Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭RWD

ianobrien wrote: »
    Oh God - Had you a Hazmat suit on?

I didn't :D it was mostly rubbish and dust from the building site he works on.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭RWD

Why bother if someone keeps a car like that? Let him wallow in his filth I say!

He was selling it,new owner collected it this morning,sold to a lad he's working with coincidently,on the same building site so it'll probably be back to that state in a weeks time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Spent about 4 hours on the car today, it was pretty filthy so needed a good clean. Snowfoamed it, washed, dried, applied QD then cleaned and polished the glass.

As soon I finished I called over to my folks' house for about an hour. Parked the car on the street under some wires and an army of birds collectively sh*t itself over my shiny car:mad:

Here's the results;
    y75LSNvl.jpg

ECuYxuil.jpg

BXYFiXbl.jpg

eszILmyl.jpg

OxZOwXUl.jpg

Had to drive home, get all the gear out again and wash it once again. The neighbours must think I've completely lost it!

On another note, it was the first wash after I applied DLUX to the wheels a couple of weeks ago. Amazing results, the pressure washer took 99% of the dirt and dust off the wheels. Well worth the effort:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭M S E

They didn't hold back! Would have lost it :) Some job on the wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,832 ✭✭✭dmc17

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Spent about 4 hours on the car today, it was pretty filthy so needed a good clean. Snowfoamed it, washed, dried, applied QD then cleaned and polished the glass.

As soon I finished I called over to my folks' house for about an hour. Parked the car on the street under some wires and an army of birds collectively sh*t itself over my shiny car:mad:

Had to drive home, get all the gear out again and wash it once again. The neighbours must think I've completely lost it!

On another note, it was the first wash after I applied DLUX to the wheels a couple of weeks ago. Amazing results, the pressure washer took 99% of the dirt and dust off the wheels. Well worth the effort:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

You didn't need to wash it again. Remove the crap with a wet tissue, spray of QD and a cloth would do the job.

I did. Wet tissue is fine for one or two bombs but this was more like fifty.

They'd crapped in every awkward spot imaginable, between both driver and passenger windows and the trim, both door shuts, under the glass in the wing mirrors and they even managed to get crap behind the fuel flap. I think they must have dive bombed it, Stuka style:)

It was much quicker and safer for the paint to foam it then try to take what remained off with the pressure washer and finish with a quick wash as some of it had already started to etch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,690 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Sorry Ronnie3585
    I couldnt help but laugh when I saw the actual amount of $hite on the car. Mother of divine. :D

On a serious note though
    Great job, And I have to agree, Dlux on the wheels is fantastic. Have you tried it on black trim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

The birds must have been out for a Vindaloo! Dirty feckers!
    ronnie3585 wrote: »
    OxZOwXUl.jpg

On another note, the LSP is winning here - look that the bomb drip down the length of the car! ;)

Ah stop lads, it was like a scene from Saving Private Ryan!

The layer of BH Auto QD I had applied earlier made it very easy to wash the car quickly, it was just a pain in the hole lugging all the gear out again!

@Vectra - yeah I have DLUX on the trim and it's fantastic. The trim had faded to an off grey colour but this has brought it back to a factory finish. It beads like crazy too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭edburg

So been quiet this summer, moving house etc etc

But got around to decent wash and put some carpro forte on glass at last, only bought it about 4 months ago to do it lol

The right time to be applying it considering it won't be long before the weather turns and shortened day light ;)

Curran wrote: »
    The right time to be applying it considering it won't be long before the weather turns and shortened day light ;)

Certainly was its lashing it down here now :pac::pac:

Out of tax after trip to dublin tomorrow in it. But its on there just incase need car in emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Was going to tackle the car the weekend, have a new polisher ,pads , polish, all the cleaners except for fallout remover.
    Forgot it when I was ordering.
    Anybody know if It's safe to use Bilt Hamber Auto Wheel as a fallout remover on the body of the car?

Or will I forget that step and the clay bar will take care of it?

To strong as it is at a guess but if you can't wait you could maybe mix it in a spare bottle. Maybe a 1:3-1:5 product/water ratio.

But I'd wait for confirmation from likes of Curran and think its foxhole who is detailer by trade.

Read the heading ya lazy bo**ix :D

Meh...mentioned who did it.

Ahem......
    Today I did some detailing......

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,086 ✭✭✭GustavoFring

vectra wrote: »
    Ahem......

LOL

Grand it's deleted.

Err.
    I was only taking the Pi$$ :eek:

I know:) Fair point though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I know:) Fair point though.

Fair point me hole! Throw 'em back up! The Superb looks lovely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

All my hard work, GONE :pac:

That was undone in the first couple of miles:D

And the first brush wash at the local.
    Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Gave the A6 a good clean and seal for the Winter, and changed the standard 18" Alloys for New 20"

37498405141_3ba1949c1a_h.jpg

37498405281_799aeb1503_h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Lovely job SBPhoto.

A nice way to be heading into the winter - need to find some time to throw something onto my own!

Would you not leave the 18s on for the worst of the winter? Stick the 20s on in mid Feb or so?

Looks great; nice bus! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

Curran wrote: »
    A nice way to be heading into the winter - need to find some time to throw something onto my own!

Would you not leave the 18s on for the worst of the winter? Stick the 20s on in mid Feb or so?

Looks great; nice bus! ;)
    Thanks Curran, just bought the 20" from Germany Tyres included, was thinking the same, leave until late February, but could resist putting them on now. got my regular tyre centre to do it. might change back before the worst of the Winter sets in.

Beautiful car that A6.
    Put some Dlux or something good on those wheels before the bad weather comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Great job on that SBPhoto.

I need a small kick up the backside like that nice job that I need to do the same to the Leon and the motorhome. I've also an Octavia that needs a polish as well as sealing and a mk2 Escort that needs going through.

This weekend is out but maybe I'll find time to get it done. I may have to kick the Escort out of its nice warm garage and commandeer it to get the polishing and sealing done.