If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

ultraman1 wrote: »
    Israeli foreighn policy

And Russian!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Laois_Man wrote: »
    And Russian!!

They just use the bart simpson version of foreign policy:

It wasn't me, nobody saw me do it, you can't prove anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭LaHaine

People who use the novices thread to log all their runs. I love the tips and advice but I dont want to know about every run you ran!! Thats what logs are for!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

LaHaine wrote: »
    People who use the novices thread to log all their runs. I love the tips and advice but I dont want to know about every run you ran!! Thats what logs are for!!
    Ah now:(
    I disagree. I used it last year as I was a bit shy about having my own log (how things have changed:p )but found it great to have a place to put up some of my training and receive feedback and I loved reading about the training others were doing.
    I do agree that it's great to have your own log and wish I had set one up before DCM to track my progress through marathon training and I'd love to have it all logged properly.
    I don't want anyone to be discouraged from posting their training runs:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭LaHaine

Ososlo wrote: »
    Ah now:(
    I disagree. I used it last year as I was a bit shy about having my own log (how things have changed:p )but found it great to have a place to put up some of my training and receive feedback and I loved reading about the training others were doing.
    I do agree that it's great to have your own log and wish I had set one up before DCM to track my progress through marathon training and I'd love to have it all logged properly.
    I don't want anyone to be discouraged from posting their training runs:)

Each to their own!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Each to their own!

Go on then, just because of this I'll log a rant.
    People who have no idea what an 'easy' run means. If your easy run pace is sub 8 minute miles then you should be a sub 19min 5k runner or a sub 1:30Hm runner at worst.
    If your easy pace is 8 min/mile and you cant run a sub 40 10k then you're deluding yourself. Cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ClashCityRocker

People stopping their cars to ask the runner clearly exerting themselves for directions (especially when it's in a built up area with multiple pubs and shops about)

I remember being stopped by some Asian tourists once while running to work to take their picture. I wasn't too annoyed as i was about a 1/4 mile from the office at that stage, just baffled that there were so many people wandering around the place and the lads decided to stop a runner to take their photo :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

I had someone drive to catch up to me after I didn't stop to help them, to call me an arsehole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

Too hot for this lunchtime running malarkey. Back at my desk. Sweating into my shirt

People on the fitness forum, discussing 'HIIT' as if they have discovered the third secret of fatima.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057246351
    HIIT does increase your VO2 max, which improves endurance. It also helps your body become more comfortable at higher speeds which can overall increase your pace. I know quite a few marathon runners incorporate it in their training.

:rolleyes: No, all distance runners have been doing it for ever. We call it intervals, strides, hill blasts. The cross fit community did not just discover this new revolutionary training regime a few years ago like :rolleyes:

Logging too many rants at the moment :o

Just watching UFC. what a load of rubbish. Totally made up 'sport' prety much like triathlon :p.
    Basically it's not a sport it's simply a TV show.

Has nothing on the noble art

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

I completely disagree. One of the points of that thread, IMO, is that it's where we can all talk about how training is going. Tips and advice are useful and I like to read them but I've plenty of books on marathon running. It's the shared experience of training for a first marathon that I'm really there for. In two months time, when I'm freaking out because I'm finding the LSRs exhausting or the midweek sessions tough, I want to be able to read that other people are feeling the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

menoscemo wrote: »
    People on the fitness forum, discussing 'HIIT' as if they have discovered the third secret of fatima.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057246351

:rolleyes: No, all distance runners have been doing it for ever. We call it intervals, strides, hill blasts. The cross fit community did not just discover this new revolutionary training regime a few years ago like :rolleyes:

Combined with the term clean eating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Just watching UFC. what a load of rubbish. Totally made up 'sport' prety much like triathlon :p.

I watched the first two rounds of one of the earlier fights to see what the hype was all about. Seems like the main tactic is to spend the first 4 minutes jogging around and then the last few seconds actually trying to hit the other guy. Probably because if you come out worse you'll have the bell to save you in a couple of seconds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Logging too many rants at the moment :o

Has nothing on the noble art

Completely agree, an over hyped load of ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

True enough, but certainly better than that WWE/WWF w@nk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,687 ✭✭✭✭walshb

WWF rules. Pure entertainment. Rave over!

Bandwagon Dubs supporters! Don't even like football but it's cool to be seen on the hill!

In fairness, there can't be too many bandwagon dubs left considering their domination of Leinster over the last 10 years. It's probably rather passée and boring at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

walshb wrote: »
    Bandwagon Dubs supporters! Don't even like football but it's cool to be seen on the hill!
    Dublin always have a large following in both the championship and league. Home and away, good times and bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 617 ✭✭✭pa4

Going clothes shopping today for some jeans and shorts. I'm a 32 waist and 34 leg yet all as I could find in my leg size were sizes 36 waist onwards. Why don't they cater for normal sized people! Seriously there was actualy one size that was 40 waist and 32 leg! Is the whole country gone obese now or what.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭gerard_65

pa4 wrote: »
    Going clothes shopping today for some jeans and shorts. I'm a 32 waist and 34 leg yet all as I could find in my leg size were sizes 36 waist onwards. Why don't they cater for normal sized people! Seriously there was actualy one size that was 40 waist and 32 leg! Is the whole country gone obese now or what.
    Ha ha. I have the same problem. You'd think a 32 waist and 34 leg was freaky. It was once normal.

gerard_65 wrote: »
    Ha ha. I have the same problem. You'd think a 32 waist and 34 leg was freaky. It was once normal.

Seems like it's far from normal now! The 40 waist 32 leg was taking the piss though haha. The good news is I eventually found my size hidden away on it's own, think it was the only one there. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Stop shopping in the sales ya big cheapskate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

Oh God, I could go into such a rant here myself. One for the pain in the arse that clothes shopping has become and another one for how obesity is spreading at an alarming rate yet it is seen as virtually taboo to point that out.

Try finding a size 30/32 waist and 30 in the leg. Zara are great for 'slim' blokes, but you have to factor in the cost of getting the leg altered, size 40 or some madness like that seems to be standard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Top shop is yer only man for the skinny pants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

+100! I'm a 30 waist and I found one pair of matching pants in M&S, ONE!, leg was almost up to my knees but I still bought em because it was such a thrill to have found them in the first place

Glad to hear I'm not the only one with the skinny waist dilemma!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

http://www.waterford-united.ie/100milechallenge/

A 10 week training plan for a 100 miler....why did I not think of dat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,687 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Skinny jeans on men!:eek: