Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Battlefield 4 Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

gimli2112 wrote: »
    On the other hand running after a vehicle thinking pleasedon'tturnaround pleasedon'tturnaround & then it does is not so much fun.

I love the guys who run straight at you with it thinking they're invisible.
    I tend to wait until they're right in front of me before placing a tank shell between their eyebrows :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,287 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I prefer slams to C4 now. If you can get up close without either driver or gunner seeing you they're goners when they start moving again. Even if they spot you and kill you, they think they're safe and drive off to their death.

Lobbing a nade or flashbang at a cluster of C4/mines/slams results in some very funny hate messages.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

C4 is the best weapon in the game FACT. :D I just wish they would fix it & remove the delay from when you press the trigger to when it actually explodes. Also sometimes I throw it & the physical c4 is far away but the engine is too slow & still thinks im near it. Other than that ****e its amazing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭jumbobreakfast

5uspect wrote: »
    On the other hand I experienced awful rubber banding tonight and freezes lasting a couple of seconds at a time. Two steps forward one step back I guess.
    I had that recently too, pauses for several seconds. Not sure if creating an exclusion in my antivirus or re-seating my graphics card fixed it. I use Eset smart security

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,484 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

ktulu123 wrote: »
    C4 is the best weapon in the game FACT. :D I just wish they would fix it & remove the delay from when you press the trigger to when it actually explodes. Also sometimes I throw it & the physical c4 is far away but the engine is too slow & still thinks im near it. Other than that ****e its amazing :)

slams dude...slams is where it's at now..C4 is so yesterday..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭DeWinterZero

Blazer wrote: »
    slams dude...slams is where it's at now..C4 is so yesterday..

Slam mines got nerfed in the last patch so the hipsters are back using C4. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

I think it's only the radius that got nerfed

Yeah, the enemy vehicle has to be much closer to activate the mines and take damage now.

Occasionally I have spawned with slams, drop them in sneaky places and then respawned and dropped AT mines. Since I now use AA mines now rather than slam mines, I must see if it's possible to have all 3 types of mines active at the same time :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

miju wrote: »
    Crazy number drop of players on Xbox servers. Near 65% gone, any big drop on PC

thats a real shame. The potential thats been squandered. :(

3 more expansions to come with premium, what'll the numbers be like then :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

Wasn't Naval strike supposed to be out yesterday for premium peoples?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

It's a bit of a mystery. Yes but then I heard the 25th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭Mad_Dave

Officially confirmed as 25th for Premium members.
    Trailer should be out today.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Fecking disaster!! It's released the same day as the new Diablo 3 expansion. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Noxin

Actually played a good few hours of BF4 yesterday for the first time in ages. I used to manage maybe 3 games a week before getting annoyed.
    Dunno what changed but I actually really enjoyed it. Bugs are still aplenty and that kill cam bug is seriously annoying but I think I just stopped giving a flying moneys about what I was doing. I just played to what I enjoyed. C4 ramming nub aa campers etc.. Rallying around on a quad to see how many road kills I could get. Ended up having great craic altogether.

Best had to have been on floodzone. Spawned into a littlebird but someone had snagged the pilot seat just before me. So I sat at the side, throwing stingers at the other choppers. Managed to mobility hit it and the other pilot bailed. Chopped landed but didn't blow up so I bailed out and into the empty little bird. Both myself and the pilot of my first chopper teamed up and annihilated the map until someone got a very nice rpg shot on me. Was giddy laughing all the way through it. :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 271 ✭✭4Dlolz

Riot Shields are coming to Battlefield 4.

They'll be a new weapon released with the next DLC - Dragons Teeth (Summer).

Should change the gameplay on clusterf*ck maps significantly.

swat_shield_beauty.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭The Red

YEEAAHH Dragons Teeth!!! Cant wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭jumbobreakfast

4Dlolz wrote: »

Cool, loved riot shields in MW2

Yeah, riot shields were fun in MW2 but in BF4 I'd say the M320 LVG will take out the people using them too easily.

Nerf for AA mines already. You'll have the choice of RPG/Stinger or AA mines.

https://twitter.com/gustavhalling/status/446191086487498752

We have started pushing out some AA Mine tweaks which fixes the pickup bug/exploit and put it into the same category as rocket launchers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,427 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Never a big fan of riot shields in COD. They have their place and can be fun in small doses but were buggy. Anyone who'se ever used them has been shot in the face while crouching behind one.

The absolute panic that used go through me when getting charged by one was ridiculous.

Nevermind, was posting about stealth changes but I see they've updated the battlelog post now.

Official Live Stream Tonight Starting @ 8pm (GMT).

The Full Naval Strike Trailer Will Be Shown During It Apparently.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

The Full Naval Strike Trailer Will Be Shown During It Apparently.

Wont be watching. Looks like PC numbers and especially Xbox numbers are starting to collapse seriously now.

299248.png

miju wrote: »
    Wont be watching. Looks like PC numbers and especially Xbox numbers are starting to collapse seriously now.[/IMG]

Hopefully we'll see a bit of a jump in numbers once Naval Strike is released. It usually gets a bump for a week or two when new DLC drops.

I won't be watching it either. Witnessing Moyes sh!tting himself from the sidelines is far too entertaining.

This site: http://bf4db.com/concurrent-bf4-players is great for seeing how player numbers on PC are going.
    Not surprised by a slump in Xbox One figures given the release of Titanfall, but I'd say they'll rebound, I'm already hearing of getting bored with that game.

Edit: I'll be watching united as well, although I'd say it'll be far from entertaining :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Can't see that happening. A grenade going off behind you isn't going to be helped by a riot shield much and you still need teamwork if it's going to be the usual model of the riot shield replacing your primary weapon.

And if there's one thing this game hasn't got much of, it's stability.
    And if there's two things this game hasn't got much of, they're stability and performance.
    And if there's three things this game hasn't got much of, they're stability and performance and consistency in gameplay.
    And if there's four things this game hasn't got much of, they're stability and performance and consistency in gameplay and balance.
    And if there's five things this game hasn't got much of, they're stability and performance and consistency in gameplay and balance and teamwork from the players.

Feck, that was a long walk to get there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭DeVore

A good example of gameplay not being used because of lack of teamplay is the whole "scout class" spotting ability. Bugger all people use it despite it being very very effective. They dont use it because someone ELSE gets the benefit regardless of the TEAM benefit is has (not to mention the personal score for them). I am always playing an Engineer and its like freakin' christmas morning if someone actually spots a tank for me. I am quite literally shocked and delighted. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,000 ✭✭✭fl4pj4ck

I am the opposite, there are moments I'm using Q more often that fire button

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Quick tip - if playing on a pistols-only server or if using a shotgun or DMR or bolt-action sniper rifle or if you just never do anything but tap-firing, bind your "fire" mouse button to "spot" (as well as Q or whatever key you're using).

Now every time you fire at a group of enemies and die in the inevitable 92-vs-1 gunfight that seems to happen every three minutes on locker or every 5 minutes on metro, you'll have spotted lots of enemies and when they get killed seconds later, you rack up points. I have managed quite often to get more points from the spots after I died than from the one kill I got before their six buddies magdumped into me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭The Red

O_O its .. so ... brilliant!

there must be a downside...