If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Timmaay wrote: »
    I got a price of 300quid for a very high spec 18%p winter nut from bolgers in wexford, much cheaper than glanbias gain drive. A lower p maize nut was coming in about 250, I was considering buying in maize, but at that price I think I'll just get it instead, maybe buffer feed it to the milkers midday in the feeding passage.[/

Thats some price difference. Glanbia would break ye buying off them. Are bolders feed in nuts or ration? I was thinking of buying 4t of beet pulp and feeding that. Thats the one good thing about that urea. You actually know if you need the protein your feeding

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

when ye are ordering nuts do ye just ask for price or do you ask for a run down of ingredients, fair enough some of the prices are crazy but there are also plenty of cheap and nasty rations out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Hmm well not quite, the milk urea just tells you the ratio between protein and energy (I think!), so high urea can equally so mean the cows are lacking energy in the diet. Important to balance both. This time of year the only reason you need to be concerned about milk urea is for the autumn calvers, too high and they'll milk their backs off.

I'm not sure if they do rations, I was pricing up nuts anyways. How much is beet pulp? Its very low in protein also isn't it?

whelan1 wrote: »
    when ye are ordering nuts do ye just ask for price or do you ask for a run down of ingredients, fair enough some of the prices are crazy but there are also plenty of cheap and nasty rations out there

Usually get some rundown of ingredients, I'll admit to not understanding them enough yet, but if the main ingredient are soya hulls I tend to avoid! That 18% winternut from bolgers is straight out of Paul and Vincent. I've got nuts through Quinns from P&V before, but I've avoided Quinn since they slapped me with 2.5% credit for being 2days late with a payment!

Hmm well not quite, the milk urea just tells you the ratio between protein and energy (I think!), so high urea can equally so mean the cows are lacking energy in the diet. Important to balance both. This time of year the only reason you need to be concerned about milk urea is for the autumn calvers, too high and they'll milk their backs off.

I'm not sure if they do rations, I was pricing up nuts anyways. How much is beet pulp? Its very low in protein also isn't it?

didnt price it but the father said it was dear. Ye the winter ones are falling apart. Same happened in the soring and we fed a beef nut and it did a right job. Its the grass combined with the redstart thats doing it. Grass is very lush and green here

whelan1 wrote: »

the father doesnt bother but i do. The ine im getting has alot of wheat in it. I think the nut will make very little difference to them i think because the nuts are making up so little of there diet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

One of the young lads just told me to get my drinking wellies on because he was after making a handy 10k on farming simulator !
    Where do they get the talk I wonder ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭epfff

moy83 wrote: »
    One of the young lads just told me to get my drinking wellies on because he was after making a handy 10k on farming simulator !
    Where do they get the talk I wonder ?

Whats this farm simulator

Neighbour is after putting up his farm for sale along with a shed to hold 80 cows. Oh to have the money :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭epfff

jersey101 wrote: »
    Neighbour is after putting up his farm for sale along with a shed to hold 80 cows. Oh to have the money :D

Saying this quietly as the wife would kill me if she heard me
    Have courage go for it

epfff wrote: »
    Have courage go for it

i will if i win the lotto have 3 lotto tickets sittin on the mantelpiece :D . Ah i have no security and theres a mortgage on the home place so no chance

Whats this farm simulator

A farming game on his computer / ds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

My nextdoor neighbour (I've only the one) put up his field for sale a few years ago. Not good land, but it's next door. So, being a some time cute hoor I had someone ring up about the asking price. I was expecting 25-30k.

A fookin million quid :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

My nextdoor neighbour (I've only the one) put up his field for sale a few years ago. Not good land, but it's next door. So, being a some time cute hoor I had someone ring up about the asking price. I was expecting 25-30k.

A fookin million quid :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac: :pac:

Maybe there was a pair of ye in it trying to be cute hoors ;) yer man prob figured out who was really asking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Have courage go for it

And the vultures will wait in the wings..... nawh lad. If you want it bad enough, do you business pkan a see if it works for ya.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Maybe there was a pair of ye in it trying to be cute hoors ;) yer man prob figured out who was really asking

Nah, rang an agent, they wouldn't care who rang, just didn't want to tip my hand because of past generation bad blood :rolleyes: Then if it was within my reach I'd have figured a way of acquiring it.

Wouldn't mind but with his own ****acting he's lost all access to the parcel of land. Has to walk through commonage to get to it now. Think the ruin of a house on it went to his head, probably expected some Sheikh to swoop in and offer him an oil well for it :D

I rang about a few acres and a house that were for sale beside us last year and the auctioneer who thinks Im well off said if I could come up with 160k pretty lively he would let it go at that . A buddy rang the same day and was told 280k was the current bid on it ! Dont know what the game plan was but he read me all wrong anyhow .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

specially for muckit

Pic 1 Think about doing bull stuff:D

pic 2 is the mechanics just for you muckit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

After getting a phone call to say I have reps inspection tomorrow, sweet fcuking jayus

hugo29 wrote: »
    After getting a phone call to say I have reps inspection tomorrow, sweet fcuking jayus

At quarter to eleven or was it during working hours ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

moy83 wrote: »
    At quarter to eleven or was it during working hours ?

No at exactly 10:34 tonight, what do they look for

I havent a clue what they look for as Im not in REPS but have you a booklet or something to flick through . I know teagasc have something on cross compliance inspections and it pointed out the main things people get fined on , they should have something similar online for REPS .
    I don't answer the phone that late but I presume they would still call regardless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Tell them for F**K off, they are operating outside there remit as 48hrs is min if its a Reps inspection AFAIK. Right him back now just to annoy the prick for calling at such a late hour

I stand corrected. NO Notice is need for REPS or AEOS inspection.

I wonder do these lads just like being a B*****Ks. Surely a phone call at 7pm tonight would been what a mannerly person would do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

specially for muckit

What the Jasus are ya feeding that lad, Vindaloos?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Usually get some rundown of ingredients, I'll admit to not understanding them enough yet, but if the main ingredient are soya hulls I tend to avoid! That 18% winternut from bolgers is straight out of Paul and Vincent. I've got nuts through Quinns from P&V before, but I've avoided Quinn since they slapped me with 2.5% credit for being 2days late with a payment!

For anyone that's buying, it's good to know that patton feeds are coming out of Paul & Vincent also.

Timmay, that's a good price. I know a man that filled his bin with that nut for €350 per ton not that long ago!! We had a BTAP meeting on his farm 2 weeks ago and he recons that he has never had cattle do so well on any feed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

specially for muckit

Has he 2 tails or what?

My only jetsey heifer calved this morning. Her expected calfs ebi if she had a heifer was 256. But she had to have a bull.

Is it a pedigree 100 % je? Might be worth something to the AI companies as JEs aren't too common.

yupp shes 100% pure but not registered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

yupp shes 100% pure but not registered

There must be a cert there for some ancestor somewhere. You at least have ICBF records? With HO 3 generations give you full pedigree.