Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish drug traffickers escape LatinAmerican jail

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

paddy147 wrote: »
    Maybe because they dont have fannies....just a guess here...:pac:

Crudely put, but correct.

Smacks of reality tv, hence the meeja interest...how well will two European girls get on in a Peruvian jail.

There's hardly a peep about it in Peru, there's a drugs mule caught nearly every second day there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

fibonaccii wrote: »
    To all the people who say all the drug smugglers etc should rot in prison etc, do you have any idea why/how they got into it in the first place no, you don't, its just your complete ignorance to say "all druggies should be killed".

I really ****ing hate yer attitude. What about the scumbags in government that create the black market by keeping drugs illegal.

All drug smugglers should be left to rot, their stock in trade is misery and heartbreak.
    Drugs are illegal for a reason ffs!

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

All drug smugglers should be left to rot, their stock in trade is misery and heartbreak.

They supply a market which there is demand for, which the governments create. Legalise certain drugs in the morning you no longer have these problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 635 ✭✭✭BillJ

I reckon this story would make a good film!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

They supply a market which there is demand for, which the governments create. Legalise certain drugs in the morning you no longer have these problems.

Child pornographers supply a market that there is a demand for too!
    Legalize drugs and you still have to deal and pay for the misery they create.
    Personally I support the Thai/Malyasian/Singaporian method of dealing with these skangers who deal in heroin/coke etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭fibonaccii

Personally I support the Thai/Malyasian/Singaporian method of dealing with these skangers who deal in heroin/coke etc...

Drugs and child porn? that a fairly ridicules comparison. They only people drug user hurt is themselves, Yes it does bring hurt to their family's as in money etc but this is because the market is run by scumbags. If the market was run by the government and drug user where treated as patients, there wouldn't be the same problems as there is today. People like you are just brainwashed by what you read and see in the media, with 0 first hand experience.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

As does the UK, who refused to extradite of of the greatest monsters of the 20th century General Pinochet.

That's because him and Thatcher were best buddies.

Drugs and child porn? that a fairly ridicules comparison. They only people drug user hurt is themselves, Yes it does bring hurt to their family's as in money etc but this is because the market is run by scumbags. If the market was run by the government and drug user where treated as patients, there wouldn't be the same problems as there is today. People like you are just brainwashed by what you read and see in the media, with 0 first hand experience.

You are the one basing your argument for legalizing the trade in deadly drugs on the basis that that there is market for them, we kiddo there are markets for lots of things!
    Drugs do immense harm, to the users,their families, their children, and society generally.
    The economic cost to the state is huge. None of that would change by legalizing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

You can be hanged in Singapore for bringing in hash. Is capital punishment excessive for soft drugs? A one-size-fits-all?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

im not surprised the lads escaped the jail over there, the condition of those jails in latin america is almost subhuman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

Why do all of your posts read like a sun editorial

Unlike yourself I wouldn't be familiar with the Sun or its editorials, i stopped reading comics when I was kid.
    You should try the Irish Times or The Guardian:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

To all the people who say all the drug smugglers etc should rot in prison etc, do you have any idea why/how they got into it in the first place no, you don't, its just your complete ignorance to say "all druggies should be killed".

I really ****ing hate yer attitude. What about the scumbags in government that create the black market by keeping drugs illegal.

Not sure where anybody said "all druggies should be killed", it's probably because it wasn't.

The above in itself is fairly ignorant. Kettle, pot?

You believe that the user is the only victim? Oh, the family only suffer financially. You don't believe anybody else suffers? Are you having a laugh?

Treat all drug users as patients? Explain this a little more to me. Should we have hospitals, or treat them as outpatients. Should this be paid by taxes? What kind of drug users should avail of this?

Zero experience you say. I may have more experience in this than you know. Last year a mate of mine died from taking drugs. Some jumped up junky broke into my house and robbed us with a fcuking meat cleaver. They wrote off my housemates car, pity the little príck didn't kill himself in the process. 2 mates were mugged by these little scumbags too.

So yea, hard drug use hurts more than just the user ffs. Open your eyes and try think outside the box.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Fair balls to them.

Drug smuggling is bad mmmkay. But one of the lads was innocent (ish) they also beat the system. Then made it from Latin America back to Athlone.

Latin America - Athlone. As fugitives.

That alone deserves some credit.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭tigger123

Can't help but think "fair play to yis" when I heard this. While I don't agree with what they did I think a sentence of 11 years in a Venezuelan prison is disproportionate to their crime. Mixed feelings about it, but some pair of cojones on those two.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,222 ✭✭✭keithclancy

tigger123 wrote: »
    Can't help but think "fair play to yis" when I heard this. While I don't agree with what they did I think a sentence of 11 years in a Venezuelan prison is disproportionate to their crime. Mixed feelings about it, but some pair of cojones on those two.

Disproportionate ?

Try Singapore ... they have the Death Penalty for smuggling.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

They are not the only convicted drug runner jailbreakers. This is an rté documentary from 2011
    Cocaine Diaries: Story of a Drug Mule
    It was supposed to be a straightforward drug run for a local gang with a payment of €15k to carry the drugs, with a street value of over €500k, back to Ireland. But when security officers closed in, the drug mule knew the game was up. He faced 8 years in Los Teques prison, outside Caracas, one of the world's most brutal jails. Just over two years into his sentence, several stone lighter from a hunger strike and recovering from an infection he nearly died from, he decides to flee. On his way home after several days of a bus-ride across the Andean mountains he makes his way to the border to Colombia and bribes his way into the neighbouring country. Finally, at Bogota airport he boards a flight to Dublin.

Unlike yourself I wouldn't be familiar with the Sun or its editorials, i stopped reading comics when I was kid.
    You should try the Irish Times or The Guardian:P

Interesting you read two papers that have completely different editorial viewpoints to yourself. Both the Irish Times and the Guardian would be generally anti-capital punishment, and fairly liberal in general.

Either are better than your choice, the Sun. I read newspapers for news, not to have my every view dictated by them.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

snubbleste wrote: »
    with 10 years left to serve.. and magically reappear in Ireland!

How did they get passports and flights and are AnGarda not worried about these jailbreakers living back in Ireland etc etc?

No. Not at all. Athlone has alot of drug dealers. Its the biggest heroin center in ireland outside Dublin.

Between that and Athlone town being top of division 1 and heading for promotion..im bursting with pride

camphor wrote: »
    Who on earth would escape from prison and then go to Athlone??? The mind boggles!

Out of the frying pan, into the midlands hell hole

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Out of the frying pan, into the midlands hell hole

Yes. But still better than Dublin. Dublin.. thats an epic hell hole full of scumbags and tosspots. There's no doubt some nice people there but they get lost within the stereotype

Either are better than your choice, the Sun. I read newspapers for news, not to have my every view dictated by them.

I never mentioned The Sun.

Also, it's a good attitude to have in relation to news, albeit a rare enough one.

I never mentioned The Sun.

Also, it's a good attitude to have in relation to news, albeit a rare enough one.

Apologies Niall, the original poster who decided to attack the poster instead of the post questioned why my all of posts read like editorials from the sun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

any word on how these guys managed to escape yet? Someone must be looking to do a story on it.. or does anyone on boards from Athlone know anyone who has spoken to them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

any word on how these guys managed to escape yet? Someone must be looking to do a story on it.. or does anyone on boards from Athlone know anyone who has spoken to them?
    It's mentioned in the link of the first post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Gardai won't quiz brothers who fled Venezuela jail

I would have thought if the Gardai were serious on the 'War on Drugs', they would at least interview them to see who they intended passing it on to in Ireland and what other links they had here.

I hold the Gardai to too high a standard and expect too much from them :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Their brother was in my year in school, I'd know them to chat to from school and having family near their home house. Haven't heard from anyone about it though, I'd say they are just keeping the head down to be honest.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Fair play to them. At least they'll have some interesting stories to tell. I hate when people bring morality into the drugs debate. If I want to do a line of coke I will.