ye shed a bit of light on this,

Was on the road today, caught up to a transit going about 75km in a 100 zone. Went to overtake him, and I don't know if he sped up or what, but it took me about 115km to overtake him. Then he has the cheek to flash me. Ehh if you weren't such a slow driver, we wouldn't be in this predicament! Anyway do ye/are ye allowed to go over the speed limit when overtaking a car. I find that I always have to..

Technically not. But I usually do anyway.

Generally drop to 3rd and boot it just incase they decide to speed up as I'm overtaking them.

YbFocus wrote: »
    I think if needs be to complete the move safely and in good time then yes break the limit and get in.
    I always pass as quickly as I can which means I usually stray a bit, but it gets it done and dusted quickly.

But you couldn't use that when your doing 235kmh after passing 14 cars in a row :D

My record is 20 cars in a row, in a 1.2 Bravo, on what was the old N3 on the straight before Dalgan park, at 7am in the morning, without going anywhere near that speed ;)

I saw this festy today, or rather heard it first. Went MOOOOOO past the bank in Newry. With a bumper sticker "Too loud? Too bad!" How I cringed and facepalmed.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

So lady pickles (yes that's right) has just acquired her first car, the mother came home with a new one and just handed her the keys to the old one, I wish i had that sort of luck :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I find it a pain to overtake anything in the 206, takes about 5 minutes to get up to a decent speed, then another 5 to overtake just one car!! If that car speeds up, you have no hope :pac:

Ah I presumed the coupe from the kart meet was hers, coupes done Suit yourself by the way :pac:

Yeah it was haha, however that was just my rather good looking friend :pac: herself has one of those little daihatsu jeep yokes now

Ah **** woops :) 2+2=3

Tis graaand :D

I've had some very awkward situations like that :) need to stop jumping to conclusions :)

Haha I'm terrible for that kinda thing

Soooo.... Is this a threeway?

Catalyst I have or not.....