What your pet did to make you smile today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Awww, poor Toby. What had him at the vet?
    We've had some Toms around during the week, must be after unspayed females, and he came in limping and with bits of fur sticking out. He wouldn't eat his food so I took him in to get him checked over. He'd a few puncture marks. He's neutered so I think it's a territorial thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

We've had some Toms around during the week, must be after unspayed females, and he came in limping and with bits of fur sticking out. He wouldn't eat his food so I took him in to get him checked over. He'd a few puncture marks. He's neutered so I think it's a territorial thing.

men!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,046 ✭✭✭jimf

Graces7 wrote: »
    men!

the pain we have to endure minding the females :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Davy was chasing a moth about the place, catching it, letting it go, and then chasing it around again. Then it flew out the window.

Poor Davy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,546 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Well it is fly season again, the JRT has had her first two flies of the season:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭borderlinemeath

Not technically my "pets" but the swallows have migrated back to the boilerhouse again. Last week there was one solitary one sitting on one of the two existing nests, then during the week he found a mate, plus another moved into the second existing nest. Today there was a HUGE amount of action and the beginnings of a third nest for yet another swallow. This is probably the 5th year they've been nesting in there.:)

On another note, Benson is going mad screaming at them. It's his lifes mission to get them. He's the noisiest gun dog there ever was :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Every week and coming in with the shopping, I leave the bags on the table or the floor until I unpack them.

Every time the dog sticks her head into the bags on the floor to see whats for her.

Goes around the place so happy and excited sticking her head into bags, as if to say 'well whats for me'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭chuckyarelaw

My dog shat on the carpet today - hilarious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Cedrus

Every week and coming in with the shopping, I leave the bags on the table or the floor until I unpack them.

Every time the dog sticks her head into the bags on the floor to see whats for her.

Goes around the place so happy and excited sticking her head into bags, as if to say 'well whats for me'.

My fellas do that too, they can't tell the difference between a tin of beans and a plastic wrapped lump of meat, but it's their duty to check and they're delighted.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

Just headed in to close curtains in our bedroom only to hear her ladyship jump off the bed and run, by the time I'd switched the light on she was curled in her crate pretending to be asleep!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭honerbright

No work today for me or my boyfriend so we had a lazy morning in bed with Poppy, Roisin and Max all curled up with us (Cinnamon was in the hot press).

Also today Max learnt how to jump from the bed to the window (less than one meter gap) . It sounds stupid but its such a proud moment, he's not very good at things like that and always jumped off the bed to the floor then to the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,727 ✭✭✭reallyrose

Davy tried to wake me up this morning, but failed (screw you, Davy)

So he woke my boyfriend up by sitting on his shoulder, purring in his ear, and poking him with his paw until he got up. Assisted by Swanson meowing from the hallway.
    As soon as he got up, the two cats fecked off back to sleep at my feet.

Win all round there, I'd say.

When we're in the sitting room watching tv or something and the dog on the couch. If the dog farts, she will evacuate herself from the room and leave us in the room smelling the farts.

We must have trained her unknowningly by putting her out of the room. But every time she will leave us smelling her farts.

She's so mean. Even the dog can't stand her own farts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,234 ✭✭✭honerbright

We got Rosin a lovely big crate which came with a mattress/soft pillow pad thing in it and then a big soft blanket. She's super good at going to bed and adores her crate and takes her toys in there to chew them etc. Anyway, every morning after her morning toilet time we let her and Poppy into the bed for hugs while we snooze and Cinnamon's taken to coming in and taking over Roisins crate for her morning nap. And her afternoon nap. And her after dinner nap. Roisin even climbed in with her last night for nap time.

Poppy is being a great big sister, she's always checking on Ro and bringing her toys and chews and often you'll find them laying there chewing on opposite ends of the same thing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,745 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Rani wasn't doing too well over the last while, slowing down and not being herself on walks, but then she snapped at OH when she was on his lap on the couch, so it was off to the vet for her. She was given a once over and diagnosed with arthritis in her hips, I suppose it's to be expected in a 14 year old dog. She's on Metacam now and the change is great, she's more excited for her walks and when we go out she's much more active. She can even get back into her chair

photo_zpsea120ddd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

Ruby has a habit of giving the paw to say hello, look for attention, look for a cuddle. Only people she really likes/trusts gets the honour of getting the paw.

Milo is learning all of Ruby's habits (both good and bad) as he is her constant shadow. Today he is giving the paw to say hello, look for attention, look for a cuddle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,007 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

I'm not letting Dude sit on my lap as much as he used to because I can't deal with having to change my clothes 10 times a day after him, so when he comes up I say no and put him back on the couch.. and he will slowly start to crawl back over, onto the back of my chair and put his paws in my hair and knead to his hearts content. At least his leaky butt isn't on me! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

We are getting a bit of work done in the garden. Both dogs are out and about supervising. It's gas, they're really interested in what's going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭SingItOut

My boyfriends 18 year old collieXterrier, my "step dog" as we call her, hates everybody yet any time she sees me she comes running over wagging her little tail like crazy. Always makes me smile :)

My dog makes me laugh every day.

I like to measure out her food and give it to her in two feeds. But she would gladly hold out for a tasty slice of ham.

She wont look at her bowl of nuts at all. No way. Just beg of you all day.

In comes the cat and he doesn't have the patience to wait for his food so picks at the dogs nuts.

And then the dog prances over to her bowl and eats her nuts! Morning and evening. Out of jealousy, and wouldn't leave anything to the cat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,304 ✭✭✭shamrock55

A cat arrived in our back garden a few months back , she is pure white and seems young enough, she wont leave our garden now, she is a brilliant cat and is so playfull and loves to be stroked and rubbed and is brilliant with the kids, but i only discovered recently that she is deaf as a coot the poor thing, anyway the neighbour is down this wk ( she only uses the house for holidays throughout the year) with her 2 dogs, anyway they were in the garden going nuts barking for ages so i look out the window only to see snowy sitting on the wall and the 2 dogs breaking their necks trying to get at her, she was only about 2ft away from them but she was so relaxed just staring at these dogs as if to say whats up with these 2, of course she is stone deaf so couldnt hear the histerical and frenzied barking going on,i just found it so funny the dozy bloody cat:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

SingItOut wrote: »
    My boyfriends 18 year old collieXterrier, my "step dog" as we call her, hates everybody yet any time she sees me she comes running over wagging her little tail like crazy. Always makes me smile :)

Lucky you! (and lucky her at 18!!) - you should put this as a testimonial on your C.V. - sounds like an EXCELLENT recommendation of your personality if you asked me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I have a little feline entourage most of the time these days/nights. Poppy climbs up on my chest if I'm on the laptop, Felix is usually beside me on the sofa, getting the evil looks and occassional swipe from Poppy and Toby is spending most of his time on the other sofa.

At night Toby races me up to bed and Poppy is either at the top of the stairs waiting or not far behind when I get into bed. I think I've become a timeshare human. Toby will get off the bed during the night to be replaced by Jazzy and then Poppy will arrive after that. Felix is a bit iffy about our room but some nights he comes in and lays down on the floor at my side of the bed. If I need to get up in the dark I've to use the light on my mobile to navigate my way through cats:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭aonb

Some of you may remember we have had a very bad diagnosis for our oldest dog Pepper. His bladder is v.bad; full of growths and his kidneys are pretty poor. The vet says he has a few weeks left. BUT! No one has told Pepper he isnt in great shape!!!!!! (he's like a cat with 109 lives at this rate, he's bounced back so often from deaths door!)

He's been in great form - eating his head off (hey, who cares if protein is the pits at the moment, he's eating meatmeatmeatmeatmeat!!!) chased the bin down the drive at full belt barking his head off this morning, chased a baby bunny under a shed, has resumed his 2xwalks a day - albeit only short strolls - he comes with his leash in his mouth to tell me its time for his walkies. SO! A brilliant couple of weeks in the Pepper household!! We know we're on borrowed time, but heck, its great to see the little fatty in great form & having a lovely spoilt time (his humans dont even bat an eyelid when theres puddles on the floor - hes amazed!!) Happy days - for now anyway :):):)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭angeldaisy

This really made me smile too! Go pepper!!!!

Does anyone else have dogs and they know who to take advantage of in the house?

I was eating dinner yesterday and the dog was up on the couch beside me looking into my dinner plate. Giving me the 'im hungry' look.

I never thought she would go for my dinner. She didn't before. She always looked at it before.

She just went in and licked a chicken nugget and stole the chicken nugget beside the one she licked. I did have seven of them though.

But no way would she ever have done that if it was my brother's dinner. She's so lucky I love her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,130 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

I was watering the flowers in the garden today and he used to love trying to drink the water coming out of the hose so I put it in his face and he ran away scared!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭Vojera

My guinea pig, Gibbs, covered his cage with poops!

His digestion has been quite sluggish the last few days. He's developing a tumour around his genital area but he's too old for surgery and it's not painful at the moment, so I was afraid his decreased number of poops was a sign that something was getting constricted. I gave him a little massage last night and today he has peppered his cage with little piggy pellets and seems a lot brighter. Yay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

Does anyone else have dogs and they know who to take advantage of in the house?

I was eating dinner yesterday and the dog was up on the couch beside me looking into my dinner plate. Giving me the 'im hungry' look.

I never thought she would go for my dinner. She didn't before. She always looked at it before.

She just went in and licked a chicken nugget and stole the chicken nugget beside the one she licked. I did have seven of them though.

But no way would she ever have done that if it was my brother's dinner. She's so lucky I love her.

I am going to say this as nice as I can and don't mean to take a happy thread down but why are having your dinner on the couch with your dog beside you watching every bit you eat.
    Would you do that with a person and leave them watch you eat your food.
    My son did that with my dog and I called him cruel.
    What would your brother have done if the dog took food of his plate.?

Just put the dog out of the room if you want to sit on the couch while eating.
    Better for all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Dodd

So mine.
    A fly got in my flat.
    I trained my dog not to go for bees/wasps..when she was young .
    A big fly got in my flat and landed on the side of the comp desk,she just growled at it not knowing what to do.

A small fly she would eat but a wasp she will run from,this was unknown to her so no idea what to do.
    We chased it out with the door open.:)