If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cycle Superstore in Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Thanks yet again endacl.
    So essentially I wouldn't be losing any grip length as I could just shift the gear and brake levers in a bit.

And I could just put make a hole in my existing grip and push it in.
    at the moment I have this type of grip

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/ergon-gs1-lightweight/rp-prod63927
    That's what I'd do anyway. No, you won't lose any length (;)). And if you cock it up, it doesn't really matter as you were going to replace them anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

endacl wrote: »
    That's what I'd do anyway. No, you won't lose any length (;)). And if you cock it up, it doesn't really matter as you were going to replace them anyway.

its all about that extra inch or 2 : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

is there suck a thing where the bar end and grip is all the one unit

Yes - I have these on my Giant Escape - they are the same ones that come on the Giant Rapid.

CONNECT-ERGO-MAX-LOCK-ON.jpg

They look much better than the spurious ones and are very comfortable. My LBS ordered them in for me - think they were about €25 but well worth it as they finished the bike nicely. The angle of the bar ends is easily adjustable with an allen key.

Yes - I have these on my Giant Escape - they are the same ones that come on the Giant Rapid.

CONNECT-ERGO-MAX-LOCK-ON.jpg

They look much better than the spurious ones and are very comfortable. My LBS ordered them in for me - think they were about €25 but well worth it as they finished the bike nicely. The angle of the bar ends is easily adjustable with an allen key.

Thanks for that.
    The sticky up part looks a bit short though or is it /

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Rogue-Trooper

Thanks for that.
    The sticky up part looks a bit short though or is it /

Yes, I suppose it is. However, with reference to your previous post, it's not the size but how you use it that matters.............:rolleyes:

To answer your question though, unless you have hands like shovels they are grand and very comfortable. I like the way it retains the original Giant grips too as they are great.

Not sure if it was mentioned before but you should get yourself a pair of padded gloves to complete your riding pleasure.........

Yes, I suppose it is. However, with reference to your previous post, it's not the size but how you use it that matters.............:rolleyes:

To answer your question though, unless you have hands like shovels they are grand and very comfortable. I like the way it retains the original Giant grips too as they are great.

Not sure if it was mentioned before but you should get yourself a pair of padded gloves to complete your riding pleasure.........

Thanks for that input. Jaysus, padded gloves, another thing to buy maybe, there are some amount of things you can buy when you have a bike.

Was out for a cycle again last night and a feckin bumble bee nearly went in me eye, lots of midgets flying around me eye too, must get meself a pair of glasses. I suppose clear would be best.

I also have to actually concentrate and keep me mouth closed when im cycling, dont want a bumble bee down me throat : )

Can anyone recommend a comfortable handlebar grip, not for racing or mountain biking, just casual use.
    I have something like this :

They kinda stick out at the outer edge, they are probably ergonomic and all that but im just not that gone on them. Think id prefer a totally straight grip and one with foam on it

Or is foam a thing of the past now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭ULMarc

Thanks for that input. Jaysus, padded gloves, another thing to buy maybe, there are some amount of things you can buy when you have a bike.

Was out for a cycle again last night and a feckin bumble bee nearly went in me eye, lots of midgets flying around me eye too, must get meself a pair of glasses. I suppose clear would be best.

I also have to actually concentrate and keep me mouth closed when im cycling, dont want a bumble bee down me throat : )

My recommendation is to keep the glasses cheap. I find I'm always losing them.

ULMarc wrote: »
    My recommendation is to keep the glasses cheap. I find I'm always losing them.

Keep an eye on Lidl/Aldi. They turn up every few months. If they suit you, they're cheap. If they don't, well feck it. They're cheap!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭Nedkelly24

this thread is quickly becoming my guilty pleasure!!!!! keep her lit... :-)

Nedkelly24 wrote: »
    this thread is quickly becoming my guilty pleasure!!!!! keep her lit... :-)

Was that a question about lights?

Can anyone recommend a comfortable handlebar grip, not for racing or mountain biking, just casual use.
    I have something like this :

They kinda stick out at the outer edge, they are probably ergonomic and all that but im just not that gone on them. Think id prefer a totally straight grip and one with foam on it

Or is foam a thing of the past now ?

Anyone on this ? ; )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

QueensGael wrote: »
    I don't rate the wire baskets at all (having destroyed a few already), and my strong preference is for wicker baskets (indestructible, yet so pretty)... but in the interests of suggesting something slightly less girly, have a look at this one

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/rixen-kaul-reisenthel-handlebar-bike-basket/

you'll also need the clamp to attach it to your bike
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/rixen-kaul-klickfix-security-clamp/

FAQs on delivery etc here
    http://www.wiggle.co.uk/h/option/deliveries

I have this (not with the security clamp, just with an ordinary one) and it's very very good - yesterday I bought a big 7.5kg paper bag of spuds and brought them home in it. You can put any amount into the bag and the pull-cord top closes over it. And if you're carrying a handbag, you can conceal it from DeRobbers in it.

this is just not good enough endacl, I thought we had an SLA :)) Someone else can easily jump in and take your place :) LOL

Anyways , yeah, them grips seem to be the job alright, just what im after. even though the purists probably think rubber or some other material is better ?

me cage holder came this morning : http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/topeak-modula-adjustable-bottle-cage-2/rp-prod68036

So I must fit it on using the imaginary screws on the bike, LOL

this is just not good enough endacl, I thought we had an SLA :)) Someone else can easily jump in and take your place :) LOL

Anyways , yeah, them grips seem to be the job alright, just what im after. even though the purists probably think rubber or some other material is better ?

me cage holder came this morning : http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/topeak-modula-adjustable-bottle-cage-2/rp-prod68036

So I must fit it on using the imaginary screws on the bike, LOL

Hey, information flows in two directions! I've never come across an adjustable cage before. I've ordered mine!

there you go :)

the exact same one ?

there you go :)

the exact same one ?

Same one. I often just grab a bottle of water when I'm out and about. They rattle around in the one I have.

Oh, the sponge grips. They'd be comfy all right, but remember that if you're out in the rain, they're 'sponges'...

Same one. I often just grab a bottle of water when I'm out and about. They rattle around in the one I have.

Oh, the sponge grips. They'd be comfy all right, but remember that if you're out in the rain, they're 'sponges'...

Ah ****e, you shoulda stalled till I tested out the cage first to see if it is any good or not :) Then I could have given you the nod.

I wont be out in the rain too often : )

Ah ****e, you shoulda stalled till I tested out the cage first to see if it is any good or not :) Then I could have given you the nod.

I wont be out in the rain too often : )

Topeak are a reliable brand. Never bought something of theirs that didnt do what it said on the tin! We should all get one. Like a secret membership badge for this thread...

yeah,never heard of topeak before but ill take your word
    have the cage here at me desk, will test later to see if it fits a 500ml, 750ml and 1 litre bottle

1 litre could be pushing it though

seems well built though

If you need a litre bottle, get your kidneys checked out!!!

ok me next f3ckin thing : Im thinking of buying a more comfy saddle.
    The one I got with the bike is rather thin and not the most comfortable.

Now I know a big gel saddle may not be more comfy but it certainly looks comfy, some of them are bleedin massive - too big like.

I suppose a good consideration is to have a narrow nose on a saddle to avoid chaffing.

I know saddle buying is very individual.

But can anyone on here recommend a comfy saddle for a hybrid bike - for use whilst wearing jeans, standard shorts etc i.e I wouldnt be wearing the paaded shorts and all that and my journeys would only be relatively short. 10 mins - 1 hour on roads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

You've only had the bike for a week, right?
    I'd give the saddle you have some more time - they take time to break in - and more importantly, so does your arse.

Also, make sure that your weight is on the saddle through your sit bones. Those are the two bony lumps that you'll find yourself sitting on if you sit on a hard surface. You don't want your weight on the saddle via the bits inbetween :)

quozl wrote: »
    I'd give the saddle you have some more time - they take time to break in - and more importantly, so does your arse.

Also, make sure that your weight is on the saddle through your sit bones. Those are the two bony lumps that you'll find yourself sitting on if you sit on a hard surface. You don't want your weight on the saddle via the bits inbetween :)

Correct, only a week : )
    So should my sit bones be resting on the biggest area of the saddle towards the back of the saddle ?

quozl wrote: »

Indeed.

"They don't like it up 'em!"

- Cpl. Jones, 1944

Got me bike lights today.
    A white coloured front one and a red back one

The front has the option of a constant light or a flashing light.

The back has the the same options with more flashing options

What is best to have ? Just constant on or flashing ?

Got me bike lights today.
    A white coloured front one and a red back one

The front has the option of a constant light or a flashing light.

The back has the the same options with more flashing options

What is best to have ? Just constant on or flashing ?
    Generally, I'd keep it steady in front and flashing behind. If you do a search of the forum, you'll find exhaustive debate. If you drive, you'll know that on a dark street an oncoming flashing light can be a little disorientating. Not so much on a following light for some reason. My reasoning is - don't confuse the oncoming driver, and let the following driver know you're there.

Remember, in the city you don't need them to see, so much as to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,760 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Flashing saves the battery most of the time. It depends whether you're using them for your own visibility of the roads ahead of for cars to see you, if it's the latter then flashing is the best.

Thanks.

All my cycling at night would be in Dublin city.

So I'm thinking I wouldn't really need the lights for seeing the road, more so just to warn cars.