Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I did some detailing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭Curran

It's OK, there's far better for a few more Euro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bbari

I bought incredimitt on Friday and it really is inedible. It cost E23. That's a jump from E2 Lidl mitt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭micks_address

bbari wrote: »
    I bought incredimitt on Friday and it really is inedible. It cost E23. That's a jump from E2 Lidl mitt :)

Wait you tried to eat it? :) have one as well... Very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bbari

Wait you tried to eat it? :) have one as well... Very good

hahaha. It is inCredible too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Rather than start a new thread, I thought I'd stick this in here. The Karcher hose reel and cart is reduced to €25.61 in Argos at the moment.Very handy for anyone no matter what brand of powerwasher they might have.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4577917.htm?desktopSiteActive=true&_$ja=tsid%3A30390%7Cprd%3A8088783

zerks wrote: »
    Rather than start a new thread, I thought I'd stick this in here. The Karcher hose reel and cart is reduced to €25.61 in Argos at the moment.Very handy for anyone no matter what brand of powerwasher they might have.

http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4577917.htm?desktopSiteActive=true&_$ja=tsid%3A30390%7Cprd%3A8088783

Thanks for that, reserved one in dundalk last night and collected today.. They said the price was 62 something when I collected but they honoured the 25 euro price as I the email reservation with me. Seems like good quality certainly for the price.

Cheers,
    Mick

314pmpk.jpg

2hf5mxx.jpg

Washed new Octavia today. Two weeks old, after trip to France, wasn't to dirty. Auto foam, two bucket wash and dry. Had lifeshine applied in dealer. So far so good. The black decals on side of car have excess wax or whatever lifeshine puts on them. So they not quite black.

Any tips on removing the hardened excess? Tyres dressed with autoglym.. Not sure about it.. Sort of milky substance..

Thanks,
    Mick

Hi folks,

I tried ipa on the car decals this evening. Think it helped but still not right.

Would this need polishing to remove?

Cheers,
    Mick
    2mo2kc1.jpg

Hi folks,

I tried ipa on the car decals this evening. Think it helped but still not right.

Would this need polishing to remove?

Cheers,
    Mick
    2mo2kc1.jpg

I didn't do this side yet. Some excess came off on the cloth. Should I just keep rubbing with ipa and cloth? No danger of loosening decal?
    Thanks,
    Mick
    2d8nv2d.jpg

I didn't do this side yet. Some excess came off on the cloth. Should I just keep rubbing with ipa and cloth? No danger of loosening decal?
    Thanks,
    Mick
    2d8nv2d.jpg

IPA used on this one. If you zoom in you can still see the coating
    24lodq0.jpg

Spent some more time last night with IPA and microfiber... spent ages running and then the last bit of clay bar I had left to clay both sides. It seems to have done the job, or at least its much much better. Obviously now I've taken all protection off the bottom of the doors, so im thinking a wash a wax all over probably in order..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭high horse

Wa2pYFe.jpg

I had a few days off this week and I was lucky enough to get a chance to do a full interior clean of my car. I removed the seats and vacuumed the carpets and cleaned all the hard surfaces with armourall wipes. Then I did a full wet vacuum of the carpet with my vax 6131 with vax ultra cleaning solution. The seats were then cleaned with autoglym leather cleaner.
    Everything is clean and dry now so the seats are ready to go back in but I'm sitting here waiting for the rain to stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

So had a day off today, and was overdue giving the car a wax so the work order for the day went along these lines.

1.Snowfoam - Bilt Hamber Autofoam.
    2. 2 Bucket Handwash - Autoglym Shampoo ( Been meaning to get a new one but loads left)
    3. Powerhose
    4. De-Iron - Bilt Hamber Korrosol
    5.Powerhose
    6. De-Tar - Tar-x
    7.Powerhose
    8. Claybar - Billt Hamber with chemical guys lubricant
    9. Powerhose
    10. Hand Polish - Dodo Juice Lime Prime - Only had a drop left so just tacked one or two areas.
    11. Hybrid Wax - Blacklight - Liquid
    12. Paste Wax - Collinite 476S - Paste
    13. Tyres & UnderArches - Chemical Guys Underbody
    13 Exterior Black Trim - Chemical Guys Silk Shine
    14 Windows - KKD Krystal Clear

Think that was it, was a busy day.

36483556565_478b5f4ef0_c.jpg

36346275261_fe61b08bf4_c.jpg

35675067933_ab699b3f1a_c.jpg

36315081022_1a512d69c0_c.jpg

Busy but successful day! ;) Looks great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,755 ✭✭✭ianobrien

Started into a motorhome here. The process was
    • Washed (AG Shampoo) the roof and sides during the week. The roofs can be a disaster to clean with solar panels, roof vents, etc and not being able to walk on them. Wheel Woolies tied/strapped/glued/sellotaped/etc onto various lengths of stick/electrical conduit/poles/etc are a Godsend.
    • Today rewashed with AG Shampoo and the 2BM.
    • Clayed with a claycloth and a combination of home made lube (Washing up liquid in water) and AG Rapid Detailer.
    • Rinsed down
    • BH Korrisol applied (sparingly)
    • Rinsed down
    • CarPro Eraser applied and wiped down
    • Rinsed down and dried with a Dry-me-Crazy
    • CarPro Reload applied to half the machine before rain stopped play.....

So, all I've left to do is
    • CarPro Reload the LHS, front cab and Luton (Stepladders and various other contraptions to get height and reach will be needed)
    • Wheels & Tyres. I've a small bit of Collinite 845 left so it'll do the wheels. I'll use boot polish for the tyres :D
    • Exterior Plastics. CarPro PERL diluted down for this
    • Habitation windows and cab glass. CarPro PERL, CarPro Fog Fight and AG Fast Glass will be used.

Pics of the finished article to follow.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

I’ve been away a lot recently and have neglected the car as a result, with the decent weather this week gone I got a chance to give it a good clean and finally apply DLUX to the wheels and trim.

DLUX was very easy to apply and remove from the wheels, the real work however was in the prep. I snowfoamed, de-ironed, de-tared, washed, APC’d and then wiped the wheels with IPA to get them clean as possible. It was a b*tch to completely dry the wheels, compressed air would have been the job but I had to make do with microfibers and kitchen towels! I also did the trim, the prep was much easier – a good scrub with an APC solution followed by a wipe down of IPA when dry.

The results are fantastic. The trim was quite dull and faded but looks brand new now, it also beads like crazy. Same with the wheels, they were beading like mad this morning and you can actually see that it isn’t allowing the brake dust to adhere to the wheel.

One bum note – sods law, I got some DLUX on the paint on the one piece of the A pillar I didn’t tape. I didn’t spot it initially and it’s now cured. Any ideas how to remove this? I assume it’ll have to machine polish it, but hoping that there might be an easier fix.

After curing, polishing is the only thing to remove it - had you noticed prior to fully curing, you'd have had the chance to get Eraser to it and a few applications of it would have probably lifted it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

While I wait impatiently for my Insurance renewal to see how screwed I get I detailed the 540i, I gave it a single stage Gloss Enhancement with Menzerna 400 and Sealed with Gtechniq's C2v3. The paint was badly swirled and was stained from a trip to Keary's BMW about 2 months ago. I managed to remove about 90% of the swirls and for now I'm happy as the paint isn't really up to scratch on a few panels and you can see just how bad the paintjob was on the bonnet!

EvuMqxdh.jpg

xFUwcE2h.jpg

5I0ZFwSh.jpg

yPKj9hAh.jpg

RsrtpArh.jpg

YwuUmi9h.jpg

VbuLQZQh.jpg

Z3qxBuXh.jpg

AO6V4OMh.jpg

sane0ylh.jpg

34sctALh.jpg

52QQoYXh.jpg

u3ZxjmCh.jpg

CA7gJ1Fh.jpg

So for now that'll do for the VAGE show and shine too and hopefully Insurance won't be the worst and I can start modding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Ron Burgundy II

FN car is looking good.

I finished working on mine last Thursday night. Never want to look at a polisher for at least another year. Will try and post some pics or ye may have to wait till the VAGE show n shine to see it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Beautiful car and beautiful job Norman.

What tyre dressing do you use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,677 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

The car's looking very well FN! What mods have you planned?

Cheers lads!
    FN car is looking good.

I finished working on mine last Thursday night. Never want to look at a polisher for at least another year. Will try and post some pics or ye may have to wait till the VAGE show n shine to see it

Oddly enough I found working on mine therapeutic as it was a nice break from doing everyone else's cars :D
    PGE1970 wrote: »
    Beautiful car and beautiful job Norman.

What tyre dressing do you use?

I usually use either Gtechniq T1 or our own 2D Tyre Dressing, both are nice and glossy but not overly so!
    ronnie3585 wrote: »
    The car's looking very well FN! What mods have you planned?

Cheers! First few bits to do is a new M3 SMG Flappy Paddle Steering Wheel, Wheel Refurb, I need to get some bits of it painted if not the whole car, new 3" twin exhaust tips, Front Splitter, a few smaller bits really as she looks how I want now really with the Spacers and BC Coilovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Superb work as always FN :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭bmstuff

yPKj9hAh.jpg

Nice but the e53 X5 radio needs to go :D

Eonon does a very nice radio that fits perfectly the e39, 2GB RAM, 8 cores CPU, 32GB ROM etc.

http://www.eonon.com/Android-Car-GPS/Vehicle-Specific-GPS/GA7201A.html

5b.png

bmstuff wrote: »
    Nice but the e53 X5 radio needs to go :D

Eonon does a very nice radio that fits perfectly the e39, 2GB RAM, 8 cores CPU, 32GB ROM etc.

http://www.eonon.com/Android-Car-GPS/Vehicle-Specific-GPS/GA7201A.html

5b.png

Ah I had an Eonon D5124f in the 525 and that matched perfectly and I was going to swap it but the connections for the sub and amps were different and I lost the converters and the amp in the unit itself I think was half knackered. The X5 head unit is an Eonon too and came in it and it's not bad to be fair, next unit I put in will be an NBT anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭PGE1970

Ah I had an Eonon D5124f in the 525 and that matched perfectly and I was going to swap it but the connections for the sub and amps were different and I lost the converters and the amp in the unit itself I think was half knackered. The X5 head unit is an Eonon too and came in it and it's not bad to be fair, next unit I put in will be an NBT anyway :D

Where do the cassettes go??

:D:D:D

ianobrien wrote: »
    • Washed (AG Shampoo) the roof and sides during the week. The roofs can be a disaster to clean with solar panels, roof vents, etc and not being able to walk on them. Wheel Woolies tied/strapped/glued/sellotaped/etc onto various lengths of stick/electrical conduit/poles/etc are a Godsend.
    • Clayed with a claycloth and a combination of home made lube (Washing up liquid in water) and AG Rapid Detailer.
    • Rinsed down

• CarPro Reload the LHS, front cab and Luton (Stepladders and various other contraptions to get height and reach will be needed)
    • Wheels & Tyres. I've a small bit of Collinite 845 left so it'll do the wheels. I'll use boot polish for the tyres :D
    • Habitation windows and cab glass. CarPro PERL, CarPro Fog Fight and AG Fast Glass will be used.

I haven't forgotten the photos but the job still isn't finished! I've been tipping away at it in the evenings after work (it's a big bugger to do). All I've got left to do is the awning and the wheels & tyres.

Today was a grand day to finish the job but I buggered off for a cycle on the Ballyhoura Mountain Bike trails instead. Now I've got a mud covered bike and a filthy bike carrier to clean also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭RWD

Gave the brothers Caddy a valet today....

RWD wrote: »

Oh God - Had you a Hazmat suit on?

• Rinsed down

I haven't forgotten the photos but the job still isn't finished! I've been tipping away at it in the evenings after work (it's a big bugger to do). All I've got left to do is the awning and the wheels & tyres.

Today was a grand day to finish the job but I buggered off for a cycle on the Ballyhoura Mountain Bike trails instead. Now I've got a mud covered bike and a filthy bike carrier to clean also.

Well, it's finally finished.......

I can't get an overall picture as I don't have the space and the pictures were taken on dull days....

During the process and yes the Dry-me-Crazy is sitting on a headlight....
    23Aug17-2.jpg?dl=1

Crates for height....
    23Aug17-5.jpg?dl=1

The weapon that was used. The elastic bands are to stop it from sliding out of the pocket when I was climbing up ladders.
    23Aug17-6.jpg?dl=1

23Aug17-3.jpg?dl=1

23Aug17-8.jpg?dl=1

Beading on the bonnet.
    23Aug17-7.jpg?dl=1

Finally, the bike after the "small" spin (instead of finishing the job last weekend). That job shouldn't take as long....
    23Aug17-1.jpg?dl=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,295 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

RWD wrote: »

Why bother if someone keeps a car like that? Let him wallow in his filth I say!