If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Floods + Discovery = Fun. Savage craic in the snow yesterday, TC doing overtime, wheelspin in fourth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Sobanek wrote: »
    Be careful on the roads today, lads and gals! I got blown so hard that I ended up on a kerb!

I got 'blown' on a kerb in Kilternan, SoCoDub about 20 years back in a very, very drunken state. The chicks older brother drove past, squealed to a stop, reversed very quickly, ripped me off his sister, put her in the passenger seat, threw me in the back of his van on top of his work tools and drove us home.

Still can't look that man straight in the eye two decades later. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭maceocc2

Big Nasty wrote: »
    I got 'blown' on a kerb in Kilternan, SoCoDub about 20 years back in a very, very drunken state. The chicks older brother drove past, squealed to a stop, reversed very quickly, ripped me off his sister, put her in the passenger seat, threw me in the back of his van on top of his work tools and drove us home.

Still can't look that man straight in the eye two decades later. :o

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Any body ever buy from these guys: http://www.citycarsenfield.co.uk/

Thinking of going over to buy a 55reg car from them. price seems good

anybody anything on them ?

cheers

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

pred racer wrote: »
    Made a trip to Gas Monkey today, it's really in a ****ty part of town!
    I met Christy, nicer in the flesh;)

Where be thee? And work or travel?

I thought I had taken a few pics of monster trucks in Canada, but it appears not

And my OH is in disgrace as he "forgot" to fire up the alfa once a week to keep it alive and now the battery is dead :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Stheno wrote: »

I thought I had taken a few pics of monster trucks in Canada, but it appears not

And my OH is in disgrace as he "forgot" to fire up the alfa once a week to keep it alive and now the battery is dead :(

Did you consider getting one of them solar trickle chargers for the Alfa if it's going to be sitting up. Or are you going to be driving it regularly now that your back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

colm_mcm wrote: »

And now for something completely different :pac:

if this was a skangermobile it would win the thread, it's only been started and I'm cringing just pasting this link in, I officially hate being from Kildare

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kildares-Slickest-Cars/356178391187329

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bpmull wrote: »
    Did you consider getting one of them solar trickle chargers for the Alfa if it's going to be sitting up. Or are you going to be driving it regularly now that your back?

Every day, he is in disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Jap or a German only though :(

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Jap or a German only though :(

Tossy will fit in nicely so! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

And now for something completely different :pac:

if this was a skangermobile it would win the thread, it's only been started and I'm cringing just pasting this link in, I officially hate being from Kildare

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kildares-Slickest-Cars/356178391187329

Lol

ennywan up for a cruz ladz ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,773 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

If you were in a BMW tonight up the Sally Gap and were rescued by a Punto and a Starlet why don't you tell us a bit of a story :pac::pac:

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    If you were in a BMW tonight up the Sally Gap and were rescued by a Punto and a Starlet why don't you tell us a bit of a story :pac::pac:

I'm intrigued....tell us more :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ummmm..... Yeah about that :p

Whoever said BMW's are useless in snow and on slippery mountains are complete liars :D untill it slithered to one side and became beached ontop of a ditch :o

Then suddenly it dawned on me: I've become the person being rescued by a Fiat and backup Toyota :cool:

Took a hape of people in the boot and a mighty 1.2 to yank the E39 out :P

To say it was a fun event filled evening is an understatement :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Was there a video taken?

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Was there a video taken?

I have pics of it beached but I may ask if someone recorded it.... That Punto was whipping as it pulled me out! I couldn't film as I was in the drivers seat :p

dgt wrote: »
    Ummmm..... Yeah about that :p

Whoever said BMW's are useless in snow and on slippery mountains are complete liars :D untill it slithered to one side and became beached ontop of a ditch :o

Then suddenly it dawned on me: I've become the person being rescued by a Fiat and backup Toyota :cool:

Took a hape of people in the boot and a mighty 1.2 to yank the E39 out :P

To say it was a fun event filled evening is an understatement :D

I had a feeling it was you :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »

I'm in Dallas, for work. It's a 3 week training course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

Tossy will fit in nicely so! :pac:

Someone PM me as soon as the start posting actual slick cars on that Fb page lol, i may be old but A4's with 8000k HIDs and Boras with green wheels are not slick.

tossy wrote: »
    Someone PM me as soon as the start posting actual slick cars on that Fb page lol, i may be old but A4's with 8000k HIDs and Boras with green wheels are not slick.

What's the s3 like on daysul laaaad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭tossy

What's the s3 like on daysul laaaad

She's quare easy on it laaaaaad. unless you floor it then she drinks the stuff - but she's an antichrist to go!

I have pics of it beached...

Then it began to shnowww heavily :pac:
    12490653243_5550183ae1_b.jpg
    12491014884_e8e6414477_b.jpg

You park like a Garda

You are a right fool :P:P

I'll get your towing eye back to you at some stage when it is freed from the rope:pac:

You are a right fool :P:P

I'll get your towing eye back to you at some stage when it is freed from the rope:pac:

I did get a fair bit up the gap, turned around then as I was going back.... Um, yeah :o

I owe ya big time, that was a nice mess yo got me out of! :D:D:D

I did get a fair bit up the gap, turned around then as I was going back.... Um, yeah :o

I owe ya big time, that was a nice mess yo got me out of! :D:D:D

Did you see when I nearly lost it on the way back down :p Was some craig alright, invite me along next time :D

As payback you can start pulling dents, changing clutch master cylinders and other misc items ;):pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I don't get a video because my fat ass was creating traction.

It was ****ing cold up there, I got out of the car on the way back down to check a tyre but the car was still rolling slightly, the wind almost took me over and it was do slippy that as I clinched to the door, I was dragged a few meters, still standing. Pure ice.

Let's go again tonight. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

CianRyan wrote: »
    I don't get a video because my fat ass was creating traction.

It was ****ing cold up there, I got out of the car on the way back down to check a tyre but the car was still rolling slightly, the wind almost took me over and it was do slippy that as I clinched to the door, I was dragged a few meters, still standing. Pure ice.

Let's go again tonight. :pac:
    In say, oh I dunno, an american truck perhaps :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

As much as I'd love that, I'm not really free tonight. :(