Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PS4 Pre-Order Thread! Where are you getting yours?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

For someone not fussed at all about getting it on launch day but wouldn't mind getting it before Christmas, who'd be the best bet at the minute? Brown Thomas?

Depends on when Argos or Teco get more stock in, or if some some deal like the one Brown Thomas is doing happens in other stores, but as regards ones that have lists such as Gamestop, you're looking at late Feb or March as the lists are huge, your best bet is to put down a pre order now or go with Amazon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 gamejunkie

got this from the belfast telegraph editor there now,

Yes, was speaking to them but wanted to check with you first. Sounds
    like they have changed policy but want to speak to the manager. Don't
    mind if I give your name do you? Would you be happy enough to collect
    the console - perhaps they could throw in a game or something to
    compensate you? I can mention this if you are happy with it.

regards,
    Gary

sounds like XV may be having a change of heart :D pricks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 KhAoS_ThEoRy

I've had my console pre-ordered through GameStop since April and the only hiccup I've noticed is when Watch_Dogs was delayed until next year, as I had that bundle pre-ordered. The manager at my local GameStop called me a few days later stating they were waiting from a response from Sony as to what to do, as this was a developers problem, not the retailer. Anyway, I got a call a few days later and I had the choice to get the Killzone Ultimate Bundle (console, extra controller, camera, 500€), the standalone console, the normal Killzone bundle and the Knack bundle. I opted for the Knack bundle as I was told I could trade the game for any other launch game (getting NFS:Rivals). I paid it off last Thursday and apparently they're opening at 10PM to finalise all pre orders and then having a midnight launch. What is all the fuss about now? Hope you all are able to get launch consoles, anyway.

TL;DR I ordered from GameStop with no problems

I've had my console pre-ordered through GameStop since April and the only hiccup I've noticed is when Watch_Dogs was delayed until next year, as I had that bundle pre-ordered. The manager at my local GameStop called me a few days later stating they were waiting from a response from Sony as to what to do, as this was a developers problem, not the retailer. Anyway, I got a call a few days later and I had the choice to get the Killzone Ultimate Bundle (console, extra controller, camera, 500€), the standalone console, the normal Killzone bundle and the Knack bundle. I opted for the Knack bundle as I was told I could trade the game for any other launch game (getting NFS:Rivals). I paid it off last Thursday and apparently they're opening at 10PM to finalise all pre orders and then having a midnight launch. What is all the fuss about now? Hope you all are able to get launch consoles, anyway.

TL;DR I ordered from GameStop with no problems

It is about XtraVision not Gamestop, so you are ok, if you were told to come to the midnight launch you will have your console waiting for you.

GameStop have me worried now. I preordered back in June during e3 and switched to the mega bundle as soon as it was available. All paid off a few weeks ago, I was told then that I was gauranteed to get it at launch.
    I called in to ask about the midnight launch and was asked if I received a call from them, I said no and was told I might get one in a few weeks! I said I had it preordered since June and was told I would have it for launch. Then the guy on the next till leans over and says I'll get one on Thursday night.
    Not exactly filled with confidence, especially after spending the bones of €600 in there!

GameStop have me worried now. I preordered back in June during e3 and switched to the mega bundle as soon as it was available. All paid off a few weeks ago, I was told then that I was gauranteed to get it at launch.
    I called in to ask about the midnight launch and was asked if I received a call from them, I said no and was told I might get one in a few weeks! I said I had it preordered since June and was told I would have it for launch. Then the guy on the next till leans over and says I'll get one on Thursday night.
    Not exactly filled with confidence, especially after spending the bones of €600 in there!

A friend of mine had a problem with his bundle, he went into the store and upgraded but they did not input it right and it looked like he only ordered a few weeks ago, lucky he had his original receipt from April and got it sorted, but if anyone who has upgraded and has not heard from them by now, I would go into them, if your name is not highlighted on the list come Thursday they will not give you one, they only have so many.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 NiallDoherty

Thanks to DUBLINHITMAN for mentioning Sony still had stock a few days ago, ordered and should get it before Christmas anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭Benzino

Happy days, just confirmed Killzone bundle day one with GameStop, Stephens Green. Pre-Ordered end of August. Said they would be ringing people from tomorrow about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Pixelbastardo

Just wondering do amazon deliver on saturdays ? My expected 2 day delivery says "fri29th/sat30th Nov", but im pretty much expecting it on the monday after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭DUBLINHITMAN

Thanks to DUBLINHITMAN for mentioning Sony still had stock a few days ago, ordered and should get it before Christmas anyway :)

No worries man that was my last call before the lads here put me onto brown thomas and I was lucky enough to get one for friday
    to be honest I posted that I wasnt getting into the hype of pre ordering but the more I looked into trying to get one before xmass the more I wanted one on release
    so yeah I got sucked into it but as a gamer I dont regret
    besr of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Marshall987

Xtra Vision problems!?!

Ok so i ordered the ps4 mega bundle in september the day they were announced in xtra vision. the member of staff didnt have a clue about bundles until another member came over and said they got an email from sony that day telling them about the two bundles.

So I pre ordered and put fifty on it, i was told i'd be batch two and prob get it before xmas. A few weeks ago i asked again, and was told im batch one on the bundle and will get it day one. I rang again last night and was told the same thing.

BUT im still worried, the receipt they gave me doesnt even mention that i pre ordered a ps4 never mind a bundle.

have ye guys paid off yours in full, im thinking i should do that as a guarentee that it will be there for me next friday.

sorry for the essay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Just wondering do amazon deliver on saturdays ? My expected 2 day delivery says "fri29th/sat30th Nov", but im pretty much expecting it on the monday after.

This is what happened with with my Xbox One order. They shipped it Thursday evening but used UPS, after it shipped the Amazon estimate went to Monday the 25th but UPS tracking said Friday 22nd and I got my console yesterday afternoon. I was getting worried myself.

Even though I had 2 day delivery selected I got it in about 20hrs, fair play to Amazon. I wouldn't worry yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Xenji wrote: »
    A friend of mine had a problem with his bundle, he went into the store and upgraded but they did not input it right and it looked like he only ordered a few weeks ago, lucky he had his original receipt from April and got it sorted, but if anyone who has upgraded and has not heard from them by now, I would go into them, if your name is not highlighted on the list come Thursday they will not give you one, they only have so many.

Limerick city only started ringing for midnight launch last night, so i'd say give it until wednesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 smokwawelskiii

I have preorder mine ps4 with smyths galway at end of august. I was told than that i will get it at release but i have not heard anything from them at all. Is that normal? I will call them at monday anyway and find out. But is anyone have preorder with them too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 D-K

Anyone know will Smyths be selling the red or blue controllers on launch day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭uprooted tradition

I have preorder mine ps4 with smyths galway at end of august. I was told than that i will get it at release but i have not heard anything from them at all. Is that normal? I will call them at monday anyway and find out. But is anyone have preorder with them too?

Definitely ring them, they should have at least rang by now to see what bundle you want. They are open on Sunday so i would ring tomorrow, in fact you should be able to get someone tonight because they are open late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Pixelbastardo

This is what happened with with my Xbox One order. They shipped it Thursday evening but used UPS, after it shipped the Amazon estimate went to Monday the 25th but UPS tracking said Friday 22nd and I got my console yesterday afternoon. I was getting worried myself.

Even though I had 2 day delivery selected I got it in about 20hrs, fair play to Amazon. I wouldn't worry yet.

20 hours is great delivery time. I hope they do the same for the ps4's

Cheers

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,134 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Hurry up Friday ! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Chris369

D-K wrote: »
    Anyone know will Smyths be selling the red or blue controllers on launch day?

Good question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭jaffusmax

I touched the DS4 for the first time today! Felt like the first time I held a Woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,160 ✭✭✭tok9

jaffusmax wrote: »
    I touched the DS4 for the first time today! Felt like the first time I held a Woman!

Homer-yells-nerd.gif

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭hallo dare

jaffusmax wrote: »

Did you know the right buttons to press to have her shudder in your hands?. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Ronster29

If i were you i would pay them a visit, i have pre order mid augest n smyths. I hadnt heard anyin from them, so i went in and wos told they dont know what stock they are gettin n. N that it was věry unlikely that i would get a console til 1st/2nd week n december. Not happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭jaffusmax

hallo dare wrote: »
    Did you know the right buttons to press to have her shudder in your hands?. ;-)

R,D,R, R1 Haaaaadouken gets them all wobbly everytime!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,056 ✭✭✭_Redzer_

This probably sounds strange, but I've a preorder for a launch console but I'm not sure if I'll be able to afford it. Wondering if I could postpone it to the second shipment. Wouldn't be opening it for another 2 weeks after launch because of exams anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭mac1961

Just saw the post about Brown Thomas having PS4 anyone know if they are all gone??

mac1961 wrote: »
    Just saw the post about Brown Thomas having PS4 anyone know if they are all gone??

There was only a handful left in both stores around lunch time according to posters, so I would say they are all gone now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Apparently HMV are only getting enough to cover pre orders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 jabbaUK

Ronster29 wrote: »
    If i were you i would pay them a visit, i have pre order mid augest n smyths. I hadnt heard anyin from them, so i went in and wos told they dont know what stock they are gettin n. N that it was věry unlikely that i would get a console til 1st/2nd week n december. Not happy.

Preordered mine around same time from smyths . I got call 2weeks ago asking me what bundle I wanted. Told her solus she said ok most people are going for the killzone bundle so I had high chance of getting my console on release day. Haven't heard anything since. Going to go in on Tuesday to confirm whats going on. I know on the xboxone thread a few didn't get a call/text till lated Wednesday or early thursday from smyths

cloud493 wrote: »
    Apparently HMV are only getting enough to cover pre orders.

Thought they were not getting any of the first batch and would not have any for launch, or has that changed now?