Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wentworth Miller declines Russian Film Festival Invite

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Stephen Fry will be proud.

Most of the rest of us couldn't care less.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

He bloody well should.
    It's been heavily rumored that Wentworth Miller was in fact gay himself for years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Pai Mei

OMG HE'S GAY?!?! Best news I've heard all year! Let the stalking begin :pac:

On further examination it seems I may have well been the last person to know :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Great to see. It's always great to see people standing up for their morals.
    The world does really seem to be going a bit backwards on this whole gay acceptance thing though. It's increasingly in the news. I wonder will it still be an issue for people in this country in 50 years time or will there be absolutely nobody that bats an eyelid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

Good on Wentworth!

Absolutely loved him in Prison Break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

prison break was so class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

Lapin wrote: »

thats a shame, but I dont think thats true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Loads do. Maybe these pointless "I don't care" posts that some people appear to think look really sharp of them could be done away with in AH and "Yore ma" brought back?
    Because "Yore ma" posts are certainly a far, far better contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

He's quite the dream boat. I'd pay a lot of money to be that good looking!
    Oh well, I'll have to stick with my 9/10 appearance :P:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Pai Mei wrote: »
    OMG HE'S GAY?!?! Best news I've heard all year! Let the stalking begin :pac:

On further examination it seems I may have well been the last person to know :rolleyes:

For some reason I think your chances of getting anywhere near him were pretty much the same whether he was gay or straight :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Fair play. I feel that the change will have to come from within though. The Russians don't really give a **** it seems.

efb wrote: »
    thats a shame, but I dont think thats true

What isn't true ?

The Stephen Fry reference of the fact that I don't dive a toss ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

The first season of Prison Break is as good as it gets. Unfortunately, the other seasons drag the overall series down, way down.

Source?

Oh wait - you mean you don't give a shit?

What isn't true ?

No you said most people, not just you. It's clear you don't give a toss so it seems pointless for you to have posted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Fair play to him. Russia is so backward as regards this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

The show would have been nothing without Theodore Bagwell, I miss Prison Break. :(

What isn't true ?

"the rest of us"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

What isn't true ?

You changed that now to "I don't give a toss"...That's a bit different to "most of the rest of us couldn't care less."

Fair play to this reporter on Russian State Propaganda News Channel RT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

anybody bad mouths prison break and im throwing down a chicken foot

Loads do. Maybe these pointless "I don't care" posts that some people appear to think look really sharp could be done away with in AH and "Yore ma" brought back?
    Because "Yore ma" posts are certainly a far, far better contribution.

Responding to a post with the words "I don't care" is a legitimate response.

The meaningless words "Yore Ma" are just that. Utterly meaningless.

People are well entitled to express an opinion here just as the OP did.

By the same token, others are equally entitled to say the don't care.

And others are entitled to express the opinion that it's a stupid pointless thing to post. Especially one speaking for "most of the rest of us".

really, I should post on all posts on boards I have no opinion on with "I dont care"?

Source?

Oh wait - you mean you don't give a shit?
    No you said most people, not just you. It's clear you don't give a toss so it seems pointless for you to have posted?
    You changed that now to "I don't give a toss"...That's a bit different to "most of the rest of us couldn't care less."

Most people have never heard of Wentworth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Most people have never heard of Wentworth.

How do you know that? :confused:

SV wrote: »
    For some reason I think your chances of getting anywhere near him were pretty much the same whether he was gay or straight :pac:

Well at least we have the same interests ;) Could well be a talking point just to get me started :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Fair play to this reporter on Russian State Propaganda News Channel RT

In fairness, he did bring that up at the wrong time. RT has been covering the Gay propaganda law despite what he has being saying, and they have been leaning toward the western liberal viewpoint in my opinion.

Not from what I saw. can you give me examples of RT's Western liberal viewpoint?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I'd be willing to bet there's a good proportion of people who are vociferous in this whole campaign to boycott Russia would happily trot off on holidays to far more oppressive places like Dubai and Qatar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's been heavily rumored that Wentworth Miller was in fact gay himself for years now.

Of course he is.

He's called Wentworth.

Don't be getting so touchy lads.

If you want to discuss LGBT issues with universal back slapping support for each other, there are forums for that.

Don't get the hump when others disagree with you on After Hours.

I am disgusted and appauled with the manner that the government and police in Russia handle various human rights issues.

But I think the request by Fry and the action by Wentworth are insulting to many others.

Don't come on to After Hours and expect everyone to agree with you.

token101 wrote: »
    I'd be willing to bet there's a good proportion of people who are vociferous in this whole campaign to boycott Russia would happily trot off on holidays to far more oppressive places like Dubai and Qatar.
    True. But it's part of the human condition not to be 100% consistent though. If we were to place that restriction on ourselves most of us would never speak out about anything. I agree with you on the UAE and the like though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Not from what I saw. can you give me examples of RT's Western liberal viewpoint?
    Have you been on their website? Every article I've read from them about this new law they've passed has been very neutral. I personally think they give western voices over Russian voices more attention, but maybe thats just me.
    http://rt.com/news/stephen-fry-sochi-gay-propaganda-190/
    http://rt.com/news/russia-olympics-gay-law-948/
    http://rt.com/news/russia-gay-law-myths-951/

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

If you want to discuss LGBT issues with universal back slapping support for each other, there are forums for that.

I am disgusted and appauled with the manner that the government and police in Russia handle various human rights issues.

But I think the request by Fry and the action by Wentworth are insulting to many others.

I didn't take any issue with your disagreement, merely your claim that "most" people shared your disagreement.

The only people they could be insulting are those with similar views to the Russians and I couldn't give a fcuk if it insults them

How are people doing that?
    There isn't really disagreement with what you said, seeing as you didn't really say anything. People were just wondering what the point of it was, as well as questioning how you can speak for most of the rest of us.
    Fair enough, you're only saying that now though - at least there's more substance to it than "I don't care".
    Personally, Stephen Fry's stupid quote about people who take offence makes it harder for me to take him seriously, but otherwise, what's insulting about what he and Wentworth Miller are doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Lucas Castroman

Prison Break???...Surely he'd miss all the shower action

I dont but your blasé response was called into question, dont come to After Hours and expect not to be challenged on your statements.

Have you been on their website? Every article I've read from them about this new law they've passed has been very neutral. I personally think they give western voices over Russian voices more attention, but maybe thats just me.
    http://rt.com/news/stephen-fry-sochi-gay-propaganda-190/
    http://rt.com/news/russia-olympics-gay-law-948/
    http://rt.com/news/russia-gay-law-myths-951/

I wouldn't say thats neutral at all. I'd call it very selective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭StewartGriffin

And others are entitled to express the opinion that it's a stupid pointless thing to post. Especially one speaking for "most of the rest of us".

I disagree. To declare that you do not care is a legitimate comment, look at any opinion poll and see the number of "undecideds" and interpret many of those as "don't cares" (Do you want FF or FG in the next Gov? I don't care, cos they are both the same). I suppose the most relevant comments are the ones who declare WHY they don't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

True. But it's part of the human condition not to be 100% consistent though. If we were to place that restriction on ourselves most of us would never speak out about anything. I agree with you on the UAE and the like though.

I'm not saying people shouldn't speak out. What I'm saying is that earlier poster was right when he said that most people don't care in any meaningful way and are only backing this whole thing because it's the latest cause celebre and Stephen Fry's behind it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭cheesefiend

I know this is just an anecdote and isn't evidence of anything but could explain why there isn't more conversation in Russia. My friend is from Russia, she's fairly well read, keeps up to date with Russian news, talks to her parents everyday on the phone and when I mentioned the controversy surrounding Russia's stance on homosexuality and the Winter Olympics she had absolutely no idea what I was talking about.

She told me that they barely report bad news and that if there was any kind of disturbance in Moscow, be it a crazed gunman or anything negative she wouldn't hear about it in the news. Her family in Armania would, more often than not, be the ones informing them of what happened. The level of propaganda just seems outrageous. I suppose it's not news to anyone else but it surprised me.

i wouldn't.

I'm not saying people shouldn't speak out. What I'm saying is that earlier poster was right when he said that most people don't care in any meaningful way and are only backing this whole thing because it's the latest cause celebre and Stephen Fry's behind it.

Or because it means something to them.

It's under the 'equality umbrella'.

Well done though. You've defaced the first page telling everyone how little you care.

The only people they could be insulting are those with similar views to the Russians and I couldn't give a fcuk if it insults them

So Fry's letter to Cameron wasn't an insult to the hundreds of athletes who have trained for years to participate in the Winter Olympics ?
    How are people doing that?

There isn't really disagreement with what you said, seeing as you didn't really say anything. People were just wondering what the point of it was, as well as questioning how you can speak for most of the rest of us.

My initial point was a brief response to the OP (whose posts on boards I love and respect by the way). But I don't think anyone can simply come on here, post an equally brief comment with a link and expect everyone to nod in agreement with him.
    I dont but your blasé response was called into question, dont come to After Hours and expect not to be challenged on your statements.

I'm always happy to accept a challenge. Especially on After Hours.

So Fry's letter to Cameron wasn't an insult to the hundreds of athletes who have trained for years to participate in the Winter Olympics ?

My initial point was a brief response to the OP (whose post I love and respect by the way). But I don't think anyone can simply come on here, post an wqually brief comment with a lionk and expect everyone to nod in agreement with him.

I'm always happy to accept a challenge. Especially on After Hours.

Where is my expectation of agreement???

So Fry's letter to Cameron wasn't an insult to the hundreds of athletes who have trained for years to participate in the Winter Olympics ?.

Well I don't know what that was I was more referring to "Wentworth's actions" as you stated them being insulting. How is not going to a country where he is discriminated against and people like him beaten up "insulting"??

How is not going to a country where he is discriminated against and people like him beaten up "insulting"??
    Aye. Bit of a strange one to focus on as the "insulting" one.

Yeh I'm not seeing where people are demonstrating how they only expect agreement and get ass-hurt when disagreed with. :confused:

Whatever celebs get behind this, I don't care. So long as there's awareness and the potential to put pressure on those who enforce this.