If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

***** Motors Chat - Round 5*****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

YbFocus wrote: »
    Creo is better :p

AutoCad is so last year :)

Good thing they brought out a 2014 version so :pac:
    dar83 wrote: »
    Not much point getting tracking and wheel alignment done if you're going to be putting new wheels on soon after...

Better off doing it when the new wheels go on.

Well that was the plan ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Your poor clutch !

Nice wheels though

Ah it'll be grand, was going to get them when I was ordering it but said it would be too crashy. It's OK on the 19s at the moment so I said I'd go for them when they popped up on eBay. Reckon they fell off the back of a truck but half the price they were from opel so I'm happy.

Diameter isn't much different either so clutch should be fine, once I get into 6th in the mornings it's that way all the way to work anyway.

The remap I'm contemplating on the other hand might not be so gentle...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ah it'll be grand, was going to get them when I was ordering it but said it would be too crashy. It's OK on the 19s at the moment so I said I'd go for them when they popped up on eBay. Reckon they fell off the back of a truck but half the price they were from opel so I'm happy.

Diameter isn't much different either so clutch should be fine, once I get into 6th in the mornings it's that way all the way to work anyway.

The remap I'm contemplating on the other hand might not be so gentle...

Only thing to watch dude is that the aftermarket wheels don't weigh a ton as the 19's my car came on were stupidly heavy aftermarket stuff.

They are original Opel wheels! Was surprised how easily the box of two was to lift.

I wish i could say the same for my ones, orginal saab alloys and they weighed a bit, but meh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I wish i could say the same for my ones, orginal saab alloys and they weighed a bit, but meh!

Reps tend to be lightweight and bend and buckle ta fook. You did the right thing going OEM dude. ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Reps tend to be lightweight and bend and buckle ta fook. You did the right thing going OEM dude. ;)

Oh jolly good :D

Well to be honest I'm going all out on the OEM side, right down to the oil filters ;)

Big Nasty wrote: »

Think it's more to do with reps often being made from softer compounds. Have seen some weight an absolute ton for what they were.

Either way, I wouldn't be bothered putting them on a car. I know you can get good quality reps but if you look around and take your time you'll get the real thing for not much more.

Buddy of mine put rep bbs ch's on a car and at this stage i get sea sickness in it. Wheels are buckled and it just shakes along the road, dunno how he lives with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

So as not to spam the picture thread...
    @cabá;iste: The biggest job I've done myself I'd changing the alternator in my old Almera, I went to put on a new belt after one snapped and realised the unit itself was fecked too so out it came and in went a new one.
    What eek event that has to building cars how you like them I have no idea but well, you do just act the troll most of the time so I don't know why I even bother.

FWIW, I was saving to put an SR16 and the lot into that Almera, I crashed it before I got a chance though. All going well though, I have even bigger plans for my little Mazda. Plans that will require custom fabrication and a LOT of bloody fingers.
    A reliable, strong 240+bhp at the rear wheels in a car that weights 900kg though, it'll be well "worth" losing a tonne of money on.
    But sure, I wouldn't expect you to understand that. ;)

Think it's more to do with reps often being made from softer compounds. Have seen some weight an absolute ton for what they were.

Either way, I wouldn't be bothered putting them on a car. I know you can get good quality reps but if you look around and take your time you'll get the real thing for not much more.

Buddy of mine put rep bbs ch's on a car and at this stage i get sea sickness in it. Wheels are buckled and it just shakes along the road, dunno how he lives with it!

This bit, I was willing to spend over 600 quid on the alloys i got, but sense kicked in and i went searching, ended up getting the very same alloys, both sets were OEM, for €40 each, so i done good! so four alloys for 160 and 30 for shipping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I drove for about 10 miles tonight with the computer reading this:
    rt0s34.jpg

I like to live on the wild side :cool:

You are just too much to handle :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Heading towards Boyerstown earlier, was on the bypass and saw what I thought was a checkpoint up ahead. Thought thats a weird place to have a checkpoint: on the roundabout!

Turns out some fella bulled an Isuzu npr up in the middle of the roundabout and milled the sign out of it. Twas an awful quare sight, front dug into the ground, arse cocked up in the air.... Looked like he made no attempt to stop either :eek:

Came back 10 mins later, garda gone, a huge lorrey putting cones down where the sign was hit.

Came back another while later, finally free :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

I drove for about 10 miles tonight with the computer reading this:
    rt0s34.jpg

I like to live on the wild side :cool:

In the Volvos you get --- KILOMETRES TO EMPTY TANK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Was reversing in to a car park space in the 350Z last night. I noticed that when the engine was off and keys out of the ignition the brake lights would still come when pressing the brake pedal! Does anyone else's motor do this?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,653 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Yep. Mine.

And many more. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Phew!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

My trusty steed for the next 3 weeks.

DSC_0142.jpg

Ah the good ol' Nissan i40 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Ah the good ol' Nissan i40 :P

A Nissan/Hyundai hybrid? In Hyundai cheating on Kia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I thought it was an insignia at first sight. :D

OSI wrote: »
    Car always sounds and feels great after a long run. On the home leg of a 400km round trip and stopped at lights and couldn't help but admire the content burble the engine was making.

I used to like listening to my car burble, but now im deaf :D

Veloce wrote: »
    Was reversing in to a car park space in the 350Z last night. I noticed that when the engine was off and keys out of the ignition the brake lights would still come when pressing the brake pedal! Does anyone else's motor do this?!

Yes, it's a safety feature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Yes, it's a safety feature

Any toyotas I've seen since the 80s did this. Just the way they're wired I'd say.
    Most cars are like this AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Got this off facebook. I don't know what the hell he was trying to do. I'm also a little annoyed he stopped filming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I literally thought that video was photo shopped (or video shopped :confused:) Had to look at it twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I literally thought that video was photo shopped (or video shopped :confused:) Had to look at it twice!

It's like the 90's rapper hydraulic cars.

Weather might actually be decent tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

pred racer wrote: »
    My trusty steed for the next 3 weeks.

DSC_0142.jpg

It's a Nissan Altima, and yes those are hub cap covered steelies! A quality motor! (Actually it's quite nice to drive)

My trusty steed to go for lunch today
    DSC_0145-1.jpg

From the inside

DSC_0146.jpg

There are indicators buried in the louvres in the bonnet, no clue why?

pred racer wrote: »
    There are indicators buried in the louvres in the bonnet, no clue why?

Who cares?! Its a sweet car! :pac: