Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2014 ** NO TICKET DISCUSSION ALLOWED ** see new mod note

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

D.Q wrote: »
    I'll admit that I am one of the uninformed when it comes to those ropes. Enlighten me on how they are meant to be used?

I'm not gonna try and explain it to you in words cos I'll just confuse you (and myself!). But there are loads of videos on youtube explaining how to use them properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,014 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

Swiss Tony had some fantastic advice wrt pitching ones shelter

"Putting up a tent, is... very much like making love to a beautiful woman. You rent her, unzip the door, put up your pole an'... slip in to the old bag."

• Registered Users Posts: 12,515 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Was going to ask this myself, I arrived down at about 11:30am last year and it wasn't that busy but I remember by about 1 or 2 it was filling up quickly. Expecting it to be a bit busier this year. Do the gates open at 9am? If so I reckon I might try and get there for as close to 9 as possible.

As far as I can remember bodhrandude, Red Bull said there are still more to be announced in their announcement with Joy O, Boddika etc. but I get the feeling it will mainly be smaller acts, so wouldn't be getting my hopes up for the likes of Laurent Garnier or Daniel Avery (as much as I'd love to see both). I'd be expecting Joy O, Boddika and Dark Sky to be the main acts down in the woods each night. I'm sure there will be some great acts announced all the same, last year I remember venturing down there in the evening once or twice and being introduced to some great DJs such as New Jackson and Handsome Paddy.

If there are more acts to be announced I don't know what I'll do, already trying to cut down from a list of 30+ acts that I'd like to see. Getting very close now:D

I notice Avery is listed in the Bestival RB line up and he is not headlining but subbing DJ Harvey I think, so there is hopefully a chance he will still be booked, maybe subbing Boddika, Orbison or another headliner.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

I'll admit that I am one of the uninformed when it comes to those ropes. Enlighten me on how they are meant to be used?

Its like you have an over the shoulder bag but its chaffing against your ass. You shorten the straps so as not to chaff. Well guy ropes work the same way. Shorten them so they are not providing a trip hazard to your neighbours. You can set them taut on a short leash. Capeesh? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

pull the rope through the black plastic thing (can't remember the name for them), and it will shorten the rope, making them tighter so you can put the peg through the string loop and into the ground much closer to the tent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭H8GHOTI

sadie06 wrote: »
    Listening to alt-J's new song, and thinking what an amazing EP act they would have been.

Ya, would have been great alright. They are playing the O2 in September.
    Have you listened to Glass Animals? They're similar to Alt-J. Looking forward to seeing them.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

pull the rope through the black plastic thing (can't remember the name for them), and it will shorten the rope, making them tighter so you can put the peg through the string loop and into the ground much closer to the tent.

Most people just pull the tensioner (black plastic thing) to the end of the rope, which makes it twice as long as it needs to be, and then put the peg through the tensioner into the ground.

As you've said, you're supposed to make a loop and push the tensioner up towards the tent.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Nothing worse than trying to make your way back and tripping over these and also nothing's worse than being in the tent and some one tripping over yours

• Registered Users Posts: 5,855 ✭✭✭Rfrip

I need to see times so I can start freaking out over clashes!!

• Registered Users Posts: 391 ✭✭partay pooper

I can't wait until the MAP comes out, and board goes ape shiiite

whats this I'm hearing about a new security crowd this year??

• Registered Users Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

whats this I'm hearing about a new security crowd this year??

Nah, was speaking to specialised when stewarding for Arctics and they are back for EP. So same crowd that were there for summer. Only difference this year is that Festival Republic have handed over to their Irish team since they opened the offices over here. So won't have the same group on gate control as before.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,748 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

BaZmO* wrote: »
    Most people just pull the tensioner (black plastic thing) to the end of the rope, which makes it twice as long as it needs to be, and then put the peg through the tensioner into the ground.

As you've said, you're supposed to make a loop and push the tensioner up towards the tent.

Learn something new every day, had no idea they had a specific name!
    Nothing worse than trying to make your way back and tripping over these and also nothing's worse than being in the tent and some one tripping over yours

Haha totally. Esp when you're convinced they're gonna come crashing down on top of you!

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭dice3344

Anyone know of a bus going from Cork on the Friday?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭Duff

Hey guys, imagine if Danny Brown was announced. That'd be cool. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,891 ✭✭✭iamanengine

Duff wrote: »
    Hey guys, imagine if Danny Brown was announced. That'd be cool. :(

That would be so cool :D He's got wicked energy!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭Duff

That would be so cool :D He's got wicked energy!

I know. Not the biggest fan of the rap genre but himself and A$AP Rocky are excellent. He could come on stage with Rustie for Attak too :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,876 ✭✭✭Easy Rod

Any ideas of who could be appearing on the other voices stage?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,491 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Duff wrote: »
    I know. Not the biggest fan of the rap genre but himself and A$AP Rocky are excellent. He could come on stage with Rustie for Attak too :cool:

And Dope Song, Break It and Way Up Here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭The Dagda

• Registered Users Posts: 12,515 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Salty Dog announcement: CATHY DAVEY – THE DISTRICTS – PEARL TN - TERRY HOOLEY - THE MINUTES – ALIEN ENVOY – KING KONG COMPANY – BRONAGH GALLAGHER - DEKE DIGGLER - BOOKA BRASS BAND - PILGRIM STREET – PETE PAMF SEXTETTE - PHIL COSBY – CORNER BOY – A CULT CALLED MAN – DEEP DOWN DETOX - PRISON LOVE - THE SQUARE PEGS - NEW SECRET WEAPON – THIS SIDE UP – SEAN’S WALK – CAMEMBERT QUARTET – ANDY ALLDAY – STEPHEN JAMES - NICK THORNLEY’S 50s VINYL – SALTY DOG ALLSTARS’ PARALLEL LINES – MARIE-THERESE - JULIAN LLOYD’S LOVE BREAKFAST – THE RAGLANS - NICK SERGENT – AIDAN KAVANAGH’S CARRIBBEAN CALYPSO KING – SKAZZ – AND MANY MORE

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭MattD

Trailer Park Announcement as well:

THE MOBILE HOME STAGE

THE YOUNG FOLK – THE WHEREABOUTS – GET BACK:THE STORY OF THE BEATLES – PEARL TN – HUSTLE –– STORYFOLD – KEVIN DOYLE’S ELVIS: THE WAY IT WAS – C.R.AVERY – HARVEST: A TRIBUTE TO NEIL YOUNG – THE TRAMPZ – GHOST ESTATES – CLIVE BARNES – KINGSTON – VIKING PROJECT – THIS SIDE UP – TUCAN – A CULT CALLED MAN – KEVIN SHERIDAN – MOO! – THROWING HALOS – RISKY BUSINESS – PRISON LOVE – ERIC BUTLER AND THE REVELATORS – CUAN & LUKAS (DJ) – JOHN AND MANDY – WHITE CHALK – THE ROADHOUSE DOORS – MY FELLOW SPONGES

JIMMIE LEE’S JUKE JOINT

DAVE CLARKE BYRD BAND - REVEREND JM’S PANIC WORKSHOP - SAL VITRO - DARK LANES - KEYWEST - RED EMPRIE - ERIC BUTLER AND THE REVELATORS – RICHARD FARRELL AND THE LOST TRIBE – HUEY AND THE HOBGOBLINS - PRAIRIE DAWGS – CROW BLACK CHICKEN – OKI’S WAGON – WHISTLE

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,919 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

The Minutes and Booka Brass Band on the friday night . They better not clash with anyone else i wanna see

yeah-bitch-yeah.jpg

Jerry Fish
    It just keeps on getting better folks! Duke Special's Gramophone Club will also be joining The Jerry Fish Electric Sideshow @ Electric Picnic this year! LOVE the Duke!

• Registered Users Posts: 2 Keruby

As an EP virgin, I am as giddy as a goat for this day two weeks time! :-O

However, I am utterly confused over the amount of different stages and arenas at EP and I really want to get the most out of my weekend.

So to all of you experienced picnic-ers, could you recommend the ultimate picnic experience to an overly keen first timer??

I will be heading along and camping with a group of near enough to 20 people, which as I'm sure a lot of you know, presents with the danger of too much campsite bants and not enough exploring time among the festival delights. Would love to hear your suggestions, cheers! :-)

Keruby wrote: »

However, I am utterly confused over the amount of different stages and arenas at EP and I really want to get the most out of my weekend.

So to all of you experienced picnic-ers, could you recommend the ultimate picnic experience to an overly keen first timer??

I will be heading along and camping with a group of near enough to 20 people, which as I'm sure a lot of you know, presents with the danger of too much campsite bants and not enough exploring time among the festival delights. Would love to hear your suggestions, cheers! :-)

To escape campsite bants and such, make the excuse that u are heading to the jacks, then run inside, text after an hour , those that want to come will. mark down your ten most wanna see acts, then let "picnic time" take over. you will discover new music and new friends. Remember once you get inside the picnic gates, the time zone will switch to "Picnic time" ie "see you when I see you" TIME NAZIS usually have mini breakdowns.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,370 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

My main tip is 'Don't be bored'

What I mean by this is, often in a group of people there'll be a few who just want to stay at the tent drinking or smoking, others that'll want to rush around to try and see everything all at once, some who'll be constantly trying to meet up with people in different places so there's the risk you spend ages waiting around bored.

If you feel like you're wasting your time, just go do something else. You don't always have to be in a group of people, it's even fine to wander off by yourself and just explore. The place is absolutely huge and crammed with secret little areas that you won't find if you don't go looking.

Tip number 2. Go see bands you've never heard of playing in the smaller stages and early in the day because sometimes these are the best gigs of the weekend

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭MattD

The best advice I can give is to just do what you want. Not feeling Beck after about half an hour? Feck it, just go explore Body and Soul! All your friends are going to FKA twigs, but you're not really that pushed? Grand, go for a walk and stumble upon the Trailer Park! No one wants to go see Trinity Orchestra because they're on too early? Go yourself and tell them what they missed. Electric Picnic is one of the few places that you once you fully engage your senses with what's around you, you don't need friends to be there.

I went to Indiependence this year for the first time with just my girlfriend, so no big group of mates for campsite bants. It meant that there was no obligation to skull cans or societal pressure to not get up 'too early' so a lot of time in your day suddenly opens up. So we walked to Mitchelstown and had a nice breakfast, we went to the Hot Press tent, we watched some unknown bands. Just things I wouldn't usually bother with at a festival because I 'don't have the time'.

One of my most enduring memories of EP was at my first one in like 2009, when I took a wrong turn in the woods and ended up in Trenchtown, with absolutely no clue what it was or that there was even such a thing going to be at the festival. I sat in a daze munching jerk chicken listening to reggae while I missed Madness just because I could for an hour or so before someone found me!

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

I can't wait until the MAP comes out, and board goes ape shiiite
    Rfrip wrote: »
    I need to see times so I can start freaking out over clashes!!

Any idea when they will release these?

• Registered Users Posts: 400 ✭✭Dubhthamlacht

Any idea when they will release these?

Probably not until a few days before hand. Keep an eye out on music sites like GoldenPlec, State or Nialler9 as they are usually on the ball with news of stage times and maps. But even they may not know until a day or two before hand.

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭CdeC

Keruby wrote: »

Campsite is great craic, you're lucky as my friends have all whittled down to only a few as age and kids have taken over.

My advice is try and gather a posse of 4-5 of ye with the same mindset and stick together. You can meet up with others for gigs, pints dancing etc but if you try and hang around too many people over the weekend you'll end up running yourself ragged. Just grab the few and head in to venue and meet others later.

get up early on saturday and/or Sunday and head in to venue and have a wonder. This is a good time for some chilled beers and looking in the global green/mind fields etc.

Enjoy and try and take it handy Friday. Rookie error is you get to excited, lash a load of whiskey into you and find yourself in a heap outside your tent the next day.