If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Cycle Superstore in Tallaght

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,444 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Lovely, thanks a million !

And sorry for all the q's. Yee must be goin what the hell is up with this lad, but ive never seen this type of valve before so was unsure, thats what 20 years not having exposure to bikes does : )

No bother. That's what this forum is for. Well, one thing. You're one more of 'us' and one less of 'them'!

You'll soon be tuttutting with the best of them! And giving out about the state of the bike lanes. Welcome to the gang.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,627 ✭✭✭happytramp

Lovely, thanks a million !

And sorry for all the q's. Yee must be goin what the hell is up with this lad, but ive never seen this type of valve before so was unsure, thats what 20 years not having exposure to bikes does : )

Words cannot convey strongly enough how much I think you should get a track pump. It would be top of my list right after pedals. Something like this.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/sks-air-x-press-control-track-pump-gauge-/rp-prod25814

If you haven't cycled in years you probably remember only pumping your tyres after a puncture or when they felt flat. In fact you should do it every week and keep them at the required pressure (Hence the gauge on these pumps) This will stop you from getting punctures and actually make you cycle faster and be more comfortable. With a decent foot pump you can do both wheels in under a minute.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

happytramp wrote: »
    Words cannot convey strongly enough how much I think you should get a track pump. It would be top of my list right after pedals. Something like this.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/sks-air-x-press-control-track-pump-gauge-/rp-prod25814

If you haven't cycled in years you probably remember only pumping your tyres after a puncture or when they felt flat. In fact you should do it every week and keep them at the required pressure (Hence the gauge on these pumps) This will stop you from getting punctures and actually make you cycle faster and be more comfortable. With a decent foot pump you can do both wheels in under a minute.

Thanks, is this the same : http://www.adverts.ie/bikes/brand-new-bike-pump/3565667

endacl wrote: »
    No bother. That's what this forum is for. Well, one thing. You're one more of 'us' and one less of 'them'!

You'll soon be tuttutting with the best of them! And giving out about the state of the bike lanes. Welcome to the gang.

great forum !
    ive noticed the bike lanes are fairly ****e alreeady !! lots of debris on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭Bigus

Buy two tubes in the shop aswell , we don't want any downtime after your first puncture ,attach one to the bike for roadside repairs with a mini pump, Manys a new bike languishes in a shed for years after one puncture.

Yep basically the same. Only downside is you can't bring it back if something happens. I'd say it's grand though. I got a Good one for about €30 in Cyclesuperstore but that would require chancing your arm with the bears again ;)

sound , thanks, might chance it, can get him down in price. this one dosent seem to be a "track pump " though. Just labelled as a sport "floor pump" dont know if thats an issue.

Would the pump on adverts be ok for the presta valve do u think ?
    sure the bears caused the puncture, so fook that :)

sound , thanks, might chance it, can get him down in price. this one dosent seem to be a "track pump " though. Just labelled as a sport "floor pump" dont know if thats an issue.

Would the pump on adverts be ok for the presta valve do u think ?
    sure the bears caused the puncture, so fook that :)

yeah it's fine for Presta valves. If you can get him down a few quid i'd go for it.

Bought the pump off your man anyways. It's a right job alright.

Went for a 90 minute cycle tonight. 'twas unreal, very refreshing, feel so good after it. Very enjoyable.

Now more questions

Can anyone recommended a bottle holder ? I was parched

do these bottke holders take standard bottles like for example a bottle of Lucozade, 500/750 ml river rock etc bottle or do they only take specialised bottles ?

Bought the pump off your man anyways. It's a right job alright.

Went for a 90 minute cycle tonight. 'twas unreal, very refreshing, feel so good after it. Very enjoyable.

Now more questions

Can anyone recommended a bottle holder ? I was parched

do these bottke holders take standard bottles like for example a bottle of Lucozade, 500/750 ml river rock etc bottle or do they only take specialised bottles ?
    Any old bottle cage will do the trick. You should be able to pick on up for under a tenner, probably including a bottle. When you start to wear lycra you'll have to refer to a bottle as a 'bidon' though. Nobody's quite sure why... :D

They'll hold a standard bottle all right, but probably not very securely. You may find your going back to recover your lucozade every time you go over a bump.

Any old bottle cage will do the trick. You should be able to pick on up for under a tenner, probably including a bottle. When you start to wear lycra you'll have to refer to a bottle as a 'bidon' though. Nobody's quite sure why... :D

They'll hold a standard bottle all right, but probably not very securely. You may find your going back to recover your lucozade every time you go over a bump.

Sound thanks. Is there any "bidon" holder ; ) that caters for different size bottles ?

Not to the best of my knowledge. They're pretty standard.

Something like this will do the trick. On sale at the moment. Throw the lock away though.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_722707_langId_-1_categoryId_212470

Next we can start the 'lock' conversation. You'll need two. :D

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/water-bottle-cages

This site is very handy. It's an Northern Irish company which delivers free to Ireland.

Right job. Thanks. Free delivery is the job

This one looks ok I think :

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B004ORM0GW

Or is it a gimmick ?

Right job. Thanks. Free delivery is the job

This one looks ok I think :

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B004ORM0GW

Or is it a gimmick ?

****e, looks like the above does not come with screws to attach it to bike

Can these screws be picked up in a cycle or hardware store ?

If so , is there a certain name on these screws ?

****e, looks like the above dies not come with screws to attach it to bike

Can these screws be picked up in a cycle or hardware store ?

If so , is there a certain name on them ?
    Have a look on your frame. Right about where you'd expect to see screw holes. And those holes are filled by......?

N00b!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,783 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

The screws should already be in the holes in your bike. They usually are anyways.

If not they're just standard M5 hex screws I think.

stetyrrell wrote: »
    The screws should already be in the holes in your bike. They usually are anyways.

If not they're just standard M5 hex screws I think.

Oh ok. Didnt know that. Presumed just blank holes

Can't check now but will check tomorrow.

Not to the best of my knowledge. They're pretty standard.

Something like this will do the trick. On sale at the moment. Throw the lock away though.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_722707_langId_-1_categoryId_212470

Next we can start the 'lock' conversation. You'll need two. :D

endacl

Ive already done the lock thing :)

ended up buying 2 U locks.

and from watching youtube etc, I now know the correct way to lock my bike.

I know it may not stop bike theft, but it will deter the scumbags a bit anyways.

Just bought this from chainreactions

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/topeak-modula-adjustable-bottle-cage-2/rp-prod68036

Do you know if the item will actually be shipped from a warehouse or whatever in the North or is it coming from somewhere else in the world ?

Just bought this from chainreactions

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/topeak-modula-adjustable-bottle-cage-2/rp-prod68036

Do you know if the item will actually be shipped from a warehouse or whatever in the North or is it coming from somewhere else in the world ?

Sent from NI. Usually takes no more than 2-3 days.

lovely job, the free postage is a massive thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭cython

It will be shipped from NI, but smaller items are often sent by Royal Mail and may have to cross the Irish Sea twice before getting to you, so 2-3 days may be a bit optimistic, especially based on the last few small orders I placed

cython wrote: »
    It will be shipped from NI, but smaller items are often sent by Royal Mail and may have to cross the Irish Sea twice before getting to you, so 2-3 days may be a bit optimistic, especially based on the last few small orders I placed

Conversely, I've also had stuff arrive the next day. I've had stuff take longer for sure but I reckon 3 days has been my average waiting time. Might have gotten worse recently though, I'm not sure

Sounds like you're really getting into this OP!

Here's something free, that can add both fun and frustration.

http://www.strava.com/

Sounds like you're really getting into this OP!

Here's something free, that can add both fun and frustration.

http://www.strava.com/

I am indeed endacl
    thanks for that link - im not that advanced yet.
    Im thinking of buying a basket now ( I can see you all the purist cyclists shrieking in horror )
    However, only a small basket, not a big one, one for going to the shop.

like this :

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/rixen-kaul-mesh-front-basket/rp-prod47428

dimensions are only : (29 x 19 x 20cm)

In general. Would baskets fit on most bikes or does it depend on the bike / basket ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

You mean a saddle bag ? Most people use one, but I'm sure theres a rule against them.

Edit: If you're on a Hybrid I think you're exempt from the rules.

Edit Edit: Oh, it is a basket. OP, you must be a lady returning from the bakery with some fresh baguettes ?

I am indeed endacl
    thanks for that link - im not that advanced yet.
    Im thinking of buying a basket now ( I can see you all the purist cyclists shrieking in horror )
    However, only a small basket, not a big one, one for going to the shop.

like this :

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/rixen-kaul-mesh-front-basket/rp-prod47428

dimensions are only : (29 x 19 x 20cm)

In general. Would baskets fit on most bikes or does it depend on the bike / basket ?

Jeez. You think you know somebody... :(

Yep. They're pretty standard. There's a permanent fitting for the handlebars that the basket clips into when you need it. Herself uses one.

Tbh though, they can leave the bike feeling a bit unbalanced. A lot of weight hanging out over the front wheel. You'd honestly be better off with a back pack. Or panniers if you really want something bike attachable.

Jeez. You think you know somebody... :(

Yep. They're pretty standard. There's a permanent fitting for the handlebars that the basket clips into when you need it. Herself uses one.

Tbh though, they can leave the bike feeling a bit unbalanced. A lot of weight hanging out over the front wheel. You'd honestly be better off with a back pack. Or panniers if you really want something bike attachable.

Yeah, still only thing about it like

just handy for shop and you dont have to go bringing a backpack the whole time. I wouldnt be loading up heavy but get ya about teh unbalanced thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,783 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Messenger bags are da bestest for on the bike I've found.