Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish drug traffickers escape LatinAmerican jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Seaneh wrote: »
    Their brother was in my year in school, I'd know them to chat to from school and having family near their home house. Haven't heard from anyone about it though, I'd say they are just keeping the head down to be honest.

Can you give your family a bell on the phone there and see what the story is for us? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Boombastic wrote: »
    Gardai won't quiz brothers who fled Venezuela jail

I would have thought if the Gardai were serious on the 'War on Drugs', they would at least interview them to see who they intended passing it on to in Ireland and what other links they had here.

I hold the Gardai to too high a standard and expect too much from them :(

The Gardai would have no legal grounds to arrest them, the little skangers would sue for compensation.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

The Gardai would have no legal grounds to arrest them, the little skangers would sue for compensation.:mad:

No need to arrest them, but surely question and gather intelligence? :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭camphor

Boombastic wrote: »
    No need to arrest them, but surely question and gather intelligence? :pac:
    There is no obligation on anyone to answer questions from the garda. They would not say anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

I honestly don't have a breeze on this from a legal POV, but surely as they were in jail for smuggling on a flight bound for Ireland, and didn't get out through legal means, the Gards would have some jurisdiction to do something, right?

A shame if not, because I reckon "we'll send you back there!" would be enough to get them spilling the beans on it's own (then again, there likely would not be legal grounds to do so... but again, not a breeze on my end!).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Billy86 wrote: »
    I honestly don't have a breeze on this from a legal POV, but surely as they were in jail for smuggling on a flight bound for Ireland, and didn't get out through legal means, the Gards would have some jurisdiction to do something, right?

A shame if not, because I reckon "we'll send you back there!" would be enough to get them spilling the beans on it's own (then again, there likely would not be legal grounds to do so... but again, not a breeze on my end!).

They weren't on s flight to anywhere, they were arrested in the city, and they would have been flying to Spain. There are no direct flights from Ireland to Venezuela.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

fibonaccii wrote: »
    Drugs and child porn? that a fairly ridicules comparison. They only people drug user hurt is themselves, Yes it does bring hurt to their family's as in money etc but this is because the market is run by scumbags. If the market was run by the government and drug user where treated as patients, there wouldn't be the same problems as there is today. People like you are just brainwashed by what you read and see in the media, with 0 first hand experience.

In this fictitious government run market where drug users are treated as patients who is paying for everything? I suspect it might not be the drug users.

• Registered Users Posts: 249 ✭✭Egan2012

I just don't think they should be hailed as heroes for escaping. At the end of the day they are drug mules, the same as the 2 women in Peru.
    I was on Facebook yesterday and came across a page setup to support the 2 women in Peru. Does this put across that people are supporting drug mules.
    In my opinion they saw easy money and went for it. Who's to say they didn't do it before and didn't get caught? They are looking at a long prison stay in a ****hole.
    Even if they are innocent they were still caught with 1.7 million euro worth of coke on them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Not sure where anybody said "all druggies should be killed", it's probably because it wasn't.

The above in itself is fairly ignorant. Kettle, pot?

You believe that the user is the only victim? Oh, the family only suffer financially. You don't believe anybody else suffers? Are you having a laugh?

Treat all drug users as patients? Explain this a little more to me. Should we have hospitals, or treat them as outpatients. Should this be paid by taxes? What kind of drug users should avail of this?

Zero experience you say. I may have more experience in this than you know. Last year a mate of mine died from taking drugs. Some jumped up junky broke into my house and robbed us with a fcuking meat cleaver. They wrote off my housemates car, pity the little príck didn't kill himself in the process. 2 mates were mugged by these little scumbags too.

So yea, hard drug use hurts more than just the user ffs. Open your eyes and try think outside the box.

you are silly if you think users are victims or problematic.
    Your post reads like you believe all drug users are violent robbers. the vast majority are not.

drusg abusers now are a different story but that is no different to somebody who abuses alcohol , food or other stuff.

Seaneh wrote: »
    They weren't on s flight to anywhere, they were arrested in the city, and they would have been flying to Spain. There are no direct flights from Ireland to Venezuela.
    Aaahhh bugger. Forgot that; didn't know the plane was set for Spain either. At that rate to have a hope in hell I guess they would have to raise it to a higher body, and yeah I suppose that body would likely have little interest given that there would be ways for them to weasel out of it. Though in truth if they were going to Spain, my guess whoever they were giving it to was due to be some nondescript person that they might struggle to identify if they even genuinely wanted to.

Billy86 wrote: »

Cant happen, the Courts have already refused to extradite a terrorist to Lituania this year because of the prison conditions there, so there is no chance of them extraditing these two skangers back to Venezuela, unfortunatley.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭Whisko

Lets all have a good cry about poor Michaella McCollum, yet villify these two men who are guilty of exactly the same crime.

Whisko wrote: »
    Lets all have a good cry about poor Michaella McCollum, yet villify these two men who are guilty of exactly the same crime.

Who is crying over her, she is as big a skanger as these lads, there is a thread on her and it aint too sympathetic to her self inflicted plight.

I don't think there are many at all doing that now, to be fair. I hope not at least! If anything, on here it appears as if there are more people in support of these two escaping, than there are in support of Michaella's claim to innocence.

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

Who is crying over her, she is as big a skanger as these lads, there is a thread on her and it aint too sympathetic to her self inflicted plight.

You know if you keep using the word skanger you will become one.

These guys were mules end of story, mules for a much bigger gang in the northwest of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

fibonaccii wrote: »
    To all the people who say all the drug smugglers etc should rot in prison etc, do you have any idea why/how they got into it in the first place no, you don't, its just your complete ignorance to say "all druggies should be killed".

I really ****ing hate yer attitude. What about the scumbags in government that create the black market by keeping drugs illegal.

I fully agree with you. All scumbag druggies should be killed. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I won't cry over her. She can rot in prison if convicted.

The media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

The media.

You just debunked your own "argument"... lol...

I didn't read the thread. I probably should have.

I've seen people posting and talked to people about poor Michaella McCollum from Tyrone elsewhere though.

I didn't read the thread. I probably should have.

I've seen people posting and talked to people about poor Michaella McCollum from Tyrone elsewhere though.
    I will agree with you here to an extent mind, that it is strange how the two girls became one of the biggest news stories here or in the UK (if not for Egypt, it likely would be the biggest story of the week, if not for longer) while nobody had really even heard of the two guys, and (imo) had the Peru situation not developed, we likely would have not even heard of their escape.

Some might put that down to the 'missing' pleas for Michaella, but I personally never heard of those until after the airport interrogation footage was everywhere. For some reason, when it is girls/women facing a grim future, it sells more I guess... :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭Problem123456

What I find funny is that we never even heard of these eejits but those girls in Peru are all over the place!

EDIT:
    Never even heard on these, yet these other 2 girls are everywhere now, strange.
    Glad that someone was thinking the same thing

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Truth!

Fair play to them, lets me honest if they had not escaped they would of never survived 11 years in Prision there, this is a place where if they dont have a football to play with they cut off someones head to use as a football, a real cesspit of a country.

Exactly ! I know first hand as a vistor to this place that's true ! Breaking the law is wrong but we all make mistakes .. And these two men certainly served their penance in their 15 months there ! They are still human beings that deserve their humanitarian rights no matter what the crime ! Their are rapists n murderers taken care of and protected in Ireland !!! These two young men had all their human rights totally taken away from them .and playing football with a human head was probly the least of what they witnessed and indured in the notorious San juan so people should not be so quick to think they know the truth about all or tink ther Judges or legal professionals to post some Of their comments !!! Everyone's entitled to their opinion it's a human right ! But these two lads were also entitled to their human rights no matter what the crime !! Good post :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Good on em I say. Two innocent men should not be in jail in the first place. Well done lads.

Jake1 wrote: »
    Wonder would ye get a reward if you called the prison and said youd came across the lads...

:p

hahaha .. well jake as a vistor to san juan i will personally take you to the gate of the jail ! if you last sn hour beteeen physical n emotional abuse il give you a reward myself !!! you have not gotta clue ! crime certainly is wrong but we all make mistakes .. and nobody has the right to take away any human beings humatarian rights away from them no matter what the crime ! water was not even available to these lads plus the mental torture of what gos on in a jail thats run by criminals ! the irish government as we speak are feeding, watering, even given protection for murders , peadophiles rapists n more criminals in prisons in this country as we speak !! get a life n get a dog or sonething instead of posting stupid silly comments like that ! id like to see you go there yourself n return with the same attitude ! wanker

Uriel. wrote: »

I fully agree with you. All scumbag druggies should be killed. :)
    who are you callin scumbag druggies ? you dont have a clue ! there is alot more to this story and maybe you should do some research before you think youve the right to say anyone should be killed ! your a scumbag that has no brain !

banned

What I find funny is that we never even heard of these eejits but those girls in Peru are all over the place!

EDIT:
    Glad that someone was thinking the same thing

well if you knew what you were talking about youd of done some research and found plenty of papers and online information on these two men ! the differene is they pleaded guilty straightup instead of trying to pretend they were forced ! their barristers made it all so public thinking it would help them get away with it !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Maybe a 'helped' jailbreak by some local gang that provided passports, tickets etc or they sang. If it's the former then a favour will be called in. If the latter then time will tell. Something not right with this story.

• Registered Users Posts: 420 ✭✭Diageio_Man

Truth! wrote: »
    well if you knew what you were talking about youd of done some research and found plenty of papers and online information on these two men ! the differene is they pleaded guilty straightup instead of trying to pretend they were forced ! their barristers made it all so public thinking it would help them get away with it !
    when's your episode of locked up abroad lads?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

We need to globally legalise Cocaine. I have no interest in weed but cocaine actually serves a purpose.
    We've all had days when we have no energy and get a red bull into us. It's cocaine that we should be able to buy.
    What's the problem with me wanting to put a bit of coke in my body if I choose to do it. Or Amphetamines for that matter.
    If I want to stay up all night doing coke and reading boards that should be my choice! :mad::mad::mad:

Drug smuggling isn't much of a crime in my eyes, it's just a work around more bull**** laws. There was a time when we couldn't eat meat on a Friday for Christ sake.

Anyway, delighted the two lads made it home safe and sound. Welcome home :)