Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA "off topic" thread - No discussion relating to FSA or Soccer - please read post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I know, we want to play the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I know, we want to play the match.

Puts a bit of a downer on it alright. The young lad must be handy enough.
    I hate the way these things seem to pop up at the 11th hour, the County Board should be in for a bit of stick over this.

The young lad would have been playing (?) in enough high profile games in the lead up to this for it to have been noticed.

Ya he was playing for the whole championship as far as I know, The team that reported the player got knocked out in the semi final against the team with the underage player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

Sore losers

They had an appeal tonight and it was successful, Match goes ahead as planned tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Is Anchorman 2 really that bad lads? I'm hearing terrible things about it and, to be honest, as the first was my favourite film, I'd prefer to just avoid going to see it if it is that bad.

I'm just wondering if people don't get it. The original was like Marmite. You either loved it or hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,305 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Prodston

Lemlin wrote: »
    Is Anchorman 2 really that bad lads? I'm hearing terrible things about it and, to be honest, as the first was my favourite film, I'd prefer to just avoid going to see it if it is that bad.

I'm just wondering if people don't get it. The original was like Marmite. You either loved it or hated it.

I'm one of those crazy obsessive Anchorman fans and I thought the 2nd was very good. Obviously if people go in with a negative mindset or didn't particularly like the first one then they're bound to find faults. It's "cool" to criticise it I guess.

It's funny how there can be no middle ground with things. I've been wanting to go back and see it again since I saw it before Xmas. If you're a fan then just go watch it and keep an open mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,398 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Lemlin wrote: »

Its grand, not amazing but not terrible either. Not as good as the first one, but then again that wouldnt be in favourite film category for me.

Its just hipsterish to hate it cause its so popular and mainstream with the cast even appearing on the Late Late. Likewise you have the diehard fans who wont have a bad word said, the truth as usual in these sort of things lies somewhere in the middle imo

KevIRL wrote: »
    Its grand, not amazing but not terrible either. Not as good as the first one, but then again that wouldnt be in favourite film category for me.

Its just hipsterish to hate it cause its so popular and mainstream with the cast even appearing on the Late Late. Likewise you have the diehard fans who wont have a bad word said, the truth as usual in these sort of things lies somewhere in the middle imo

Yeah I'd agree with that alright, it has its flaws but its just a bit of fun. As big a fan as I am I wouldn't dare say it's a masterpiece but I spent the majority of the 2 hours laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,083 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

The dreaded nct for me now.... Comfy enough seats in the waiting room though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Mine's out since last July. :eek:

Getting rid of the shit heap soon anyway so little point in spending a fortune on it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,095 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Passed one last week, watching an episode of Eastbound and Down while waiting, time flew and car passed...

Kids running wild round this place the screeching could be used as an alternative to water torture

failed needs antiroll bar bushes and links dust covers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,095 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Hate when they fail, cost of work and retest bugs me no end.

in fairness the poor old thing will be 14 next sunday and all its ever cost me to get it through in the last 4 years is two tyres and a set of brake pads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

You're all talking about cars and NCT's while I'm sitting trying to find my change for the bus.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭Danger781

Really liking this song..

Just discovered this band and really like 'em! :D

Jaysus wept

Who'd have though Munster would top their group with a game to go when they lost to Edinburgh away earlier in the year!

Stand up and fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Boardwalk Empire(latest season) ended on Saturday night, not the finish I was hoping for, good season overall but let down by the ending this time I think, it's a long time till November to find out how things pan out from here on.

I'll be starting season two of the bridge tonight.

Watched the Stone Roses documentary by Shane Meadows (made of stone) the other night, great stuff for my age profile, for those who haven't listened to them they are quite possibly the best band ever.

Boardwalk Empire(latest season) ended on Saturday night, not the finish I was hoping for, good season overall but let down by the ending this time I think, it's a long time till November to find out how things pan out from here on.

I'm slowly making my way through it, 2 episodes of season one left now :pac:

The fact I have 8000 words to have done for Wed morning means I've been slacking on it recently :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Watched the Stone Roses documentary by Shane Meadows (made of stone) the other night, great stuff for my age profile, for those who haven't listened to them they are quite possibly the best band ever.

Where did you get that, meant to go and see it in the cinema. My favourite band of all time. I have it on in the car so much that now my 3yr old son requests songs from the back seat. She bangs the drums is his current favourite.

Brilliant. And ditto to favourite band and contsant playlist.
    Did you go see them in Phoenix park?

I haven't started my 1 year old on them yet, to be honest, she needs something a bit more mellow. She's a lunatic.

PARlance wrote: »
    Brilliant. And ditto to favourite band and contsant playlist.
    Did you go see them in Phoenix park?

I haven't started my 1 year old on them yet, to be honest, she needs something a bit more mellow. She's a lunatic.

ye I was at it great gig, did you go yourself? I never thought I'd get the chance to see them. Ye, I am the ressurection isn't the ideal song when your trying to get them to calm down:D

Couldn't believe my luck when they announced it. Booked at 8:01 the morning they went on sale.

Just after remember that I put the tickets in a "safe place" when they arrived. There was some fun the night before. Turned the place upside down. Was searching in a panic for 5 hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,398 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Watched the first episode of true detective last night, the new HBO show. Would definitely recommend it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,748 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

Only saw this now, I actually picked it up from a local video shop(how retro does that sound?) for some inexplicable reason I popped in the other night when passing and didn't fancy any of the new release movies, they had a section on documentaries many of which looked really good(incidentally for any fans of the ESPN 30 for 30 series there is a new series being released to co-incide with the world cup of all soccer documentaries, one is on the Ireland-Italy game of 94 and the Loughinisland massacre). I remember when the Stone Roses movie came out first but hadn't thought about it since(I haven't seen a grown ups movie in the cinema since Slumdog Millionaire).
    The documentary is very interesting but obviously it's mostly music(that's a good thing), rehearsal room stuff and live recordings from recently and way back. I have been a huge fan since before the first album even came out, I had my finger on the pulse back then. I've never seen them live though, I was in the US on a J1 when they played Feile 95 practically in my backyard and had a family holiday booked before they announced the Phoenix park.
    I don't listen to them all that much these days but the complete Stone Roses is in the car and gets an occasional blast, I'd usually skip to Sally Cinnamon, The hardest thing in the world, All across the sands and Elephant stone although there has hardly been a poor song, as I said previously, possibly the best band ever!

Only saw this now, I actually picked it up from a local video shop(how retro does that sound?) for some inexplicable reason I popped in the other night when passing and didn't fancy any of the new release movies, they had a section on documentaries many of which looked really good(incidentally for any fans of the ESPN 30 for 30 series there is a new series being released to co-incide with the world cup of all soccer documentaries, one is on the Ireland-Italy game of 94 and the Loughinisland massacre). I remember when the Stone Roses movie came out first but hadn't thought about it since(I haven't seen a grown ups movie in the cinema since Slumdog Millionaire).
    The documentary is very interesting but obviously it's mostly music(that's a good thing), rehearsal room stuff and live recordings from recently and way back. I have been a huge fan since before the first album even came out, I had my finger on the pulse back then. I've never seen them live though, I was in the US on a J1 when they played Feile 95 practically in my backyard and had a family holiday booked before they announced the Phoenix park.
    I don't listen to them all that much these days but the complete Stone Roses is in the car and gets an occasional blast, I'd usually skip to Sally Cinnamon, The hardest thing in the world, All across the sands and Elephant stone although there has hardly been a poor song, as I said previously, possibly the best band ever!

Nice one, I must go into one of these video stores you speak of and see if it's in stock. Unlucky about missing the 2 gigs, there was no way I was going to be going to Feile at 12 years of age :D

I go through phases of picking songs and playing them repeatedly, at the moment, Made of Stone and Tell Me are on none stop.

I was on my leaving cert holiday for feile 95:eek:. All across the sands, I wanna be adored and This is the one are my 3 favourite songs. Elephant stone is a classic aswell. Will try and get that documentary over the weekend. I always remember the first time I heard the stone roses sitting in my friends kitchen drinking a flagon of scrumpy jack in the early 90's.