Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hill 16 not open for Meath v Tyrone/Kildare?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

There's never a minor match in Old Trafford and the like, yet you'd probably pay as much or more for a midweek league game there as you'd pay for a latter stage of the championship day in Croke Park. You don't need a plane or ferry to get to Croke Park, with the exception of the London fans.

People will be in Croke Park for 6 hours, but only because they are getting 6 hours of entertainment. It is not as if they are going to be in Croke Park for 6 hours to see one match. I'd like to, but unfortunately I can't go on Saturday, but be it 2 hours, 4 hours or 6 hours, there is nowhere like Croke Park on a big match day, and the big ones are starting to come thick and fast.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    Disgraceful if true. Grab all association

yes because there is no way that the money goes back into things like oh i dunno loads of underage coaches in dublin or facilities for these young folk to play in.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,204 ✭✭✭overshoot

an argument of price is a bit crap with it being over 3 games but (as someone who wont be in croker anyway!) i enjoy the terrace more, i just find a better atmosphere there, easier to shout & cheer standing, gather with your friends, (unless someone is going to buy all the tickets!)
    sure look at the calls to bring back standing areas in the premier league, the terraces in the bundesliga, especially dortmunds.

matches are enjoyable in themselves cant beat being there but its the little things that add to it!

oh and not having someone stand up infront of you when the ball goes into the corner, do the half stand behind them and then all the calls for everyone to sit down.

in saying all that, standing on a terrace for 3 games would be tough going!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Not complaining about the price itself. As others have said, a decent crowd on the terrace creates a better atmosphere. People can stand where they like, groups of fans can congregate together and get songs and chants going. In seats, you're stuck where your ticket says. It feels a bit wrong singing and chanting while sitting and you can't exactly stand up as you'll likely get a belt with a match programme.
    Some of the best atmospheres I've witnessed have been in terraces, be it in Croke Park or elsewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

overshoot wrote: »

oh and not having someone stand up infront of you when the ball goes into the corner, do the half stand behind them and then all the calls for everyone to sit down.
    and you can't exactly stand up as you'll likely get a belt with a match programme.

Sorry, going off topic I know, but just tell those people to cop the f**k on. Oh no, someone stood up at a football match :eek: Call the guards..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭howiya

Jaysus would love to get some of these cheap tickets for Dublin matches that ye're on about. €35 for the stand last week and the week before. €25 for three matches on Saturday. Milking the cash cow as usual ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,013 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Dubliner28 wrote: »
    Disgraceful if true. Grab all association

Isn't that very clever of you, using the letters of the GAA to spell out your little slur.

That's until you realise that the GAA are a non-profit orgaisation where the money gets pumped back into the game. Christ there are some idiots around, and on this thread. Every time I hear someone call the GAA money grabbing or the like I cringe.

The GAA try to come up with a fine balance between letting supporters see games at affordable prices and providing enough money to cater for the present and future needs of the GAA. I think by and large, they do a decent job. 25 quid with fiver kids tickets and students for 15 isnt bad at all, considering the supporters can take their pick of 3 games. I can understand people being aggrieved without the Hill, but there really wouldnt be enough on there to make it logically worthwhile opening it. A better idea mightve been to open the Davin for 15 for an Adult, something they still might do now that Cavan are coming also.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Sorry, going off topic I know, but just tell those people to cop the f**k on. Oh no, someone stood up at a football match :eek: Call the guards..

Slightly off topic but i was in the cusack for the leinster final and two older gentlemen jumped up when bray scored the first point.this then started a row between them and two gentlemen of a similar age to my right which rumbled on till half time.the two on my right got up and never came back for the second half!!it was way over the top the ball wasnt even in play when the two lads jumped up!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

rpurfield wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but i was in the cusack for the leinster final and two older gentlemen jumped up when bray scored the first point.this then started a row between them and two gentlemen of a similar age to my right which rumbled on till half time.the two on my right got up and never came back for the second half!!it was way over the top the ball wasnt even in play when the two lads jumped up!

Slightly slightly off topic:rolleyes: ... Dublin played Cork in 1998 NFL Final, myself and 2 friends were in the Hogan in a row above 6-7 Cork lads. Cork were much the better team and the Cork fellas were up and down out of their seats, and my pal had asked them repeatedly to sit down. It got to the stage where they were standing up for no reason (other than to piss yer man off), there was an element of being bad winners about them.

This is where the story gets a bit vague as myself and my other buddy were chatting or not minding what was going on below - but next minute the fisty cuffs break out, we were like a scene from Custers last stand with us 3 on the higher ground holding back the hordes ....we were "escorted" out with about 5 mins left in the game.

Can I just say I don't condone in any way what happened - never occurred again, the situation was kinda forced upon me - but like Black Hawk Down no man was being left behind - strange thing was our lad that got involved first of all was a Tipp man... and yeah Dubs shouldn't be in the Hogan ..mea culpa:D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭cson

Not complaining about the price itself. As others have said, a decent crowd on the terrace creates a better atmosphere. People can stand where they like, groups of fans can congregate together and get songs and chants going. In seats, you're stuck where your ticket says. It feels a bit wrong singing and chanting while sitting and you can't exactly stand up as you'll likely get a belt with a match programme.
    Some of the best atmospheres I've witnessed have been in terraces, be it in Croke Park or elsewhere.

This is it.

Really couldn't give a ****e about the price; I'd pay the same price to be on the Hill. You just can't beat a terrace atmosphere and if you get a good spot on it, its a cracking place to watch a match. Very pissed off they're not opening it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

howiya wrote: »
    Jaysus would love to get some of these cheap tickets for Dublin matches that ye're on about. €35 for the stand last week and the week before. €25 for three matches on Saturday. Milking the cash cow as usual ;)

Dublin's last game was a provincial final, Saturdays games are qualifiers, it has fcuk all to do with anyone milking anyone and these prices are set at the start of the year regardless of who is playing.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Flukey wrote: »
    Well the Cavan fans have had 16 years to save for Croke Park, so it should be no bother to them, and the London fans, bar the ones there for their hurling team a couple of years ago, have had a lifetime to save. As I said, they have a choice, they can go or stay at home. If they go, even if the Hill tickets are not available, they have to pay costs.

The other thing about this is the way it is always portrayed that all fans that go to matches come from within the borders of those counties. Us Dubs always get it thrown at us that we are close to Croke Park. In any other scenario we are told how many non-Dubs live in Dublin. Go to Croke Park on any day and enroute, all around Dublin, you'll see flags of the competing counties hanging out windows. So a lot of the fans supporting their counties won't be going that far. Even if they don't live in Dublin, they may still be closer to Dublin than their home county is. As for us Dubs, there are many Dubliners that don't live in Dublin and regularly travel to Dublin from down the country or abroad to go to games. We have to pay for food and drink and tickets too, even if some of us do have cheaper travel costs because of where we live.

Many of the travelling fans will come up the night before and stay in uncle Paddy and aunty Mary's house and have their breakfasts served up to them and have a dinner waiting for them when they get back there that evening. They may slum with the big brother who's got a musty flat as he prepares for his second year in UCD, or the place may even be empty as he is off on his summer holidays. So that is a total cost for food and accommodation, including tax, of €0. Even us Dubs don't get it that cheap. The flask and the ever reliable hang sandwiches saves money on food. So plenty of people are able to save a lot more money than they like to let on in one way or another. Even if there is a cockroach in the shower of the big brother's flat or aunty Mary doesn't seem to have changed the sheets on the bed since the last time they were there a few years ago, it is worth it for a night or two, all to see their county play in Croke Park.

Is this all aimed at some imaginary part of my post where I said the cost of tickets was an issue?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,842 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

keane2097 wrote: »
    Is this all aimed at some imaginary part of my post where I said the cost of tickets was an issue?
    the very first post mentions price so setting the tone on the thread.
    I've read on another forum that Hill 16 won't be open for the round 4 qualifier in Coke Park. Big deal you might say but many supporters will stay at home if they can't avail of the slightly less priced tickets.

the very first post mentions price so setting the tone on the thread.

He quoted my post where I specifically said ticket pricing wasn't an issue and mentioned a different issue relating to Cavan and London, and he spent three paragraphs telling me how Cavan and London should have been saving money for the last 20 years.

I don't get it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

I just want to stand up...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Al_Coholic

Nailz wrote: »
    I just want to stand up...

but if you stay for the 3 games you will be lucky to be standing after that!

• Registered Users Posts: 882 ✭✭✭darragh16

I think €25 for three qualifiers is a good deal. Three big games, each team will be desperate to get to the All-Ireland series also big day out for Cavan and London regardless.

I'm travelling down to Croke Park for the day, even though my county aren't even playing. Hopefully the weather is like last weekend's and it'll be a good day out with some good competitive football.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭howiya

Dublin's last game was a provincial final, Saturdays games are qualifiers, it has fcuk all to do with anyone milking anyone and these prices are set at the start of the year regardless of who is playing.

Ulster final was €25 on Sunday. Guarantee you that if Dublin were going through a dry spell in Leinster and weren't likely to be in the final more often than not that ticket prices would be cheaper.

Leinster prices are based on the Dubs attending. Fair play to the Ulster council for charging a reasonable price on Sunday

• Registered Users Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Lads the GAA are not the grab all association. But many of us would like the option to stand on the Hill because we enjoy it more than sitting down. You can sing/chant to your hearts content and don't have to worry about anyone giving you funny looks.

even if they charge 20€ for the hill or if it was the same price I'd still go. If they didn't open the hill why not sell the davin stand tickets at the price of the hill and allow meath supporters who want to great a good atmosphere gather there?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

RoyalCelt wrote: »
    Lads the GAA are not the grab all association. But many of us would like the option to stand on the Hill because we enjoy it more than sitting down. You can sing/chant to your hearts content and don't have to worry about anyone giving you funny looks.

even if they charge 20€ for the hill or if it was the same price I'd still go. If they didn't open the hill why not sell the davin stand tickets at the price of the hill and allow meath supporters who want to great a good atmosphere gather there?

Remember when Meath used to own the old Canal and acted as a counterbalance to the Hill. Thems were the days.

RoyalCelt wrote: »

The Davin end CANNOT POSSIBLY be worth the same as a ticket in the middle of the Cusack or Hogan stand.
    By rights the good tickets should be 30 or 35 or maybe even 50/60 euro for really, really good tickets, the less good ones (i.e. standing or behind goals) 20, 15 or even a tenner and it would all balance out income wise.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,776 ✭✭✭Big Pussy Bonpensiero

The Davin end CANNOT POSSIBLY be worth the same as a ticket in the middle of the Cusack or Hogan stand.
    By rights the good tickets should be 30 or 35 or maybe even 50/60 euro for really, really good tickets, the less good ones (i.e. standing or behind goals) 20, 15 or even a tenner and it would all balance out income wise.
    Something that the GAA has continually failed to acknowledge, which is a joke, especially for AI final day. They have tiered pricing though for the American football game next August which is interesting, hopefully they will introduce tiered pricing for GAA games after that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

iDave wrote: »
    Remember when Meath used to own the old Canal and acted as a counterbalance to the Hill. Thems were the days.

Those were the days. We've had some good recent ones on the hill as well. Tyrone 07, Mayo 09, Louth/Kildare 10 but none since I'm afraid.

Upper Davin is the best place to watch a game from by an absolute mile IMO.

If you want to see how a game is tactically unfolding, viewing it from behind the end lines or the corners is the only place to be.

• Registered Users Posts: 541 ✭✭✭Hibbeler

iDave wrote: »

It would surely be possible for them to take out some of the seats on the lower tier of the new canal end and use it as terracing? Probably would never happen but I like the idea. I'm too young to remember the good old days of the canal end terrace

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Hibbeler wrote: »
    It would surely be possible for them to take out some of the seats on the lower tier of the new canal end and use it as terracing? Probably would never happen but I like the idea. I'm too young to remember the good old days of the canal end terrace

Even perhaps the safe standing they have in some European football stadiums. Should also be considered in the new Casement and PUC

keane2097 wrote: »
    Upper Davin is the best place to watch a game from by an absolute mile IMO.

If you want to see how a game is tactically unfolding, viewing it from behind the end lines or the corners is the only place to be.
    Have to agree.
    I got a cheap ticket in a similar position high over the corner flag in the allianz arena in Munich for a Bayern Munich champions league game and it was fantastic.
    Same in Croker if you get up the back of the hill but over to the side near the Cusack stand. Spot on.

Lower Davin down in the corner though is the polar opposite and an especially bitter experience when you have flown back to Ireland specially for the game (Cavans U21 final a couple of years back).

I actually remember that the view from the Canal end the one day I was there, which was for the Dub v Leitrim semi final, was spot on once you were up the middle a bit, but the crowding on the terrace that day is not something you'd look back at romatically wishing that the old Canal end was still in place!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

supposedly the Jones Road near Croker is flooded. Hope its fine for everyone going to the games tomorow

• Registered Users Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

• Registered Users Posts: 9,372 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Dr. Bre wrote: »

the gaa have anti flood measures in place. :D

Maybe the upper terraces will be open after all.