Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russian lawmaker: Women should get time off from work during menstruation!

• 01-08-2013 9:20pm
    Registered Users Posts: 28,147 ✭✭✭✭

Got to love the Russians..

A Russian lawmaker has asked parliament to give women two days paid leave a month when they menstruate...

I've no problem with this and I don't think it's been sexist..but the old human rights activists think its sexist and are up in arms about it.

So what do you think ladies, would you take the 2 days?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Hobbitfeet

Oh love it, feck feminism, time off work :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

Red Tent anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

A Russian lawmaker has asked parliament to give women two days paid leave a month when they menstruate...

I've no problem with this and I don't think it's been sexist..but the old human rights activists think its sexist and are up in arms about it.

So what do you think ladies, would you take the 2 days?

I feckin love the Russians. First they give us vodka and now this..... Would I take the two days?? Does a wild bear sh1t in the woods!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Hobbitfeet

Morag wrote: »
    Red Tent anyone?

Have you read it? Looks interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Realistically, even just the chance to ring my boss and say, "Listen, I'm on the blob and I literally can not move from the foetal position for the next 2 hours or so, so I'll be in a bit late" or words to that effect. Not every month but when things are unbearable as they sometimes are. It'd be nice if it was taken seriously as an reason for coming in late now and then. Period pains are actually real contrary to the opinion of some. Nothing worse than having to drag myself out of bed in that state to go in and stand in front of students and teach pretending I'm grand when I can barely stand up straight or string a sentence together.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭clairefontaine

You can ask for this but it would make employers less likely to hire you.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

Younger me would love it. I actually missed work/school/uni sometimes because cramps were so bad the first day. And if I didn't I was completely unproductive half of the time.

That being said completely stupid idea.

meeeeh wrote: »
    Younger me would love it. I actually missed work/school/uni sometimes because cramps were so bad the first day. And if I didn't I was completely unproductive half of the time.

I've made some very bad mistakes under the influence of pain.

However, a feminist stance would argue that your period is not a justifiable reason for discrimination against you.

I remember growing up seeing a tampax ad with a woman in white riding on a horse through a meadow to the soundtrack "I am woman hear me roar."

You've t got to be kidding me. You're expected to be liberated and toughen up, match your male counterparts. Equality means NO you do no get an extra two days off a month.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Quality

It's not the blood or the pain that gets to me, it's the hysteric psychotic behaviour the week before!

You're expected to be liberated and toughen up, match your male counterparts. Equality means NO you do no get an extra two days off a month.
    Or you just get prescription painkillers. :D

meeeeh wrote: »
    Or you just get prescription painkillers. :D

Mamas little helper. Work when your stoned, great fun.:)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,158 ✭✭✭Arawn

As a bloke who works....I would not be impressed by women getting 24 extra paid days off a year than me...it's nearly a paid month like!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

For its homophobic laws?

I think it's good to have the option, because some women get horrendously ill every month and physically can't get into work. It's not necessary for plenty of women though, including me.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭Morag

Hobbitfeet wrote: »
    Have you read it? Looks interesting

Reading it atm, it's very interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Ambersky

Im really really suspicious of Russian politics right now. The far right has been growing in strength in Russia and one way this is being expressed is in its "Protection of traditional sexual relations"
    MOSCOW—Russia's lower house of Parliament passed a bill Tuesday that bans the promotion of homosexual "propaganda" and mandates stiff fines and jail terms for violators in what critics fear will lead to antigay repression.

The bill banning "propaganda of nontraditional sexual relations," makes it a crime to
    hold gay pride events,
    speak in defense of gay rights
    or to say gay relationships are equal to heterosexual ones.

Although ostensibly intended to protect minors, the bill is written so broadly that in effect it amounts to an outright ban.
    Homosexuality was illegal during Soviet times but was illegal during Soviet times but was decriminalized in 1993.

"Traditional sexual relations are relations between a man and a woman," one of the bill's authors, Yelena Mizulina, told lawmakers. "These relations need special protection.
    http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323495604578539220032220406.html

I would be wanting to find out if the idea of giving women a few days off work for their period is simply a group of parlilmentarians being nice to women in general or if it is an expression of the far rights attitude to women and what they see as our special role is society.
    I dont think it is too far a stretch to think that the same parliament that has just passed laws to jail LGBT people in order to preserve and protect traditional relations might also have strong views on what they would see as the traditional role of women in society.
    From some of the videos showing crowds of people beating up LGBT people in Russia and surrounding countries, as well as the extreme repressive changes in law, it seems that we are talking about the rise of fascism in Russia.
    Here is what some other right wing extremists had to say on the role of women.
    Could the idea of allowing women a few days off work for their periods be the beginning of other special treatment to protect our special role.
    Women in Nazi Germany were to have a very specific role. Hitler was very clear about this. This role was that they should be good mothers bringing up children at home while their husbands worked. Outside of certain specialist fields, Hitler saw no reason why a woman should work. Education taught girls from the earliest of years that this was the lifestyle they should have.....
    Women were not expected to work in Nazi Germany . In Weimar Germany there had been 100,000 female teachers, 3000 female doctors and 13,000 female musicians. Within months of Hitler coming to power, many female doctors and civil servants were sacked. This was followed by female teachers and lawyers. ....
    As housewives and mothers, their lives were controlled. Women were not expected to wear make-up or trousers. The dyeing of hair was not allowed nor were perms. Only flat shoes were expected to be worn. Women were discouraged from slimming as this was considered bad for child birth. Women were encouraged to have a well built figure as slim women, so it was taught, would have problems in pregnancy…….Women were also discouraged from smoking - not because it was linked to problems with pregnancies - but because it was considered non-German to do so
    http://http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/Women_Nazi_Germany.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 37,297 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Mariasofia wrote: »
    I feckin love the Russians. First they give us vodka and now this..... Would I take the two days?? Does a wild bear sh1t in the woods!:D
    It may seem nice now, but I'd say it's only a matter of time before they bring back the stupid law requiring you to give up your job when you give birth to a child. It will also help the worsening job situation as it'll mean that a large percentage of women won't be working in a paid job.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,090 ✭✭✭jill_valentine

It's a stupid idea coming from a completely anti-feminist place. Periodland is not a happy place to be, but it doesn't make you an irrational invalid unless something is seriously off.

I used to be in the Army Reserve, and every time we had to do an exercise that was going to be hard work (ie. most of them), one particular silly twit would set forward and request an exemption in front of dozens and dozens of her peers because it was her time of the month, and 35 other girls in the unit would facepalm in elegant, watchmaker precision. She was undermining her female peers and perpetuating ideas that we were already having to run uphill against before we got to the actual business of the thing, and making the job much harder for the rest of us, because it was convenient and she didn't care. And in the process, she was handing a weapon to every arsehole who was already making problems for us just because we were female.

This measure would, and is likely intended to, serve all the same purposes.

Ambersky wrote: »
    Im really really suspicious of Russian politics right now. The far right has been growing in strength in Russia and one way this is being expressed is in its "Protection of traditional sexual relations"

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424127887323495604578539220032220406.html

I would be wanting to find out if the idea of giving women a few days off work for their period is simply a group of parlilmentarians being nice to women in general or if it is an expression of the far rights attitude to women and what they see as our special role is society.
    I dont think it is too far a stretch to think that the same parliament that has just passed laws to jail LGBT people in order to preserve and protect traditional relations might also have strong views on what they would see as the traditional role of women in society.
    From some of the videos showing crowds of people beating up LGBT people in Russia and surrounding countries, as well as the extreme repressive changes in law, it seems that we are talking about the rise of fascism in Russia.
    Here is what some other right wing extremists had to say on the role of women.
    Could the idea of allowing women a few days off work for their periods be the beginning of other special treatment to protect our special role.

http://http://www.historylearningsite.co.uk/Women_Nazi_Germany.htm
    Actually it is also left agenda. Homosexuallity was punished with prison in communist Russia, neither was welcome in other communist states. Not surprisingly those countries have probably the worst attitudes to homosexuality in Europe. Not to mention that Putin rose through the ranks in KBG. I would sooner blame left totalitarian legacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

I would suggest those who cannot stand up or form a sentence when they are menstruating see a doctor.

That's not normal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Honey-ec

What a load of tosh. Periods aren't a medical condition, ffs. If you're having a particularly bad one, take a sick day.

2 paid days off a month for the massive achievement of having a womb? I think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Sorry Mr.Vlad I can't make it in today, the Commies have invaded and I fear I will be held hostage on the Red Square for the next couple of days at least.

Da.

I would suggest those who cannot stand up or form a sentence when they are menstruating see a doctor.

That's not normal.

It's normal. Period pains are absolutely normal. Inconvenient but normal, unfortunately. Many women get them to varying extremes and I'm lucky compared to many. I'm perfectly healthy (doctor said so ;)) but for about 2 hours on the first day of my period every month or so, I'm in pain (but not dying!) but it's nothing a few ibuprofen can't fix...but that takes time to kick in.

I meant I couldn't string a sentence together because I usually couldn't sleep because it was so uncomfortable, not because it was making me unable to speak. Should've explained that.

I suppose it's a personal gripe that teaching involves being "on" and energetic and for some reason, I always get my period first thing in the morning before I get up preventing me from sleeping (and it makes me tired anyway) and it's a pain in the.....eh....vagina, I suppose.

Two of my friends used to get horrendously ill every month - I shared a flat with one and had to bring her to the doctor one morning she was so ill. Vomiting non stop, in agony, barely able to function. The pill sorted it out for her. My other friend was diagnosed with endometriosis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

It's normal. Period pains are absolutely normal. Inconvenient but normal, unfortunately. Many women get them to varying extremes and I'm lucky compared to many. I'm perfectly healthy (doctor said so ;)) but for about 2 hours on the first day of my period every month or so, I'm in pain (but not dying!) but it's nothing a few ibuprofen can't fix...but that takes time to kick in.

You really should not need to take painkillers every single month. Crikey that must be bad. I understand it may be how it always has been, and plenty of women do just grin and bear it instead of getting it seen to. i am telling you that most of us are not crippled by period pain. Pain is a sign something is not right. Get a second opinion, seriously. Were you checked for endometriosis that time?

pwurple wrote: »
    You really should not need to take painkillers every single month. Crikey that must be bad. I understand it may be how it always has been, and plenty of women do just grin and bear it instead of getting it seen to. i am telling you that most of us are not crippled by period pain. Pain is a sign something is not right. Get a second opinion, seriously. Were you checked for endometriosis that time?

I never said every single month though. And I'm not "crippled" with pain. It's cramps. Period pains. Uncomfortableness. I'm not disabled from it but it's not nice. You're making my symptoms out to be worse than they are in reality but unfortunately my job doesn't allow for taking it easy behind a computer. I'm grand. Nothing to worry about. It's as serious as a splitting headache for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭whiteandlight

Lots of people need painkillers most months. My first 24 hours suck generally, cramps usually need painkillers. Second 24 hours still cramps but manageable. I am lucky in some ways though, period only lasts about 4 days. Nothing medically wrong with me. Friend of mine goes for 9+ days a month....
    Pill didn't help me much. Though was on the 3 month injection for a year, that was f*king awesome-no periods at all for a year!!! Pity can't stay on it long term.

Having said all of that, still don't need two days off a month. First day would be nice but I can manage, I'm not a cripple!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Two of my friends used to get horrendously ill every month - I shared a flat with one and had to bring her to the doctor one morning she was so ill. Vomiting non stop, in agony, barely able to function. The pill sorted it out for her. My other friend was diagnosed with endometriosis.

That was me in my days before the pill. The vomiting meant I couldn't even keep painkillers down most of the time and when I could they didn't do much. It was accompanied by cold sweats and severe diarrhea. The pill put and end to all of that and I dread the day I have to come off it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

I think renaming the process would help. Mens-truation is a much more serious condition than say "lady-garden regeneration", just as 'flu is a much more bearable illness than man-flu.

sunbeam wrote: »
    That was me in my days before the pill. The vomiting meant I couldn't even keep painkillers down most of the time and when I could they didn't do much. It was accompanied by cold sweats and severe diarrhea. The pill put and end to all of that and I dread the day I have to come off it.
    Unreal. It's like having a severe bout of food poisoning or something. That time I had to bring my friend to the doctor I remember she had been vomiting violently since about midnight. How the hell does the body's rejection of an unfertilised egg cause vomiting and diarrhoea?!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

On one hand, no!

On the other hand:

1) Some ladies seem to need time off then anyway, and I'd sure hate to waste my annual leave on it.

2) Most lads get manflu twice a year, so it's about fair in terms of days off.

So seems fair enough.