If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jersey101 wrote: »
    would you not be able to push up numbers quicker if ye were to put the heifers incalf? And your ebi would go up alot quicker. We've never had problems with heifers now i must say. Nope just served the once. My fatjer wont here of an angus in a heifer at all. We were puttin AA into anything calvng from mid march on and a heifer came bulling and he put an FR into her. That just defeats the purpose ha

Ha yeh, late heifers are an utter pain in the hole, you either spend a fortune trying to get them calving down at 22 months, or have take more sept calvers. Average ebis of last yrs maiden heifers 2bh wasn't fantastic, plenty only around the 100, whereas we have a good few cows at the 150 mark. Moving forward I'll be way more selective on breeding though, will aim for min 200 ebi and 20kg ms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

would you not be able to push up numbers quicker if ye were to put the heifers incalf? And your ebi would go up alot quicker. We've never had problems with heifers now i must say. Nope just served the once. My fatjer wont here of an angus in a heifer at all. We were puttin AA into anything calvng from mid march on and a heifer came bulling and he put an FR into her. That just defeats the purpose ha

Ha yeh, late heifers are an utter pain in the hole, you either spend a fortune trying to get them calving down at 22 months, or have take more sept calvers. Average ebis of last yrs maiden heifers 2bh wasn't fantastic, plenty only around the 100, whereas we have a good few cows at the 150 mark. Moving forward I'll be way more selective on breeding though, will aim for min 200 ebi and 20kg ms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Eventful morning here at maize harvest:rolleyes:, arrived back in the yard. pushed the door shut behind me and bang, glass gone:mad:. Only put the fecking door on 6 months ago. Silage trailer also gone into retirement

Were you on boards at the same time Bob.

You know what they say about some lads, are the drivers or steerers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭jaymla627

great craic here this evenin, moving a bunch of heifer calves on to a 12 acre field of aftergrass to find the neighbour had a "creep" gate set-up and 30 nice bull weanlings out grazing away with their mothers looking on longingly over the ditch in their 3 acre field licking clay, the same lad blocked the lane with a trailer a proven right of way at 1 in the mornin when we where at silage earlier this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

jaymla627 wrote: »
    great craic here this evenin, moving a bunch of heifer calves on to a 12 acre field of aftergrass to find the neighbour had a "creep" gate set-up and 30 nice bull weanlings out grazing away with their mothers looking on longingly over the ditch in their 3 acre field licking clay, the same lad blocked the lane with a trailer a proven right of way at 1 in the mornin when we where at silage earlier this year.

Take photos, send him a bill for your grass and any damage done plus your time by registered post, and follow it up with a solicitors letter. I must be in an awkward mood this evening :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

that should be going on the dog owners insurance as the house dog is covered under home insurance. maybe your insurance company will recoup it this way anyway

That's exactly why the ins company is the first call

Take photos, send him a bill for your grass and any damage done plus your time by registered post, and follow it up with a solicitors letter. I must be in an awkward mood this evening :D

Tryed ringing the chap, called up to the house no sign, so he got a text to move his animals and that if i have to go sorting 50 heifers from his bulls in the mornin not to even come within a country mile of us if he values his teeth.
    worst thing is he dosent fence with electric all barbared wire and we only use the battery powered one when our own cattle are down there so they'll be gone through the electric like a shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Tryed ringing the chap, called up to the house no sign, so he got a text to move his animals and that if i have to go sorting 50 heifers from his bulls in the mornin not to even come within a country mile of us if he values his teeth.
    worst thing is he dosent fence with electric all barbared wire and we only use the battery powered one when our own cattle are down there so they'll be gone through the electric like a shot.

i hope they dont put them in calf for ye. Thats some dirty trick to pull

Hope you didn't threaten him by text :eek:

Anyway, I'd bill him and pursue it. Particularly as it sounds he done it deliberately.

Hope you didn't threaten him by text :eek:

Anyway, I'd bill him and pursue it. Particularly as it sounds he done it deliberately.

Ha it wasnt worded as an out and out threat but after the silage incident and now this it would leave yeah in bad form, you know you"ve good neighbours when you have to start checking fields like this a good bit away from the yard to catch out a lad out like this

Can you give a hint please, several come to mind.
    Co Co

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭naughto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Marooned75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan1 wrote: »
    this is a long one so bear with me, a few years ago we had a problem with neighbours dog chasing heifers, we got dog warden and guards involved and shot the dog on sight on my land. This morning 3 of my heifers where in this neighbours garden, fence is like fort knox and no visible sign of where they got out. There are 2 houses close together, this lad has 1 and his ex wife the other... the cattle went from one garden to the other with a fecking jack russell biting their heels:mad: now initially the dog owner said dont worry about the damage but his ex wife was fairly pussy... i said we would fix it up. Rang a lad he will fix it up at weekend will also ring insurance company. Anyway when i got home a neighbour rang to say the jack russel had been after my cattle this last few days:eek: i know one day last week the cattle where very nervous when i went to check them... so what will i do? i am very annoyed, oh says say nothing and fix it up...

Ring insurance and make sure you tell them about the report about the dog worrying your cattle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

Ring insurance and make sure you tell them about the report about the dog worrying your cattle.
    ye i rang them and i missed a call back from them this evening, will be on to them again in the morning

anyone watching fair city

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Havn't watched any soaps in years. An awful waste of time.

Yes seen tonights

Marooned75 wrote: »
    Yes seen tonights
    missed the first half but what i saw was:eek:, paddy is some actor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Just putting it on now , does Paddy give Viv a few digs tonight ?

He has the head for the part

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭nhg

When is the cut-off date for spreading slurry

Please Help Keep Boards Alive. https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

If boards.ie do not reach their goal they will be forced to close the site.

i think he looks like a giant goblin ha

Co Co

CoCo the clown(s)? I think Bob likes that act at the circus :D

nhg wrote: »
    think it depends on your area, in my area in louth its oct 15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭nhg

nhg wrote: »

South Tipperary

Please Help Keep Boards Alive. https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

If boards.ie do not reach their goal they will be forced to close the site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Ah..... God loads going on this evening by looks of it. By contrast I'm sure you'l all be glad to hear that l'm on my jolly holliers and couldn't give a monkey's :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Muckit wrote: »
    Ah..... God loads going on this evening by looks of it. By contrast I'm sure you'l all be glad to hear that l'm on my jolly holliers and couldn't give a monkey's :-)

More luck to ya!
    Where are ya at it?