If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

hope you all have your winter tyres on guys

Was out in my dog **** kormorans today on my passat and it scaled a mountain not a bother on it.
    As I said before I have never had the need to buy Winter tyres.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Withthe way the stupid c*nts are driving, a chap with a red flag walking infront of the cars would be a better suggestion.

A bit of crappy flakes here and there has them all crawling, snow didn't stick to the roads, muppets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

No snow here in cork just after walking back after chemistry labs and the weather is calm not really that cold either and dry.

My mother said I got one of those missed parcel delivery sheets from an post. So that's the osram nightbreakers will collect them Saturday morning and fit. I don't know what the dips are like to change on the focus as non have blown yet seems its a light out job anyway. Still it will be nice to have some decent light again. Hoping to give the car a good clean on Saturday hasn't been done in at least two months probably the dirtiest it's ever been. I just haven't hit a chance to clean it as every weekend something seems to pop up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

dgt wrote: »
    Withthe way the stupid c*nts are driving, a chap with a red flag walking infront of the cars would be a better suggestion.

A bit of crappy flakes here and there has them all crawling, snow didn't stick to the roads, muppets!

Exactly left my house today done a ten min drive to pick up some pet food walked out to snow drive home took me 40 minutes fcuking eejits everywhere crawling along.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

OSI wrote: »
    Hit plenty of icy spots on the way out from the city centre. Our estate is an ice rink.

I'm surprised where you live is that bad, I'd have thought it would warrant a decent dose of salt. Does the bus go through it?

The M3 and R147 are fine though. Nice big wide roads where the gritters are out in force. I saw a few estates on the way home with a dusting of snow but 30kmh on a snow and ice free main national road is excessively slow.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Our estate is like an ice skating rink! Well one of the hills to get out anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Just drove home there from Tullamore. Car after car of people doing 15-25mph. IT'S A BIT OF SHAGGING SNOW. NOT THE ARCTIC CIRCLE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Welcome to my area man :rolleyes:

Everone would drive you insane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I went to every carpark on the way from my girlfriends house to mine on the way home tonight, and then some!
    A 15 minute drive turned into an hour and a half spin.
    Tremendous fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I need a massage so badly, yes i worked out in the snow, and i do not care that it was cold, the main thing is the sump is almost off! Again saab being snakes, hid bolts so I'm after those tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Bpmull wrote: »
    No snow here in cork just after walking back after chemistry labs and the weather is calm not really that cold either and dry.

My mother said I got one of those missed parcel delivery sheets from an post. So that's the osram nightbreakers will collect them Saturday morning and fit. I don't know what the dips are like to change on the focus as non have blown yet seems its a light out job anyway. Still it will be nice to have some decent light again. Hoping to give the car a good clean on Saturday hasn't been done in at least two months probably the dirtiest it's ever been. I just haven't hit a chance to clean it as every weekend something seems to pop up.

It's a light out job alright, but it's one screw and slide out. Pop off the backing and change th bulbs. Should take maybe 10mins to do both sides your first time. Very handy job to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

As dar said, easy job

Put up some pics as i spent 40 quid on philips bulbs impulse buy job and would love to see what they look like.

Still unsure if it's worth splitting the headlights to retrofit xenons, a friend did and they look great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

No winter tyres, just racing slicks on the carina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,643 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

dgt wrote: »

^^ This! ^^

Going back from work this morning - on main roads, well treated (N4, then N17) cars crawling less than 50 km/h. Finally chose alternative route (R and L roads, not treated at all) and drove with up to 80 km/h speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭pajor

I'd like to thank whoever suggested the anime Initial D, have been watching a lot of it recently. :D

Doing a Scortho on it now, steering clear of the Motors forum for now to concentrate on final year of college. Still doing this and that on boards, but had been spending far too much time on it.

Roll on end of May!

pajor wrote: »
    I'd like to thank whoever suggested the anime Initial D, have been watching a lot of it recently. :D

Doing a Scortho on it now, steering clear of the Motors forum for now to concentrate on final year of college. Still doing this and that on boards, but had been spending far too much time on it.

Roll on end of May!

good luck boss! gimme a shout if you see me around dit!

how some people get there license is beyond me driving home from the gym see a car Honda Civic coming towards me on the opposite side of the road doing about 5mph no exaggeration with hazards holding up traffic first assumption is must be something wrong with it.

Nope not at all get closer it owlone having a chin wag on her phone driving with hazards holding up traffic I couldn't help but laugh if I had been behind her I reckon a bit or road rage would have come out.

Dropping a sump in this weather is painful at best, not looking forward to later! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Dropping a sump in this weather is painful at best, not looking forward to later! :(

You will need a garage!

I really do! Effort of conversion though :pac:

OSI wrote: »
    Few blocks and a tin roof. Be grand.

True, a few blocks and a tin roof is what i have, but the floor has more problems than a maths book, and its cluttered, so new floor, declutter and stick in a heater here and there, job done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Be careful on the roads today, lads and gals! I got blown so hard that I ended up on a kerb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Sobanek wrote: »
    Be careful on the roads today, lads and gals! I got blown so hard that I ended up on a kerb!

I'll have the wind at my back in the way home on the bicycle!

Jasus yourself and the car alright? I've to drive to work shortly not should be interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Made a trip to Gas Monkey today, it's really in a ****ty part of town!
    I met Christy, nicer in the flesh;)

DSC_0149-1.jpg

DSC_0150.jpg

DSC_0154-1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Just a visit or getting some work done to scratchy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Jasus yourself and the car alright? I've to drive to work shortly not should be interesting.

Yeah, all fine, luckily a small one and I wasn't going anywhere near fast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Just a visit or getting some work done to scratchy?

Just a visit, I forgot to pack scratchy:P

I got blown so hard that I ended up on a kerb!

:eek::eek::eek::pac: