Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BeebRock - The BBC4/BBC3/BBC2/BBC1 Music Programmes thread

• Registered Users Posts: 72,411 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Are Tower Records still in Dublin?

I remember visiting two...one in O'Connell Street above Easons, and one in Wicklow Street. The last time I went to the one in Wicklow Street, they had a cafe upstairs (nobody seemed to be using DVD's).

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭xlogo

Are Tower Records still in Dublin?

Yeah - still one in Dawson Street - it opened after Wicklow Street closed (or the one on Wicklow Street moved there - depends on which way you look at it).

Is Freebird Records on Wicklow Street still going?

Always get some good books and cd's there :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,986 ✭✭✭OldRio

At last, Floyd.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Is Freebird Records on Wicklow Street still going?

Always get some good books and cd's there :)

Yeah, they are still hanging in there

http://www.freebird.ie/

The Tower Records at Piccadilly Circus was absolutely amazing, you could spend days in there.

Napster?

I was more of a Kazaa guy :)

Good documentary, but there was a bit of 'blame shifting' going on - to the people who are dead/weren't interviewed to defend themselves.

Just accept, you didn't see and couldn't adapt to how the internet was going to change music retail (same goes for the record companies).

Spillers Records in Cardiff for me :)

The oldest record shop in the world...officially :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 19,603 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

1.618 wrote: »
    Fair play to ya Skid X for doing these posts. It really saves a lot of rooting about.

I'm still waiting for another repeat of the epic Tom Petty documentary.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00scr6s

It hasn't been repeated in 5 years though:(

I very much enjoyed the fact that Skid's listings were getting more thanks than the Late Late OP towards the end of the season.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I very much enjoyed the fact that Skid's listings were getting more thanks than the Late Late OP towards the end of the season.

I think that well known 'captive audience fatigue syndrome' kicks in near the end.

Anyway, whats all this I hear about Daniel possibly finding a new semi-fan ? Maybe even a guy capable of shredding 10 plectrums in one night. Frightening stuff ! :eek:

1.618 wrote: »
    I think that well known 'captive audience fatigue syndrome' kicks in near the end.

Anyway, whats all this I hear about Daniel possibly finding a new semi-fan ? Maybe even a guy capable of shredding 10 plectrums in one night. Frightening stuff ! :eek:

Wait, wait, wait!

Semi fan? No it's just...

Man, there's no getting out of this...

Look, I was just in a really good mood, which I'm not used to. I didn't know what I was saying...

*cranks up overdrive*

This is for you, my soul...

Where is the 'turns the other way and looks into the distance' smiley ? I can't seem to find it.

You know when you wake up after a few beers and think "Did I really say that? Ah bollocks".

That'll be me tomorrow.

And I haven't even been drinking. Much.

Well, I won't hold it against you at all. It's grand :)

note to self: bookmark this page.

Couldn't John have unplugged Yoko's mic? :D

Just kidding, she's great.

Imagine (sounds like a good song title) being Lennon in the 1970's - everywhere he went, EVERYBODY he met would ask him the question ''When are The Beatles getting back together?''

Shame Yoko never received a songwriting credit for 'Imagine'.

Oh wait... :D

'Come And Get It' by Badfinger - classic :)

• Registered Users Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Glstonbury-Poster-2017.jpg

Hi there, it's Glastonbury weekend and the BBC is going large with their coverage again.

Lots on BBC2 and BBC Four, with lots more on the Red Button and the Iplayer (if you can access it). Radio 1, Radio 2 and 6Music also head down to Worthy Farm

Glastonbury
    https://www.bbc.co.uk/events/ec584f
    https://twitter.com/bbcglasto
    http://www.glastonburyfestivals.co.uk/line-up/line-up-2017/?stage
    http://www.nme.com/blogs/nme-blogs/glastonbury-2017-festival-watching-guide-tv-radio-online-2084172

Here's the BBC TV Schedule, they don't give out too many details and it's all subject to change, but it should give you a taster of what's on offer

Friday
    BBC4 7.30pm-8pm - The Pretenders
    BBC Red Button 7.30pm-1.30am - Various
    BBC2 8pm - 'Highlights and bespoke acoustic performances'
    BBC4 8pm -9pm Kris Kristofferson, Royal Blood
    BBC4 9pm - 10pm 'Special Guests'
    BBC2 10pm-1.30am Radiohead (Full)
    BBC4 10.30pm-11.45pm Dizzee Rascal

Saturday
    BBC2 5.30pm-6.50pm (until 7.50pm BBC England) Jools Holland, Craig David
    BBC Red Button 5.30pm-1am Various
    BBC4 7pm-8pm Toots and The Maytals, Liam Gallagher
    BBC4 8pm-9pm The National
    BBC2 England 8pm-9pm Katy Perry (BBC2NI coverage starts at 8.30pm)
    BBC2 9pm-1am Foo Fighters (Full)
    BBC4 9pm-10pm Father John Misty
    BBC4 10pm-11.45pm The Jacksons

Sunday
    6pm-Midnight BBC Red Button (Various)
    6pm-9pm BBC2 Barry Gibb, Nile Rodgers & Chic, various acoustic sets
    7pm-8pm BBC4 Shaggy, Rag N Bone Man
    8pm-9pm BBC4 'Special Guests'
    9pm-Midnight BBC2 Ed Sheeran (Full)

Here's the highlights of everything else, Sky Arts goes Full Metal with highlights of last week's Download Festival and anything vaguely loud they have in their archives. There's a few more old reliables in there too ..

Thursday
    7.30pm & Midnight Top Of The Pops 1984 - January 19th (BBC4)
    Simon Bates and Peter Powell present the January 19 show, featuring music by Whitesnake, Big Country, Fiction Factory, China Crisis, Gloria Gaynor, John Lennon and Paul McCartney. Full details here http://thetvdb.com/?tab=episode&seriesid=78332&seasonid=653476&id=5857781&lid=7

11.55pm Other Voices (RTE2)
    The music show celebrating upcoming talents continues, as Buckinghamshire-based singer and multi-instrumentalist Jack Garratt, Dublin four-piece Otherkin and American indie rockers Low. Plus, `atmosfolk' duo Morgan MacIntyre and Gemma Doherty, otherwise known as Saint Sister, perform in the IMRO Other Room

Friday
    7pm Video Killed The Radio Star - Guns N Roses (Sky Arts)
    Director Andy Morahan and former Guns N' Roses drummer Matt Sorum discuss making the videos for the band's singles November Rain, Don't Cry, Estranged, Welcome to the Jungle and Garden of Eden

7.30pm Discovering Music - Iron Maiden (Sky Arts)
    A look at how Iron Maiden has led the way in the world of heavy metal since their formation in 1976 by bassist Steve Harris and guitarist Dave Murray. The band endured many line-up changes before releasing a series of albums throughout the 1980s, selling more than 50 million records and influencing acts from Metallica to Marilyn Manson

8pm Classic Albums: Iron Maiden - The Number of The Beast (Sky Arts)
    Iron Maiden's Bruce Dickinson, Adrian Smith, Steve Harris, Dave Murray and Clive Burr reflect on the production of their 1982 album The Number of the Beast, and discuss how they became reviled in certain quarters for their supposedly Satanist leanings

9pm Download Festival 2017 (Sky Arts)
    Part one of two. Highlights of the event held at Donington Park, Leicestershire, where the headliners were System of a Down, Biffy Clyro and Aerosmith Download Festival 2017 http://downloadfestival.co.uk/lineup/poster

10pm BBC2 Sounds of The Seventies - ArtHouse Glam (BBC4)
    Collection of archive performances by artists including the Kinks, Roxy Music, Elton John, New York Dolls, Queen, Sparks and Rod Stewart. Plus, a rediscovered recording of David Bowie singing The Jean Genie from January 1973

11.45pm & 2.45am Play It Loud - The Story Of The Marshall Amp (BBC4)
    In the early 1960s drum shop owner Jim Marshall launched the loudest amplifier in the world at a point in time widely perceived to be the birth of rock. Young musicians like Clapton and Hendrix rushed to adopt the revolutionary `Marshall sound', and the electric guitar spoke for a new generation, while stacks and walls became an essential backdrop at concerts. The company was rescued from financial meltdown by comic exposure in the 1984 movie This is Spinal Tap, and the electronic boxes were propelled to iconic status. This documentary charts the amp's history, with contributions from rock musicians Pete Townshend, Lemmy and Slash, plus an interview with the founder himself

Midnight Brian Johnson's A Life On The Road - Nick Mason (Sky Arts)

12.45am Guitar Heroes at The BBC (BBC4)
    Archive footage of guitarists taken from BBC music shows of the 1970s. Includes electric performances by Carlos Santana, Mark Knopfler, Peter Green and the Edge, and acoustic material by John Martyn, John Renbourn, Bert Jansch and Paco Pena

1.45am More Guitar Heroes at The BBC (BBC4)
    Archive performances by celebrated musicians Jimi Hendrix, Pete Townshend, Peter Green and Johnny Winter. Other artists featured include Manitas de Plata, Ry Cooder, Thin Lizzy and AC/DC, while Fleetwood Mac's Albatross and In the City by the Jam are among the classic songs seen again in clips from the BBC's 1970s music shows

1am Video Killed The Radio Star - Metallica (Sky Arts)
    Drummer Lars Ulrich and director Wayne Isham discuss the making of heavy metal band Metallica's most famous videos, including Enter Sandman, Nothing Else Matters and The Unforgiven

1.30am Iron Maiden: Flight 666 (Sky Arts)
    Documentary chronicling heavy-metal band Iron Maiden's 2008 Somewhere Back in Time world tour, which took them on a 50,000-mile journey across five continents, staging 23 concerts in just 45 days. Featuring performance footage of classic tracks including Aces High and Wasted Years, along with behind-the-scenes interviews with the band

Saturday
    7.30pm Discovering Music - Black Sabbath (Sky Arts)
    A look at the rise of heavy metal pioneers Black Sabbath, who changed the face of rock with the release of Paranoid in 1970

8pm Trailblazers: Heavy Metal (Sky Arts)
    Music experts explore the development of heavy metal music, from Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin to Metallica and Motley Crue

9pm Download Festival 2017 (Sky Arts)

9pm Pop, Pride and Prejudice (More4)
    Documentary exploring how the likes of Dusty Springfield, David Bowie and George Michael fought a battle for hearts and minds that mirrored the political struggle for gay rights

11.45pm Top Of The Pops 1984 - January 19th (BBC4)
    Same as Thursday

Midnight Brian Johnson's A Life On The Road - Sting (Sky Arts)

12.20am Northern Soul - Living For The Weekend (BBC4)
    A look at the rise, fall and rebirth of the music and dance movement that took place across the north of England during the 1970s. Archive footage and vivid first-hand accounts reveal the dynamic culture of fashions, dance moves and musical obsessions that were all fuelled by a unique style of black American soul music based on heavy beats. With contributions by Richard Searling, Ian Levine, Colin Kurtis, Kev Roberts, Pete Waterman, Peter Stringfellow and others

1am Leonard Cohen: I'm Your Man (2005) (Sky Arts)
    Documentary about the life and career of the Canadian singer-songwriter, who details the intricacies of his distinctive brand of music, and his unique outlook on life. Archive footage and photographs from Cohen's private collection illustrate high points from his career, and there are performances of his songs by artists including Nick Cave, Jarvis Cocker, the Handsome Family, Beth Orton, Rufus Wainwright and Martha Wainwright at a 2005 tribute concert in Sydney

1.20am Classic Soul at the BBC (BBC4)
    Performances from the BBC archive by acclaimed soul singers, including Aretha Franklin, Al Green, Isaac Hayes, Dusty Springfield, Solomon Burke and Percy Sledge

2.20am Otis Redding: Soul Ambassador (BBC4)
    Profile of the soul singer, documenting his childhood and career, including unseen home movies that reveal how his 1967 tour of Britain dramatically changed his life and music. Plus, footage of rare performances and intimate interviews with Redding's widow, daughter and previous band members Steve Cropper and Booker T Jones, as well as celebrity fans Rod Stewart, Tom Jones and Bryan Ferry

3am Discovering Music: Leonard Cohen (Sky Arts)
    Music critics discuss the life and career of the Canadian singer-songwriter, known for his poetic lyrics in songs including Bird on the Wire and Hallelujah

Sunday
    8pm Classic Albums: Deep Purple - Machine Head (Sky Arts)
    Deep Purple's Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord and Ian Paice recall the making of their seminal rock album Machine Head, which included the masterpiece Smoke on the Water. After two successful records, the band had booked The Casino in Montreux to make their third, only to see the venue burnt down on the eve of recording

9pm Saxon at Waken Open Air 2014 (Sky Arts)
    The English heavy metal veterans perform at the music festival in Wacken, Germany, with the set including Motorcycle Man, Solid Ball of Rock, Wheels of Steel and Crusader

10.15pm Motorhead at Waken Open Air 2011 (Sky Arts)
    The heavy rock band's set at the German festival, including performances of Iron Fist, Stay Clean, Killed By Death, Bomber, Ace of Spades and Overkill

11.30pm God Bless Ozzy Osbourne (Sky Arts)
    A profile of Black Sabbath member Ozzy Osbourne, from the wild and hedonistic days that adversely affected his personal life, through the years of depression, alcoholism and drug dependency that followed. The programme also reveals how he overcame his demons, with the help of his second wife Sharon. Featuring interviews with Paul McCartney, Motley Crue drummer Tommy Lee and others

1.15am Discovering Music: Black Sabbath (Sky Arts)
    A look at the rise of heavy metal pioneers Black Sabbath, who changed the face of rock with the release of Paranoid in 1970

There's a busy thread on Glasto in the Gigs and Events Forum http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057646856, there will likely be Glasto Chat here and in threads across the Music and TV Forums.

Sure why not?

Well, this is all well and good, Skid, but isn't there someone you're forgetting? Eh?

A certain wee someone on Friday night?

Heh.

But really, jesus, what a weekend! There's a couple of weeks worth of really good stuff there. Nice one as usual, Skid.

Always excellent Glastonbury coverage from the Beeb!

In preparation for Glasto marathon tv viewing, I have made some dodgy home-brew, made a giant flag so nobody behind me can see, and have only washed myself with wet wipes for the last few days :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Glasto is like Wagner - hours of rubbish with 30 minute slots of quality!

Can you get the interactive red button in Ireland?

Looking forward to Radiohead's set, and a little bit of the Foos :)

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

A Sligo band I mentioned a few pages back are playing Glastonbury on three stages on Friday. If they pop up on screen, give them a listen.
    RACKHOUSE PILFER
    When and where?
    Friday @ 14.45, Small World Stage or Friday @ 21.00, Avalon Cafe or Friday @ 23.50, The Bandstand

Other Irish acts.

https://www.goldenplec.com/featured/a-guide-to-the-irish-acts-at-glastonbury-2017/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,721 ✭✭✭BandMember

Thanks as always for the weekly round up! The beer has been chilling in the fridge all week - roll on Friday evening and the first of many will be opened.... :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

No telly for me after tonight. I'm going down home for a few days and my mother turns the tv off after the 9.00 news and weather. She only has Saorview so I can see her point. Having said that, the chances of me sitting in while I've old friends to catch up with are fairly slim.

Enjoy G'bury and whatever else is on.
    Chat soon.

Whitesnake...named so because of David Coverdale's pet python, of course.

Needs more Tawny Kitaen ;)

Didn't know Peter Schmiechel sang for Fiction Factory...great song :)