Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Same Sex Marriage (Poll on The Journal)

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭Daith

I'm new to this thread, so it's possibly been covered, and i haven't read up on the bill, so it could be a stupid question.

I'm not in the stightest bit religous and have no beef with gay marriage.

Would this include church weddings? If so, can lay people change the rules of a religous organisation?
    I know a referendum can change the laws within our country, but if we're talking about church weddings, do churches here have any say on the matter if the bill was passed, as it affects their own laws?

As i said, i've no objections to this either way. Morally, people should be able to make their own choices, but i'd be curious as to how it works legally as it affects both state and religous bodies.
    (obviously i know civil ceremonies are not religous, and am just curious about the religous thing).

When you get married in a church you basically have two wedding ceremonies. The religious one then the civil one.

Looking at the UK same sex marriage act it would protects religious orders who don't wish to perform a same sex marriage. The same would most likely happen here. So no church would have to marry same sex couples and they won't be sued if that don't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

I'm new to this thread, so it's possibly been covered, and i haven't read up on the bill, so it could be a stupid question.

Would this include church weddings? If so, can lay people change the rules of a religous organisation?