Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New season new Leinster chant

124»

• Administrators Posts: 53,572 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

finatron wrote: »
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GK4M3xYJoLk&feature=youtube_gdata_player

Holy crap came across this while looking for a good song for ye lads

Bahaha. :pac:

Sounds like a hymn.

• Registered Users Posts: 151 ✭✭rudiger2.0

One for Cian:

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

Always thought "For Boston" switched to "For Leinster"... and slowed down considerably from the Murphys version would work well!

For Leinster, for Leinster,
    we sing our proud refrain
    for Leinster, for Leinster
    'tis wisdom's earthly fane
    for here are all one
    and our hearts are true
    and the towers on the heights
    reach the heavens own blue.
    'til the echoes ring again

For Leinster, for Leinster
    thy glory is our own
    'tis here that truth is known
    and ever with a right
    shall our heirs be found
    'til time shall be no more
    and thy work is crowned
    thy glory is our own

• Registered Users Posts: 11,101 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

rudiger2.0 wrote: »
    One for Cian:

Pockets of the crowd do this already especially at away games.

Heard a few 'Ooo-aahhh Jack McGrath...' last season which I expect will grow with more gametime so I think our looseheads should be set as as far as chants go.

• Registered Users Posts: 105 ✭✭Seanbass

molloyjh wrote: »
    For as great a tune as The Auld Triangle is, it isn't really one that would work during a game.

Out of interest what's wrong with Molly that you can't get into it?

Yeah I can definitely see your point, just a favorite of mine so haha.

ah to be honest I'm not sure. Could be that I find it a bit old fashioned or corny or just the fact It's a song about nothing really. Don't really get how it fits in to a match scenario.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

rudiger2.0 wrote: »
    One for Cian:

Yeah the school lads have been singing this since his school days.

We had the whole march to bordeaux doing it as well. Great craic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,906 ✭✭✭jamiedav2011

.ak wrote: »
    Yeah the school lads have been singing this since his school days.

We had the whole march to bordeaux doing it as well. Great craic.

Always warms me up during the pre Xmas games anyway.
    That and heart stopping amounts of hot whiskey.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Hot whiskey is a must. Can't understand why they only have one place selling it behind the anglesea stand. Even when I'm off the booze I get atleast two to get me through the game!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,745 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

Seanbass wrote: »
    Yeah I can definitely see your point, just a favorite of mine so haha.

ah to be honest I'm not sure. Could be that I find it a bit old fashioned or corny or just the fact It's a song about nothing really. Don't really get how it fits in to a match scenario.

It fits about as much as any song really. I love The Auld Triangle as well and will sing it whenever there's a sing-song going. If I thought it could work in the RDS I'd be on that bandwagon like a shot!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

molloyjh wrote: »
    It fits about as much as any song really. I love The Auld Triangle as well and will sing it whenever there's a sing-song going. If I thought it could work in the RDS I'd be on that bandwagon like a shot!
    FFS! Don't mention bandwagons!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Young man, there's no need to feel down
    Young man, pick yourself off the ground
    Young man, 'cos you're in a new town
    There's no need to be unhappy.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

[thinking] only 23 more days to the end of silly season, only 23 more days [end thinking]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

[thinking] only 23 more days to the end of silly season, only 23 more days [end thinking]

Not forgetting those silly matches between Aus/NZ and SA/Arg this weekend :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Superbus wrote: »
    Young man, there's no need to feel down
    Young man, pick yourself off the ground
    Young man, 'cos you're in a new town
    There's no need to be unhappy.

'coz it's fun to play for the Laa-aaady Boys
    Fun to play for the Laa-aady Boys....