Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Carl Froch vs George Groves

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Henno30

el flaco wrote: »
    Fight Schedule from the match room site

5:20pm
    Scotty Cardle v Kryzsztof Szot
    8 x 3 mins Lightweight Contest

6:00pm
    Rocky Fielding v Luke Blackledge
    12 x 3 mins Commonwealth Super Middleweight title

Kal Yafai v Abigail Medina
    6 x 3 mins Super-Flyweight Contest

Jamie McDonnell v Bernard Inom
    8 x 3 mins Bantamweight Contest

Stephen Smith v Sergio Manuel Medina
    10 x 3 mins Vacant WBC International Silver Super Featherweight title

Luke Campbell v Morgan Duthes
    6 x 3 mins Lightweight contest

Anthony Crolla v Stephen Foster Jr.
    12 x 3 mins WBO Inter-Continental Lightweight title

Andy Lee v Ferenc Hafner
    6 or 8 x 3 mins Middleweight Contest

Scott Quigg v Diego Silva
    12 x 3 mins WBA Super Bantamweight title

By 11:00pm
    Carl Froch v George Groves
    12 x 3 mins WBA and IBF Super Middleweight titles

Lee is well up the running order. Nice one. Hopefully he takes this dude out quickly and gets himself back in the public eye again. It's been too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,289 ✭✭✭megadodge

I think ye are missing my point.
    In fairness it was a general one not exclusively about Ward, but anyway I'm pretty certain that the interest in a Ward/Froch fight if held in England would be enormous over here, being hyped by Sky etc., while getting much the same interest over there, whereas if it was held in the US I don't think the interest over there would be any different, but the interest from this side would be far less. Ward is not a big draw. Plus the really big fights this side are often held at very late hours to accommodate US TV. All that = more $$ for Ward to fight Froch in England. That's why so many champs in the past fought round the world - money!!

Two of the most popular boxers in the world (that's the entire globe, not just the US) are from the Ukraine and they earn huge sums of money, so this bullsh!t about you can only earn big in the US doesn't cut it anymore. Ricky Hatton was already a millionaire before he even fought for a world title.

In relation to Ward proving himself, Ali had nothing to prove fighting almost everywhere, nor did Sugar Ray Robinson during his European tour. It has nothing to do with that, but if you want to be picky, it would be nice to see how Ward would cope fighting on the other side of the world in a different timezone, maybe different language or different culture instead of in his own backyard all the time. I personally think he'd do fine, but it would be nice to see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,967 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Lee is very high up that running order indeed. Matchroom clearly have plans involving him (I'm aware Dibella is his US promoter), makes Lee vs Macklin in Dublin, March 2014 seem that bit more likely.

Big Ears wrote: »
    Lee is very high up that running order indeed. Matchroom clearly have plans involving him (I'm aware Dibella is his US promoter), makes Lee vs Macklin in Dublin, March 2014 seem that bit more likely.

Hope so man. Just hope to god it's not Golovkin.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,595 ✭✭✭✭walshb

megadodge wrote: »
    In relation to Ward proving himself, Ali had nothing to prove fighting almost everywhere, nor did Sugar Ray Robinson during his European tour. It has nothing to do with that, but if you want to be picky, it would be nice to see how Ward would cope fighting on the other side of the world in a different timezone, maybe different language or different culture instead of in his own backyard all the time. I personally think he'd do fine, but it would be nice to see it.

I can see this side of the debate perfectly. In relation to Froch, he should be the one chasing Ward everywhere IF he is serious about a fight and serious about revenge!

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

In relation to the whole Andre Ward fighting in America, money, popularity etc. etc.

Dan Rafael reported:
    According to Nielsen, last Sat's Ward-Rodriguez fight on HBO drew 1.2M viewers, peaking at 1.3M. Considering HBO paid $3.15M that's poor.

It's always a little hard to gauge, but the venue didn't look like it was packed to the rafters either and it's not like they were fighting in the backend of nowhere as the venue was close to Ward's supposed fanbase. HBO can't be happy with this?

I know it wasn't exactly a mega fight, but for the pound for pound number 2 fighter in the world this is all a bit underwhelming. And it doesn't seem like a blip either.
    There are definitely cases to be made for each side of the 'Ward travelling/not travelling abroad to fight' argument. The one thing that can be said about Froch though is that he fills arenas and generates interest.

I'd love to see a breakdown of the financial rewards from each location though to see just how much more beneficial a US-based fight would actually be. There are so many factors involved - TV money, gate receipts, casino money etc - and i'd love to know just how big a gap there is between the markets rather than hear sweeping statements.

Ward is just not fan friendly or appealing when inside the ring. No single trait stands out as extraordinary.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Groces has definitly rattled Froch. Froch comes across as very arrogant in this video

• Registered Users Posts: 960 ✭✭✭jayod30

In relation to the whole Andre Ward fighting in America, money, popularity etc. etc.

Dan Rafael reported:

It's always a little hard to gauge, but the venue didn't look like it was packed to the rafters either and it's not like they were fighting in the backend of nowhere as the venue was close to Ward's supposed fanbase. HBO can't be happy with this?

I know it wasn't exactly a mega fight, but for the pound for pound number 2 fighter in the world this is all a bit underwhelming. And it doesn't seem like a blip either.
    There are definitely cases to be made for each side of the 'Ward travelling/not travelling abroad to fight' argument. The one thing that can be said about Froch though is that he fills arenas and generates interest.

I'd love to see a breakdown of the financial rewards from each location though to see just how much more beneficial a US-based fight would actually be. There are so many factors involved - TV money, gate receipts, casino money etc - and i'd love to know just how big a gap there is between the markets rather than hear sweeping statements.

I think the fact that all UK boxers at some point try to break into the US boxing scene speaks volumes in itself. That and every pundit on television says if you want to make it to the bigtime you have to break into the US. They can't all be wrong now, can they? Amir Khan, prime example, even after his two defeats he's still making more money over in the US than any boxer over this side of the pond

• Registered Users Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Froch and Groves both looked nervous at weigh in

• Registered Users Posts: 14,182 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Froch and Groves both looked nervous at weigh in
    What?! Froch looked as relaxed as I've seen him throughout the whole build up. He didn't look nervous at all. Groves looked a bit shook alright.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

I thought Groves looked grand, in the staredown he looked straight at him while Froch kept moving to say something in his ear.

I think the first 1 or 2 rounds will be a nervy affair for both boxers but once those initial rounds are out of the way I can see Froch assert his authority

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

5 euro sur-charge if ordered after 12 pm tonight, what a load of cock.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭ebbsy

HDMI Cable it is then.

Think thats only if you order by phone.

I believe it doesn't matter how you order. If you order on the day it's an extra 5 euro.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Alpha Dog 1

ebbsy wrote: »
    HDMI Cable it is then.

Yeah but it's annoying trying to find a decent steam especially on a woeful Internet connection!

walshb wrote: »
    I believe it doesn't matter how you order. If you order on the day it's an extra 5 euro.

It says €5 surcharge if you order by phone after midnight tonight on the preview shows.

• Registered Users Posts: 323 ✭✭el flaco

Johner wrote: »
    Think thats only if you order by phone.

Yep.

Do people still order by phone these days?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,289 ✭✭✭megadodge

Yep.

Do people still order by phone these days?

Yep.

They sure do.

Especially if they don't have a landline, like an awful lot of newer built houses now don't bother having.

Any craic at the weigh-in? Rachael didn't knock Paddy Fitz's hat off or anything like that?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Just ordered online. I know "fool & his money soon parted" but really looking forward to it. Go Froch :)

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭doublejj

going to fight...flight at 14.55 looking forward to it i hope groves goes well but have put fifty on carl rounds 7 to 12..

doublejj wrote: »
    going to fight...flight at 14.55 looking forward to it i hope groves goes well but have put fifty on carl rounds 7 to 12..

Money well spent or earned should I say;)

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭doublejj

i hope so...the men arena going to be something else...last fight i got too was carl frampton belfast feb,so been a while..andy will have easy fight

If Groves wins tomorrow I will celebrate with a feast of cans. If he loses I will drown my sorrows with a feast of cans.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭johnfaul

doublejj wrote: »

Put 30 myself on the same!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭but1er

the full shilling in finglas is showing the fight in finglas area

but1er wrote: »
    the full shilling in finglas is showing the fight in finglas area

The Full Shilling in Finglas is in the Finglas area? Go way ouha that;)