Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭dredg

Spent a few hours washing the car. It's been about 2 months since it was last cleaned.
    Washed, detarred, deironed (ran out of iron cleanse near the end).
    Then went over it with SRP, sealed with orchard speed seal and topped with orchard perfection.
    `
    Not many pics, mostly afters.

CC04CA89-D047-4BCE-B2AC-5BDAD69E95DD.jpg

28A64282-C646-4E25-AF5B-9020615CE397.jpg

13c57f7c-bec0-4b22-af7c-754430d7c41a.jpg

C773C5FF-97F7-4455-B3D3-93B4260A6711.jpg

BECCA743-5155-48AA-83C9-AABF6940225B.jpg

FE76FCF5-C0CD-4B49-957E-5E9C14B4988E.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Quick wash, the C1 is still doing it's job.

IMAG0290_zps04bg2tx3.jpg

Quick spin to dry off and a coat of 845.

IMAG0295_zpsahylqmuv.jpg
    IMAG0296_zpsq3dtzjzq.jpg

Then some TLC for the wheels
    IMAG0293_zpsxmrrf3wa.jpg

Tried to do the other car but it's so baked in tar it will need a serious going over to sort it out. Job for tomorrow along with covering a couple of stone chips on the front of the white one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Can't say I'm wild about the car (sorry :o) but the bodywork finish is phenomenal!!! Fair play to ya :):)

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Can't say I'm wild about the car (sorry :o) but the bodywork finish is phenomenal!!! Fair play to ya :):)

I'm lucky I've been down at my parents place the last few weekends and can sort it properly there without herself finding another use for my time. It's not usually that clean...doing 1k a week means it's usually manky and if I can't do it properly it doesn't get done.

Look of the car should change for the better if a few plans come together. Starting with those bloody wheels. Hate them with a passion.

I'm lucky I've been down at my parents place the last few weekends and can sort it properly there without herself finding another use for my time. It's not usually that clean...doing 1k a week means it's usually manky and if I can't do it properly it doesn't get done.

Look of the car should change for the better if a few plans come together. Starting with those bloody wheels. Hate them with a passion.

That is the attitude to have!!

I know from having my white car, it's fairly easy to get it looking fine, and even hides the dirt quite well (far better than black). But it's very very difficult to get it looking good very close up and in photos!!

Keep up the work and I look forward to seeing these plans come together :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I got a new impact wrench today so I said I'd do a full wheel detail and make use of it:

First a wash. Gtechniq G Wash shampoo/wheel mitt on the rim itself and Meguiars super degreaser and wheel brush on the tyre wall to remove all old dressing:

AAA4BECFD887486788160C3FE28F9D4B-0000372590-0003577219-00500L-0801EF985F324C6A9F715D4000579E01.jpg

Mmmmmm beads!

8AD2DDCA00CB4404A81272EC62D24C06-0000372590-0003577217-00500L-858414DB8D744A279B2A64E3E597F4FE.jpg

Then all dried and 2 goes of Gtechniq Panel Wipe to remove all old Collinite and just to get the streaks out

4657A769C1FA4F1BABBB8C89B2F0902D-0000372590-0003577223-00500L-EE2990ADBA0949B69BCA0E407322BE12.jpg

In the sun to warm up the surface to again promote bonding

98E4F43A0D7B400E9AC7B32BDDC74BDA-0000372590-0003577215-00500L-51956CABD02045EC8EFAF85F23DE7B42.jpg

Then 2 coats of

98A5D5539655444F96CA67F40A3C269F-0000372590-0003577222-00500L-10ECDB577BB14702BDDB8E5D7CE4E100.jpg

Followed by 2 coats of

AA9703B2E49147BB857F3D23B1845486-0000372590-0003577218-00500L-56B8888C69954BDB95F076CECF50D5CC.jpg

Finished

8977681CDE0742B38F8C0739E21E3145-0000372590-0003577216-01024L-C6575612F22F4FC89AF50AA60766FF7C.jpg

538D9F85B11E481AB299D5650291618A-0000372590-0003577225-01024L-6DF043D3C1584EF8A9C8B4791AEF5B91.jpg

I also got this from Burger Motorsport which is a huge help to guide the wheel on

21C46E3CB0484CDB9D947030FBAE9A32-0000372590-0003577221-00500L-FAECB5872655467C84BA80CFFAD8968F.jpg

And a few pics of the LED angel eyes also from Burger MS

985A80AD31B541C481585DEC076ACBC0-0000372590-0003577220-00800L-367EEC5FFFB14532819C8FD4F7D8FA5A.jpg

EF33C493BF234E348814CA33ED46BF0D-0000372590-0003577224-00800L-A0149C6FE48C46869E56009200F7C6AB.jpg

Ded_Zebra wrote: »

There was a chap on here that did this with his one I believe (Can't think who, off the top of my head) but as far as I know, it required dismantling the whole thing, replacing the gauze, and putting it back together again.

Looked incredibly tedious.

That said, i may give it a lash. Certainly a less expensive option.

That was vectra.

Well if it's not working anyway, give it a go. It'll also give you a chance to see the inner workings of the lance :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭dredg

Nice job on the wheels MM. I have 2 of the guide pins - better than just one as you can balance the wheel perfectly in place.
    What wattage are the LEDs?

dredg wrote: »
    Nice job on the wheels MM. I have 2 of the guide pins - better than just one as you can balance the wheel perfectly in place.
    What wattage are the LEDs?

Yeah, I found that out too late haha although once you have the wheel on, it's just as easy to use a knee to hold the bottom :)

I haven't a clue what wattage they are to be honest. All I know is that they're made specifically for the 335i and are 6000K white light and a direct replacement for the H8 35W. They do bring up an error on the dash but it goes away immediately.

Also, these don't dim when the dims/heads are on like the OEM H8's do.

Find them on THIS page. I also have a set of the H8 Arc Angel bulbs but they're not as bright as the LEDs during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I hope you don't mind me asking for advice here, but you know when you get a rust spot on the bodywork of a car - and it causes a running like stain to come onto the bodywork (doing a mighty job of explaining this :pac:), what would be the best way of getting the "stain" to go. I appreciate that a polish should take it away, but there isn't a hope in hell that it's going to get near a machine polisher - the jeep isn't mine, and I'm already getting looked at as if I have 10 heads for cleaning it - it's only for "pottering around". But still I want these things gone. Any products that can take them off?

The pics are quite bad..

mmz8go.jpg

2czf3hj.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

There was a chap on here that did this with his one I believe (Can't think who, off the top of my head) but as far as I know, it required dismantling the whole thing, replacing the gauze, and putting it back together again.

Looked incredibly tedious.

That said, i may give it a lash. Certainly a less expensive option.

I put a guide up here one time.
    Give it a lash. It is no biggie to be honest.
    Nice job on the wheels MM
    and nice coat of 845 there Muppetcheck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Hours cleaning the car then the weather turns bad,only one thing to do....

InsignificantBlaringIndianpalmsquirrel.gif

Today I spent a fair amount of time on my dad's Optima. It's been a bit neglected and probably has done about 8-10K since its last wash!! I don't think that I ever put and LSP on it but if I did it was a couple of coats of Extra Gloss Protection about a year ago :o.
    So the procedure for today was:

Snowfoam

Rinse

Wash with 2BM rinsing after each panel due to the heat today :cool:

De-tar, It was absolutely covered in tar from driving over raodworks I think. 'Twas in a shocking state!

Clay

Washed again

The wheels were given a fairly quick going over. If it was mine I would have teen them off and sealed them but that car doesn't deserve that much effort :p

Dried and then pulled into the garage

Not the best light for showing swirls but, as you can see there are almost none on the car due to proper washing and drying when the car is infrequently washed!

3F318E8EFDF8400D98233522FA30EEFF-0000363222-0003577685-01024L-70FC6FF12BA94C8BA9390261FF3F8CA7.jpg

When in the garage it got 3 coats of Finis Wax. Then it was sent on its merry way for another 12 months with just the occasional top up with OAC Perfection most lightly!! And of course the tyres were dressed too. :)

0FDC59CC4B444341A78304339A1D3E17-0000363222-0003577684-01024L-EF1A8DA36198469688ADA0526E0A6349.jpg

83075B3BB71E465B9AA976ECE140A9C3-0000363222-0003577682-01024L-90D8A017ABB84C27BF249D0BF7CD3BCA.jpg

8691F9596A3643A88EB130B0B0B5EA8A-0000363222-0003577688-01024L-B16F369369194E4B868519F406E519D4.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Curran wrote: »
    Five hours well spent!! :cool:
    A pint for every hour spent detailing helps the recovery! ;)

Good work!
    Nice work Spike. She looks great!

Thanks guys. Happy with the results. Pretty sure i can shave an hour or two off the time when i get my DA polisher

I know i said i'd do the interior but i got lazy :o
    I'm off tomorrow so i'll give it a go then.

Anyone used Gtechniq C4? How long does the bottle last?
    Want to do my scuttle panel. Trim gel wears off very quickly. Need something permanent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Anyone used Gtechniq C4? How long does the bottle last?
    Want to do my scuttle panel. Trim gel wears off very quickly. Need something permanent

One application of C4 will easily last >2 years. There's a small amount in a bottle, but that small amount would easily do for multiple applications.

Can't get over the Collinite 845. Done about 600km since it was done Saturday and it's still beading nicely and a quick blast of the hose had it sparkling again earlier.

I'll go again.... Never mind the rust, but what product would take them stains away?

2czf3hj.jpg

Can't get over the Collinite 845. Done about 600km since it was done Saturday and it's still beading nicely and a quick blast of the hose had it sparkling again earlier.

Suppose it's nothing without pics...

IMAG0304_zpsudybw1rg.jpg
    IMAG0305_zps7vgb0xwu.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

I'll go again.... Never mind the rust, but what product would take them stains away?

2czf3hj.jpg

Opps; I had meant to reply to your first attempt.

A Fall Out Remover / De-Iron type product might take the staining out! Failing that, polishing!

2czf3hj.jpg

Cillit bang ;).......BANG!!!!.....and the rust is gone :D

Have you tried claying the stains? If yo clay the stains and the rust, use a polish to remove any remaining crap and seal it with a good wax, the water won't be able to get at the rust to make it "leak" like that.

Thanks lads, have tried lots on it, but I'll give the de iron type thing a lash anyway. Like I said above, it's not getting any VIP treatment, all it gets is a quick wash with a combined wash and wax and a QD. It's just them stains take from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I bought a snow foam lance from DS. Can't wait to get some mr pink going :D,

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Maybe I'm wrong, but if a coat of wax didn't last 4 days I reckon we should all give up :)

mossym wrote: »
    Maybe I'm wrong, but if a coat of wax didn't last 4 days I reckon we should all give up :)

I meant with bugs/bird crap and the way they came off so quickly and didn't damage the coat when they came off. The first pic had been used for target practice by birds in the meantime and you wouldn't know. Usually the beading wouldn't be as good but it looks perfect.

ah i get what you mean. and i enjoy looking after the car. i just know if it has to be done too often the novelty would wear off pretty quickly

this weekend i washed mine using the 2bm, the collinite 845 i put on a couple of weeks ago still looks perfect.then it was on to the wifes car, washed, detarred, washed, then 2 coats of 845. her paint job is poor though, lots of swirls, scratches and marks. it's a 08 passat, i reckon it would need a good bitof work to get it right

oh and then all 8 alloys were cleaned and brake dust taken off. can you use the same detar on the wheels? or will a fall out remover/de-iron remove tar as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

mossym wrote: »
    or will a fall out remover/de-iron remove tar as well?

Fall out removers can sometimes soften tar spots, but wont really remove the heavier, well caked on stuff. De-tar first and then fall out remover is what's recommended! ;)

cheers curran. more chemicals to purchase so..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I've used AG intense tar remover and had good results with it. It only requires a small amount on a pad to 'tar off' the panels. Then I just hose the panels as it's a biatch to remove if it dries in. That's my pre claying stage done then.