The Rant Thread(a place to dump ur baggage)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

belcarra wrote: »
    In fairness he's there for one thing only I'd imagine and that's his kick outs.
    He's probably built for that.
    Why not instead talk about Mickey Newman for Meath?
    Maybe because he wasn't on sky sports, that seems to be the benchmark for open season on slagging!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

going to bed annoyed, having a poor sleep, and waking up more annoyed:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,413 ✭✭✭plodder

“The beginning of wisdom is to call things by their proper name.” - Confucius

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 Billy Mills

Au revoir folks. Gone for good this time. Its been fun (mostly) but have read the writing on the wall in this forum for a while. See yas at the races.

regards,

Dr. Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

Pedestrians who drift, slow down, randomly stop, walk 4 abreast, etc......was running yesterday and there was a group walking 4 abreast. They could see me coming from quite a bit away, not one person bothered to make any room for me to run past. Bike was coming up the cycle lane so had to stop to get past that, which REALLY pissed me off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭saucyjack

Pedestrians who drift, slow down, randomly stop, walk 4 abreast, etc......was running yesterday and there was a group walking 4 abreast. They could see me coming from quite a bit away, not one person bothered to make any room for me to run past. Bike was coming up the cycle lane so had to stop to get past that, which REALLY pissed me off.

Really p1ss3s me off too dwayneshintzy.....I find though that shouting any of "ZOMBIES!" , "BOMB" or "INCOMIIIIIIIIING....." as you approach and zoom by them sometimes breaks up the pack. Even if not it cheers me up endlessly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,343 ✭✭✭dwayneshintzy

I was tempted to just run full pelt into the lad on the edge of the pavement, sure if he wasn't getting out of my way why should I get out of his

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

Happened to me yesterday runnning down the liffey, had to run onto the cobbles to get around at the last second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Runners hogging the cycling lanes.

Stay on the footpath with the other slow f&cks :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

Happened me last week too, group of 4/5 fellas in their late teens/ early 30's were on the footpath. I was on the road anyway so not too bothered. Then one clever dick decided to step out from behind the group to try and push me further out on the road, very deliberately so. Annoyed me so much I cracked him a nice shoulder to shoulder contact, safe in the knowledge I'd be well on my way away from them before anyone copped what happened. I don't think he'll be trying it again soon. A good example of where a GAA background can assist your running training!

And I wouldn't think twice about doing it again with people in a group who fail to give sufficient room to pass...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Asking this morning in Elvery's if they no longer stock Saucony (pronounced correctly by me) to be told by a chung f'la they don't really have Saucony anymore (said with a pointed correction of my pronunciation) Kn0b jockey.... Had to use all of my renowned patience not to kick him in the h0le!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,701 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Fad dieters!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

digger2d2 wrote: »
    Asking this morning in Elvery's if they no longer stock Saucony (pronounced correctly by me) to be told by a chung f'la they don't really have Saucony anymore (said with a pointed correction of my pronunciation) Kn0b jockey.... Had to use all of my renowned patience not to kick him in the h0le!!
    People wearin running Shoes as a fashion accessory...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭Bahanaman

Just wondering... what is the correct way to pronounce saucony?! :)

Bahanaman wrote: »

Saucy Knees ;)

Sock anee

ultraman1 wrote: »
    People wearin running Shoes as a fashion accessory...

I thought the Nike Airs looked good on you Anto ;)

Saucy Knees ;)

Sock anee

Phew!! Thank god I've been getting it right. :D I've heard it pronounced sowconey!!:eek: Hard not to jump right in and put them right!

Saucy Knees ;)

Sock anee
    Afaik it's Sawchesney
    Rant....hookers dat have no change

Phew!! Thank god I've been getting it right. :D I've heard it pronounced sowconey!!:eek: Hard not to jump right in and put them right!

I wouldn't have any issues if he'd been first to say the name and gotten it wrong, I'd have just avoided mentioning for the rest of the interaction. He was so sure of himself with the condescending manner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Sock-ah-knee seems to be the correct pronunciation alright. I've previously looked for some of their ads to find how to say the bloody word, a surprising amount of them never actually say the bloody thing. I was sure it was done purposely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭AK333

I come across this a lot - I just shout "excuse me, can't stop" and keep going. They soon move when they see me hurtling at them or maybe they just take pity on me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭nerraw1111

AK333 wrote: »
    I just shout "excuse me, can't stop" and keep going. They soon move when they see me hurtling at them

James Holden? ;)

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2014/01/13/i-only-check-my-watch-because-it-looks-good-admits-jogger/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

That stupid bagpipe song they keep playing at the Commonwealth Games! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,899 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Let me Google that for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VP-MrCjY_Ag

Footballers....especially d one dat kicked me lastnite

Murph_D wrote: »
    Let me Google that for you: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VP-MrCjY_Ag

Wow isn't Google amazing!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Waiting for hours to have a banana mid-run, only for it to fall to pieces and roll in the gravel :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Women... Same wan as before has now high tailed it. All apologetic and sad. **** right off for ****ing my head up when I didn't even want it...

Me. For for not seeing the warning signs...

Me. For my training... atrocious... Supposed to be following Meno plan for DCM but in reality, i'm not.. I'm just running out of fear/anger/stupity... Most to fast and I'm feeling fed up wrecked now.

Me. Knowing I probably wont change my ways...

Me. Drink.. Drinking a bottle wine while on two weeks hols and feeling guilty even though I know it will have a good effect ie venting anger/ slowing tomorrows run, Try and forget about that wan..

Me. Hate when I look at that thread before and now. I applaude their achievements made there but feel like ****e when I'm making marginal gains all round.

Me. Above... KNOWING IT'S ALL MY FAULT

Me. For being so laidback. Some people will think thats good, but there's a point when it seems life's passing you by...

Me. Bit of depression...... But I'll bounce back.... Again....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 751 ✭✭✭SeanPuddin

Jaysus Marty get the head right first and take care of yourself. If you're depressed talk to someone and worry about the running later. Progress is in the eye of the beholder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Marty sorry to hear you are having a bad time, at least you have it all said now. Regarding the wan, try not to let it wreck your head, if she was messing you around she is not worth it. Enjoy your wine unless it's bringing you down more in which case skip now. Now the running, marginal gains my arse, sub 20 5 km earned through sheer hard work and discipline. If following the plan is causing more stress then forget about the plan , just run to sort the head out. Above all let a mate know your struggling at the moment. Look after yourself.