Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that have changed in Ireland over the last 30 years

• Registered Users Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭rainbowdrop

Thanks to the NCT, cars now are in a lot better condition.

I remember coming home on holidays from England, and the rust was so bad, you could see the road beneath the car when me and 6 of my cousins were being driven along by my Dad or Uncle (a la fred flinstone's car:D) Also seem to recall the driver's door being held on with wire! 6 or 7 kids in the back seat of a falling apart Opel Kadett without a seat belt between them was probably a common sight in Ireland in the 80s.

We'd be taken off to the pub, where the adults (including the driver) would drink 3 or 4 pints each, and a 2 litre bottle of TK red lemonade to share and a bag of tayto's each for all us kids!

You wouldn't get that type of Sunday Afternoon entertainment nowadays:(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Voltex

Buying bags of fruit and nuts from the stalls in front of Dublin Zoo and feeding every animal in the place.

The Ilac centre was actually a nice place to be..glass lifts were amazing.

Matchbox cars came in a cardboard box.

Bosco was the best entertainment on TV.

Fortycoats

Patschat...I don't know why people go on about Wonderly wagon..I don't remember a bit of it!

No Boards.ie
    No Rollercoaster.ie where all of my family planning is discussed!!
    No facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Ah, 1983. MTUSA presented by Vincent Hanley was on tv then.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,381 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

Indeed, this is noticeable.
    Why the hell is this though? People should be more aware of what food is good/bad for you.
    There is still the same levels of sport, even more choice if anything.
    There are now gyms.
    The pubs are quieter.
    There are more slimmer foreign nationals who we can learn from.

People drive everywhere. Hardly any kids walk to school where I live and at least half live within a mile of the place.

More snacking, more convenience food. 30 years ago many people were still on a meat and potatoes style diet, nothing fancy.

Just on Wibbs's point about the women being no bigger than a size 14, the women have gotten better looking\take care of their appearance more nowadays. Everyone remember the class pictures of the 70s and 80s of the girls with the massive glasses, Mary Robinson hair-dos and milk bottle legs on the walls of your old school or pics of your parents and their mates when they were young 'uns? You could hardly spot a looker. Now they're all GHD'd, San Tropez'd, Brazilian'd and Mac'd up (you may tell at this point that I'm in deeper waters than I can handle when it comes to women's grooming products). Probably the extra cash in the country and the accessibility of the requisite products have caused this.

It's even more recent than that. Found school tour photos from 1995 recently when I was 16 and the girls are wearing tracksuit bottoms, check shirts, denim shirts, no make up. No branded clothing or footwear. Most of it was probably from Penneys or Dunnes.

Cinema: Films came out in Ireland/Europe about 6 months after they did in America, and you just had to wait. No multiscreen cinemas, so the same one or two films could be showing for weeks.

At school you could figure out who had 'the channels' and who had RTE 1 and 2 based on what they watched. People in large towns/cities had access to cable. Rural based people only had the Irish channels.

No instant gratification, if you wanted a ticket to a concert you queued up (possibly all night) outside the local record shop for it, and had a bit of craic with the other people in the queue.

Far less exotic foods available in supermarkets. Seasonal fruit was just that. I remember always being excited in summer when strawberries would be on sale, often from street vendors/market. It was a massive treat for me. Now I can get them any day of the week. Now that I think about it, vegetables, fruits etc were sold as seen, none of this 'it's the wrong shape shite so consumers won't buy it' which means so much food never gets to the shops. Since when did shoppers say they wouldn't buy carrots and parsnips because they were a little crooked? Potatoes were not washed, spent many an evening scrubbing the mud off potatoes in the sink which had come out of a four stone bag.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Ben D Bus

All rubbish went into the same bin.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Parents could bate the sh*te out of their kids in public and nobody batted an eyelid.

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭WanabeOlympian

Im 27 and unless I had jsut done something physically demanding, gone out for a run or been working on the farm all day, i would only shower once or twice a week. I really don't understand these anal freaks who feel the need to shower once or twice a day

I really hope you are joking. That's pretty disgusting. At least shower once a day, if not for you for the sake of others. Take pride in your personal hygiene and grooming. It's a sure sign to people of high value/self esteem and an essential for first impressions. Hope your dental hygiene is up to scratch too, floss + brush + mouth wash X minimum twice a day. If not your breath also smells. Yikes :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

Im 27 and unless I had jsut done something physically demanding, gone out for a run or been working on the farm all day, i would only shower once or twice a week. I really don't understand these anal freaks who feel the need to shower once or twice a day

Is it a Butterfly Farm you have Crooked Jack?;)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Just on Wibbs's point about the women being no bigger than a size 14, the women have gotten better looking\take care of their appearance more nowadays. Everyone remember the class pictures of the 70s and 80s of the girls with the massive glasses, Mary Robinson hair-dos and milk bottle legs on the walls of your old school or pics of your parents and their mates when they were young 'uns? You could hardly spot a looker. Now they're all GHD'd, San Tropez'd, Brazilian'd and Mac'd up (you may tell at this point that I'm in deeper waters than I can handle when it comes to women's grooming products). Probably the extra cash in the country and the accessibility of the requisite products have caused this.
    With the identikit style nowadays- blonde dye job, Oompa Loompa fake tan, drawn on eyebrows and harsh makeup I wonder is it an improvement at all?
    More women take an interest in topiary nowadays (nudge, nudge) in fact it was probably extremely rare in old Ireland.
    No national anthem in nightclubs anymore, loads of drunks swaying unsteadily on their feet and singing/mumbling incoherently so people think they know the words :D

• Registered Users Posts: 392 ✭✭NickDunne

krudler wrote: »
    do you EVER see a brown car anymore?

Saw one of these yesterday :eek:

http://autocarinterior.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/09/2013-Ford-Fiesta-Side-Brown-View.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,697 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

The old 'children didn't play as much indoors' is bollox.

In the 80s we played indoors the majority of the time. Action man, transformers, action force, Scalextric, soldiers, lego, we had loads of options. A group of boys sitting around playing with toys has been replaced with a group of boys sitting around with console controllers in their hands, that's all. This is Ireland, it rained most of the time!

When we did go outside, we usually went far and wide to explore, unsupervised (not something kids are allowed at all today).

In the 80s going down the country meant every fecking small town in Ireland got a look in. Japanese cars were the most unreliable as they rusted (or at least had that reputation). Wintersports were unheard of. My old man appeared in a photo in the Irish Press for skiing in a field near the Dublin mountains.

The DART was like a whole new mode of transport when that started up and taking a trip out to Howth was a real adventure.

Divorce was illegal, but families still lived separately from their fathers.

Travel to England was by ferry and the adults always stocked up on Duty Free. With emigration, the term cattle ship, was still stuck in everyone's minds.

Gay Byrne was every house wives favourite and we believed he reflected the moral attitudes of the Irish as a people.

My father is a foreign national who moved to Ireland in the 60s from another European country (and had to sign on at the local garda station regularly to prove residence/whereabouts), he works in the field of electronics and communications and is adamant to this day that our phone was tapped right up to the late 80s.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Supercans

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Voltex wrote: »

Fortycoats

Patschat...I don't know why people go on about Wonderly wagon..I don't remember a bit of it!

Fortycoats was a character in Wanderly Wagon. I don't remember a separate programme with him in it (but I was most likely an adult by then and gone to England in search of work) but it must have been a spin off.

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Klim

When you were on the road and another car was driving slow/fast erratically, you laughed and said 'he must be plastered' and tried your best to avoid him.

Thankfully that attitude has changed.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

NickDunne wrote: »

It's not that bad! I think the poster meant the old dull matt brown.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Voltex

Fortycoats was a character in Wanderly Wagon. I don't remember a separate programme with him in it (but I was most likely an adult by then and gone to England in search of work) but it must have been a spin off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

I remember in the 80s Dunne's and Quinsworth had free trolleys that people used to take their weekly shopping up the road (most people did a weekly shop back then) and sometimes all the way home with them, where the young lads employed by the supermarkets had to do trolley runs every night to get them back.

Said lads had to wear brown shop coats and a shirt and tie to sweep the aisles in the supermarket and no earrings were allowed! Today staff wear polo shirts.

Public phone boxes were a common sight still in the 1980s. Then came snazzy card public phones in the 90s.

Some record shops had record clubs where you as a member could "rent" an vinyl album for a night for a quid and return it next day after taping it. Home taping is killing music indeed!

Video game machines cost 10p in video arcades, great place to hang out as a moody teenager. These type of video arcade are long gone now. Some hotels had the posh version, tabletop video game machines.

People wrote postcards when on holiday.

People wrote letters for just about everything.

Many pubs particularly suburban ones had youngsters working as lounge staff. Pub owners actually still worked in many pubs and had one or 2 senior barman who was really senior in years. Today most staff are under 40.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭worded

oldyouth wrote: »
    You bought a car, you bought a licence, you bought insurance and loaded the thing up with your mates and headed out on the road.

Ah yes the cartys. The sessions in the country with your chrome tapes with good tunes and good friends

• Registered Users Posts: 16,390 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Walking to school, kids these days need to be motored everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭Tomohawk

There was soap opera on the main radio station eeryday at lunchtime, Harbour Hotel!

CB Radio was a big "craze" in the early 80s, as were skateboards, hula hoops, and rubick cubes. I don't think crazes sweep the nations kids any more now that everything is utterly instant and online...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Those public safety ads on TV - there were loads of them and they were so scary!

Shopping centre muzak - bland jazz-funk instrumentals or instrumental covers of Michael Jackson/Earth Wind & Fire/Randy Crawford ballads. Still a lot better than the stuff that gets played today though.

• Registered Users Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

It must have been incredibly difficult back in the day to get around, arrange/cancel appointments without mobile phones.

Example: If you planned to meet up with a friend outside the GPO at such and such a time and something came up forcing you to cancel. You would have no choice but to leave your friend hanging around like a lemon.

Probably the only thing that has maybe dis-improved is the build quality of houses unless you pay extra. Although architecture has improved greatly with buildings that will still hold up in 20/30 years time. Same can't be said for 70s/80s architecture today.

blow69 wrote: »
    It must have been incredibly difficult back in the day to get around, arrange/cancel appointments without mobile phones.

Example: If you planned to meet up with a friend outside the GPO at such and such a time and something came up forcing you to cancel. You would have no choice but to leave your friend hanging around like a lemon.

To be honest, no it wasn't. If you had arranged to meet someone you bloody well turned up. There was no flakiness of getting the text 10 minutes after you were supposed to meet saying 'sorry won't make it' when they've known they can't be arsed for the previous 45 minutes. People weren't in contact as much so I guess people followed through on plans rather than just dropping them at the last minute because they got a text from someone with a better offer.

Anyone who grew up in Limerick and socialised there will have spent time standing outside Brown Thomas/Todds on a Saturday night to meet people. There was always a line of people there waiting for friends.

Actually myself and my friends when we were teenagers booked coaches to go to gigs many times in the mid 90s long before mobile phones and it would go something like this. There would be 7 or 8 of us, and each of those friends would have 2 or 3 more friends who were going to the same gig and would book a space with us and so on. And the list would grow until we had filled the bus. All by word of mouth. They would be told the cost of the bus, the location and time it would be leaving. Everyone always turned up on the morning looking for the girl who was friends with their boyfriends friend etc, and handed the money over. No mobile phones, no Facebook group invites. You couldn't do that now, most people wouldn't give you a straight answer and plenty would send you a text on the morning (probably late) say 'I'm not going, chat to you again' without hint of explanation or apology.

• Registered Users Posts: 173 ✭✭ElWalrus

TV Habits.

One TV in the house, and all the family would hang out in the one room, with it being confiscated when the late late show would come on on Fridays.

Having to watch your favorite program at the time the TV channel allocated.

Oh, and watching a lot more late night channel 4 back in the day! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

blow69 wrote: »
    Young people nowadays probably dont know how to use a landline or would be too lazy to go to the hall/kitchen to even make the call.

Agree with other poster, if you arranged to meet friends - you met them.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

kfallon wrote: »
    Also, the currency :p

The stupid buggers could have put the designs of our beautiful old currency on our euro coins, but some eejit thought fish, fowl and four-leggeds wouldn't make us look important enough. Ah for the humility of the Celtic Tiger!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

A man pushing a pram or doing the shopping was a lot rarer in the old days (not macho). A father staying at home with the children while the woman worked too. I think a woman had to stop working when she got married up until the 70's or 80's.

Thankfully all the bull**** stigma of unmarried and single mothers has gone out the window as well (still some people clinging to that mindset though).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

A man pushing a pram or doing the shopping was a lot rarer in the old days (not macho). A father staying at home with the children while the woman worked too. I think a woman had to stop working when she got married up until the 70's or 80's.

Thankfully all the bull**** stigma of unmarried and single mothers has gone out the window as well (still some people clinging to that mindset though).

A woman had to give up work when she got married up until we joined the EEC, so early 70's.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

OneArt wrote: »
    I don't understand how some people can get out of bed and get dressed straight away. I always feel grimy and disgusting when I wake up, have to shower at least once a day.

I shower the night before. :pac: